• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Life of A Taxi Driver - What Do You Know???

Cyclists are invisible to the eyes of taxi drivers? Hell no! Not when they take up a whole lane riding two or even three abreast! And when you need to turn left you have to slow down and follow them at their speed instead of overtaking them in case you kill the best friend of a forum owner.

There's nothing wrong with cyclists riding two abreast. It's legal in most countries and it's legal in Singapore. Motorists can easily overtake just as they would overtake a slower moving vehicle.

The problem has nothing to do with cyclists taking a lane. The problem is impatient motorists.

I once road from the Dempsey Road to Raffles Place and one stupid motorist taking the same route overtook me about 10 times along the way and GAINED NO TIME whatsoever. When I got to my destination, I was probably a minute ahead of him.

There is no point accelerating to 70 kph only to be overtaken time and time again by a cyclist doing 30 kph when the traffic slows to a standstill along the congested stretches.

darylmackoy

There's nothing wrong with cyclists riding two abreast. It's legal in most countries and it's legal in Singapore. Motorists can easily overtake just as they would overtake a slower moving vehicle.

The problem has nothing to do with cyclists taking a lane. The problem is impatient motorists.

I once road from the Dempsey Road to Raffles Place and one stupid motorist taking the same route overtook me about 10 times along the way and GAINED NO TIME whatsoever. When I got to my destination, I was probably a minute ahead of him.

There is no point accelerating to 70 kph only to be overtaken time and time again by a cyclist doing 30 kph when the traffic slows to a standstill along the congested stretches.

You are looking for perfection in life aren't you? How's life down further down under? Cyclists in singapore stubborn enough not to feel the danger of riding on fast public roads better be aware that we are living in the scrolling of I-Phone and Android while driving era. Which operating system should one prefers to be killed under?

I would rank cyclists as #1 menace on the road.
#2 would be the taxi drivers.
#3 are ah tiong drivers.

Cyclists cannot be labelled as "menaces" because they are the most vulnerable of all road users. A cyclist comes out 2nd best no matter what he/she collides with. Even a small pot hole can kill a cyclist. In Auckland, a cyclist was killed recently after colliding with a CAT!

In fact, far from being menaces, cyclists are treated like dirt by pretty much EVERYONE including pedestrians. I have lost count of the number of times a pedestrian standing at the side of the road waiting to cross has simply stepped out in front of a whole bunch of cyclists doing 40 kph. Massive pile ups and numerous broken bones are not uncommon if the cyclists can't stop in time.

You are looking for perfection in life aren't you? How's life down further down under? Cyclists in singapore stubborn enough not to feel the danger of riding on fast public roads better be aware that we are living in the scrolling of I-Phone and Android while driving era. Which operating system should one prefers to be killed under?

In the 60s and early 70s, we used to beat up motorists who cut us off if they were unlucky enough to be caught at the next intersection. Roland Lim once hauled a taxi driver out and smashed him after kicking his door in with steel tipped cycling shoes.

I encourage the current generation of cyclists to do the same regardless of what operating system the motorist is using.

Bro, I saw what you wrote and the excerpt is below and realised that you are delusional. High Moral Standing!!!! I also think you are being less than honest with the entry requirements. The vast majority of Singaporeans do qualify to be taxi drivers including ex-convicts.

The taxi vocation is somewhere below 2nd car dealers, HDB property agents and insurance salesman now know as financial planners.

Honestly people have more respect for the hawkers, the various office workers, storekeepers and most vocations but certainly the conduct of most cabbies would not warrant respect equivalent to these people.

Most front serving vocations receive similar abuse from customers of varying nature including doctors and lawyers. There are inconsiderate, dishonest and abusive patients, clients and customers. It is nothing new. There are people who lodge unreasonable complaints to various professional boards and these highly educated professionals have to undergo various stressful and time-consuming disciplinary hearings etc.

The taxi service is an essential service but not a noble service because any man and his dog can qualify to be a taxi-driver. There is very little barriers to entry. Not many people can be hawkers because there is an element of hard work and risk involved. There is no NTUC to them give a recipe, set the stall up etc.

Like all vocations there will be good, hardworking and honest people but the taxi drivers conduct in the main is so far from that of a hawker. Thank god it is highly regulated.

