• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans show their unhappiness with immigration policies publicly at Teo Chee He

Singaporeans show their unhappiness with immigration policies publicly at Teo Chee Hean

Despite the best efforts of the government and the state media to hard-sell its immigration policies to Singaporeans, public opposition to it continue to rise.

According to one participant who attended a Town-Hall meeting with Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean and two other ministers to get ‘feedback’ on the nation’s population policies and ways to reverse the declining birth rate in Singapore, many of the participants appeared to be fed up with the current situation and were merely there to air their grievances.

“The mood in the hall was pretty somber as the participants voiced their concerns, grievances and anger one after another such that at one point, the moderator has to interject to calm them down…..The ministers appeared to be answering from a script – the same standard template reply. They don’t give the impression that they will change the policy. They are just there to explain the rationale behind the immigration policy and to sell it to us.”

After DPM Teo reiterated the importance of Singapore continuing to import immigrants to boost its falling birth rates, sighs could be heard among the participants with one irate man standing up and walking away on the spot, prompting him to say:

“I could see that, just watching the faces of the audience; some of the things, people nodded their heads while some shook their heads. This represents the kinds of dilemmas and difficulties that we have, as the government, to try and meet the aspirations of our people.”

One Singaporean Osman Sidek wrote in to the Straits Times Forum today asking if the next generation will have to deal with a larger aging population in the future:

“If indeed this increase is required to support our ageing population, wouldn’t that generation itself grow old in the future, thus needing a bigger population to sustain it? Aren’t we merely passing the buck to later generations?”

Another Singaporean Paul Chan pointed out the ramifications of a larger population using Hong Kong as an example:

“It took Hong Kong more than 100 years to accommodate a community of 7.1 million, even though they largely comprised Chinese from a single province – Guangzhou in southern China. Beneath the veneer of a vibrant city are tremendous stresses and fault lines, despite the apparent advantage of homogeneity where more than 90 per cent of Hong Kongers share the same Chinese dialect – Cantonese – as well as the same social and cultural backgrounds.”

Despite the ‘feedback’ from Singaporeans, it is highly likely that the decision has already been made by one old ‘wise’ man behind closed doors and the session as well as future ones are merely a ‘PR exercise’ or ‘wayang’ to sugar-coat the bitter policy which is having a detrimental effect on the quality of life in Singapore.

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=54844#1

Re: Singaporeans show their unhappiness with immigration policies publicly at Teo Che

Took so long yet cannot integrate the Malays, Indians and Chinese and now still bring in aliens from India, Nigeria, Pakistan, Bangla, China, Indonesia, Philipines, Vietnam, Myanmar, Hong Kong, USA, Uganda, and the freaking list is so long. It will take a million years to integrate.

Re: Singaporeans show their unhappiness with immigration policies publicly at Teo Che

One Singaporean Osman Sidek wrote in to the Straits Times Forum today asking if the next generation will have to deal with a larger aging population in the future:

“If indeed this increase is required to support our ageing population, wouldn’t that generation itself grow old in the future, thus needing a bigger population to sustain it? Aren’t we merely passing the buck to later generations?”

PAP pride themselves with 35 years of growth, our elderly and would be elderly still can't support themselves in their twlight years and has to rely on the young to support them? So what happen to all these years of growth? And where does the money goes to?

For all these high and mightly praises to PAP for our economic growth, Balls!

Took so long yet cannot integrate the Malays, Indians and Chinese and now still bring in aliens from India, Nigeria, Pakistan, Bangla, China, Indonesia, Philipines, Vietnam, Myanmar, Hong Kong, USA, Uganda, and the freaking list is so long. It will take a million years to integrate.

It was never their plan to integrate. It has always been their plan to divide, it's easier to control this way.

Brotha, I don't think so lah, on racial matters, it's actually true that LKY did try his best to integrate, after the racial riots of the 1950s-60s. That's why in HDB flat, there's racial quota and also Malay subsidies to appease the Malays as a minority, so on and so forth.

What the Singapore government did not wish to integrate is along social lines, which leads to the idea of using genetics and elitism.

More like a class divide, not a racial divide.

Racial matters are extremely sensitive and racial harmony is paramount important to our country, because our neighbours are Malay majority.

1. sheep just ignore ground sentiments.
2. continue carrying on plouging through its rigid policies.
3. what is there to listen to, to collect feedback.
4. in the first place, no sheep ever listen!
5. 60% still don't get it.

Brotha, I don't think so lah, on racial matters, it's actually true that LKY did try his best to integrate, after the racial riots of the 1950s-60s. That's why in HDB flat, there's racial quota and also Malay subsidies to appease the Malays as a minority, so on and so forth.

That's not integration, that appeasement in racial politics in order to keep the PAP in power.

