• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why I prefer to hire foreigners over Singaporeans

Dear Frens,

just my 2 cents rants with regards to low skilled workers and the difficulty in retaining locals to do low skilled jobs.

Please note I am coming from a pro conservative middle class view. The issue with Foreign trashes and what is happening in Singapore is mainly due to PAP's rent seeking behaviour and the lack of political costs to the PAP for ignoring Singaporeans.

The Current Situation

Its through this rent seeking behaviour that has allowed the FT problem to get from bad to worse and that SMEs now are doing nothing but economically canibalising on the local market trying to delay their demise by minimising cost (cutting head count, low pay, do it on the cheap etc) and maximising profits. This matter will get worse as the middle class is shrinking in Singapore hence shrinking domestic demand.

For example I run a burger take out, catering to locals. However my business is dropping as many of my customers are out of work and cant afford to patronise my business. So wat do I do? I cut pay and hire FTs, and as this is a low class job, not many locals will do due to long hrs and low pay. And if I hire locals and try to up skill the job,,there is a limit to what I can do as its a small local burger joint. Meanwhile due to PAP rent seeking behaviour my rent goes up, ingredients go up etc..so what is my next step? Continue to keep my workers pay low,,,use FTs etc etc.

Meanwhile all other companies (SME's) are doing that..even for PMET jobs, FTs are hired to keep cost down. Therefore, middle class Singapore is continuing to shrink and my customers get less and less. So what do I do? Continue to cut cost right? See the downward spiral?

The Singaporean Labour Market

As the labour force matures, Singaporeans are more reluctant to take low paid, physically demanding jobs. I for one dont want to do such shit jobs. In warehousing/logistics or whatever you want to call it, the job is Dirty, Dangerous and Low class. For an educated Singaporean, to do such a job means they are low class etc etc. Please note during my school days, I was always told, 'you dont study, u have to do this and that job and get your hands dirty etc etc'. So most went to Uni get degrees so as not to end up as low class labourers or any low class job like painters, car mechanics etc. This coupled with the PAP and its more good years etc shit make all of us want comfortable office jobs, does not the PAP want that for themselves? So why cant we have that?

I remember a time when going to Vocational Institute means basically a death sentence. But look at Australia, for tradesmen like Electricians, Plumbers, tilers etc, get paid alot. And due to their high pay, they have to focus on technology to justify their pay. Also such jobs cannot be outsourced. I am not going to wait a week for a plumber to come by plane to fix my toilet.

Last time, I saw a 4 FTs painting the guards on the drain, and they were 4 of them, painting 1 guard and chatting!! where is the productivity? In Australia, if there are 4 painters for a wall, 2 painters will start from 1 end and paint and meet at the middle. If there is 1 painter or 2, a sprayer will be used to speed things up. But productivity and technology is expensive in Singapore due to cheap FT labour. So from my earlier point, the downward spiral continues as no need to upgrade the job as FT is cheaper.

Ok, now for warehouse work etc, even if a Singaporean Uni graduate takes up the job as a store keeper to gain experience. And works smart, offer better way of doing things etc etc. He will not stay as promotional opportunities is limited if its a small company. For a large company (most likely an MNC), management will most likely be FTs so there will be no promotional opportunities anyway. Hence he will be reluctant to take up such a job, as he will be underemployed. To me underemployment is as great a sin and unemployment. This Underemployment also refers to other low class Industries like restaurants, cleaners, security etc etc.

My Opinion and Solutions

1) Industries and jobs need to be reclassified. Those labourer, cleaner, waiter jobs (low class jobs) need to be given to FT to do, these jobs cant be upskilled and less and less Singaporeans (the old ones) will be around to do it. Also SMEs need to be given the incentive to upskill jobs so that locals are willing to do it. For example, in warehousing, more use of machinery and multi tasking with office work and increase productivity. So for example, if the warehouse needs 10 workers, by upskilling their job, 6 people can do it and all 6 will get pay rises as less people are required.

2) PMET jobs need to have a Singaporean 1st ideology. If a company needs to fill a PMET vacancy, priority must be given to a local. Only if no local can be found to do the job, than a work visa will be granted to the Foreigner. This will also ensure the middle class grows and that domestic consumption increases and my burger joint will have business.

3) Make use of FTs. For all foreigners and PRs, a progressive taxation system needs to be in place. Since FTs and PRs dont serve NS, they will get no benefits. We are not a western liberal welfare state, so its stupid for us to follow such policies.

a) All Foreigners/PRs and their employers will pay a 20% tax instead of CPF contributions.

b) For FTs/PRs taking up PMET roles, They will pay 20% tax + 1 month tax per financial year (call it a Not Serving Reservist Tax). The Employer will pay 20% tax for each FT hired.

c) For purchase of HDB by PRs, they are to pay 50% tax on profits when sold and once they leave singapore, they are to sell the flat in 1 year. Furthermore, they are not allowed to rent out the flat.

d) FTs when going to Polyclinics or Government Hospitals are to pay full medical fees and no subsidy rate. Employers are to purchase medical insurance for their FT employees.

e) FT children are to pay full fees in Government schools. And when they reach 16 and dont serve NS, they will be deported immediately

f) All the taxes gained will be used to develop Infrastructure, extend medical services etc for locals.

