• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

I'm a "tu sheng to zhan" S'porean.
In the 70s ~ 90s, I feel very proud to be a S'porean.
Comes the 21st 世纪, S'pore has change.
Now we are DIVIDED.
We are TOLD to welcome foreigners.
Our mini ster even throw in 10m to help them intergate
The bus and train are crowded
Pigeon holes are so expensive
Try working in a company where U e a minority (S'porean)
Try working in a company where they only speak their own forign language and U LL
When I start to think about the future for our next generation
I dont even know what course my children should take in Uni
Can U advise.............
There are so many fake FT, with fake degree, who are to accept lower pay
My ex colleague (recently in the news), he is a HC boy, a NUS graduate, a manager, a pastor
and recently out of job, nearing jump down from his flat
why, why, why..................
Do U know how many PMETs are jobless now
Do U know how many PMETs are driving TAXI now
so, how can say that

"First, I really do think people in Singapore don't realize how good Singapore is."

If I were to migrate to say, Japan
I will learn their culture and Japanese language first
Look at SIN now, we e TOLD to help them........(maybe to replace us)
True Blue S'porean, U be the judge
BTW e u a S'porean

Yeah so true, 90s was the best! Oh curiouscat is foreigner lah. Now I realised the best thing is just tell foreigners who talk down to Singaporeans this:

- if foreigners find SG so good, tell them to join and become citizens. And you will see only those who can convert back to their original citizenship will join like Indians, Pinoys.

- if foreigners find SG no good while earning good income and SG born and bred graduates are displaced from jobs and driving taxi, then tell these foreigners to leave SG and go back to where they come from.

After all born and bred Singaporeans got to leave our own country to find another country to retire.

DREAMorACTION

Bro n sis, just one pt 2 highlight. Bro curiouscat is neither Singaporean/Malaysian. If u look at his biography, he is actually a caucasian. I dunno if he had worked/lived in SG before. I dont think this will change ur comments towards wat he wrote, but I thot its good 4 u to be informed tat he could be just offering views from e angle for some1 who has not lived or worked in SG. That's why he might not have any knowledge on how we feel on the ground. Just a guess as we dont usualy see caucasian in here. Cheers

wufucheng

Yeah so true, 90s was the best! Oh curiouscat is foreigner lah. Now I realised the best thing is just tell foreigners who talk down to Singaporeans this:

- if foreigners find SG so good, tell them to join and become citizens. And you will see only those who can convert back to their original citizenship will join like Indians, Pinoys.

- if foreigners find SG no good while earning good income and SG born and bred graduates are displaced from jobs and driving taxi, then tell these foreigners to leave SG and go back to where they come from.

After all born and bred Singaporeans got to leave our own country to find another country to retire.

Well said.
When I left my previous good job, my ex-colleagues asked me is it a PULL or a PUSH factor.......,
Now, we are talking about Living in JB,
to me it is a PUSH factor (we e been PUSH out of SIN)

butadesu

Thanks for all the bros and sis who enlighten me on GDP not equate to wealth haha.

So what do you guys think will affect property prices in JB?
In fact, Malaysia election is around the corner. General believe is BN is going to lose a few more states.
JB is BN stronghold, losing to opposition is unlikely but never say impossible.
So what do you think the effect on JB property prices if

1. BN big win
2. BN loses more states but keep JB
3. BN loses JB

wufucheng

Thanks for all the bros and sis who enlighten me on GDP not equate to wealth haha.

In fact, Malaysia election is around the corner. General believe is BN is going to lose a few more states.

1. BN big win
3. BN loses JB

Personally, I wld look from a bigger view.
It's good for Msian when they hv a 2 parties system
Look at MPM, he is very much more OPEN now
Look at Penang, properties appreciated
so no need to worry, remember we there to stay (retire) and NOT speculate

arsenal

Good to hear that...
Singapore has good image to the world.. Everyone will complain about their local govt and think Singapore is better than their.. Of course...no other except Singapore takes care of foreigners so much more than the locals..
Look at how many foreigners are given scholarships and good jobs and how the policies are working against the locals.. Look at the possibility of future dual citizenships.... The govt just has to say.."let's face it..that is reality"

Bro n sis, just one pt 2 highlight. Bro curiouscat is neither Singaporean/Malaysian. If u look at his biography, he is actually a caucasian. I dunno if he had worked/lived in SG before. I dont think this will change ur comments towards wat he wrote, but I thot its good 4 u to be informed tat he could be just offering views from e angle for some1 who has not lived or worked in SG. That's why he might not have any knowledge on how we feel on the ground. Just a guess as we dont usualy see caucasian in here. Cheers

Aisanbo

Many of you say a lot of singaporean PMETS cannot find jobs in Singapore.
Yet, we are told that in Singapore, there is full employment.
Are there any statistics to prove this PMET unemployment problem in SG?