You think too highly of that old weasel.

Sinkie are really jack assed morons.

What answers or even action do they think will get by firing questions to TCH and his cronies?

TCH standard template to handle all questions, be they difficult ones or dead one word answer to it would be:

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Forget about policies for a moment.
You would still show displeasure to Teo Chee Hean, because he's an asshole and he deserves every bit of vitriol.

Every PAP policies set in the past has it's ramification. The stop at 2 caused the population to shrink faster than if it's left alone. This time, the unnatural rapid increase in population with foreigners will result in fault lines in society in future. Mark my words, there will be ramification because of today's PAP population policies.

What the Singapore government did not wish to integrate is along social lines, which leads to the idea of using genetics and elitism.

More like a class divide, not a racial divide.

Racial matters are extremely sensitive and racial harmony is paramount important to our country, because our neighbours are Malay majority.

What LKY did in the past was correct.

If the different races did not gather together, we will not have the Singapore today.

But thats already in the past.

Pinky is learning that sinkies are damn dulan with his rules and if all of us gather together like what was in the past, his 超级白would have been voted out long ago.

Rest assured that this Amy Cheong saga will be brought up during their rally for erection 2016.

hahaha.....racial integration will always remain a pipe dream and idealistic catch word...
47 years in history is tiny tiny little drop in time.....
best to learn from history.........fault lines can remain dormant for centuries and explode overnight.....
go learn about the armenians, the balkan states, etc, etc......history is full of such incidents of racial genocides.......they are real, not fiction of imagination.

What LKY did in the past was correct.

If the different races did not gather together, we will not have the Singapore today.

But thats already in the past.

Pinky is learning that sinkies are damn dulan with his rules and if all of us gather together like what was in the past, his 超级白would have been voted out long ago.

Rest assured that this Amy Cheong saga will be brought up during their rally for erection 2016.

I understand what you're saying. However, it's not grand-father or grand-mother they're dealing with and the youth are educated, and have a mind of their own, unlike the past. they watch western films, see niggers and ang mohs in the same show, fucking each other and they travel wide too. It's hard to pretend Singapore is Pakistan, Afghanistan or Bosnia or even Georgia for that matter.

Whether race is really an issue in modern Singapore, I would say we're similar to France, while every tom, dick or harry can become citizens and the government encourages it. Because race is never an issue for integration. If PAP can subdue the religion fundamentalism in Singapore, race is nothing. They've pretty much rein in religion, because it's easy. Just put policies in place where everyone is busy working hard and there's no time to mess with race or religious matters.

IMO, the social divide is a more relevant political issue for the government. This Amy Cheong and the FB crowd of 20,000 internet noises is frivolous and it's all a big opera for the government to tell everyone who is in-charge of the country, that's all. The people are not angry. Hey, I'm not angry, and if I'm not angry, I'm very sure the majority are not angry with Amy Cheong. the government is just stirring some opportunistic shit and create a social scene along race lines. Amy is talking about noise, about divorce rate, about use of communial space. If it was a Chinese funeral that irked her, she would also have given her piece of mind on FB. She's not targeting the Malays, but the social issue behind the void deck noise.

Amy Cheong was an unfortunate scape goat i must say. It all happened because she commented on one particular race, plus she's from NTUC. She wouldn't have commented on a funeral because she's a chinese, there's still abit of filial piety in her no matter how aussie she is.

But yes i agree with you that the social divide (rich vs poor, locals vs foreigners) is getting wider by the day. It doesn't help with the garmen opening the doors like a 50yr old chicken at geyland.

超级白 know they cannot act as if nothing is happening so once in a while a little episode have to be blown sky high to show that they mean business, and in the process win votes from our malay brothers/sisters.

They can only start to heal the divide when they curb the influx of trash. We survived without them and we will survive when they leave.

And also show consistency in how they deal with all these racial issues. Sun Xu, Wang Peng Fei and the daughter of that 超级白 were also AHoles but nothing much happened to them.

i only copied and add on to the same topic from blog below. It will be really funny of TCH replied with his "what do you think" comment. sure to get farked in front of everyone.

http://youarebetteroffted.blogspot.sg/2012/10/first-hand-acccount-population-dialogue.html

First Hand Acccount : Population Dialogue Session with Ministers

I was there at the dialogue session, it was so well orchestrated that it felt like a multi-level marketing "sales" event. It started with DPM Teo giving the presentation on fertility rates, immigration numbers etc and reinforced that immigration is needed to fill in the missing babies since 1980s. Charts, numbers and graphs were all used to appeal to the head to assure that infrastructure was being upgraded, immigration was calibrated etc. There was also an innovative use of an instant survey to ask a couple of questions.