4) End PAP's rent seeking activities.

chupacabra

If sinkee employers thinks they so good, why dont hire your own children in the future ad see what they say. I bet these same employer will advice their own children to work for google or facebook. Fucking hypocrites.

Its ridiculous to expect drivers cum deliverymen to become businessmen. Why don't you ask the office manager to go and drive and make deliveries? :cool:

it's not ridiculous at all. my family business started from my patriarch whose first job was a coolie, then packer, then deliveryman. delivery then was done with a pushcart and improved to a tricycle cart (wish i can show the pic). he had to ride the contraption fully loaded with goods across town in those days. when the business improved he started driving a station wagon. he was so thrilled about delivery as he didn't like to get stuck in a shophouse (no warehouse yet) doing inventory and stacking. he got to face buyers, shoppers, store owners, folks at the other end of the spectrum and learn the demand side of the business. otherwise, he was stuck on the supply side. delivery gave him an opportunity to witness and deal with the real market, the buyers and consumers. he learned, started his own business and never looked back.

Wow sounds so familiar, hope we're not competitors. :p joking la. I couldn't put it in words better than you did. Ya its very much like you described above my business except that delivery done to all departmental stores in Singapore.

it's ok joe. you take care of vaginal cream and i'll cover penis lubricant. that way, we're complementary and mutually exclusive in the shiok ecosystem. :biggrin: no worries. you deal with dept. stores, we deal only with grocery outlets and supermarkets.

B4F10667-9E86-4D0D-AC7E-32E783DD3D1B-1921-000001F08C158522.jpg

Cheers mate. Having this with wifey now in a new wine place I just discovered in Jakarta.

If sinkee employers thinks they so good, why dont hire your own children in the future ad see what they say. I bet these same employer will advice their own children to work for google or facebook. Fucking hypocrites.

good reminder about children of employers. we have close to a dozen in the next generation, and some of them are supposed to succeed the current gen in taking over the business. all grown kids except one completed or are about to complete their uni studies. all those who finished uni are so fecking idealistic and clueless that they can't fit in a low tech business. it's too unsophisticated and unglamorous for them. the one grown up without a uni degree shows the most promise. she has started learning the ropes and is now a full time employee. i don't have any hope for those who graduated and returned from overseas universities, especially aussie ones. they're simply unrealistic and useless.

the torch, i have argued with my siblings, will go to the niece with the least education. it's her attitude, humility, hunger to learn, and quick thinking on her feet.

everytime i return to sg for vacation, i would help out with business, from packing, stacking to delivery and checking out the buyers. and back in my day job, i'm involved in one of the most technologically advanced and largest enterprise in the u.s. if i can lend a hand while on vacation in sg, why can't the over-rated, over-educated sinkie spoilt brats of the next generation? all they do is sit around in the aircon office, play computer games, chat online, play with their iphones and ipads, have long lunches and complain. :rolleyes:

Good story on how life was in the past. The problem is today's environment is very different than in the past. More regulation, higher cost, etc etc. From coolie to businessman is no longer possible in today's Singapore.

it's not ridiculous at all. my family business started from my patriarch whose first job was a coolie, then packer, then deliveryman. delivery then was done with a pushcart and improved to a tricycle cart (wish i can show the pic). he had to ride the contraption fully loaded with goods across town in those days. when the business improved he started driving a station wagon. he was so thrilled about delivery as he didn't like to get stuck in a shophouse (no warehouse yet) doing inventory and stacking. he got to face buyers, shoppers, store owners, folks at the other end of the spectrum and learn the demand side of the business. otherwise, he was stuck on the supply side. delivery gave him an opportunity to witness and deal with the real market, the buyers and consumers. he learned, started his own business and never looked back.

Hi chupacabra. I do not have any kid. Nevertheless I wish to share that my partner in business had been making his son work in the warehouse as storeman and often as delivery man too during his school holidays since his secondary school days till now in his final year in NUS during his school holidays. I agree with him when he said that to understand a business will have to start from the store.

Knn, this type of kuching driver/delivery problem also need you to worry. No wonder you no tome come sin city.

Fire your manager lah.

knn not everyone like you can go for two months holiday la. knn request post piktures of your 历险记 I still waiting ok?

