• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NTUC investigates staff's alleged racist Facebook post

this de souza whatever should just STFU. he is not malay and does not represent malay or her religion so he cannot claim to have spoken out for them in the name of harmony.
if indeed his belief was so strong, where was he when that chinese student called dogs? or where was he when the pastor mocked another religion? WHERE WAS HE WHEN AN MP CLAIMED PARTS OF SERANGOON WAS TOO DARK????

please lah...

funeral wakes, weddings, 7 month dinners and getai, garang gunis, grassroot parties, election rallies....regardless of race, language, religion and political affiliation....living in the hdb heartlands be prepare for all sorts of noise and disturbances.

if anyone can heard these sounds, it just affirm that he is still alive and still paying taxes.

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said he was shocked to hear about the offensive comments about Malay weddings made by Amy Cheong on her Facebook page.

Mr Lee said the comments were "just wrong and totally unacceptable".

Writing on his Facebook page, Mr Lee said fortunately the person has promptly apologised for her grievous mistake.

However, Mr Lee noted that damage has been done and NTUC did the right thing in terminating her services.

Mr Lee said this is an isolated case that does not reflect the strength of race relations in Singapore.

He noted that it is a sharp reminder of how easily a few thoughtless words can cause grave offence to many, and undermine Singapore's racial and religious harmony.

Mr Lee noted that it was just last week when he shared a Wall Street Journal article on why people say nasty things online that they would never say face-to-face.

He had reminded netizens that we need to be extra careful and watch ourselves.

Mr Lee said he did not expect to see such a dramatic example so soon.

In concluding his post, Mr Lee urged all to be more mindful of what is said, online and in person. He said we must always uphold the mutual respect and sensitivity that holds our society together.

- CNA/ck

Since when weddind at S$50 ??

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Monday condemned the "offensive" Facebook post of a labour group executive, even as he called it an isolated incident.

"The comments were just wrong and totally unacceptable," he said in a post on his own Facebook page, noting that just last week he had shared a Wall Street Asia article on why people are rude online and how netizens should be careful of what they say.

The National Trades Union Congress on Monday sacked Amy Cheong, an ethnic Chinese assistant director of membership, for her FB post on Sunday wherein she complained in expletive-ridden language about a Malay wedding that was being held at a void deck near her home.

Among other things, she related Malay weddings to high divorce rates, and asked how society could “allow people to get married for 50 bucks”, peppering her post with vulgarities.

In a separate post, she also allegedly wrote, “Void deck weddings should be banned. If you can’t afford a proper wedding then you shouldn’t be getting married. Full stop.”

Lee noted that the person apologised for her mistake but the damage had been done. He said NTUC did the right thing in terminating her services.

"Let us treat this incident for what it is: an isolated case that does not reflect the strength of race relations in Singapore. But it sharply reminds us how easily a few thoughtless words can cause grave offence to many, and undermine our racial and religious harmony," he said.
"Let us all be more mindful of what we say, online and in person, and always uphold the mutual respect and sensitivity that holds our society together," he added.

Law Minister K Shanmugam in a Facebook post on Monday also decried Cheong's comments, saying they "are shameful and completely unacceptable".

"Her comments reflect a deep seated racist attitude coupled with contempt for those who are less well off, or who wish to spend less," he said.

He also cited what he said in Parliament back in 2002 that "we should look deep into our hearts and ask what the attitudes of non Malays are towards our Malay brothers and sisters".

He alsowill not be tolerated. commended NTUC for firing Cheong and said that the move should send a message that such conduct will not be tolerated.