The government tells us that if they reduce the no. of FT into Sg, less MNCs is going to come into SG to create jobs. Then, what we'll have is higher unemployment rate.
So, we either accept a higher FT influx but full local employment,
Or accept a lower FT influx with more local unemployment.
Based on this argument which seems reasonable, the more FT we have, the lower the local unemployment rate would be.
But I think we miscalculated the negative effect on the strain of higher population on the entire system like property prices, Coe , transportation, etc. Although most people may have a job, most people is still unhappy as standard of living decreases due to inflation, pressure, etc.
Whereas if we took the route of lesser FT, minority of singaporeans may face hardship as they cant find jobs, the majority would be much better off.

arsenal

In Singapore, whichever party wins, I believe our world class civil servants and ministry will still able to operate.

For malaysia, will the ministry work independent of whatever being voted in? Iskandar is a cash cow for the ministry.. Whoever win, the shows still has to carry on... Even fengshui also said that.. Now is the time..

1. BN big win
3. BN loses JB

arsenal

You forget once a person is unemployed for more than 6 months, his record will be taken out of statistic?

Jobs creation for who? Just hope they keep taxi services to the locals.. Don't take away the last few pieces...

The government tells us that if they reduce the no. of FT into Sg, less MNCs is going to come into SG to create jobs. Then, what we'll have is higher unemployment rate.
Based on this argument which seems reasonable, the more FT we have, the lower the local unemployment rate would be.
But I think we miscalculated the negative effect on the strain of higher population on the entire system like property prices, Coe , transportation, etc. Although most people may have a job, most people is still unhappy as standard of living decreases due to inflation, pressure, etc.
Whereas if we took the route of lesser FT, minority of singaporeans may face hardship as they cant find jobs, the majority would be much better off.

wufucheng

They e paid Millions of Dollars
They e surpose to come out with "Elite" solutions
and NOT to say "What do U think"
Do U know that out of the 2 to 3% unemployment rate, 90% are S'porean

Lord Aragorn

arsenal said:
You forget once a person is unemployed for more than 6 months, his record will be taken out of statistic?

What is your source?

The resident long term unemployment rate which is defined as residents unemployed for more than 25 weeks is only 0.6% compared with 2% overall in 2011.

At 0.6%, if we assume 3million people, we are talking about 18,000 people. It is easy to find tonnes of anecdotes within 18,000 people and claim that the system is biased, not working, etc.

Do we realistically think we can go to 0%? It is easy to criticize, and even easier to find examples to prove one's point. But unless it is argued with more rigor, the statements made are often unconstructive.

The real problem is today's congestion and asking ourselves what population land scarce Singapore can realistically have in the mid to long term. Part of the solution is to improve connectivity with Iskandar and spread out the strain on land resources. I'm sure the government understands this, that's why I'm bullish about Iskandar.

But it takes 2 hands to make a clap. The MY government is doing their part up to now. I hope whatever the outcome of the MY elections, their attitude towards better connectivity with SG will not change. If the policy remains unchanged, the rest will sort out on its own.

Newbie2012

They e paid Millions of Dollars
They e surpose to come out with "Elite" solutions
and NOT to say "What do U think"
Do U know that out of the 2 to 3% unemployment rate, 90% are S'porean

Percentage statistics are sometimes very fake when used by manipulators.
Lower unemployment percentage today does not means less Singaporeans are unemployed today than 10 years ago.

I would guess that current Singaporean workers population is much less than 10 years ago due in part to fertility drop since more than 20 years ago. Bear in mind that current overall workers population in Singapore has increased drastically from 10 years ago due to the heavy influx of foreign workers in recent years.

So if 10 years ago, our unemployment percentage is the same as current 2%, that could mean that double the numbers of true blue Singaporeans are unemployed today compared to 10 years ago.

As a rough estimated figure ......
2% of 2 millions workers = 40,0000 unemployed.
2% of 4 millions workers = 80,0000 unemployed.

If 90% (a reasonable percentage as unemployed foreigners or PRs would be out of SG) of unemployed today are Singaporeans, then 72,000 Singaporeans are unemployed compared to almost 40,000 unemployed 10 years ago. :mad: :rolleyes: :cool:

Arowana88

We are just waiting.....!!
We are just holding on in MY....!!
We are not going to retire in MY....!!

We are waiting for the next election!! To make PAP oust!

Then we will Balik to our kampong!! I wonder why I am staying in a country which is not mine and benefits all to its bumis, we are just their profits generators! !

Sigh! God please help us to turn the table around! Let the rich migrate, let ppl like us here live life peacefully in our own country!