Good story on how life was in the past. The problem is today's environment is very different than in the past. More regulation, higher cost, etc etc. From coolie to businessman is no longer possible in today's Singapore.

with every new challenge, there is new opportunity. today's business environment in sg is even better than before. the consumer base has doubled, demands are more diverse, expectation of product quality has risen to very high levels, suppliers are becoming more creative and quality conscious, the labor market is friendly, wages are low, cost of doing business is excellent due to lack of regulations and roadblocks, transport infrastructure is superb for distribution and delivery, customs processing is smooth, enhancements in communications technology help boost productivity and speed of business. we have to quadruple the size of the warehouse in the last couple of years and invest in 3 new trucks besides expanding the van fleet. we can easily sidetrack from the core business and venture into new ones, and give a niece or nephew the opportunity to start it up and run it. this is the best time to start a business or enterprise in sg. the domestic market condition is no longer like the past. it has critical mass now for any small business start-up with good ideas, great plans, solid management and excellent execution.

Kinana

with every new challenge, there is new opportunity. today's business environment in sg is even better than before. the consumer base has doubled, demands are more diverse, expectation of product quality has risen to very high levels, suppliers are becoming more creative and quality conscious, the labor market is friendly, wages are low, cost of doing business is excellent due to lack of regulations and roadblocks, transport infrastructure is superb for distribution and delivery, customs processing is smooth, enhancements in communications technology help boost productivity and speed of business. we have to quadruple the size of the warehouse in the last couple of years and invest in 3 new trucks besides expanding the van fleet. we can easily sidetrack from the core business and venture into new ones, and give a niece or nephew the opportunity to start it up and run it. this is the best time to start a business or enterprise in sg. the domestic market condition is no longer like the past. it has critical mass now for any small business start-up with good ideas, great plans, solid management and excellent execution.

You are absolutely correct. The whole idea of having 5.5 million in Singapore is to create critical mass and business opportunities. Those who complain about the increase in population obviously never runned businesses and do not know what they are talking about.

Cheers

The PAP failed in not introducing the right politics at the right time to allow the economy to move into automation and to a higher productive environment. I know a businessman who did just that and used PDAs after seeing the UPS delivery guys use it. He also took advantage of the cheap foreign labour to expand his business in other areas.

Imagine in 1999 an ordinary cleaner would draw $1K to do normal hours. An assembly worker would draw at least $1,200. Today, Panasonic pays $760 which shocked me - nearly 13 years later. It shows how we have come to depend on cheap labour.

In any country, foreigners have a higher work ethic than the locals when it comes to mundane and menial tasks. It is not rocket science. They come from 3rd wold countries and our currency goes a long way.

The change in policy will allow the much needed introduction of productive practices, automation and changes in pricing. More importantly it will remove unproductive companies from the economy. Space will be created for more innovative ones and pricing will start to come down.

Here is a simple case. In 1st world countries, A single prime mover with a 40 ft trailer and a forklift hitched to the rear will be manned by a single man who does the delivery. He would come out of his truck, Lower the forklift and then use it to move the bricks.

In Singapore, a contractor will have 5 banglas to remove a row of rosebushes along ECP and it will take a few days.he contractor will stand and watch A Kiwi gardner has a mini JCB hitched to his truck. And he does it in 3 hrs.

If the pay is gud, u migh be surprised.
Got money olso can make the ghost push the grinder. u doubt the power of moolar??

Yes agree. Problem is PAP had brought in all the low cost foreign workers so employers can choose to pay less. Influx of foreigners has to be addressed. There is no doubt about it.

I cannot help but agree on your above statement as truly factual. On one hand Singaporeans (even myself) are complaining Singapore is becoming crowded and influx of foreign workers need to be curbed on the other hand as a businessman I have to admit the market in Singapore is surprisingly getting bigger. It wasn't easy when my business in Singapore started with zero sales and only armed with a few good connections in the stores, today only 5 years later had just managed to cross 8 figures sales a year. We evaluated and attributed this to a larger market base as a few of my competitors are growing too. Yes its actually a great time to have a business in Singapore but I wonder how long it will last if we are suddenly faced with some serious domestic problems.

Conqueror

CEOs Are Blood Suckers Too

Don't say I am siding wif employees when I say this, but employers who only think of bottom-line and maximising profits without considering employees situation will not get EXTRA effort from their employees. But the sad truth is that employers will always use COSTs as something to tell employees to "double-up" or do extra responsibilities.. and when times r ok or better.. just dun raise wages/salaries.. or do anything for their employees.

When I attended my first few Accounting lectures, there isn't any persons listed under "Labour" and nothing being listed out as furniture, fax machines, pcs under the "Office Eqpt" - yah, I was shocked.

Where are the faces ? Where are their names ? Don't be silly, no one cares about such details in accounting. It's all about dollars and cents (ie. profit). So, can you see what I had seen ? :*:

Typically, it's cold. If the company doesn't make money (does not matter whether the CEO had made a near fatal mistake), he (CEO) will have another 'good' excuse to cut cost. If it's in the red ? That's even worse - many so-called 'loyal' employees will be the first to be sacrificed. And that stupid CEO will still be there. After the cost cutting, he will pay himself lots of money for bringing the company financial status back in the black again. :eek::mad: