• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Better to die painlessly....

theblackhole

A survey of more than 500 people here has found that they value being able to die at home more than an extra year of life. But right at the top of their list is being free from pain, the findings of a survey by the Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School and Lien Centre for Palliative Care showed.

They were willing to pay $24,000 a year to relieve severe pain, but only $9,100 to prolong life for another 12 months. In presenting the findings at a Lien Centre for Palliative Care conference on Wednesday, Dr Chetna Malhotra, an assistant professor at the centre, said what people value has implications on where government subsidies should go.

She asked: "Does it make sense for the Government to pay for expensive therapies to extend life?"

Based on the findings, she said "subsidies for end-of-life treatments may not be a good use of scarce resources". "Pain management is at least as critical as prospects for extending life when deciding treatment options."

theblackhole

Many of us will choose to die painlessly. But when the final decision is to be made, many will choose to prolong their life through expensive medical therapies.

I have a friend who had brain cancer. He refused to be operated upon. He just stayed at home calmly and his family doctor just treated him conservatively, relieving his pain and discomfort. He died painlessly at home.

How many of us will choose this option? I hope I will have the courage to do this when the time comes.

theblackhole

I always wonder what doctors and therapists are thinking.

Sometimes, they highlight advanced life-saving chemotherapy to prolong lives.

This article highlights the acceptance of pain-relieving option and palliative care for terminal illnesses.

Engaging a pain relief specialist is not cheap either.

What would you do if you have a terminal illness? I think I will just take pain-killers and say good-bye at home.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
i've already discussed this with my family....no expensive treatment for me and end up depleting precious resources. Just keep me comfortable at home

and let me go off when my time is up.

Many of us will choose to die painlessly. But when the final decision is to be made, many will choose to prolong their life through expensive medical therapies.

I have a friend who had brain cancer. He refused to be operated upon. He just stayed at home calmly and his family doctor just treated him conservatively, relieving his pain and discomfort. He died painlessly at home.

How many of us will choose this option? I hope I will have the courage to do this when the time comes.

i've already discussed this with my family....no expensive treatment for me and end up depleting precious resources. Just keep me comfortable at home

bang, saya pun sama sama. i told them never to send me to hospital or icu if i terminal. just call the family doctor and relieve my pain and i will go gracefully.no need to spend so much on doctors and on hospital - in the end, also mati.

so now bang, just and go and give ourselves a wonderful and happy time....want to makan, makan....want to main, main..haha!!!

ya lausai cannot main....but can go swimming in the condo swimming pool :o

dangerous bang, swimming after makan kena leg cramps...main main water can lah....then after that main the main dessert!!!...siwmming good fore-play in private pool or at night baby's pool pun boleh.....or better still, sauna room.....!!!

wendychan

lots of so called buddhists love to declare not afraid to die, but if bomoh tell them don't do this, if not will die, then all scared

Raiders

Remember to put in writing to Boss Sam to will your points to me :biggrin:

Raiders

dangerous bang, swimming after makan kena leg cramps...main main water can lah....then after that main the main dessert!!!...siwmming good fore-play in private pool or at night baby's pool pun boleh.....or better still, sauna room.....!!!

Hello uncle, aku tak tahu melayu. Please speak in English so that I can join in the fun. 谢谢你!

Raiders

now then you say.....aiyah i willed them to BosSam already. Never mind i go lawyer now to change the will.

I think you made the right decision boss. I would do the same. If we have to spend all our money on treatments that does not guarantee much success, then it's better to leave the money to our love ones. (Must pretend to stick to topic lah, if not kena ban :biggrin:)

theblackhole

lots of so called buddhists love to declare not afraid to die, but if bomoh tell them don't do this, if not will die, then all scared

I think many of us will say this - prefer to die painlessly rather than seeking all sorts of remedies. But when we are faced with impending death, we might think otherwise. It takes a lot of courage to accept the death sentence and face it squarely. Not many people can face death squarely. They will go all the way to save themselves and to prolong their existence here on earth.

Frankly I can say I will accept the death sentence.But when I really face Death, I might not surrender so easily. If the doctors offer me something that might prolong even a moment of my existence, I might grab it. I have seen quite a number of people doing this.Sometimes, it is the care-givers who refuse to pull the plug on their loved ones. So it is very important to sign the AMD...

http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/policies-and-issues/advance_medical_directiveamd.html

Equalisation

I think it depends on the illness one is sufferring. If in the last stages of cancer, better go sooner rather than later. I have seen several cases and it is quite horrible and scary to be sufferring thus.