Last edited by a moderator:

Arowana88

Good to hear that...
Singapore has good image to the world.. Everyone will complain about their local govt and think Singapore is better than their.. Of course...no other except Singapore takes care of foreigners so much more than the locals..
Look at how many foreigners are given scholarships and good jobs and how the policies are working against the locals.. Look at the possibility of future dual citizenships.... The govt just has to say.."let's face it..that is reality"

Because the old man want SG to be number 1!
Every shit also number 1!

Airport number 1
Airline number 1
Cleaniness number 1
GDP number 1
Best place to live also number 1
Best place to set up business also number 1
Highest minister paid number 1
Only country with COE and advanced ERP systems equals number 1
Casino best profit returns in the whole world within short period of time and make gambling so convenient and making life miserable for those who lost big time and have to visit the reservoirs since MRT gantries are up! Torturing NS boys till some AWOL by swimming from Tekong to SG shore and one missing in Brunei jungle.

Why we just can't live happily? Live a simple life? It's all comes to the root of GREED!
If not how to get millions every year without fail! Their job is only thinking how to earn our $$$$! They are really ppl of Greed!! Try stay in SG for the rest of your life and u will know!
SG is very polluted with all the Rojak ppl. Nowadays youngsters have no respect, no manners, immoral. Heard from few youngsters going around asking for girls numbers and bring them to bed! Who taught them of all this open mindedness? Why so many immoral sex transaction within youngsters? The minds are polluted although SG is very clean. Ppl becomes selfish and hatred. It's not the original SG I ever lived in! It's all because of openness of our PAP! We even got a wonderful tourist attraction at nite for men and it's the most immoral part of SG! U guys should know where it is? ..... Geylang!
We need a new government to change all these! We need to clean up SG! It's Heaven in the morning, when nite falls the place is like Hell! All immoral stuffs starts at nite! Very sinful...!

Last edited by a moderator:

crystal_tiong

yawn , last night slept super early ...
haiz , maybe we shouldnt debate with foreigners abt Singapore is a gd country etc again ....
They wont feel it until they convert to become citizens....

So guys , ladies
Lets move on to how to have a better quality living in jb ....
Ignore all clones and trolls , dun fall into it again like me , now i feels so silly even waste my time to replied them !!

arsenal

Below is extracted from MOM website.. For people that are out of job for too long, they can be grouped under "discouraged workers". Information will not be collected from these workers.

If you believe in how good our govt is.. and you want to show the world the best image, one can classify all unemployed for too long as "discouraged workers" and by doing so, you can show very nice data..

"Peace be with you.."

"
3) If an unemployed person is not registered with the career centres at the Community Development Councils (CDCs) is he considered unemployed?

A person is considered unemployed if he is currently not working and is actively looking and available for work. It is not determined by whether he is registered with career centres at the CDCs. Unemployment statistics is compiled from the Labour Force Survey conducted on a representative sample of households in Singapore, in line with international practice.

4) Are “discouraged workers” considered as unemployed persons?

“Discouraged workers” are those who are not looking for a job because they believe their job search would not yield results. In line with international practice, persons are counted as unemployed if they are currently not working but are actively looking and available for work. Therefore, a discouraged worker is not unemployed, but economically inactive. We do collect information on the reasons for being economically inactive, from which we derive statistics on “discouraged workers”. This is published annually in the Report on Labour Force in Singapore."

What is your source?

The resident long term unemployment rate which is defined as residents unemployed for more than 25 weeks is only 0.6% compared with 2% overall in 2011.

At 0.6%, if we assume 3million people, we are talking about 18,000 people. It is easy to find tonnes of anecdotes within 18,000 people and claim that the system is biased, not working, etc.

Do we realistically think we can go to 0%? It is easy to criticize, and even easier to find examples to prove one's point. But unless it is argued with more rigor, the statements made are often unconstructive.

The real problem is today's congestion and asking ourselves what population land scarce Singapore can realistically have in the mid to long term. Part of the solution is to improve connectivity with Iskandar and spread out the strain on land resources. I'm sure the government understands this, that's why I'm bullish about Iskandar.

But it takes 2 hands to make a clap. The MY government is doing their part up to now. I hope whatever the outcome of the MY elections, their attitude towards better connectivity with SG will not change. If the policy remains unchanged, the rest will sort out on its own.

crystal_tiong

interesting to know this ... hopefully the bridge wont collapse that soon ...

permas.jpg

crystal_tiong

http://www.facebook.com/ahmad.almahir#!/theonlinecitizen

National Disservice
by Lynn on Aug 14, 2012 • 11:22 pm No Comments

Recently, it hit me. I must take personal responsibility for the rising tide of xenophobia in Singapore. My life choices have led to the massive influx of foreigners here, which has in turn, resulted in growing anger from locals fearful that they are being squeezed out of their own country. I need to wo-man up and take the blame. Selfish, self-absorbed me. How on earth could I have not realised this? I am nearly 40. And yet I’ve not bothered to get married, let alone reproduce. I’m not doing anything to help boost Singapore’s birthrate. What a waste of an educated, Chinese womb. Women like me have given my government no choice but to resort to desperate measures to salvage what is clearly a dire situation.

