BackFired?

Uncle FS,

I meant the Post-90s PRCs are the creme de la creme in self-absorption. ;)

Those blue collar ones are the ones likely to stay on because they are unlikely to move on to westernized developed countries. They may go back to China if the economic and political (maybe not even be a pre-requisite) situation improves there.

The white collar ones are the ones with a choice. There are basically two types here. If we look at the student body, those who are creme de la creme, who are on our Govt scholarships are capable enough to immerse in all programmes, academic and curricula, that the local students go through after only a short period of adaptation. They can also eventually speak like a Singaporean without the strong PRC accent. The question is will they stay on? What are the incentives and dis-incentives? My problem is the incentives are there but the disincentives are not, leaving them a free hand to determine their future.

You mention self-absorption. Who is not in a foreign country? Singaporeans in Australia and Canada do the same weighing of the pros and cons and hope that more like them would join their kind. The difference is how exclusive are these groups.

If you are talking of students, some foreign students are capable enough in their adaptation to participate in all programmes that the local students participate in if the environment is right, at least not hostile.

The other group of students, those who come on their own, on parents' scholarship, may struggle a bit more and have to stick to their study groups, involving very little in non-academic programmes. Others whose parents are so well-to-do might not even place a strong emphasis on studies (just a pass will do) and spend their time in painting the town red with their buddies. There is not much we can do with this second group as long as Singapore is open to investment from all over. And PRC has a strong presence and many investments in Singapore. You cannot stop these investors and the managers of their investments from bringing in their families.

I agree the behaviour of the new rich can take some getting use to but I believe this is only a transitional phase that we all go through (Singaporeans too have been looked upon by others before but we have one advantage - spoken and written English).

I am a practical person. There is no pure system. A pure system will not survive. We already see the demise of pure socialism and we are beginning to see the crumpling of pure capitalism that has created extreme income inequality. What I am saying is, if we have to take in foreigners, we have to answer some fundamental questions:-

1) What and how much is their value-add and the social cost?
2) Can they be moldable to be like us? Admittedly they can also bring new ways of life that can enrich the life-style we are living in but the basic characteristics of our people must be a constant.
3) Are our local people disadvantaged in any way and their interest protected? The Govt often talked about general good. We also need to ensure individual good.

I disagree. I am not against importing cheap transient labour.

we need industries which can make profit and yet have Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). That means companies which can do well and help create jobs for Singaporeans and improve their well bing.

cheap foreign labourers cause social problems. we dont need companies that survive on cheap labour and insist on cheap foreign labour..a company which have to depend on cheap foreign labour has not place in SG

Hey, I address him as Fook Gor.

You address him as Uncle FS.

Then we are........

just joking hor... :D

Fook Gor is you called one ah? No big no small.

You still noob so you should call him Fook Yeh! :D

You are sure that photo is not from some gallery on the training of women in the PLA?

No idea mate. PLA got really nice killer looking gals. No pray pray. Think alot of brothers at the sister forum are more than happy to die under their hands. :o

Small head controls big head indeed. :rolleyes: :p

Shanghai gals are tall, fair and shapely

ha ha ... that is not correct. What most people see in Shanghai gals are actually migrants from elsewhere that have settled in Puxi side of Shanghai.

Original Shanghainess gals found in the early days of Pudong before they opened up big time not too long ago are not "tall, fair and shapely" in general. They are mostly farmers' daughter. How can farmers be fair to begin with?

I believe Engineers are in the Civil Services. In politics, it is from the other disciplines.

It is the Admin Services in the Civil Services that makes Singapore tick. The 超级白 only set directions / objectives ... whatever. Overtime the Civil Services no longer become independent. They have interwined so much with the 超级白, so much so they are now like 2-in-1 coffee.

face and legs are important..so is shapely body

When the face and the legs are in place, the body should come in naturally.

It will be hard to find a gal with thunder tight or a puffed up face and shapely body. Is that right?

But, if the bust is important, then that is another story.

no wonder many guys are in trouble

Guys who are sent by their employers to take up a posting in China normally will get into trouble. Don't allow your husband to go out of sight. Even VVIP followed this maxim. Long postings, follow. Short postings, make frequent undeclared visits. You will be surprised to find women clothings hiding in the closets of your husband's apartment. What happened to Terence?

Shanghai is a larger city. That is why it is attracting the best.

Nope. Chongqing is larger than Shanghai. How does that explain?

Shanghai has more commercial power that attracts the best. Not the size of the city.

It is the fashion capital of China. I am not sure if Shenzhen has overtaken Shanghai for this title.

Uncle FS,

I meant the Post-90s PRCs are the creme de la creme in self-absorption. ;)

Are they creme de la creme or only creme de la creme in self-absorption? Also Post-90s mean born post-90s or came post-90s?

the pap shd know better that charity begins at home.

if the pap insists on importing foreigners blindly, then the consequences can be very severe if Singaporeans dont stop the pap's recklessness

Oh yes, charity begins at home... LEE's home. :o

How can Singaporeans stop them? 60% agreed to let them do what they used to do for the next 5 years!! :mad:

Fook Gor is you called one ah? No big no small.

You still noob so you should call him Fook Yeh! :D

Bro, nevermind lah, he accepted then okay lor. :p

We very chin chye one. Cyber world, no take it so serious hor. :D