Brazen JB thief steals S’porean’s Volkswagen from under his nose

Extremist

Singaporean Lee Chee Peng, 41, had his car stolen from right under his nose on Sunday while on a fishing trip to Johor Baru with friends.

The contractor had been jump starting his car, a Volkswagen GTI, in front of a 7-Eleven. After the engine started, he left his key in the ignition and walked away to return jumper cables to his friend.

When he returned to his car and closed the bonnet, he got a shock, for in the front seat was a stranger from a car that had stopped next to his.

The stranger zoomed off in his Volkswagen. Mr Lee quickly got into his friend's car and high-speed chase ensued.

it happened at 5am. any stranger approaching you at 5am would have rung many alarm bells!!

The contractor had been jump starting his car, a Volkswagen GTI, in front of a 7-Eleven. After the engine started, he left his key in the ignition and walked away to return jumper cables to his friend.

lianbeng chio kar peng liao!:Dleft key in ignition is already a signal to drive off lor.

Latest Modus Operandi on Car Thefts In Malaysia ....

Latest - high tech Car thieves are using an electronic device which sends out HF waves to immobilize the car's remote lock frequency such that the car owner fails to lock the car.

The car owner unsuspectingly thought that the failure could be due to batttery failure of car key. The owner locks the car on manual and then decide to leave the carpark to carry out the chores.

The car robbers have the frequency captured ; using the stolen frequency the robbers then strike on the car. That's how they stole the car even in broad daylight...........
The Malaysian police and insurance companies know
about this modus operandi, but the police remain DIAM DIAM and no action.......

Sooner or later, this modus operandi will infect Singapore .....

To counter this, follow this instruction :

If somehow you encounter that your remote car key fails to activate when you want to lock your car, drive your car away from the carpark because some one is targetting to steal your car using an immobilizer to defeat your electronic lock ... Drive to another carpark & test your car key to lock the car via remote frequency.
</pre>