• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking News!Pastor Kong Hee And Pastors Arrested And Charge!

skybluesky

This for Kong Hee and Sun Ho and the rest who are being charged , hope it is not too late...
[video=youtube;dkoBCtMLn0A]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkoBCtMLn0A[/video]
For those who don't understand chinese or canto there English Sub in the video enjoy i think it better than china wine. :P

RoyMcFarland

I have a few things to get off my chest...

1. How did CHC become listed as a "charity"?? The Red Cross is a charity. The NKF(notwithstanding the great TT Durai) is a charity. Collecting donations from the congregation, i.e. believers is a charity?

2. How can you say that only some individuals are being investigated and the church has done no wrong? THESE INDIVIDUALS ARE THE CHURCH. THEY STARTED IT. Its not the same as saying that a Catholic priest is under investigation for child molest. The Roman Catholic Church is not under investigation.

3. I can never understand how adults who are otherwise intelligent, can continue to believe in these clowns.

4. Finally, in my opinion, all religions are a man made phenomenon to address man's fear of his own mortality. Nothing wrong in believing. It might help us to understand our lives and prepare for the end peacefully. But, "God" gave us something that differentiates us from "his" other creations...an ability to analyse and think for ourselves. We really don't need to congregate in a church, synagogue, temple or mosque on specified days of the week to be good, decent human beings. And we certainly should see through the forms and rituals, i.e. smoke and mirrors that the so called leaders of these religions use to exercise controls over us.

@Roy

1. CHC may not be a 'charity' per se, but the subsidiary organizations under its wing may be. Similar to Touch Community Services under Lawrence Khong's FCBC. Sometimes the line of separation is very blurred.

2. Teo Chee Hean opened his big mouth to reassure the rest of the Christian community (CHC and non-CHC) that the arrests were against individuals, rather than govt persecution of Christianity and its institutions (the PAP has had a tainted history of dealing with Christian 'Marxist conspirators'). Unfortunately for Baron Teo, as far as the CHC folks are concerned, Kong Hee is symbolically synonymous with CHC. If the scuffles at the courtroom were a foretaste of things to come, the govt can expect serious repercussions.

3. Smart people are quite smart at explaining away things they come to believe for non-smart reasons.

4. The rational mind of human beings has, ironically, made them more predisposed to religion than other animals. Unlike other animals, human beings will ponder on the three basic questions of life: origin (where do we come from?), purpose (what are we here for?) and destiny (where do we go after death?). Combined with uniquely human notions of ethics, morality, guilt, punishment/reward, religion is a uniquely human experience.

Conqueror

This for Kong Hee and Sun Ho and the rest who are being charged , hope it is not too late...

For those who don't understand chinese or canto there English Sub in the video enjoy i think it better than china wine. :P

Er, you being too optimistic. If they can lie, they will lie. They aren't Christians. REAL believers do not do this. They are like MLM shoddy salesmen. They charge up the crowd with beautiful (emotional) words to make them do something - buy or donate money. Don't be fooled by these people.

True story : I was trying to reveal the church that I had discovered as being the ultimate or as 'real' to an army friend but he disbelieved it. Later, he joined this 'church' - CHC. Wah, these people throw lots of money into the coffer to build the 'church'. Wah, he very 'hao lian' but I know he kanna conned already lah. Today's news you see is the revelation of what I have suspected all along.

Actually, the word "real" is not a good description here because only the real church can be called a church. A church is congregation of people who worship God in TRUTH and SPIRIT.

John 4:24 God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth.

Let's get this straight : fake church is NOT a church. The word "church" is being abused. I have seen God in a form of light, heat and a strange sound can't describe. He has no known form ... some kind of floating energy. He will be with you if you receive the HOLY SPIRIT.

Many churches DO NOT do tell you this ! They are all blind guides !

Matt 15:13 He replied, “Every plant that my heavenly Father has not planted will be pulled up by the roots. 14 Leave them; they are blind guides.[a] If the blind lead the blind, both will fall into a pit.”

God had already warned the (real) church. These are NOT the sheep of God.

moolightaffairs

@Roy

1. CHC may not be a 'charity' per se, but the subsidiary organizations under its wing may be. Similar to Touch Community Services under Lawrence Khong's FCBC. Sometimes the line of separation is very blurred.

2. Teo Chee Hean opened his big mouth to reassure the rest of the Christian community (CHC and non-CHC) that the arrests were against individuals, rather than govt persecution of Christianity and its institutions (the PAP has had a tainted history of dealing with Christian 'Marxist conspirators'). Unfortunately for Baron Teo, as far as the CHC folks are concerned, Kong Hee is symbolically synonymous with CHC. If the scuffles at the courtroom were a foretaste of things to come, the govt can expect serious repercussions.

3. Smart people are quite smart at explaining away things they come to believe for non-smart reasons.

4. The rational mind of human beings has, ironically, made them more predisposed to religion than other animals. Unlike other animals, human beings will ponder on the three basic questions of life: origin (where do we come from?), purpose (what are we here for?) and destiny (where do we go after death?). Combined with uniquely human notions of ethics, morality, guilt, punishment/reward, religion is a uniquely human experience.

i like you avatar! :biggrin:

soikee

Guys, let us cool down.

The main point over here is not defaming or bring down Christianity over here, which I always believe.
Pastor Kong Hee is arrested for misused of the funds in CHC which is meant to be Charity purposes, personally am not a member or supportor of CHC because of some bad experience with CHC.

