(SAF) training deaths: Views from father of one of the fallen (ST refused to publish)

By Lawrence Loh

It was deja vu when I read the story "Realistic training need not be unsafe" (Straits Times 15 November 2012). I was immediately transported to February 2001, when my older son died in a training accident at Changi Naval Base.

After several months of enquiry and investigation, the Republic of Singapore Navy briefed me on the findings, conceded that there were procedural lapses, and bore full responsibility for the accident.

As is normal, the staff involved were either demoted, re-deployed, or taken off their appointments.

I was told that procedures would be thoroughly reviewed, and training safety tightened, to ensure that similar incidents would not recur. To this, I told the then commanding officer who came to visit my family that identifying the causes of the accident would be an academic exercise unless it presented learning points which would prevent future occurrences.

Less than two years later, in January 2003, a collision between one of our naval ships, RSS Courageous, and an Indonesian merchant ship, resulted in the deaths of three women officers, and one gone missing.

So what happened to the supposedly thorough review of procedures?

This time around, it is heartening to note the Minister for Defence assuring again that there will be zero tolerance for training safety lapses. We can only hope that the commanders and men are constantly reminded to take this seriously.

I felt rather uneasy though when MP Lim Wee Kiak* commented on TV yesterday that our casualty rate is far lower than those of other countries. Are we supposed to be consoled by this? Let us not forget that ours is a peace-time military. Our men, including the career soldiers, have never gone to war. Hence, there is no excuse even for a low casualty rate. We need to guard against complacency. We need to be serious. There is no room for compromise.

* Dr Lim Wee Kiak is Chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Defence and Foreign Affairs

- http://kementah.blogspot.sg/2012/11/singapore-armed-forces-saf-training.html

Re: (SAF) training deaths: Views from father of one of the fallen (ST refused to publ

Over the years I've read several letters by Mr Loh about his late son and published in the various newspapers. He wants yet another one published?

Re: (SAF) training deaths: Views from father of one of the fallen (ST refused to publ

okay already sent to highest levels..

your case will hopefully be heard..:D

how did the naval warship collide with cargo ship ah ?

with all the advance radar.......................all the crew sleeping or what ?

Maybe it's due to ancient Ang Mo naval customs that zha bohs are not allowed onboard naval vessels.

No, the radar sleeping

Nobody questioned MPA?? aren't in charge of the going in & going out in our waters? or the coastline is , what's that again?? each & every commercial vessels coming in or going out need to get clearance from MPA & which route, sector etc.. to take..unless the Navy boat is not suppose to be where it shouldn't be..and then again...who is to be blamed??:rolleyes:

By Lawrence Loh

I felt rather uneasy though when MP Lim Wee Kiak* commented on TV yesterday that our casualty rate is far lower than those of other countries. Are we supposed to be consoled by this? Let us not forget that ours is a peace-time military. Our men, including the career soldiers, have never gone to war. Hence, there is no excuse even for a low casualty rate. We need to guard against complacency. We need to be serious. There is no room for compromise.

* Dr Lim Wee Kiak is Chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Defence and Foreign Affairs

- http://kementah.blogspot.sg/2012/11/singapore-armed-forces-saf-training.html

lianbeng asked: what can u expect from Lim Wicked?:D

Over the years I've read several letters by Mr Loh about his late son and published in the various newspapers. He wants yet another one published?

He can talk because his son die needlessly ! Other Singapore parent should not allow to go through his experience !

No lah, radar only dummy leh.

Radar or Operator not sleeping.
Operator does not understand radar.

Radar or Operator not sleeping.
Operator does not understand radar.
Aiya, never mind lah what ever, Singaporeans kena con since 1965 by you know who. Many more times also No sweat lah.

To me, if a father lost his son through NS protecting the lives of foreigners, he is entitled to write as many letters as he wants and air his thoughts for all eternity. A father lost his son. Nothing can be more tragic.

(Fr: Mindef)
"Please give us your feedback on your recent ICT at www.ns.sg. You can post your comments online at the MyUnit forums."

6843642477_9ff5cebeab.jpg

I hope your sons die too from silly accident while serving their NS....
Then you come back and revisit this post of yours.....

I hope your sons die too from silly accident while serving their NS....
Then you come back and revisit this post of yours.....

I am sure that your curse on my 3 sons will be proven prophetic.

To me, if a father lost his son through NS protecting the lives of foreigners, he is entitled to write as many letters as he wants and air his thoughts for all eternity. A father lost his son. Nothing can be more tragic.

Hear hear. Definitely second that. Pity the chap. I sat through one of these, seeing the father almost collapsed in grief but for the sake of his son (only son) dignity, hanging on to the coffin and comforting his wife as well.

It is extremely sad.

No one can prevent tragedies from ever occurring but at least, when they occur, we have to know the death was honorable and not in vain.

Govt of SG has to answer to us, and tell us his death was honorable, for his own countrymen, and not in vain.

I remember one of my officers telling me in his 20 iplus years as a career soldier, 4 times he had to wear smart 4 and go to inform parents that their sons has died in incidents.

He said they were the most horrible experiences he's ever had as a human being. I will always remember the cracked voice and pained expression on his face when he was sharing this.

its a long story. as a old sea dog in SBF, what i can say is the OOW made a lot of stupid mistakes. anyway the OOW is a girl too. a very young girl in fact, look like a butch to me.

her mistake is never observed the traffic lane near Horsburgh lighthouse and i think during that time she was going against the flow and crossing the traffic.

according to ROR when crossing the traffic you should do it at right angle to the traffic.

another is alter course must be big enough.

u can imagine someone driving a car zooming in and out on the 2 way road crossing the road divider, sometime going against the traffic. that was what she did at sea.