Kicking off the questions was Dr Amy Khor with whether the two child policy was so successful to cause the problems today. It was textbook answer of that the policy was needed at that time etc etc and they changed it in 1987. Then came the questions fast and furious. Out of the 35 questions I estimated, about one or two thanked the government, the majority about twenty questions were harsh and upset with the government, the rest were relatively neutral. The quality of some of the questions were quite weak, either unprepared or too narrow in focus. But some were thought provoking and related, e.g. Would Singapore return to Malaysia in the future if we did not have enough Singaporeans ? Why are PRs allowed unlimited time to decide if they want to be Singaporeans or not? Why still have landed properties if there is so constrained land in Singapore? Make it non existent for everyone. Why are we still selling our property to foreigners and the highest bidders when there is such a crunch ? Now the urban planning says 6 million in Singapore, but similarly in the past, Singapore was designed for 4 million, now we have 5.3 million. Who will know if the government screw up again and increase it to 8 million ? Would the government be ready to accept non traditional families like lesbians and single moms ?

The mood was definitely not kind to the Ministers. Whenever someone said something supporting Singaporeans, the audience would clap and cheer. One young Singaporean even addressed Dr Amy Khor's clarification that he was okay with 10 million in Singapore, he quipped,"I am okay with 10 million in Singapore with the appropriate infrastructure, ten million SINGAPORE citizens!" to loud applause. Another guy at the end of his question even said," I will be more comfortable with a Singaporean lesbian and her kid, then a foreigner!" The final blow was from a small business owner that even chided the Ministers Grace Fu and Tan Jin Chuan calling them managers rather than leaders and not having conviction to set a path forward or vision (Grace Fu on non traditional families) and unsure what economic growth is for Singapore (Tan Jin Chuan, which led him to return with a lengthly merry ground defense of himself)
So much so that DPM Teo had to admit that we are so used to scoring 99 percent that when we score 75 percent we get upset.

To be fair, I have to give credit to the Ministers and organizers for staying an extra hour till 10.30pm to try to address all the questions. I think some of the audience members should reflect how they wasted their opportunity to ask in-depth questions. Only two suggestions were picked up, one possible re-zone of the land use to increase land for housing and a special needs person as an NMP in the future.

From my perspective, the most disturbing was the wrap up by DPM Teo, he asked three questions, where Singapore wants to be in the future? What is the definition of a Singaporean ? And how these two questions affect the population in Singapore. For the first question, he painted an appealing vision that now 50 percent of the world's population lives in urban cities, and the future even more will live in cities, and that Singapore wants to be one of the key global cities in the world - vibrant and dynamic and cosmopolitan. The answer to the second questions is that the Singapore identity is always in flux and we are a migrant society. Everyone of us have some relative or parent or grandparents that were immigrants to Singapore. And the third question, was the text book answer that we needed a core of Singaporeans with the values and mores for society but we need to continue to supplement with young dynamic immigrants who provide the economic drive and the foreigners will return home and not be a burden to our society. All of these questions and their answers are logical and true, but it begs the question....

IS THE SURVIVAL OF SINGAPORE OR THE SURVIVAL OF SINGAPOREANS ? The key focus for our existing government ?

I pondered on this question as I took the Somerset MRT train north bound to the suburbs at 10.50pm after the dialogue session and found the train packed including a group of merry Americans, a loving Filipino couple and a Malaysian watching Ipoh parody of Gangnam style.

Then I realized the message I got from the dialogue session and the path our current leaders are taking us down, and the sad reality being, "Singaporeans are essentially migrants helping the survival of Singapore for the next batch of migrants."

This represents the kinds of dilemmas and difficulties that we have, as the government, to try and meet the aspirations of our people.”

Dis fella is good...can twist a scenario of citizen unhappiness into how difficult papies job are in few words...ah teo...lidat nxt yr your pay increment must not be less then 50% hor...so poor thing...work until cock hair all turn white...:D:D

No such thing as racial integration, unless everyone is forced to marry other races, thereby creating a unified mixed race over many generations. Even then skin tone can also be used to differentiate. Just look at some of the carribbean countries.

There will always be human conflict, be it over wealth gap, resources, race, religion, sexual orientation etc. It is in human nature, can't change.

Dis fella is good...can twist a scenario of citizen unhappiness into how difficult papies job are in few words...ah teo...lidat nxt yr your pay increment must not be less then 50% hor...so poor thing...work until cock hair all turn white...:D:D

you inspected his tool ? :p

The reasons for immigrants are real and pressing.
Notice that those who complain about immigrants provide no solution to address the problems.

The reasons for immigrants are real and pressing.
Notice that those who complain about immigrants provide no solution to address the problems.

1. yo! you are still clueless or just act blurred or what.
2. who are the paymasters hoh?
3. after paying millions to some herd of dafter sheep.
4. yet just lip service!