• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowadays?

Re: Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowad

PLace : Marriot HoteL.
i am thinking of $300 for myseLf thereabouts; can that do bros ?..
Your sincere advises pLease.Thanks.
;)

I am out of touch with the SG situation, but perhaps, you could inform me as to how much is the cost of a plate or per person re: wedding dinner at a hotel or restuarant, with or without band/music, etc.

When I got married in mid 1990's, I was shocked that there were many guests who gave a cheque of $100 for a couple attending the dinner. Worse, there was a table of guests from my wife's work, who had $150 for 9 at that table, whereas one other guest at that table gave $50.

Re: Getting invited for a Chinese wedding this weekend,what's an optimaL Angpow nowad

Uncle, the hall in hotel look the same as those cheaper Chinese restaurant. The so call ambience was the effort of the groom and bride helpers. The MC also friends of the couple plus the stupid video also from the couple. I been to wakes more lively than nowsaday wedding dinners. The yam Seng is pathetic and just on the stage only. The newly wed more interested to take photos only.

Bo bian bro, sometimes we tend not want to think so far; just get on, and off with it..that's Life.:cool:

Your kaki getting married? If good buddy the its ok lah to give that amount..

When my best buddy got married last year I gave him $500.. Must return him the compliments as he also gave me the same amount when I married..

I agree, at least the same amount which they gave you, and may be add the inflationary increase for several years.

Why do you even attend an event which you disapprove of? ;)

Food and alcoholic drinks. Gathering with friends.

If you hadn't noticed, apart from the immediate family and close relatives, most attendants of wedding dinners don't really focus about the bride or bridegroom until:

1) They make their first or second entrance.
2) They walk from table to table to take photographs.
3) The commencement of the yam seng session.

Most of the time, the attention is on the food, the drinks and on talking with the people whom you know.

That why not to care the market price. If the person who invited u is closed to u then be generous lah if not just decline the invitation lor. I normally don't attend ppl who I never contact for years yet can remember me when they marry.

I am out of touch with the SG situation, but perhaps, you could inform me as to how much is the cost of a plate or per person re: wedding dinner at a hotel or restuarant, with or without band/music, etc.

When I got married in mid 1990's, I was shocked that there were many guests who gave a cheque of $100 or $150 for a couple attending the dinner. Worse, there was a table of guests from my wife's work, who had $150 for 9 at that table, whereas one other guest at that table gave $50.

ProbabLy your wife's coLLeugues knew your nick before hand : CharLie Cheap, and hence the Angpow given..:D

His son La, bro..things have changed so much sinced the day i paid $380 a tabLe for my wedding ..:D:eek:

During my wedding reception, our friends and we arranged everything at a church hall, including our own flower arrangements, paid the caterer $20 a person (which includes soup, roast beef, breaded veal, boneless and skinless chicken breasts with mushrooms and peppers, potatoes, rice, mixed vegetables, coffee and tea, plus desserts, sweet table with assorted fruits, cheese, cold cuts, sausages). I went early in the morning to the bakery to buy fresh European light rye bread. We provided open bar before the dinner, and throughout the evening because we bought white and red wine (La Vielle Ferme, Cote du Luberon and Cote du Ventoux) by the case, Remy Martin VSOP, Chivas Regal, Crown Royal rye whisky, Beefeater gin, Bacardi rum, Smirnoff vodka, McGillivray peach snapps, Baileys, Amaretto, several brands of beer from the liquor store, and the sons of my friends were the bartenders.

We hired a band (7 member Bukovina brass) and persuaded them to come out of retirement, and they played traditional Ukrainian music on classical instruments (including Ukrainian instruments - 65 string bandura, cymbali [which is similar to a Chinese instrument, yang zing]), and then they played music for the dance.

We had a photographer going around to take photos for guests as a couple or family, or with their friends, then sent the photos to them several weeks later.

Knn, you aLso damned Cheapo hor; $50 bucks you aLso dare to give....:D:eek:

It is OK, since he was not attending, a gift of good luck and happiness, red $50

During my wedding reception, our friends and we arranged everything at a church hall, including our own flower arrangements, paid the caterer $20 a person (which includes soup, roast beef, breaded veal, boneless and skinless chicken breasts with mushrooms and peppers, potatoes, rice, mixed vegetables, coffee and tea, plus desserts, sweet table with assorted cheese, cold cuts, sausages). I went early to the bakery to buy fresh European light rye bread. We provided open bar before the dinner, and throughout the evening because we bought white and red wine (La Vielle Ferme, Cote du Luberon and Cote du Ventoux) by the case, Remy Martin VSOP, Chivas Regal, Crown Royal rye whisky, Beefeater gin, rum, vodka, peach snapps, Baileys, Amaretto, several brands of beer from the liquor store, and the sons of my friends were the bartenders.

We hired a band (7 member Bukovina brass) and persuaded them to come out of retirement, and they played traditional Ukrainian music on classical instruments (including Ukrainian instruments - 65 string bandura, cymbali [which is similar to a Chinese instrument, yang zing]), and then they played music for the dance.

We had a photographer going around to take photos for guests as a couple or family, or with their friends, then sent the photos to them several weeks later.

Seems either you have a good memory, or you stiLL Love your wifey after aLL these years.Either way, congrats !
:)

Good friend 200 per head.

Seems either you have a good memory, or you stiLL Love your wifey after aLL these years.Either way, congrats !
:)

My memory is still good, although at my age (early 50's), I have not been working much, may be 1 to 2 days a week since about 5 years ago, and may be one day a month since summer 2010. I would love to stay sharp at Court hearings, litigation, etc.

Believe me, it is more work to arrange and cater for a wedding reception than having it at a hotel, but home cooked food and home made desserts (including traditional Slavic sweets and pastries) by Slavic ladies are more delicious than "rubber chicken" and massed produced roast beef from many hotels.

jia lat lim bey one person go give 100 only. siao liao all must be cursing and swearing at me. din't know market rate is 200 to 300

Normlly I will only give $100-$200 for friends. Relatives, I will give more.

jia lat lim bey one person go give 100 only. siao liao all must be cursing and swearing at me. din't know market rate is 200 to 300

It is OK, as long as you attend with a smile, $100 is not bad. People getting married should not organize wedding dinner at posh hotels, and expect their guests to pay for it.

Your wedding with LWL, I also pow 1K. Sui bo ?

If wedding with LWL, no need your angpow. My father-out-law is a billionaire. I will give angpow of 1k to each guest. Have to spend all the billions. Keep for what? Sui bo?

If that is case, please ensure that you include my name in your guest list.

The Ang Pow money depends on who is holding the wedding dinner. If it is your Boss' son getting married you should give more. If it is his daughter's turn, no need to give but make sure you are the groom.

If that is case, please ensure that you include my name in your guest list.

For you, special special. 10k. Free 1st class air tickets, Ritz Carlton suite and whatever you want. Bring your spouse and kids. Each of them 5k. Hope I can help to re-distribute my LKY's $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.

Im at the age that every month, you will have an average of 1 or 2 wedding invitation. Honestly I don't look forward going to those at hotels anymore, I rather go to those under void decks.