Discrimination against indian taxi driver

http://m.therealsingapore.com/site/...ent/discrimination-against-indian-taxi-driver

[h=1]DISCRIMINATION AGAINST INDIAN TAXI DRIVER[/h]
<ARTICLE class="node-1185 node node-article node-promoted view-mode-full clearfix" about="/content/discrimination-against-indian-taxi-driver" typeof="sioc:Item foaf:Document"><HEADER>THEREALSINGAPORE Sat, 10/06/2012 - 09:22

</HEADER>

Dear TRS, I 'm writing to highlight an incident that happened on 2nd October 2012, outside Esplanade taxi stand. I was making my way to the taxi stand, when I saw a group of PRC foreign workers crowding at the taxi stand. Apparently, the taxi driver first in the queue is an Indian. They were saying they do not want to take the cab because the driver is Indian. They even mentioned the word "black" in Mandarin. It was late at night, and from their attire, it seems like they are hotel staff or staff from a restaurant. They were laughing and cheering the others to take the mentioned cab. It was a group of 6, mostly women. I was appalled when I saw this. Singapore is a multi-racial country and there is apparent discrimination here. I'm highlighting this because I feel that more can be done to let foreigners integrate into our society, be they immigrants or foreign workers. In the end, I took the cab and from the facial expression, I could tell the driver wasn't too pleased with what happened. I, myself, felt rather disappointed. George Yeo </PRE>

Tags:
Gossips
Online Community

Tweet

<IFRAME id=fb_xdm_frame_http src="http://static.ak.facebook.com/connect/xd_arbiter.php?version=11#channel=f2f89ea7db781a&origin=http%3A%2F%2Fm.therealsingapore.com&channel_path=%2Fsite%2Ftherealsingapore%2Fcontent-hdb-has-ethnic-integration-policy-eip%3Furl%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftherealsingapore.com%252Fcontent%252Fdiscrimination-against-indian-taxi-driver%26nosim%3Dtrue%26fb_xd_fragment%23xd_sig%3Df1901881393ec82%26" name=fb_xdm_frame_http></IFRAME><IFRAME id=fb_xdm_frame_https src="https://s-static.ak.facebook.com/connect/xd_arbiter.php?version=11#channel=f2f89ea7db781a&origin=http%3A%2F%2Fm.therealsingapore.com&channel_path=%2Fsite%2Ftherealsingapore%2Fcontent-hdb-has-ethnic-integration-policy-eip%3Furl%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftherealsingapore.com%252Fcontent%252Fdiscrimination-against-indian-taxi-driver%26nosim%3Dtrue%26fb_xd_fragment%23xd_sig%3Df1901881393ec82%26" name=fb_xdm_frame_https></IFRAME>
<IFRAME style="DISPLAY: none" id=f6e5dd0198d13d src="https://www.facebook.com/dialog/oauth?client_id=455254324505582&response_type=token%2Csigned_request%2Ccode&display=none&domain=m.therealsingapore.com&origin=1&redirect_uri=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter.php%3Fversion%3D11%23cb%3Df20fdbad746e99c%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fm.therealsingapore.com%252Ff2f89ea7db781a%26domain%3Dm.therealsingapore.com%26relation%3Dparent&sdk=joey" name=f6e5dd0198d13d></IFRAME>

<IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; WIDTH: 71px; HEIGHT: 20px; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: medium none" id=f355d85ccc7728c class=fb_ltr title="Like this content on Facebook." src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?api_key=455254324505582&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter.php%3Fversion%3D11%23cb%3Df1ecf4b39aca38a%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fm.therealsingapore.com%252Ff2f89ea7db781a%26domain%3Dm.therealsingapore.com%26relation%3Dparent.parent&colorscheme=light&extended_social_context=false&href=http%3A%2F%2Fm.therealsingapore.com%2Fsite%2Ftherealsingapore%2Fcontent-hdb-has-ethnic-integration-policy-eip%3Furl%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftherealsingapore.com%252Fcontent%252Fdiscrimination-against-indian-taxi-driver%26nosim%3Dtrue&layout=button_count&locale=en_US&node_type=1&sdk=joey&send=false&show_faces=false&width=280" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency name=f109bff9ad08b76 scrolling=no></IFRAME>

<SECTION class="comments comment-wrapper">[h=2]2 Comments[/h]
<ARTICLE class="comment comment-by-anonymous first odd clearfix" about="/comment/105098#comment-105098" typeof="sioc:Post sioct:Comment"><HEADER>$8 BYPASS Sat, 10/06/2012 - 13:44

</HEADER>Obviously the Indian cabbie wont understand when the china dogs are speaking and thats why they are not taking the cab...

