• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

arsenal

Marina bay sand is pure fengshui architect-ed.. So is Suntec City (5 towers represent 5 fingers, water fountain in the center)..

SG is still prosperous esp it keeps improving its fengshui.
You can see from the recent opening of the Gardens by the Bay is very good example. it uses Wood element to strengthen the luck.
From Masters, it brings and strengthen the luck of SG. As to who will benefit most, I think is the gov of course.

here is the link

http://www.gardensbythebay.com.sg/en/home.html

Funds Transfer

SG is still prosperous esp it keeps improving its fengshui.
You can see from the recent opening of the Gardens by the Bay is very good example. it uses Wood element to strengthen the luck.
From Masters, it brings and strengthen the luck of SG. As to who will benefit most, I think is the gov of course.

here is the link

http://www.gardensbythebay.com.sg/en/home.html

Sometimes I really wonder. If it is going to benefit the Government, does it mean bringing misfortune to its people?

In order for the casinos to do well, more people will need to contribute to its coffers.

And can a country do well with a significant percentage of its people suffering?

Funds Transfer

Recently someone post a article on fenshui of Iskandar in this forum . In short the top Master Fengshui say , SG is game over , it is now Iskandar that will be Wang liao ! Bros , no matter which Taman you are in , sure Huat , except the Eastern Zone which is weak .

I think SG has already 'game over' since the Government has given up thinking of expanding the economy in other forms apart from injecting investments into casinos. We have 2 now. What happens if the 3rd one comes along, the 4th or even the 5th? How do you think this country would look? Hmmm......

Funds Transfer

Haha bro, I dunno how to check for an entire area leh.....to summarise, according to the master, which I corroborated with Wikipedia (see previous link), we are now in period 8 (2004 - 2023), of which the North East facing direction is the most auspicious. If u have a mountain nearby, its lagi better.

To summarise, if you use an iphone compass function and you stand outside ur house facing the main gate, if your iphone compass shows NE and there's a lush & green mountain nearby, you are in a super 福地. For guys who have such a super location, congrats! hehe......

Bro RedsYNWA

Thanks for sharing about the North East facing. Looks like we would need to look at this when buying properties anywhere!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Sometimes I really wonder. If it is going to benefit the Government, does it mean bringing misfortune to its people?

In order for the casinos to do well, more people will need to contribute to its coffers.

And can a country do well with a significant percentage of its people suffering?

IMHO, casino is zero sums game, ultimately we know who wins. Hence I never set foot in any of the casinos in SG.
Even when I went with my parents in Genting, I got lucky the very first pull and got some money. Straightaway, I went to encash, paid for a good meal for them and used the winnings to pay the hotel for another night.

I am the type that walks away even if I win just 1 buck. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Marina bay sand is pure fengshui architect-ed.. So is Suntec City (5 towers represent 5 fingers, water fountain in the center)..

Agree, the fountain collects water in the centre signifying the flow of wealth and locking in the flow.

RedsYNWA

Bro RedsYNWA

Thanks for sharing about the North East facing. Looks like we would need to look at this when buying properties anywhere!

Haha i think its hard to find a NE house with lush & green mountain. Though the fengshui master did not say it, prefering to keep things up his sleeves, I looked up wikipedia and it seems North & south facing houses are gd too for the current period 8 (2004 to 2023).

The fengshui master claims he had a hand in designing Changi Airport Terminal, so he's confident of his skills. I would keep that in view, but take it with a pinch of salt. Hehe..... Btw this theory is only applicable for new houses leh. For pre-owned properties, the master din say & I also cant find it on wikipedia....haha

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wa, too much wealth ah, only dare to put half foot in? :)

Yes he is really wealthy, maybe a toe in perharps?
Suddenly reminds me of this song:

You put your right foot in,
You put your right foot out;
You put your right foot in,
And you shake it all about.
You do the Hokey-Pokey,
And you turn yourself around.
That's what it's all about!

crystal_tiong

The government has established various control measures to ensure that the increase in home prices is reasonable and has little effect on the people, according to Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Chor Chee Heung.

One of the measures implemented to restrain speculation is increasing property gains tax on homes sold off within two years from five percent to 10 percent, said Chor in a report by Bernama.

Chor noted that Bank Negara Malaysia has also set a loan ceiling of 70 percent for third home purchase, hence borrowers must get the 30 percent on their own.

Senator Mohd Khalid Ahmad also asked Chor about the measures implemented by the ministry to monitor the rising prices of houses and if it will introduce legislation to curb it.

In response, Chor said: "The government launched the 1 Malaysia Housing Programme (PR1MA) to ensure that the medium-income group whose monthly household income does not exceed RM7,500 can afford to own a house costing between RM150,000 and RM300,000."

The government had also given priority to low-income group. Under the People's Housing Programme, 54,215 units of affordable homes were built in 31 December 2011, while 38,950 more will be constructed under the 10th Malaysia Plan period (2011-2015).

"Besides, the state governments usually impose a condition for private housing developers to build low-cost houses for up to 30 percent of their total housing development."

With regards to legislation to control prices, Chor revealed that the government has no plans at present to introduce such laws. However, it has established ceiling prices for affordable housing - RM42,000 for the peninsula and RM50,400 for Sarawak and Sabah.

Currently, "property prices are not going up drastically nationwide but only in the main urban centres. Ministry statistics show that the average rise in house prices nationwide between 2000 and 2010 was 33 percent," he added.

For the latest property news, trends, resources and expert opinions, visit our Property News section. Home buyers, sellers or property renters looking for Malaysian Properties, may like to visit http://www.propertyguru.com.my today.

