• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

EDTBA

http://www.facebook.com/ahmad.almahir#!/theonlinecitizen

National Disservice
by Lynn on Aug 14, 2012 • 11:22 pm No Comments

Recently, it hit me. I must take personal responsibility for the rising tide of xenophobia in Singapore. My life choices have led to the massive influx of foreigners here, which has in turn, resulted in growing anger from locals fearful that they are being squeezed out of their own country. I need to wo-man up and take the blame. Selfish, self-absorbed me. How on earth could I have not realised this? I am nearly 40. And yet I’ve not bothered to get married, let alone reproduce. I’m not doing anything to help boost Singapore’s birthrate. What a waste of an educated, Chinese womb. Women like me have given my government no choice but to resort to desperate measures to salvage what is clearly a dire situation.

“If we go on like this,” warned former Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, “this place will fold up, because there’ll be no original citizens left to form the majority, and we cannot have new citizens, new PRs to settle our social ethos, our social spirit, our social norms.”

Oh, the pressure. Oh, the shame. What’s a girl to do? I’ve always believed my ovaries belonged to me and only me. Never thought they’d ever be expected to perform any sort of national service. Never ever imagined that decisions on procreation would ever be anything other than private. After all, LKY himself has an unmarried daughter. Surely he would understand that some of us don’t want to have it all?

We don’t believe we can build a successful career, lead an interesting life, and mother a brood of kids all at the same time. And even if it were doable, we don’t want to try. What’s there to prove? And so we choose. And some of us choose to put off having children, or to not have them at all. The government can dangle ever-bigger baby bonuses at us, cajole, beg and nag and still, we’d only reproduce if our own priorities change.

But what about our dwindling population? Well, what about it? Developed countries have had to deal with the same problem since long before the government’s drastic u-turn from its ill-conceived “Stop at Two” campaign. An ageing population is usually a sign of a better-educated, much savvier people. They’ve learnt that big families mean fewer resources for each child. They’ve realised that there’s nothing wrong with never being a parent. Countries cope. I’m sure our highly paid government will too, without blaming existing Singaporeans for failing to contribute to the birthrate.

According to LKY, if we’re not making babies, the only other solution is to import more people. There is, on the surface, nothing wrong with this. Our country was after all, built by migrants. Smart, accomplished foreign talent have much to contribute by raising standards and transferring knowledge and skills. And on the other end of the spectrum, we need labourers to build our roads and swanky condos, maintain our port and empty our rubbish bins.

But problems arise when the government focuses solely on the big picture – GDP growth! Wealth! An amazing skyline! – while ignoring the suffering caused by their policies.

We’ve opened the floodgates to way too many migrants, and allowed property prices to skyrocket, making it increasingly difficult for young Singaporeans to own homes and start families. We’ve emphasized academic excellence over personal growth, so much so that some couples decide it is too stressful raising children in this environment. We’ve let companies bring in hundreds of thousands of migrant workers, cheat them, exploit them and in the process, we’ve squeezed hardworking lower-middleclass Singaporeans out of the job market. Those affected are told they have to learn to compete, suck it up, or risk being irrelevant. The truth is, no amount of “skills upgrading” will make them better hires when thousands of Bangladeshi, Burmese, Indian and Chinese workers are willing to pay exorbitant fees to their employers in exchange for the privilege of being treated like shit here.

You see, it’s clear. Singapore isn’t very interested in poor or poor-ish people, whether they be local-born citizens or villagers from some third world nation. We don’t care very much if migrant workers are abused and we don’t care very much that by allowing this abuse, our Singaporean workers suffer too.

Above all, we don’t care for babies from less than ideal backgrounds. “HOPE” is a scary government programme that rewards the poor for keeping their families small. Single mothers have for a long time, suffered official discrimination. Oh yes, and who can forget the Graduate Mothers’ Scheme?

See, we even discriminate against those not-yet conceived. We want babies. But only babies from clever, morally upright, married people.

Since when did Singapore only belong to a certain type of Singaporeans? Who gave the powers-that-be the right to choose what kind of people they want in our country? Don’t all babies add to our total population? Given the hand wringing over our falling birthrate, shouldn’t every child be embraced?

Course not. The government works on a different sort of logic. Let’s scare the right kind of Singaporeans into procreating! Scold them, micro-manage them, make them feel bad! Then tell them to get with the programme and get it on already.