Cabbies we are people of High Moral Standings not one to sit at home and complain about not having a job etc. We get badly cheated, verbally abused, fooled by manipulating the booking system of getting the best of both world, both by local and foreigners and yet we bear the brunt of it all and bring each and Individual Passenger safely and one piece to your domain and not in coffin RIGHT?!

In the 60s and early 70s, we used to beat up motorists who cut us off if they were unlucky enough to be caught at the next intersection. Roland Lim once hauled a taxi driver out and smashed him after kicking his door in with steel tipped cycling shoes.

I encourage the current generation of cyclists to do the same regardless of what operating system the motorist is using.
Thanks for sharing. Now everyone knew why the taxi driver ran over your late friend.

My friend wasn't part of our cycling group. He was an innocent commuter riding a Raleigh Sturmey-Archer 3 speed which weighed a ton.

pic-680-s.jpg

darylmackoy

The taxi vocation is somewhere below 2nd car dealers, HDB property agents and insurance salesman now know as financial planners.
I fully agree. But can you further expound what constitutes noble service by highly qualified aspirants? Tea party invitees to the Istana?

Took a cab to the orchard today, it was jam, the taxi told me sometimes they really have to ask where the passengers going 1st before letting them in just to avoid this kind of jam. I can sense he indirectly complained to me.

So I said:"Uncle, normally when I hail a cab, the cabby asked me where I going, I will tell them to move away or fuck off. If Taxi drivers can choose passenger, why passenger cannot choose them? You guys are in service line, u are being paid, not driving for free, cannot anyhow ask the destination and rejected it just because it's not on the way or you dun like it"

The Taxi driver didn't talk the through the whole journey after that, lol

darylmackoy

Took a cab to the orchard today, it was jam, the taxi told me sometimes they really have to ask where the passengers going 1st before letting them in just to avoid this kind of jam. I can sense he indirectly complained to me.

So I said:"Uncle, normally when I hail a cab, the cabby asked me where I going, I will tell them to move away or fuck off. If Taxi drivers can choose passenger, why passenger cannot choose them? You guys are in service line, u are being paid, not driving for free, cannot anyhow ask the destination and rejected it just because it's not on the way or you dun like it"

You are so sweet. I bet you were mentally sodomised by the taxi driver through the journey. Your butt will hurt when you dream while sleeping. Ha haha.

Lol, why is that so? You think you guys should have the right to choose passengers? Laughable

... So I said:"Uncle, normally when I hail a cab, the cabby asked me where I going, I will tell them to move away or fuck off. If Taxi drivers can choose passenger, why passenger cannot choose them? You guys are in service line, u are being paid, not driving for free, cannot anyhow ask the destination and rejected it just because it's not on the way or you dun like it"

tot sinkielan cab drivers cannot reject passengers? ... no mor? ...

anyway, datz a timid cab driver ... he shud haf told u 2 f**k orf! ...

darylmackoy

Lol, why is that so? You think you guys should have the right to choose passengers? Laughable

No dear. It is just passengers like you. that's why the smart ones will just give million watt smiles and slow shaking of heads. Mental rape is optional.

LeMans2011

I don't believe you are so garang... unless the driver is krafty :biggrin:

LeMans2011

The title of this thread sounds like 舞 女 的 悲 哀.

I have not taken taxis for a long time hence unable to gauge whether bad behaviour comes from a few bad hats, or a large portion?
But in my memory of taking taxis there are more unpleasant experience than pleasant ones. Unfortunately this is life, if there are too many bad hats in your industry, people form a certain generalised perception about you. The only thing you can do is behave yourself and change the perception of people who meet you.

It's like these perceptions: when you become an insurance agent you lose all your friends. Many female property agents try to flirt or even sleep their way into deals. Second hand car dealers are crooks. How may people can really dispute this?

I think it is perfectly fair to criticise the behaviour than the vocation.

Thread Starter started off on the wrong note. You do sound like the whole world owe you a living.

I don't believe you are so garang... unless the driver is krafty :biggrin:

I got nothing against Taxi drivers lah, i like to talk to them, but they should do their job professionally, they should know this is not an easy job, if dun like, please fuck off from this job, LOL