Funds Transfer

No regrets over big move to JB

The lure of living large for less has drawn more Singaporeans to Johor. -TNP
Zul Othman

Tue, Jul 10, 2012
The New Paper

Despite news of Singaporeans being victims of crime in Johor, more are snapping up houses for less than half of what they would cost here.

Even a daily commute to work or faraway schools is not a deterrent - as long as they go home to a mansion.

The lure of living large for less has drawn more Singaporeans to Johor.

About 5,000 Singaporeans now call Johor home, estimates the Johor-Singapore Community Care Association, a newly formed group that aims to champion the interests of Singaporeans living across the Causeway.

Mr Stephen Santhanaraj, 65, moved to East Ledang estate in Nusajaya, located west of Johor Baru, four months ago after he sold the family's 1,600 sq ft semi-detached house in Sembawang Park.

He declined reveal how much he sold it for.

For now, he and his wife, Madam Patricia Prathibha, who is in her 40s, call a rented two-storey, four-bedroom corner terrace house in the gated community home.

But soon, the couple will move into a five-bedroom, 6,500 sq ft bungalow in the same area, bought for RM1.3 million ($521,000).

They are part of the influx of Singaporeans after the Iskandar Malaysia project - which aims to make Johor into an economic powerhouse - was mooted six years ago, said two property agents here.

They had previously been contracted by Malaysian developers to market the homes to Singaporeans.

"I see more Singaporeans buying houses in Johor Baru compared to five years ago," says Mr Anuar Mohd Saad, 48, a sales manager with Broswell Property Consultant.

"Previously, many Singaporeans were not keen to buy homes in Johor Baru because of the perceived crime situation and property resale value."

But the Iskandar project seems to have changed perceptions about the state, said Mr Anuar.

Now, more Singaporean families have gone to live in and commute from estates like East Ledang, Ledang Heights and Horizon Hills, all located within Nusajaya.

Prices for these big houses range from RM500,000 for a terrace house to RM1 million for a semi-detached one.

"These prices are attractive because those earning middle-class incomes can afford landed properties," says Mr Anuar.

But the main pull for these Singaporeans, observes Ms CharmianChelvam - a sales manager with property firm DTZ - is the fact that these estates are located just 20 minutes from the Tuas checkpoint.

She says: "The developments in Nusajaya area are also different from most of the homes in Johor Baru.

"The quality of the houses are good and the security systems are sufficiently effective, and because of this, more Singaporeans are looking to buy property in the area."

Mr Santhanaraj is also comforted by the fact that of all the foreigners in his estate, 80 per cent are Singaporeans.

"To be honest, having Singaporeans around was not a consideration when I bought a house here," said the management consultant at Shepherd's Sphere.

"But (now) the added bonus is that I have at least four other Singaporean families living on my street and all of us are very close," said Mr Santhanaraj.

He and his wife, who have been married for 14 years, have no children and they share their home with his 83-year-old mother.

Access to Singapore is never a problem, he says.

"It takes me about an hour to drive to my office in Kay Siang Road, so my new home is not really as far as people think it is."

But he is quick to point out that he has not abandoned Singapore.

"I volunteer with the Sembawang GRC grassroots, so my life is still in Singapore," he says with a smile.

Funds Transfer

Kids can't wait to go home to JB

Zul Othman

Tue, Jul 10, 2012
The New Paper

It's the best decision he and his family evermade.

Mr Hussain Sayeed, 49, an assistant account director with Hewlett-Packard in Singapore, bought a four-bedroom, 4,200 sq ft semi-detached house in East Ledang, Nusajaya, in west Johor , for RM1.7 million (S$680,000) recently.

For the last five months, his family has been living in a rented four-bedroom, 2,600 sq ft terrace house there for RM5,000 a month.

"We wanted to try out living here and I am just happy with the quality of life here - life moves slowly and the open spaces are something my children enjoy," he said.

The family still has a condominium unit in Pasir Ris, which has been rented out for $3,000 a month.

"I don't feel life in Nusajaya is any different from life in Singapore," said Mr Hussain, who shares the home with wife Sharmin Sayeed, 40, and two children, both of whom are studying in Singapore.

"I moved to Nusajaya because I can get a bigger space for less money as it is cheaper than landed property in Singapore."

"It is not exactly cheap, but it is the quality of life that attracts me." he adds.

His family, he says, loves their new surroundings.

"My children love it here and can't wait to get home every day," says Mr Hussain, a Bangladeshi who came to Singapore in 1989 and became a Singapore citizen in 1997.

He said that neither he nor his children mind the hour-long commute to Singapore each day.

Being surrounded by neighbours who are Singaporeans and expatriates who work in Singapore is also very comforting, he says.

Mr Hussain says: "The cost of living here is lower and that is another bonus, but being surrounded by Singaporeans, I also feel right at home."

Funds Transfer

S'poreans form JB group

Zul Othman

Tue, Jul 10, 2012
The New Paper

Some Singaporeans living in Johor Baru have formed the Johor-Singapore Community Care Association (JSCA).

Started earlier this year, it is headed by former People's Action Party Member of Parliament Wan Hussin Zoohri.

The association, which is registered in Johor, is starting its membership drive.

Out of the 200 or so applications it has received so far, "five to 10per cent are from Singaporeans," says Mr Wan Hussin.

Membership costs RM100 (S$40) a year.

Besides organising social events for Singaporeans living in Johor, the JSCA also plans to speak on their behalf in case of emergencies, says Mr Wan Hussin.

"Many of the Singaporeans living in Johor are happy where they are. They also know that crime, while unexpected, is also not rampant," he says.

"One of our objectives, however, is to act as a voice, to speak to the authorities there whenever there are security concerns."

Those interested in joining the association can e-mail [email protected]

Status
Not open for further replies.