• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gurkha Contingent In Sgp

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
Gurkhas are extremely over rated in SG.....ask any peeps from Nepal, Bangadesh, India or Pakistan etc....

Orginal meaning of Gurkha are the defenders of COWs....

(quote: http://www.bbc.co.uk/insideout/southeast/series7/gurkhas.shtml )

They are very poor and dumb village people because of that they are desperate and would do anything for food.....

British came and took them to fight wars or as guards......

Nowadays they are being trained as Elite Soliders........

In SG...

They are heavily promoted to strike fear into the people......as they are hired to protect certain royal family in sg...

Saw a couple at the then school of signals on signal course... Wun b surprise if some went to various saf support schools for trade course..

I believed that some Gurkhas are selected to attend the various course in our armed forces if we infer from the various army t-shirts that they wear when they are off-duty and hanging around the Joo Seng estate area. I stayed in that area for more than 30 years and that is what I have observed. Sometimes, they even wear these t-shirts while doing their runs along Mt Vernon, Bartley Road, Potong Pasir, Bishan and at the old Bidadari Cemeteries.

Gurkhas are extremely over rated .....In SG...
They are heavily promoted to strike fear into the people......as they are hired to protect certain royal family in sg...

You mean they are the private army of the ruling family?

We already have the strongest armed forces in SEA and our SPF is organised and well equipped/trained. And we have trained two generations of national servicemen since 1967. The question is do we really need a Gurkha contingent to be based here?

No lah, Gurkha is a religion and not a race. They actually Chinese but come from hill region that is why they look slighly different. What is a kukri. Is its changkul?

The kukri is the distinctive knife used by the Gurkhas. In their blue police uniforms, the kukris will be sheathed in a scabbard, which looked like shiny leather, and hooked on their belt and hanging on their bum area. Milla Jovovich was using a pair in the Resident Evil movies.

No lah, Gurkha is a religion and not a race. They actually Chinese but come from hill region that is why they look slighly different. What is a kukri. Is its changkul?

Tenacious fighters

The Gurkhas are renowned for their bravery and tenacity, and have a tradition of being fearsome warriors.

These soldiers have played a key role in many skirmishes and continue to serve around the world's hotspots.

Beside their modern weapons, the Gurkhas still carry their traditional tool into battle - a 16 inch curved knife known as a Khukuri or Kukri.

Inside Out's Kaddy tries her hand at Gurkha training
This formidable weapon started life as a farming implement and is also used in sacrificial ceremonies. It can rip open an opponent in a single blow.

In World Wars I and II it became as important as conventional weapons such as guns and grenades.

Today's soldiering is as much about trying to keep the peace as launching a combat offensive.

The Gurkhas have developed a new skill, keeping a cool head in the face of a crisis and provocation.

Today much of their training involves exercises in riot situations and crowd control.

2000 men and 3000 family members. Total of 5k in Mt Vernon. Though there has always been one local senior officer as a liaison officer in GC, the first and only local person who actually worked in GC but more in the fitness area was ex-commando who moved to GC as Supt was Bernie Ho. He then moved to Police Training Command.

They are better of commanded by British Army Officer who know their language, culture and are specially selected from the British Gurkha formation.

There were a few times I have seen one or two ang mo wearing camouflage uniforms around the Mt Vernon area. I believe that these ang mos are likely seconded from the British Army to the Gurkha Contingent. I have seen Bruce Niven, once the Commander of the Gurkha Contingent, once around the Mt Vernon area too.

You mean they are the private army of the ruling family?

We already have the strongest armed forces in SEA and our SPF is organised and well equipped/trained. And we have trained two generations of national servicemen since 1967. The question is do we really need a Gurkha contingent to be based here?

Roadrunner :

They are not Singaporeans & they only obey their paymaster, got race riots they go in & settle, not happy they take their kukri & chop you a few times see you song boh, like that doesn't matter if you're Chinese, Malay, Tamil or Eurasian you can't say they chop you becos they see you what colour, they only see the colour of the S$$$$.

Roadrunner :

They are not Singaporeans & they only obey their paymaster, got race riots they go in & settle, not happy they take their kukri & chop you a few times see you song boh, like that doesn't matter if you're Chinese, Malay, Tamil or Eurasian you can't say they chop you becos they see you what colour, they only see the colour of the S$$$$.

You can say that about some MPs in the PAP ;)

Gurkha is not a race. It simply means Nepali mercenary. In other words, you can be a Nepali but not a Gurkha.

Tenacious fighters

The Gurkhas are renowned for their bravery and tenacity, and have a tradition of being fearsome warriors.

These soldiers have played a key role in many skirmishes and continue to serve around the world's hotspots.

Beside their modern weapons, the Gurkhas still carry their traditional tool into battle - a 16 inch curved knife known as a Khukuri or Kukri.

Inside Out's Kaddy tries her hand at Gurkha training
This formidable weapon started life as a farming implement and is also used in sacrificial ceremonies. It can rip open an opponent in a single blow.

In World Wars I and II it became as important as conventional weapons such as guns and grenades.

Today's soldiering is as much about trying to keep the peace as launching a combat offensive.

The Gurkhas have developed a new skill, keeping a cool head in the face of a crisis and provocation.

Today much of their training involves exercises in riot situations and crowd control.

In olden days everyone uses knife, swords, spears,

modern days its the power of the firepower......

16inch kuri combined the lenght with strenght and sharpness of the blade...of coz one can ripped open an opponent

Mission
To defeat specified threats within boundaries, across the spectrum of para-military operations, to help safeguard Singapore.

can you imagine Israel entrusting Blackwater for national security internal ops?
LKY does not even trust his fellow singaporeans.
the paranoia he exudes is detrimental to the growth and development of singapore as a nation.

can you imagine Israel entrusting Blackwater for national security internal ops?
LKY does not even trust his fellow singaporeans.
the paranoia he exudes is detrimental to the growth and development of singapore as a nation.

Totally...which is why he keeps brainwash and promote Gurkhas.......to create a fear image in Sinkies.....

, the first and only local person who actually worked in GC but more in the fitness area was ex-commando who moved to GC as Supt was Bernie Ho. He then moved to Police Training Command.

If he is the same Bernie, he was an SJI boy whose family moved to S'pore from HK when he was in his early teens. He liked military stuff very much. I guess the colonial heritage and pedigree made him suitable to work with the Gurkhas.

For all their high level precision crack military training, they still managed to let a one-legged cripple slip through their fingers whilst he was taking a piss.

It was a genuine mistake.................lets move on............

If he is the same Bernie, he was an SJI boy whose family moved to S'pore from HK when he was in his early teens. He liked military stuff very much. I guess the colonial heritage and pedigree made him suitable to work with the Gurkhas.

Bernie was ex ADC to president....he was also senior manhunt winner in 1991.

grew up playing soccer with gurkha kids from mount vernon. they are nepalese by nationality, but racially, they are mostly of tibetan stock. tibetans are closer to altaic tribes from mongolia and central asia. they get offended if you refer to them as chinese, because they are not. like bhutanese, their language has tibetan roots but their culture receives tremendous influence from india. anyone who thinks they are chinese has no clue what he's talking about. :rolleyes:

Datok, Agree.

I got to know one gurkha through football also. His name is Tenzing Bohgay.:o

However, I have to add that their womenfolk downright fugly !!:o

Totally...you will find some Indians look like chinese and vice versa.....the British mess up the borders before they left.......causing a huge confusion and etc....