• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fire out every where in SG pass 2 week!

What is really happen fire break out every where in pass 2 week. SCDF very busy lately.
Not blaming SCDF. We should expect them the only department SG can hope for help in case of emergency. Who love by everyone saving life give no trouble to others.

What happen and why so many fire case??????

What is really happen fire break out every where in pass 2 week. SCDF very busy lately.
Not blaming SCDF. We should expect them the only department SG can hope for help in case of emergency. Who love by everyone saving life give no trouble to others.

What happen and why so many fire case??????

How many people actually keeps a smoke alarm and fire extinguisher at home?

HDB I guess less than 10% keep fire extinguisher in home.
Only less than 2% properly keep the fire extinguisher in proper check yearly.
Mostly just buy and store it in store never check.

HDB I guess less than 10% keep fire extinguisher in home.
Only less than 2% properly keep the fire extinguisher in proper check yearly.
Mostly just buy and store it in store never check.

Brother, your 10% is flattering. 5% would still be flattering. I know best because I talk to people everyday for the past 5 years about fire safety.

Some places deserve to be burnt to the ground when a fire breaks out.

For example, the basements of Mustafa Centre.

The layout is chaotic and messy, with narrow walkways.

singapore-mustafa-centre-12-05-08-193452-500x375.jpg

Some places deserve to be burnt to the ground when a fire breaks out.

For example, the basements of Mustafa Centre.

The layout is chaotic and messy, with narrow walkways.

singapore-mustafa-centre-12-05-08-193452-500x375.jpg

As the photo if fire start it will take less than 60min to burnt everything to dust.

Brother, your 10% is flattering. 5% would still be flattering. I know best because I talk to people everyday for the past 5 years about fire safety.

Is the fire sprinkle in the building really active all the time? If I break the mercury glass will the water sprinkle out?
I dont think so ??
Or when the fire alarm active water pump start to pump to sprinkle.

Someone is going to call you a chinaman soon :D

Is OK what! my Ah Kong is come from China. Half correct.
Now youngster english worst they use short form eg. b4(before), bcos(because)............
My consider better mah...................he he he

Is the fire sprinkle in the building really active all the time? If I break the mercury glass will the water sprinkle out?
I dont think so ??
Or when the fire alarm active water pump start to pump to sprinkle.

The sprinkler works only when it reaches a certain temperature. The most common is 68 degree celsius. You are right to doubt if the sprinkler does work or not. Many a times, when I visit very old buildings, I often have the same doubt. But knowing our Sinkie's mentality of "as long as the government(in this case SCDF) approved it, it must be working"
When the East Village hotel caught fire last week, I was not surprised. Like I said, I have been in this business for so long, all the safety measures that are meted out are all wayangs and for show only. The most important part of safety is missing. You want to make a guess what is missing?

The sprinkler works only when it reaches a certain temperature. The most common is 68 degree celsius. You are right to doubt if the sprinkler does work or not. Many a times, when I visit very old buildings, I often have the same doubt. But knowing our Sinkie's mentality of "as long as the government(in this case SCDF) approved it, it must be working"
When the East Village hotel caught fire last week, I was not surprised. Like I said, I have been in this business for so long, all the safety measures that are meted out are all wayangs and for show only. The most important part of safety is missing. You want to make a guess what is missing?

1. Fire door/door closer/fire safety door never close.
2. Fire control alarm panel working properly?
3. Fire escape route/sign exit

You havent answer my question will the water sprinkle out if I manually break the mercury glass without fire alarm activated?

1. Fire door/door closer/fire safety door never close.
2. Fire control alarm panel working properly?
3. Fire escape route/sign exit

You havent answer my question will the water sprinkle out if I manually break the mercury glass without fire alarm activated?

Yes, just like in the movies. The only difference is, in the movies, when you break one, the rest will all burst. This is not true. Only the one that is activated will sprinkle out water.

The answer to my question is actually mentality

Raiders: During a tremor or earthquake, what do you do?

Sinkie: Run

Raiders: Good luck

Raiders: It's good to install smoke alarms at home as they are the first line of defence in a fire

Sinkie: Will it sprinkle out water?

Raiders: ........

Raiders: Do you keep any fire extinguisher at home?

Sinkie: Siao

Raiders: Then what are you going to do when there is a fire at home?

Sinkie: Choy!

Thanks for the information. Think i will get some fire extinguishers for the offices and get someone to train the staff how to use it.

Many dare not use fire extinguisher. They spread it very far away from fire. Always make me laugh. Should go to the near as possible or less than 1m from the fuel(source of fire) aim at the source not flame.
I have use 2 time fire extinguisher when fire happen lucky for me to be there is not there is be bigger damage.

Yes, just like in the movies. The only difference is, in the movies, when you break one, the rest will all burst. This is not true. Only the one that is activated will sprinkle out water.

The answer to my question is actually mentality

Raiders: During a tremor or earthquake, what do you do?

Sinkie: Run

Raiders: Good luck

Raiders: It's good to install smoke alarms at home as they are the first line of defence in a fire

Raiders: ........

Raiders: Do you keep any fire extinguisher at home?

Sinkie: Siao

Raiders: Then what are you going to do when there is a fire at home?

Sinkie: Choy!

Very truth. When doing fire drill many just boh chap still keep doing work. Or try to escape the dril eg. go out have meeting/lunch time take very long.......................

..some fire extinguishers for the offices and get someone to train the staff how to use it.
Never too late, also ensure regular (annual?) checks on CO2 powder -not just a "sticker" job (not just in LOS).:p
smoke alarms at home as they are the first line of defence in a fire
Or foam to dowse (own) raging fires;)

Many dare not use fire extinguisher. They spread it very far away from fire. Always make me laugh. Should go to the near as possible or less than 1m from the fuel(source of fire) aim at the source not flame.
I have use 2 time fire extinguisher when fire happen lucky for me to be there is not there is be bigger damage.

Hehehe. I also don't know how to use one. Looks easy, just pull pin and press handle but better be safe and get the right people to teach. I happen to stay near a shop selling these equipment.

At least u know need to pull the pin. Some getting stress when real fire forget to pull the pin.
Just aim as close as u can to the source of fire(normal technical word call fuel eg. paper,wood also called fuel).
Fire only happen when 3 have thing high temperature, oxygen and fuel(source of materail that burn) .
Take out any one of them fire will stop.