</ARTICLE><ARTICLE class="comment comment-by-anonymous last even clearfix" about="/comment/105123#comment-105123" typeof="sioc:Post sioct:Comment"><HEADER>PINK PANTY LOONG Sat, 10/06/2012 - 20:21

</HEADER>It's not discrimination lah! Cos they can't speak English!

</ARTICLE>

Pot calling the kettle black...Indian passengers see at Chinese cab drivers, won't want to board.....what happened to the "embrace our FT's? the Bayi, must come down the from the taxi..and "embrace" and speak to the PRC.. " ni hau, wo dai ni chi xi mien"... ha ha ha "EMBRACE, INTERGRATE ( not inter...) ha ha ha:D

http://m.therealsingapore.com/site/...ent/discrimination-against-indian-taxi-driver

[h=1]DISCRIMINATION AGAINST INDIAN TAXI DRIVER[/h]
<ARTICLE class="node-1185 node node-article node-promoted view-mode-full clearfix" about="/content/discrimination-against-indian-taxi-driver" typeof="sioc:Item foaf:Document"><HEADER>THEREALSINGAPORE Sat, 10/06/2012 - 09:22

<SECTION class="comments comment-wrapper">[h=2]2 Comments[/h]
<ARTICLE class="comment comment-by-anonymous first odd clearfix" about="/comment/105098#comment-105098" typeof="sioc:Post sioct:Comment"><HEADER>$8 BYPASS Sat, 10/06/2012 - 13:44

</ARTICLE><ARTICLE class="comment comment-by-anonymous last even clearfix" about="/comment/105123#comment-105123" typeof="sioc:Post sioct:Comment"><HEADER>PINK PANTY LOONG Sat, 10/06/2012 - 20:21

lianbeng noted 10/06/2012 = 10th June 2012.:rolleyes:

Pot calling the kettle black...Indian passengers see at Chinese cab drivers, won't want to board.....what happened to the "embrace our FT's? the Bayi, must come down the from the taxi..and "embrace" and speak to the PRC.. " ni hau, wo dai ni chi xi mien"... ha ha ha "EMBRACE, INTERGRATE ( not inter...) ha ha ha:D

I agree with this. Fucking hell as if these bloody shit skin kelings aren't racist? It's always chinese are racist chinese are damn bloody racist yet when other races insult chinese nope nothing is mentioned.

Not being a racist but india ah neh's perfume is too pungent for my nose.

Sgp ah neh girls is still ok.

Not being a racist but india ah neh's perfume is too pungent for my nose.

Sgp ah neh girls is still ok.

It's ok for you to say it what. Yet in this fucking country all because they aren't chinese somehow we have to tolerate their smell and shit behavior but there's no need for them to do the same they can insult chinese ppl all they want.

Fucking smelly lah tak keling cab. I always avoid taking keling cab and also cab that keling just alighted from. Can vomit la pundek.

I understand that you're not chinese.

You see there's this bloody mentality going on in sg that everytime a race is being discrminated the culprits must be chinese when all races know that kelings stink. Yet when it comes to blaming let's blame the chinese when ang mohs, malays, everyone says indians stink. :rolleyes:

Yes I am not chinese but I speak the tooth. Keling stink la. Keling act like diva black americans la. Always think everyone is racist towards them. Kelings cant accept that they stink. But at least now my timing for holding my breath is longer that it use to be in the 80s and early 90s when got more open space in peesai.

It just pisses me off that when something factual about kelings is being said somehow the blame must lie on the chinese when other races also say kelings stink.

The PRCs know Ah Neh taxi drivers to be a tricky to deal with. Due to communication problems, some do not or pretend not to understand and ended up going directions. Call Ah Neh "blacks" is a catch-all term for anyone of darker skin color is itself not racist. A racist is one who would not allow his daughter to marry an Ah Neh. For that, you know who we are talking about.

Oh yes of course when a shit skin cheats them that's perfectly fine. Ok not allowing your daughter to marry someone of another race is racist but u know the deal in sg. Now most ppl of all races would prefer their daughters to marry a man of the same race which means that there would be indian fathers that would not want their daughters marrying chinese men but as usual of course the spotlight is only shown on the chinese side.

