• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mismanaging Singapore, Fighting Wrong Battle

I won't disagree that the gahmen has mismanaged (socially) the population, but again Singaporeans aren't exactly exemplary in their behaviours as well. Canada (and other countries) have lots of immigrants from Third World countries as well but those in Singapore seem more to be clumped in the lower end of etiquette training (or lack of). Not to long ago I was at MacRitchie Reservoir and this South Asian (politically incorrect to say Indian) family was aiding thier toddler son to shit in the common area outside the lavatory - on the floor. Same thing as Ah Tiongs talking loudly in public places too. My conclusion is - when in Rome, do as the Romans. These are not the only examples. And in Singapore, one is not expected to tell a peer to be more considerate, only someone of a higher authority is able to to, otherwise the person will yell "Who are you to tell me!!"And the cops, unless an instruction is given to do their duty, wll turn a blind eye/deaf ear and pretend nothing's happened. And so would the rest of society. In Sg, I've come to learn one thing ever since I returned (to work), earn your money, enjoy what you can, mind your own business, leave the policies alone - nobody cares, that's for the gahmen.

VB yesterday said that 35% of Singaporeans wld litter if they were not caught. Looks like he is likely to increase penalties and go all out to caught Singaporean litter bugs. But that is only have the battle. has VB and his MEWR staff truly look into the root cause of the litter problem? To say that it's 35% of singaporeans is the problem is to miss the forest for the trees.

Does VB realise that SG's population increased by 2m and these are mainly 3rd world cheap migrants who come in with their 3rd world social habits and who refuse to integrate into SG society? Is this the root cause of the litter and social problems in SG?

The pap has grossly mismanaged SG.

When the pap deliberated on bringing in millions of PRC, Indian and filipino cheap labour migrant , where was :

1. MEWR?. Did MEWR staff advise the Cabinet of the littering problems with 5m+ people including 2m+ 3rd world migrant labour who are used to spitting nad littering in public?

2. MND?. Did MND staff advise the cabinet of the shortage of housing for these 2m migrants, the implications of high housing costs to Singapore?

3. MOT?. Did MOT staff advise the Cabinet on road congestion, inadequate buses and MRTs to transport these 2m migrant labour?

4. MOH?. Did MOH staff advise the Cabinet on the shortage of health care workers and hospital beds to cater to this 2m increase of population?

5. MTI? . Did MTI staff advise the Cabinet on the impact these cheap labour have on the cost and standard of living of native Singaporeans and the implications of a cheap wage policy?

6. MCYS?. Did MCYS staff advise the Cabinet on the social problems these 2m people caused to SG?

Even if the ministries had neglected to give their professional advice and inputs, the PM and DPMs should have the common sense to know the costs and implications of the cheap labour migrant policy.

Anyway we look at the issue, there is only one conclusion ie..The PAP has grossly mismanaged SG over the last five years.

The crumbling of Singapore has started and is gathering momentum.

PAP is fighting the wrong battle.

It was my jogging route.. Old Upper Thomson Rd and Bishan Park.

Even that, to wander off the beaten track to where those mattresses were strategically located must be taking more than a cross-country route.

I won't disagree that the gahmen has mismanaged (socially) the population, but again Singaporeans aren't exactly exemplary in their behaviours as well. Canada (and other countries) have lots of immigrants from Third World countries as well but those in Singapore seem more to be clumped in the lower end of etiquette training (or lack of). Not to long ago I was at MacRitchie Reservoir and this South Asian (politically incorrect to say Indian) family was aiding thier toddler son to shit in the common area outside the lavatory - on the floor. Same thing as Ah Tiongs talking loudly in public places too. My conclusion is - when in Rome, do as the Romans. These are not the only examples.

Are you blaming what the indians and prcs do on Singaporeans ?

Even that, to wander off the beaten track to where those mattresses were strategically located must be taking more than a cross-country route.

Not at all. I parked outside the prata shop and went for my 5 km jog so I could then enjoy 4 prata kosong without feeling guilty.

Singapore will keep clean what is in the public eye. If it is in some remote corner, sorry, let nature find a way.

very true..pap is good for wayang and putting up a show.

look at Pinnacle which the pap brings foreign guests and tell them that it's public subsidised housing...Pinnacle is no SIT flats nor Toa Payoh. how deceiving can the pap get? telling the truth but not the whole truth...

one Pinnacle, 10,000 other HDB blocks.

Are you blaming what the indians and prcs do on Singaporeans ?

