• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lai Leow...Bus fare increase lagi leow...

Microsoft

Public transport fare adjustments to take into account bus drivers' wage increase
By Dylan Loh | Posted: 06 December 2012 1626 hrs

SINGAPORE: Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew said on Thursday public transport fare adjustments, due next year, will take into account the need to raise bus drivers' wages.

Mr Lui was speaking for the first time in the aftermath of the illegal strike by bus drivers from China last week, and said public transport cost increases over the years have outpaced fare adjustments.

He was trying out the route of a new service on Thursday under the government's billion-dollar Bus Service Enhancement Programme.

Mr Lui said authorities will look closely at what the fare review committee says about how adjustments should be made.

He said there is concern of the lingering effects of the recent strike on recruitment and retention of bus drivers.

Mr Lui said: "Any fare adjustment will allow the two operators to have more resources, in time to come, to make further salary adjustments to their drivers. We recognise that the drivers need to be paid more. (The) question is, where is that money coming from?

"So we need to see the relationship between any fare adjustment, wage increase, and any other forms of government support that we might be required to give to the operators."

From December 16, two new SBS Transit bus services will start plying under the Bus Service Enhancement Programme.

Service 50, which will start service on December 16, will cover Ang Mo Kio, Yio Chu Kang, Sengkang and Punggol.

Express Service 513 will start on December 17, connecting residents of Tampines to the Central Business District. This service only runs during the morning and evening peak period on weekdays.

In addition, four new bus services will be added to the bus network in the first quarter of 2013.

Three of them come under the government's enhancement programme, while the other is a trunk service by SBS Transit at its own cost.

- CNA/de

My question is this,,,

the board of directors, senior managers, CEO etc,,,how many of them are there? and how much are they earning? cut their pay by 50% and divide the 50% savings amoungst the drivers,,,will that be more than $500 per driver per month?

Please note, SMRT are gahmen companies and such companies are nothing dumping grounds for senior civil serpents and retarded generals who will never get a job in the open market,,

why should the people pay for PAP supporters?

jubilee1919

Said so this will happen in my first post after the strike.:mad:

Heads they win tails we lose, nothing surprising as this always happens.:mad:

The people pay for their mistakes!:oIo:

Mr Lui said: "Any fare adjustment will allow the two operators to have more resources, in time to come, to make further salary adjustments to their drivers. We recognise that the drivers need to be paid more

Increase of bus fares so that the bus drivers can have a pay increase..

So will the top pigs at SMRT and SBS also have a pay increase too..????

tualingong

probably too many jiak leow bees in the company taking millions...

sgp companies are the most inefficiently run companies in the world.

with so many scholars generals know nuts about running a company.

if they bleed, you bleed. :biggrin:

borom

The fundamental cause of all this is the PAP's open door immigration policies.
If we are not swarmed by these Pinoy, PRC's and Indian workers/immigrants, will we need so many buses or bus drivers?

Its the PAP's blatant disregard of the fact that this country's infrastructure cannot support so many people that is the root of our problems.
If you were to reduce the number of foreign workers and immigrants here, most of the problems will be resolved.
There will be less vehicles and buses on the roads,housing prices will go down and our children can get into the University.

What they have done or is doing is looking at the symptoms and not the cause.

M

Mdm Tang

My question is this,,,

the board of directors, senior managers, CEO etc,,,how many of them are there? and how much are they earning? cut their pay by 50% and divide the 50% savings amoungst the drivers,,,will that be more than $500 per driver per month?

Please note, SMRT are gahmen companies and such companies are nothing dumping grounds for senior civil serpents and retarded generals who will never get a job in the open market,,

why should the people pay for PAP supporters?

no shareholders want to raise these points

Dinosaur

My question is this,,,

求你啦 please stop being so naive

SINGAPORE: Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew said on Thursday public transport fare adjustments, due next year, will take into account the need to raise bus drivers' wages ...
tis scum burger shud b given a tight slap on his face! ... :mad:

wen making fare adjusmens, he din take in2 a/c directors' fees, ceo's salaries n bonuses, their incremens as wel as all other staffs 1 oso meh? ... y he muz hilite oni bus drivers' wage incremens? ...

so, tis burger wants 2 brame fare hikes on bus drivers wage incremens ... so, he wants peasants who r unhappy wif fare incremens 2 hate bus drivers ...

y ze f**k muz he pit peasants against bus drivers? ...

ah lui tuck u ... :oIo: :mad:

M

Mdm Tang

if Minister bring in the salary of drivers he should

also talk about directors fees and theirs perks

and senior mgt fees and bonuses

Kinana

I have been saying this since I came to this forum. Bus fares & train fares in Singapore are just too low.

Tell that to those lower income workers earning less than $700 a month who need to travel using public transport from one end of the island to another end to reach their workplace..