Singapore government asked Google to block anti-Islam video

Extremist

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/FEXl2-IJ7-0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

SINGAPORE: Singapore has called on Google to block an anti-Islam film on YouTube.

The Home Affairs Ministry said the film "Innocence of Muslims" contains material that incites religious hatred or intolerance, and is in breach of Singapore laws.

Protests by Muslims over the obscure amateur anti-Islam film are intensifying around the world.

More than a dozen people have been killed in a span of two weeks, including the US Ambassador in Libya.

Google has blocked access to the video in several countries, including Indonesia, Malaysia, and India, after calls from their governments to take the film offline.

Singapore is making a similar move. Although there have been no protests in the country, authorities said it is a pre-emptive measure, to prevent any violent incidents from taking place.

The Home Affairs Ministry said the continued circulation of the film may cause disharmony or feelings of ill will between different groups in Singapore.

It added that any act that does this is an offence under the Penal Code.

The Inter-Religious Organisation of Singapore supports the move to block the video.

"Our religious followers in Singapore are rational and will not resort to violence. We also hope that Singaporeans who watch the film will not repost or make unnecessary comments on it," said Honorary Secretary Master Wei Yi from the Inter-Religious Organisation of Singapore.

The Media Development Authority has directed Google to restrict access to the video in Singapore.

Google, which owns YouTube, is currently considering Singapore's request.

The video was first posted online on July 1. Its maker is believed to be in hiding.

I agree with that. Good move. Really.

However, did the Government ask YouTube to block those anti Christianity, Buddhism, Taoism, Hinduism videos too?

Then by the way, might as well block porn. It is also anti-whatever religion.

Block porn??

If they do so, confirm they will be out after the next GE!

But I can see porn where the nuns are fucking the monks...so offensive....block lah.

We got geylang mah.

LOl! Happened to me before. A girl was giving me a BBBJ in the car and we realised that someone was watching.

She stopped and said "got people looking leh". I replied, "its okay, they are looking at you and not me, now dun stop."

She said "okay", BJ till I CIM...shiok!

wah...so heng ah :). Watch out for cruxx...he may be trying to peep.

I agree with that. Good move. Really.

However, did the Government ask YouTube to block those anti Christianity, Buddhism, Taoism, Hinduism videos too?

Why stop there ? You may as well remove "evil lee" and "evil PAP" out of it too. :rolleyes:

Fascism is arising out of the stormy sea ... :*:

7qab43

SINGAPORE: Singapore has called on Google to block an anti-Islam film on YouTube.

The Home Affairs Ministry said the film "Innocence of Muslims" contains material that incites religious hatred or intolerance, and is in breach of Singapore laws.....

Protests by Muslims over the obscure amateur anti-Islam film are intensifying around the world. ....

More censorship? The authorities are taking a regressive step.

They should just simply educate the public to have an open mind and be tolerant. Those who are offended- just don't watch it! Some others are able to take it as casual comedy, so why can't they? And to those who get spurred to violence -it is time that these people practice anger management. Ot simply have a beer, sit back, and relax. Using an innocent piece of video work as an excuse to get all worked out and taking out their frustrations by violent rioting is not behaving as civlized human beings.

More censorship? The authorities are taking a regressive step.

They should just simply educate the public to have an open mind and be tolerant. Those who are offended- just don't watch it! Some others are able to take it as casual comedy, so why can't they? And to those who get spurred to violence -it is time that these people practice anger management. Ot simply have a beer, sit back, and relax. Using an innocent piece of video work as an excuse to get all worked out and taking out their frustrations by
violent rioting is not behaving as civlized human beings.

Agree with u bro . Ppl want religious freedom at the same time they want to keep ppl from bad mouth their own religion . wtf !!! ;)

Good luck attempting to block/censor anything that has leaked onto the Internet. LOL, those imbeciles in the govt.

Always trying to be politically correct and trying their darndest best to not offend the giao tors.

This move is only wayang....to pacify certain sensitive groups. Like bro said should pacify the rest as well