Plight of a Singaporean HDB flat buyer

If the authorities respond to this video and give him what he wants then YouTube will be inundated with many other "Normal Income Singapore Citizens" telling us about their own sob stories. What happened to the days when Singaporeans carried their challenges lightly and not attempted to make it other people's business? :rolleyes:
Spoken like a true pappy....you die your own business lah!
Swiss standard living, caring society, national CONversation, staying together moving forward....ALL BS

Spoken like a true pappy....you die your own business lah!
Swiss standard living, caring society, national CONversation, staying together moving forward....ALL BS

He is not afflicted with any life-threatening illness. He simply has not got his finances in order and has now made this public. Maybe it will work. I really don't know. If the authorities are swayed by his video then good luck to him and to them.

What I do know however is that there are far more compelling accounts of true hardship faced by fellow citizens out there but these individuals choose to fight their battles with quiet dignity.

You cant win battles with quiet dignity la. Tats what pappies want all along because they got all the arsenal up their sleeves and can silence u quietly too . Got to do it noisily and in your face and let the whole world know bout ur shit.

with the power of the internet, anything is possible.

What a loser. :rolleyes:

Well you have plenty of these in this forum.

The simple issue is, this fellow just do not have the money to buy a BIG HDB flat and he thinks his MIW MUST EXTEND the short fall in cash form him, for him to buy his type of housing of his choice.

Just look at these buggers here in this forum, cursing their gov for this fellow lacked of financial ability to buy a BIGGER flat and you know why their MIWs keep screwing them and holding back all forms of subsidises for fear that these buggers will develp a 'CLUTCHED' mentality.

I cannot blame the MIW for this sort of thinking!:D

He is not afflicted with any life-threatening illness. He simply has not got his finances in order and has now made this public. Maybe it will work. I really don't know. If the authorities are swayed by his video then good luck to him and to them.

What I do know however is that there are far more compelling accounts of true hardship faced by fellow citizens out there but these individuals choose to fight their battles with quiet dignity.

The more these Sinkie attempt to do things this way, by blaring aloud their grief on the internet, the more the MIWs will screw them.

As a matter of fact, Plan B was already put into motion, starting with those necessity that the peasants need, that the MIWs will make it such that more money will be juiced out from them.

Called it a monkey see and monkey do, of what some peasants thought could net them success but it back fired instead.

Its HIGH TIME HDB change the policies set by our

ORIENTAL GENTLEMAN TAY CHEANG WAN.

If one owns a PRIVATE PROPERTY, U will be BANNED FOR LIFE

to rent a flat from HDB.

It goes to say that if YOU ARE RICH, MAKE SURE THAT YOU DUN BANKRUPT.

If u do, pls take a bus to BEDOK RESERVOIR.

One more glaring thing I missed out in the first viewing of his video.

Noticed dispite his $80k income what is in his CPF contibutions and what can he pay out as cash ?

Not enough to pay cash up front it seems and that is why he complain.

These are the type the MIWs termed as unsecured income earners.

Of course, detractors here, ain't there many here would say, oh becos he got not enough CPF contributions as the price of flats have increased so much and his MIW ain't got chance to hold his money for the long term as it seems he ain't the type that could put alot of money into CPF ..FOR THE LONG TERM..GUARANTEED! so the MIWs bay song blah blah blah..

Look how pathetic this sort of buggers is, a shame for fellow Sinkie to be associated with.

At his age, what was in my CPF contribution was more than him. And to earn such an amount one could easily pay for a private property.

Or could easily plonked down 80% of any pigeon hole types then.

Of course detractors here will agian say pigeon hole has increased by so much to pay for a similar type of his HDB now, he should be earning 160k insead.

No wonder this fellow got screwed. He screwed himself thinking it was so GREAT being self employed, like he is some sort of 'enterprising stand on his own feet kind of man' but have to crawl to his MIWs just to get pigeon hole loans for the short fall to pay for his flat of his choice.

And his MIWs say to him, look here, we kinda look at him as a unsecured kind of income earner and could end up 10 years later not being able to put food on the table let alone pay the mortgage loan taken from HDB.

Guess the race?

A friend of mine just got a BTO 5-room which is around 420 - 450k, he just started working 2 years ago and together with his recently married wife, they have a combine salary of $4500. He didnt have any problem. He is 25 years old by the way.

I can see the merits of putting together a YouTube video if one is telegenic and can string a proper sentence together: both would make viewers engaged and sympathetic. This video however is devoid of both.