Spooks will have a pretty accurate idea of who you are, what you like, who you hang out with, what's your personality by simply piecing together all these details.

it's not just spooks, private investigators, fraudsters, scammers, identity thieves, hackers, stalkers, busy bodies & mak neneks, even potential employers all use FB/social media to gather info on individuals. The lastest trend on social media sites empoyed by "certain" private, high target individuals are simply "counter espionage" type enforcement, they hire people to go about setting up bogus accounts for the sole purpose of "disinformation" so that those who gather data on them are given a whole bunch of rubbish info. And Zuckerberg thinks he has 1 billion unique users ahahahahaaaaa..

the malays in singapore are probably even worse now compared to the malaysian malays or maybe the malays in your region. The way how everyone panders to them has embolden them. They now know they can hold loud weddings, make noise, commit crimes and if anyone even dares complain even online are called racist. Seriously i can bet these few yrs even more m&ds are getting more arrogant and rude and try to bully chinese ppl even more. I bet the malays in singapore also don't invite their neighbours unlike the malays you mentioned.

Bro, it is the responsibility of the majority ethnic group not to discriminate minorities openly or in public. It is a heavy burden that only the strong can bear. Discrimination the other way around does not carry the same effect.

Interesting that ST ran a story today focusing on who this person is. What it failed to do is to make clear her nationality. Some people online claim she is a M'sian PR, but ST is silent on that point.

ST's other story today takes aim on the online reaction to this incident. Very strange. I can't agree that there is somehow an over-reaction.

gkPWx.jpg

Re: ‎*JUST IN* NTUC has sacked staffer Amy Cheong

1. bro, she has kosong voting right.
2. she is some ft hoh!

1. This kind of calibre can be
2. ASSistant Director in Ntuc?
3. They seem to be doing
4. a poor job in screening
5. foreign talents

responsibility of the majority ethnic group not to discriminate minorities openly or in public. ..heavy burden that only the strong can bear. Discrimination the other way around does not carry the same effect.
That's how the dice rolls. Doesn't (equitably) quite cut both ways:cool:

Does she belong to some union which can speak up for her if she deems her sacking as too harsh?

Unions are a western invention. Singaporeans are a practical lot. They do not need airy fairy ideals like labour rights and freedom of expression.

Bro, it is the responsibility of the majority ethnic group not to discriminate minorities openly or in public. It is a heavy burden that only the strong can bear. Discrimination the other way around does not carry the same effect.

Citation please. Which Malay or Indian has got away with racist remarks thus far?

Please don't make him sing & put on a costume will be tolerable..then again, had Amy Cheong, commented on Xia Sway singing & costume choices, get the boot??

02.jpg

[video=youtube;RgQXqMw-0PI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RgQXqMw-0PI[/video]

bro in sg malays aren't discrimnated. the comments by amy were done on the spur of the moment and does not represent the majority view. the fact of the matter is some m&ds think they can bully and push chinese ppl around and its also a fact that m&ds discriminate chinese in mudland for eg.

Also discrimination is discrimination period. All of us are individuals regardless of the race we are in. Why should a chinese somehow not suffer as much as a malay when he gets discriminated or racially insulted? He did not choose to be born chinese. He isn't bros with all the other chinese. He is his own individual with his own life.

You know what pisses me off when ppl make a -ve stereotype about malays for eg and say not all malays are like that. For some odd reason the ppl that defend that have no problems -ve stereotyping chinese. I have observed this numerous times.

Some people no blains to take facebook as their personal private journal. C'mon, it's free to use and anything free to use
is like a public toilet.

Rubbish.. the moral of the story is not to have a facebook account in the first place. Why people find a need to have a a real life presence on line certainly beats me. The ego trip is hardly worth the trouble. There are very few upsides and a minefield of downsides.

Those who want to express their true feelings should register an account here instead.

Boss, 1 billion people didn't think so leh.

Here also not safe. You can record our IP addresses but I know you will never give to anyone but only your loved ones but sometimes in life, we get tricked into doing things we regret later on and many will die with a leader's mistake.

I've no FB account because I don't know how to use it, not because I don't like it.

Boss, 1 billion people didn't think so leh.

Here also not safe. You can record our IP addresses but I know you will never give to anyone but only your loved ones but sometimes in life, we get tricked into doing things we regret later on and many will die with a leader's mistake.

I've no FB account because I don't know how to use it, not because I don't like it.

3.5 billion people on this earth have below average intelligence.