Not really, they contribute their bit though. The larger part of the littering and bad social habits stem from the locals. The FTs simply follow the "norm."

VB yesterday said that 35% of Singaporeans wld litter if they were not caught.

it could be that the 35% are the pirated copy singaporeans which he restrained from revealing. PRCs mostly are not civic conscious. they spit openly. the noise that comes with it is very disgusting!

Singapore was filthy way before FT appeared on the scene.

it's true. before the influx of ft's in the 90s, i would wake up early at 5am for a stroll everytime i was in sg. streets, bus stops, drains, dirt and grass patches would be littered with trash. a brigade of cleaners would show up with brooms and bins at around 5:30am to start cleaning and picking up garbage. this happened every morning like clockwork. without this "invisible" army doing their cleanup work at the wee hours of the morning, sg would be just as trashy as any 3rd world cuntry. it seemed like sinkies would rely on the dark of night to cast their trash out their windows, balconies or anywhere where they were not seen nor caught. it's a hide and seek game with the no-littering law. the 2nd nature of sinkies turning their residence and place into a dump has never departed them, despite years of anti-litter campaigns, fines, propaganda, education, persuasion.

"invisible" army doing their cleanup work at the wee hours of the morning, sg would be just as trashy as any 3rd world cuntry. it seemed like sinkies would rely on the dark of night to cast their trash out their windows, balconies or anywhere where they were not seen nor caught. it's a hide and seek game with the no-littering law..
Many years back, my impression with rear of some housing blocks (well after the cleaning brigade's gone off) -like night and day vs front facade. Legislate, legislate ..chewing gum ban made us a laughing stock, garnered some space in Time.

Saving grace was 1 uncle who tickled folks across the causeway, by emptying out his pockets of sweet wrappers at end of day at home. Not because he was civic minded, but kiasi of orh kong

Check out the side roads and grass patches on Monday morning along Serangoon Road near the temple - litter galore.

Many years back, my impression with rear of some housing blocks (well after the cleaning brigade's gone off) -like night and day vs front facade. Legislate, legislate ..chewing gum ban made us a laughing stock, garnered some space in Time.

Saving grace was 1 uncle who tickled folks across the causeway, by emptying out his pockets of sweet wrappers at end of day at home. Not because he was civic minded, but kiasi of orh kong

corroborated. confirmed. cross-examined. case's closed. all true that legislation and enforcement cannot legislate pai kuan and ugliness out of sinkies. even the higher end homes in siglap are stashed with clutter all over their yards in their sides and rear. their front may have some funky obiang curb appeal, but the sides and rear are like the salvation army's dream. :eek:

Not really, they contribute their bit though. The larger part of the littering and bad social habits stem from the locals. The FTs simply follow the "norm."

singaporeans seldom littered few years ago...they must have given up trying to keep SG clean

VB yesterday said that 35% of Singaporeans wld litter if they were not caught.

it could be that the 35% are the pirated copy singaporeans which he restrained from revealing. PRCs mostly are not civic conscious. they spit openly. the noise that comes with it is very disgusting!

you are very observant! those who litter are normally nnot native Singaporeans. The red passport has ben tainted by newly minted Singaporeans.

The pap has mismanaged SG and spoilt Singaporeans good reputation

hahahaha....

singaporeans seldom littered few years ago...they must have given up trying to keep SG clean

I remember Singaporeans doing their litter habit whist visiting the northern neighbour.

I'd say that this habit is largely home-taught and is common through all races and nationalities. Whilst some kids are better raised than others, and Sg is somewhat cleaner than similar sized cities (in Asia), Sg is still an Asian city and "Asian Values" persist. Singaporeans may not habitually throw garbage on the floor, but they still leave them on tables, especially at food courts, that's the main reason why there is a bird problem in urban areas in Peesai.

I remember Singaporeans doing their litter habit whist visiting the northern neighbour.

I'd say that this habit is largely home-taught and is common through all races and nationalities. Whilst some kids are better raised than others, and Sg is somewhat cleaner than similar sized cities (in Asia), Sg is still an Asian city and "Asian Values" persist. Singaporeans may not habitually throw garbage on the floor, but they still leave them on tables, especially at food courts, that's the main reason why there is a bird problem in urban areas in Peesai.

good observation!

the pap has severely mismanaged SG, especially for the last five years. the damage done is tremendous and I dont know who or what can redeem SG..but one thing is for sure..the longer the present pap stays, more damage will be inflcuted on SG and Singaporeans