“If we go on like this,” warned former Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, “this place will fold up, because there’ll be no original citizens left to form the majority, and we cannot have new citizens, new PRs to settle our social ethos, our social spirit, our social norms.”

Oh, the pressure. Oh, the shame. What’s a girl to do? I’ve always believed my ovaries belonged to me and only me. Never thought they’d ever be expected to perform any sort of national service. Never ever imagined that decisions on procreation would ever be anything other than private. After all, LKY himself has an unmarried daughter. Surely he would understand that some of us don’t want to have it all?

We don’t believe we can build a successful career, lead an interesting life, and mother a brood of kids all at the same time. And even if it were doable, we don’t want to try. What’s there to prove? And so we choose. And some of us choose to put off having children, or to not have them at all. The government can dangle ever-bigger baby bonuses at us, cajole, beg and nag and still, we’d only reproduce if our own priorities change.

But what about our dwindling population? Well, what about it? Developed countries have had to deal with the same problem since long before the government’s drastic u-turn from its ill-conceived “Stop at Two” campaign. An ageing population is usually a sign of a better-educated, much savvier people. They’ve learnt that big families mean fewer resources for each child. They’ve realised that there’s nothing wrong with never being a parent. Countries cope. I’m sure our highly paid government will too, without blaming existing Singaporeans for failing to contribute to the birthrate.

According to LKY, if we’re not making babies, the only other solution is to import more people. There is, on the surface, nothing wrong with this. Our country was after all, built by migrants. Smart, accomplished foreign talent have much to contribute by raising standards and transferring knowledge and skills. And on the other end of the spectrum, we need labourers to build our roads and swanky condos, maintain our port and empty our rubbish bins.

But problems arise when the government focuses solely on the big picture – GDP growth! Wealth! An amazing skyline! – while ignoring the suffering caused by their policies.

We’ve opened the floodgates to way too many migrants, and allowed property prices to skyrocket, making it increasingly difficult for young Singaporeans to own homes and start families. We’ve emphasized academic excellence over personal growth, so much so that some couples decide it is too stressful raising children in this environment. We’ve let companies bring in hundreds of thousands of migrant workers, cheat them, exploit them and in the process, we’ve squeezed hardworking lower-middleclass Singaporeans out of the job market. Those affected are told they have to learn to compete, suck it up, or risk being irrelevant. The truth is, no amount of “skills upgrading” will make them better hires when thousands of Bangladeshi, Burmese, Indian and Chinese workers are willing to pay exorbitant fees to their employers in exchange for the privilege of being treated like shit here.

You see, it’s clear. Singapore isn’t very interested in poor or poor-ish people, whether they be local-born citizens or villagers from some third world nation. We don’t care very much if migrant workers are abused and we don’t care very much that by allowing this abuse, our Singaporean workers suffer too.

Above all, we don’t care for babies from less than ideal backgrounds. “HOPE” is a scary government programme that rewards the poor for keeping their families small. Single mothers have for a long time, suffered official discrimination. Oh yes, and who can forget the Graduate Mothers’ Scheme?

See, we even discriminate against those not-yet conceived. We want babies. But only babies from clever, morally upright, married people.

Since when did Singapore only belong to a certain type of Singaporeans? Who gave the powers-that-be the right to choose what kind of people they want in our country? Don’t all babies add to our total population? Given the hand wringing over our falling birthrate, shouldn’t every child be embraced?

Course not. The government works on a different sort of logic. Let’s scare the right kind of Singaporeans into procreating! Scold them, micro-manage them, make them feel bad! Then tell them to get with the programme and get it on already.

Newsflash: No one decides to have children because some politician says so.

So what’s a government to do?

How about starting with a lot less social engineering? A little bit more equality? A more compassionate society where human beings are treated as people, rather than cogs in some massive state machine? And while we’re at it, let’s have a society that respects anyone who wants to have children… as well as those who don’t.

arsenal

http://www.facebook.com/ahmad.almahir#!/theonlinecitizen

good writing skill.. elite with a heart that touch..

surprisingly after my post of "discouraged workers"under mom unemployment term, online citizen also feature something similar..ha.. we have online citizen folk here... also when I ask DOA to do his national service, we find this article from Lynn... we understand positive positive theory where those motivatiobal sales speaker like people to say good things only... we are not north korea and we should hear good and bad points from both side..

Status
Not open for further replies.