Maid took revenge on employer by murdering his girl at Hougang

Extremist

Indonesian maid jailed 20 years for pushing a disabled 12-year-old girl to her death from 16th floor. She'd wanted to take revenge on the girl's father

564790_10151086043447934_1122392894_n.jpg

SINGAPORE: An Indonesian maid who pushed a 12-year-old disabled girl off a ledge in 2010 was jailed 20 years for culpable homicide on Monday.

The maid, who goes by one name, Nurhayati, was 16 years old at the time she pushed Linda Lee Yee Lin off the 16th floor parapet ledge of a block in Hougang Street 51.

She had been hired only the month before to care for Linda.

The court heard that Nurhayati was having difficulty adjusting to life in Singapore, and had not been well-equipped or trained to care for a disabled child.

Linda suffered from Scoliosis, and was both physically and mentally disabled.

The court also heard that Nurhayati was angry and irritated with Linda's father, Mr Lee Kai Yam, as he often reprimanded her about her work.

She had even planned to kill him by mixing his coffee with insect poison, but did not follow through.

On November 24, 2010, Nurhayati suddenly thought of killing Linda, to take revenge on Mr Lee.

After Mr Lee left for work, Nurhayati carried Linda out of the family's flat on the fourth floor and took the lift to the ground floor, but did not know how to kill her.

She then got back into the lift and went up to the 16th floor, where she then pushed Linda off the parapet wall.

Nurhayati then staged Linda's disappearance as a child abduction.

She wrote a note addressed to Mr Lee using a red pen, and taped it to Linda's bedroom door, before she lay down, naked, on the floor of the bedroom to pretend she was sexually assaulted.

Police later uncovered the truth during investigations.

The prosecution pressed for a deterrent sentence saying that the victim was a vulnerable handicapped child, and that the crime was committed out of spite and pure vengeance.

Linda's parents were present for the hearing.

Her father said he was still trying to cope with the loss of his only child.

Nurhayati's mother was also in court, and spent 15 tearful minutes with her daughter after the sentence was meted out.

- CNA/cc

what kind of deterrence sentence is that? after 13.5 yrs she will be free.

we have so many foreigners and maids in our homes. some of them are really mad and dangerous. even those foreign workers doing your house can be dangerous.

To all domestic employers better take heed.

Abuse them at your family's risk. We never hang maids anymore.

Fair punishment.

I play the devil advocate is it better for the child ? don't flame me....but think...and ask the little voice inside...sometimes there is no black n white

Even the handicapped and the mentally retarded have a place in society. Unless we are advocates of The Brave New World.

An eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth. Blood must pay for blood.

I play the devil advocate .....

Hey, that's my job! Don't come and steal my job leh. :D

Not sounding cruel, but the parents will be lightened from the burden of caring the physically and mentally disabled child for life. On the other side, the maid will have free meals and lodging for the next 13 years or so. She is lucky that she didn't get the death sentence. While in prison, she might be able to upgrade herself there with all the free courses and learn some skills before she's out.

Sinkie shouldn't have maid. They dun treat other human beings with respect.

I play the devil advocate is it better for the child ? don't flame me....but think...and ask the little voice inside...sometimes there is no black n white

Of course better lah. The disabled also can't contribute to the economy. They are a drain on resources. What's the point of letting them live? Majulah PAP! :D

fucking hell she avoided the murder charge. Another example this fucking country is sinking lower.

Note to parents: if you have a disabled+retarded kid, hire specialized caregivers to look after her. Don't let a minimum wage maid do it.

It's more expensive, but hey, you could have aborted the kid. Your body, your choice.

Note to parents: if you have a disabled+retarded kid, hire specialized caregivers to look after her. Don't let a minimum wage maid do it.

It's more expensive, but hey, you could have aborted the kid. Your body, your choice.

Specialized caregivers know how to take care of these type of kids. They have the temperament and patience to take care of special needs ppl. It's also the same with disabled old ppl. Special needs ppl can give lots of problems to those that don't have the patience or know how to handle them.

Or send them to the special schools, pathlight i think is teaching children with special needs to take care of themselves and do basic normal things like taking the bus, paying and so on

we have so many foreigners and maids in our homes. some of them are really mad and dangerous. even those foreign workers doing your house can be dangerous.

1. kopi, come on!
2. get real too.
3. what do you expect from some 2-week training from some maid agency.
4. to look after a disabled individual!
5. don't expect miracle from foreign maids, to be some instant miracle.
6. culture shock, language & attitude are the biggest hurdles!

Of course better lah. The disabled also can't contribute to the economy. They are a drain on resources. What's the point of letting them live? Majulah PAP! :D

Then those mentally retarded like you and Tonychat should drop dead asap.