why no more "honest mistake" and "let's move on"?

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong: "Several of you wrote to me through Facebook about the person who posted offensive comments about Malay weddings on her Facebook page. I was shocked to hear about this. The comments were just wrong and totally unacceptable.

Just last week I shared a WSJ Asia article on why people say nasty things online that they would never say face-to-face. I reminded netizens that we needed to be extra careful and watch ourselves. I did not expect to see such a dramatic example so soon. Fortunately the person has promptly apologised for her grievous mistake. But the damage has been done, and NTUC did the right thing in terminating her services.

Let us treat this incident for what it is: an isolated case that does not reflect the strength of race relations in Singapore. But it sharply reminds us how easily a few thoughtless words can cause grave offence to many, and undermine our racial and religious harmony. Let us all be mo
re mindful of what we say, online and in person, and always uphold the mutual respect and sensitivity that holds our society together."

http://www.facebook.com/leehsienloong/posts/422356847827027

hmmm...maybe it was a "naughty but honest mistake" but it didn't move on. amy cheong was sacked!!

One thing I have learnt is this - if we ever are to grow and mature as a people, we need to address issues and attack the issues, rather than addressing people and attacking people. I don't know Amy Cheong. I don't know if she was complaining because she was nursing her baby, and the noise is preventing her baby from resting. Everything - really everything - is based on assumptions. The idea that she is elitist, that she is privileged, are all based on assumptions. There may be other issues that are really bothering her, and the noise from the void deck wedding just triggered her off.

http://publichouse.sg/categories/to...ase-of-amy-cheong-and-the-idea-of-entitlement

singapore remains ungracious, unforgiving and everyone just waiting to see blood spilling. something obviously isn't right in the undercurrent of our society.

LTB I agree with you to a certain extent. You show compassion and empathy to a very perhaps "disturbed and upset" Amy Cheong. Yes, we are still very ungracious and unforgiving.Mob lynching and herd mentality seem to be the rule here. I followed Amy Cheong on twitter and on the social media, she had it very bad.

I only hope we can all forgive her and move on. She has lost everything in just one post. Pretty sad I must say.

somewhere at my li'l brother leetahsar's hideout, he faces even worst torture almost on a weekly basis.

he lives in queenstown. almost every week, there would be a funeral wake that is held in a shelter pavillion which faces directly his block. just go think how noisy and annoying it is to listen to the tong-tong-cheng which can start very early in the morning and ending quite late.

as if that isn't enough, RC helds regular torturing noisy karaoke sessions usually on weekends where many need a quiet rest from days of toiling. and boy!! if u hear those croaking uncles and screeching aunties sing their hearts out, it's the worst torture one can ever bear.

the town council should ve a better space planning for relevant event usuage.

attack the issues, rather than addressing people and attacking people.

There may be other issues that are really bothering her, and the noise from the void deck wedding just triggered her off.

She was one of the unhappy people living in HDB slums. Lots of noise if you ever live near the ground with or without a void deck. Funerals, weddings, RC singing sessions, night markets, etc. Hell if you live low. If you live 14 stories and above, quite safe from those bloody noises.

singapore remains ungracious, unforgiving and everyone just waiting to see blood spilling. something obviously isn't right in the undercurrent of our society.

These people are brainwashed to be 'anti-racists' (by constant bombardment from the fascist media). PAP keeps harping on it but they are also doing the same whard. They can always escape such condemnation and punishment.

if u hear those croaking uncles and screeching aunties sing their hearts out, it's the worst torture one can ever bear..

I find the real toad has better vocal than those RC people mentioned above.

Too bad. Those words spoken are the truth.

I guess ah loong prefers lies being told to him everyday

Like he is doing a great job!!! :)

if amy cheong didn't post but whine it to friends and then friends of friends, isn't it quite similar to do it once and for all in FB where a bigger audience can share with her plight and slient suffering and torment?

it boils down to erratic planning by hdb or towncouncils. i don't think i find this type of racket in pte condos. something has to be rectified cos many are just tolerating. and just how long and how much could one tolerate before it blows full steam?

lim suay suay doesn't support his own ka kia just to save his own skin. by the way, how cum attention whore baey is keeping silent this time?

