• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

One of my fave canned food recipe (corned beef)

Libby-CB.jpg

Items
1 can of Libby's corned beef
half large onion
2 chilli padi, diced
3 eggs

Directions
1) Fried the egg like sunny side up but fully cooked, shred it to pcs/chunks, leave aside
2) Fried the onion, sweat it for 2 minutes, add the corned beef, and stir
3) Add the chilli and the egg
4) Cook till it is dry (important)

Serve with rice or bread, yum yum

You not scared of mad cow disease arh ?
How ? You piak piak the high class charbor already ?
:p

You not scared of mad cow disease arh ?
How ? You piak piak the high class charbor already ?
:p

I think a lot of these canned corned beef comes from Argentina & there's cases of BSE there, now we know better after the MadCow disease in England.. but before it happened, corned beef was a regular or even staple for lots of people especially during the post war years, cannot afford meat so sunday meal was corned beef curry, corn beef fry up, corn beef pie, etc. All my eurasian friends use to makan. I also ate it in my youth, dry fried corned beef with sugar & chilli padi.

Libby-CB.jpg

Items
1 can of Libby's corned beef
half large onion
2 chilli padi, diced
3 eggs

Directions
1) Fried the egg like sunny side up but fully cooked, shred it to pcs, leave 1 side
2) Fried the onion, sweat it for 2 minutes, add the corned beef, and stir
3) Add the chilli and the egg
4) Cook till it is dry (important)

Serve with rice or bread, yum yum

Corned beef need to diced too?

............. even staple for lots of people especially during the post war years, cannot afford meat so sunday meal was corned beef curry, corn beef fry up, corn beef pie, etc. All my eurasian friends use to makan. I also ate it in my youth, dry fried corned beef with sugar & chilli padi.

Yeah, i eat it when I was young also, love it :)

AK you angmo 派? Only angmo know how to eat corned beef.... I always mistook you for a hylam beng....
I always think the local variant of corned beef is the mutton they put in murtabak.

AK you angmo 派? Only angmo know how to eat corned beef.... I always mistook you for a hylam beng....
I always think the local variant of corned beef is the mutton they put in murtabak.

Angmoh eat corned beef ; tng-lang eat lanjiao meat I mean luncheon meat.

I never considered corned beef as ang moh food leh, cox my mum cook this kind of style, so quite nice for me, lol

Angmoh eat corned beef ; tng-lang eat lanjiao meat I mean luncheon meat.

Bro Joetys, Lanjiao meat the best one was MaiLing brand, the old ones were quality pork, not the rubbish ones you get now. Also before there was Amoy Canning Co. their Chinese sausage lupcheong was the best, better than the ones hanging in markets. The oil in the cans we use to keep for making other dishes! Those old enough will know the quality of these canned meats. No all boh standard liao.

I remember the rectangular tins that need to open using the key provided

Everything in the past were simple and nice. Yes I have to agree with you about Mailing and Amoy Can. It was when people became too greedy that spoils everything. Sigh

Angmo lanjiao meat is spam...
Few years back got the luncheon meat ban....many got withdrawal symptoms...

I'm one of them so lan lan got to buy Tulip brand I think from Denmark, not only it was expensive but taste not up to standard. What to do?

yeah agree..old days one better

Besides corned beef....other angmo staples that locals took it were baked beans....always served with western food....baked beans and fried eggs was the first dish that I learned to cook....
Another was canned angmo sausages....must have item for the BBQ...