Newsflash: No one decides to have children because some politician says so.

So what’s a government to do?

How about starting with a lot less social engineering? A little bit more equality? A more compassionate society where human beings are treated as people, rather than cogs in some massive state machine? And while we’re at it, let’s have a society that respects anyone who wants to have children… as well as those who don’t.

Good read, and I totally agree with the writer. Thanks for sharing.

The world is already over-populated anyway, if you ask me.

cathylmg

We are just waiting.....!!
We are just holding on in MY....!!
We are not going to retire in MY....!!

We are waiting for the next election!! To make PAP oust! Then we will Balik to our kampong!! I wonder why I am staying in a country which is not mine and benefits all to its bumis, we are just their profits generators!

Sigh! God please help us to turn the table around! Let the rich migrate, let ppl like us here live life peacefully in our own country!

Why am I finding it so hard to disagree with you? :o Juz recently, an elderly malaysian good friend told us that we are their ‘财神爷’ ! LOL!

Last edited by a moderator:

Booga

True and fair view in general developments of Malaysia:-

(Do add in or correct me if I am wrong, just my 2 cents)

1. Safety and security: Even though it has gone bad, be vigilant & alert all the time. Get a GnG housing area is better than non GnG but of course not 100% guaranteed. Please avoid quiet and non crowded area at all time. At this point JB is better than KL area. Play safe and not stop-by any other area if late at night but head straight to your home destination. Look around your surrounding twice to ensure everything is fine. Please do not show off your expensive handbags, i-phone, i-pad,gold chain, etc. Lock your gate and door even when you are at home when you reach home immediately. Buy good quality locksets and a sufficient thickness timber door with double lock ( for safety reason, avoid any window next to your main entrance to avoid robbery reaching out for the door knob by smashing the window) for main entrance and stainless steel back door. Install alarm, CCTV& grille.
No doubt, plenty other place is better than Malaysia. But smaller country easier to control.

2. Stray dogs: Strays dogs and cats are very common in Malaysia. A lot of Malays and others love cats and keep a few in their own home. I remember some of them need to put extra fencing to their gate to avoid them entering their home.

3. Mosquitoes: I think we are too use of staying in high rise . Landed in Malaysia be it Johor , Malacca, KL will face the same issues unless we put Mossie netting for all windows . Of course closer to nature will be more mossies.

4. Power outages: Very frequent even in other states like 1-3 times a year. So , if there is any new development of course they will be more disruption. Have to get used to it and install emergency lights at certain areas.

5. Helper: Looking at part time helper once a week will be a good solution to help us with the general cleaning. Most of Malaysian prefer not to have full time maid to avoid the trouble . For instance, helper runaway, commit crime and etc. If you are looking for people to look after your younger children, look for neighbourhood Nanny or student care will be a better option.

6. Location of property: Please lookout for houses which is higher than the highways before purchase any houses to avoid flooding. But not necessary will happen.

7.Traffic To Singapore : Yes , the congestion is bad but bearable because a lot of them still willing to do so. It might be better in 6 years time or worst. Everyone is aware. Please reconsider your option to move to JB is this is your main concern beside the safety reason. The smooth traffic idea up to date:-
If you enter SG at 6.15am .
If you leave SG before 5.30pm or after 9pm.
Just hope that RTS link will be completed in 2018 and everything will be better off and also the new Checkpoint from Puteri Harbour will be all in line soon. Hoping it will be a successful Nusajaya for those who invested there. By the time, if you really want to invest there, it will be too late, price is even higher.

8. Capital appreciation: The property prices in JB now are beyond normal local Johorian reachable price compare to 3 years ago. Malaysian is complaining about the recent alarming increase of property prices in KL, Penang & JB. JB has a lot of potential as now the ‘ Legoland’ and the EDL & Coastal highways are in track. There is always an investment risk everywhere. Again, if everything in line, it will be too late for anyone to get a property there as property prices will be sky high. But, a thing to note is there is plenty of land in Malaysia. So, please evaluate the pros and cons. But if for own stays , do not worry this point so much.

9. Malaysia management style: Not very efficient but the people there are friendly and helpful. Just slow down a little, and enjoy the slower pace of life.

10. Transportation: Moving around using public transport is not advisable but possible. Anyway Car is so affordable in Malaysia.