One thing I have learnt is this - if we ever are to grow and mature as a people, we need to address issues and attack the issues, rather than addressing people and attacking people. I don't know Amy Cheong. I don't know if she was complaining because she was nursing her baby, and the noise is preventing her baby from resting. Everything - really everything - is based on assumptions. The idea that she is elitist, that she is privileged, are all based on assumptions. There may be other issues that are really bothering her, and the noise from the void deck wedding just triggered her off.

http://publichouse.sg/categories/to...ase-of-amy-cheong-and-the-idea-of-entitlement

What fucked up excuse is that/ Nursing baby? Baby need rest?

If Amy feels so exclusive to demand such a serene, clean and super quiet environment then she MUST have she means to buy herself ( and her baby of course) a cul de sac huge bungalow and that assures herself and generations to come, that NO MALAY WEDDINGS can ever come near or even have problems getting her car parked.

Else she would have to bear with it like all other HDB peasants ( including yourself) and excercise tolerances and most importantly to keep her mouth shut and her fingers tied down whenever she feels she has some similiar outburst as such.

Think about it, If she had shouted her shit posting inside a w/c toilet bowl instead of her FB she could still be keeping her job and make more money in years to come to realise that cul de sac bungalow in her dreams! LOL

both were heavily overused by people in this forum and lost its convincing power.
like the 50-year once occurrence.

they will come up with another new excuse sooner or later.

There are many annoying things which we tolerate everyday. But once you are in the limelight and someone broadcasts it and your comments or your behaviour go viral, you are in deep shit. So if you want to do something really nasty, do it quietly without any fanfare and don't go around boasting about your exploits.

FB,twitter and all the social media, including SBF, is no place to show your TRUE FACE. We all wear masks here. Some wear condoms too.

There are many annoying things which we tolerate everyday. But once you are in the limelight and someone broadcasts it and your comments or your behaviour go viral, you are in deep shit. So if you want to do something really nasty, do it quietly without any fanfare and don't go around boasting about your exploits.

FB,twitter and all the social media, including SBF, is no place to show your TRUE FACE. We all wear masks here. Some wear condoms too.

1. hahaha!
2. kopi, good one.
3. so, what do you wear hoh?

Do it quietly so nobody knows?

cannot leh, uncle.

Years ago I too tried to buy myself a Nissim road , super posh property.

Developer gave me such discount that nobody can ever get it.

Then suddenly, don't know which fucker go report me getting such special treatment that all the beans spilled out and I got to cough back out those discounts.:D

soIsee....you are quite right sir.

sooner or later, even you do things in the dark and in secret, the earth is one big mirror, soon...yes....soon your misdeeds and secrets will be public...

so never commit misdeeds and evil in darkness or in secret.....remember the earth is one big mirror.some say the earth is one big camera....everthing is recorded and entombed .....crime does not pay....evil will certainly be worse...boomerang!

soIsee....you are quite right sir.

sooner or later, even you do things in the dark and in secret, the earth is one big mirror, soon...yes....soon your misdeeds and secrets will be public...

so never commit misdeeds and evil in darkness or in secret.....remember the earth is one big mirror.some say the earth is one big camera....everthing is recorded and entombed .....crime does not pay....evil will certainly be worse...boomerang!

1. wa! kopi, you scared me leh!
2. me always steal eat hoh!

both were heavily overused by people in this forum and lost its convincing power.
like the 50-year once occurrence.

they will come up with another new excuse sooner or later.

they need to re-invent a new oxford dic ala singapore style to cum up with sweet excuses.

Unfortunately, in an online forum, this is also the same. People are waiting for blood to be spilled and there are always constant fault findings.