In sg it's always like this only the chinese can be seen as racist. When chinese get discriminated somehow it's ignored or some stupid excuse is brought up to brush it away.

Not too sure who but in that matter but I don't think he/she would like his/her house to stink up every hari raya/ chinese new year when her daughter brings him home :)

I agree with this. Fucking hell as if these bloody shit skin kelings aren't racist? It's always chinese are racist chinese are damn bloody racist yet when other races insult chinese nope nothing is mentioned.

Can't help it, our ancestors have this obsession calling any & every other race on planet earth "devils"; but back then Cathay was the center of the earth for them. What to do, it had already happened, what do you think?

Oh yes of course when a shit skin cheats them that's perfectly fine. Ok not allowing your daughter to marry someone of another race is racist but u know the deal in sg. Now most ppl of all races would prefer their daughters to marry a man of the same race which means that there would be indian fathers that would not want their daughters marrying chinese men but as usual of course the spotlight is only shown on the chinese side.

In sg it's always like this only the chinese can be seen as racist. When chinese get discriminated somehow it's ignored or some stupid excuse is brought up to brush it away.

Yoh Jah its the same everywhere lah. The majority gets discriminated is ok but when the minority gets it its call discrimination. Let me give you an example, look at US its ok for a nigger to call a white guy cracker or honky but try calling the black guy a nigger n see what happens. Who call the chings in SG to be the majority, if the mats or neh were the majority we chings can cry discrimination all day long also :)

It doesn't matter whether keling or prc or mats....so long as if they smell offensive, does that make the person who feels offended by the repugnant smell a racist?

I understand your sentiments, but in this politically correct world, in any country, only the majority/economically dominant race can be called racist. Black comedians in America can make fun of whites, can call them honky or trailer trash, but a white comedian can't make fun of blacks or jews, or call them niggers and kikes.

It's a double standard, but it's the reality. It's a kind of payback for centuries of oppression of minorities (slavery, genocides, pogroms, Holocaust, apartheid, colonialism) who are usually people of colour with little economic or political power.

nothing racists about this at all. its simply free market economics at play - customers are free to choose which ever cab they want to take. if i do not like the smell of chink drivers, i am free to wait for another cab.

racism only exists in the mind of the beholder.

the chink waitresses have simply exercised their economic right to choose.

Yoh Jah its the same everywhere lah. The majority gets discriminated is ok but when the minority gets it its call discrimination. Let me give you an example, look at US its ok for a nigger to call a white guy cracker or honky but try calling the black guy a nigger n see what happens. Who call the chings in SG to be the majority, if the mats or neh were the majority we chings can cry discrimination all day long also :)

Bro the US is different from SG la. Also it's not the majority race in every country that gets discriminated. Example is malaysia, indonesia, probably thailand. Let me explain a bit on the US. It's said that the US isn't ruled by the white ang mohs but by the jews. Jews look like whites but aren't whites. It's something like chinese and japs. Japs look chinese but aren't chinese. Also blacks were once slaves and suffered a lot until the 60s in which it got better with every decade until today. It was the 60s that they fought the hardest with martin luther king leading with arrests and fights that they finally got free. The blacks didn't get the situation they have today simply because they are black and whites thought they deserved it. They fought for it.

I understand your sentiments, but in this politically correct world, in any country, only the majority/economically dominant race can be called racist. Black comedians in America can make fun of whites, can call them honky or trailer trash, but a white comedian can't make fun of blacks or jews, or call them niggers and kikes.

It's a double standard, but it's the reality. It's a kind of payback for centuries of oppression of minorities (slavery, genocides, pogroms, Holocaust, apartheid, colonialism) who are usually people of colour with little economic or political power.

Yes in the US case it's payback for the whites BUT in singapore it's different. Since when have the chinese ever enslaved anyone in this country or even in china? Therefore it's easy to understand why they should have double standards in the US but not for SG. PPl are already blaming chinese for making small little comments. Imagine if the chinese were like the whites in the US enslaving others. They would be insisting all chinese be totally annihilated. It's not a very good comparison to use the US. In any case double standards like this should always be brought up. Don't allow others to hold one race ransom because the chinese here don't owe any other race anything.

I would agree that small comments should not be made big..because that can have exact opposite effect of what gahmen wants to achieve. But then where to draw the line? SG situation a bit different because although Chinese majority, it is a small state amongst Malay neighbours.