11. Space: Houses, shops, shopping malls, roads etc are spacious.

12. Travelling: Plenty of places of interest to explore just by car. Eg: Malacca, Penang, Pulau Redang, Langkawi,Cameron Highlands, Genting Higlands,Frasers Hills, Port Dickson, Desaru, Kota Tinggi.

crystal_tiong

msians feeling the same as us now ....

msia.jpg

Newbie2012

http://www.facebook.com/ahmad.almahir#!/theonlinecitizen

National Disservice
by Lynn on Aug 14, 2012 • 11:22 pm No Comments

Oh, the pressure. Oh, the shame. What’s a girl to do? I’ve always believed my ovaries belonged to me and only me. Never thought they’d ever be expected to perform any sort of national service. Never ever imagined that decisions on procreation would ever be anything other than private. After all, LKY himself has an unmarried daughter. Surely he would understand that some of us don’t want to have it

If it will help boost our true blue Singaporean population....... I read or heard somewhere that when God create us, every organs in our body has a role to play. If a woman choses not to or does not give birth during the procreation years, her womb, ovaries does not play out its intended role, it will likely to suffer from some disease compared to woman who gave birth.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Some pple cannot take the truth. They want to hear the good thing. Imagine a group of sporeans staying in a two room hdb and when u criticise hdb flats, they starts jumping around furiously.

Anyway i am here to contribute. From now on i will say good things about what the mod wants to hear

I don't wish to dig out all the stuff you have posted in the past and then disguise it. None of your bad comments about HH were every moderated until that day when you jumped in defence of EL. That is when someone posted bad comments about your property. Instead of clarifying it, you dragged another property in. I was also the one who asked for bros here to repost, not you or Lord Aragon. :wink: Only asking you to be fair here.

In the same vein, should we all then only praise EL all the way? You have again evaded my questions why you had to drag in another development, quite skillfully this time, comes with practise i guess. :wink:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Very funny forum indeed. When pple start saying good things about horizon hills for example,no one said anything as it is 'supposed' to be the norm

When someone starts giving negative feedbacks hoping horizonhills can improve further, he is shot down and allegations of 'clones' all started to fly around.

Why arent there clones when good things are said about horizon hills? Reminds me of a former grassroot pap die hard supporter that i knew who passed away last year. When i complained about pap policies, he grew extremely agitated and kept yelling at me. He was like almost 80 years old when he died. When i praise lee kuan yew, you can see his broad smile and started to belanja you all sorts of makan in the coffeeshop.

Myself and other forummers have pointed out so many things, leaks, folks has brought up issues like leaks, many defects. Bros has brought up sewerage issues, potholes as well as other things via PMs and i brought them into the open to discuss.

If what you are saying is true, why not bring it up, why only highlight the bad in HH when you have property in EL as well. Every property has its defects. I have endured all this while and definitely accept it when you raised somethig valid hence never modded your stuff until that day.

There is no property which is free from any problems. I still don't see you highlighting the negative things in EL as much as HH. Please don't talk about being fair. Anyone can just compile all you have wrote to see what the agenda is.

If this was really so bias towards HH, then all your comments could have easily been taken out, even this one.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Talking about not constructive posts, I remember someone last time posted repeated advertisements about specific housing development. You are right, got to learn to ignore when people post repeated advertisements about specific housing development too!

Just ignore, he is still trying to promote his development but subtly now while putting down others. People got to make a living so if its not so blatant, i think boss Sam will leave it.

TrulyAsia

May I ask any bros & sis here ever measured the actual size of your house and verify against the dimension specifications stated on S&P.

One of my house under construction stage (75% completed) is 100mm narrower (width), I highlighted to the developer but they replied that permissible tolerance is +/-2% therefore "the deviation" is within specification!! Is +/-2% standard industrial practice, can the expertise here advise?

Note: I have taken into account the wall thickness/perimeter fencing etc.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
May I ask any bros & sis here ever measured the actual size of your house and verify against the dimension specifications stated on S&P.

One of my house under construction stage (75% completed) is 100mm narrower (width), I highlighted to the developer but they replied that permissible tolerance is +/-2% therefore "the deviation" is within specification!! Is +/-2% standard industrial practice, can the expertise here advise?

Note: I have taken into account the wall thickness/perimeter fencing etc.

Best to use the same bank for your loan who will hire its own staff for the valuation. Else, hire a valuation firm to be on the safe side.

Status
Not open for further replies.