But let us look at it in another point of view.
Pastor Kong Hee is arrested for certain reason, the CHC members supports him for another reason.
Pastor Kong Hee, standing as their spiritual leader would always be as Holy and Saint just like Jesus Christ to his followers.
The reaction of the CHC members is little out of hand, but as long the judge sentence is not yet confirm, the followers will continue to act as such so there is no point to do or say anything negative to them.

From my point of view, Pastor Kong Hee is another human being. He may have the ability to lead, he have the charisma to charm his followers, a tongue gifted to talk very well. BUT HE IS JUST ANOTHER HUMAN, just like you and me. And human make mistakes.

I had jot down my views on my personal blog at God's Will, if you are interested kindly take a look.

My stand is simple, Christianity is not at fault - Members of CHC is not at fault.
Kong Hee is the one did the mistake, and no matter what happens he must face the music.

Con Hee is not only at fault, but an outright fucking con-artist!

I was invited to a lunch to meet up with the cell group. Before the lunch ended, the group leader was very insistent that we, about a dozen of us contributed
money so that he could buy a big present for his Pastor, Con Hee's coming birthday.

That was my first encounter with CHC and I felt so disgusted that I talked my friend who invited me to the lunch not to have anything to do with CHC.

Two days ago this same friend called me up to thank me for guilding him away from this fucking con-artist, Con Hee.

Boliao

@Roy

I'm with you on this. With this exposure, many of my friends started to share their experiences of CHC as I can tell you it is super duper scary how they operate.Putting the 5 jokers in jail is not going to kill this snake and I worry for my children. Imagine your child becoming a CHC member... they'll gladly sell their parents for their "love of the church".

I say the government should move in and disband this cult group.

KPOTAN

I attended CHC in 1999 that was when CHC was located in Hollywood cinema, near City Plaza. I was a undergraduate and my senior brought me to this church. Kong told the audience that they will be building a new bigger church to facilitate the members. He told people how to make more money. For student, he suggested they should get part-time job such as tuition.

I remembered that he told audiences that when he was young , he was very poor . He had only left 50 dollar in his wallet, however, he said he loved GOD and he felt he should donate his money in a church. He told GOD, ” This is all I have” . Then after he donated, a few days later, somebody gave him a cheque a few thousand dollar out of no reason. He told audience to give what they have in their wallet , GOD will rewarded that more than they have.

I also remember he said, Jesus died for us and he sacrificed his blood for us. Our money is like our blood. We earned it.
We must also be like Jesus. Hence, we must donated our blood like Jesus.

This is how he psycho people to donate. It up to you whether you want to believe his word. For those who believe him, it is their choice. They donated their blood to hear him motivate them. They are willing to believe... so let them be.

Extremist

Darren's experience with CHC in 1998

Darren Au Yeung Dear CHC Members,
After reading Mr Christopher Pangs letter, it prompt me to write this in reply, and hope to get a some answers for some incidents I have with CHC many years ago which amuses me even now.
I was with CHC for a very short time in 1998, and here is my personal experience,
Back in 1998, due to a close friends request to accompany him to the church, i attended the services for over a month or so.
It was never my intention to join CHC, which I told the CHC members and cell group leader I met on the first day I attended the service. I request that they leave me alone and not push me out when the pastors call out for newcomers to come to the front, which they also acknowledged and agreed.
Would you care to explain to me reasons behind what happened next:
(1) Why I was still forcefully pushed out when the pastor called out for newcomers.
(Didn’t I requested to be left alone, didn’t everyone acknowledge my request.)
After being pulled up front, each newcomer has a cell group leader with him/her, and the pastor started to pray for the newcomer and the each cell group leader would place one hand on their charge. The next action really got me upset.
(2) Why was the cell group leader using all his strength to push my head down, when I resisted, he continue to forcefully push my head down to bow not giving a single thought if he was hurting the person.
After the service was over, I was further grouped into a cell group and was introduce to the cell group leader in charge of the group.
(3) As I previously mentioned I made it known that I was not there to join the church, just accompanying my good friend. Why did the cell group leader have to keep calling me every week to tell me to go to church for the following month or so.
I am sure everyone is familiar to the donation bag being passed around during service. Someone please kindly explain to me why I was treated this way:
(4) CHC member keeping passing back the donation bag back to me when I either donate anything under 50 cents or donate nothing, one of them even tell me in the face that I donate too little, must be over 50 cents or more.
(Isn’t this donation base on free will. I wasn’t even earning any money, all I have was suffice pocket money for my meals and transport)
Darren Au Yeung The next following 3 incident in the following month gave me a lasting impression of CHC till this day.
Please kindly justified the action behind the following incidents.
Incident 1:
As usual after service the cell group would gather at the KFC next door. On this particular day, it happens that there was 2 young female members of CHC in their early twenties seating at the table beside mine talking very loudly. Their conversation evolves just on one topic, which was how great and powerful Pastor Kong Hee was. Feeling that this was not right, I asked them who are they here to worship, Our Lord Jesus Christ, or Our dear Pastor Kong Hee, whom in my opinion is just a messenger of God, so why are they not praising God?. Unable to response, they given me a very dark and angry look, packed up and walk away.
(Have i said something wrong? Actually I am fine with them praising Pastor Kong Hee, but the term “powerful” did not sit well with me. Isn’t God the only almighty one?)
Incident 2.
On my second last week with CHC, I held a BBQ party at my house for only my close circle of friends.
During the mid of the party, the cell group leader called and learned that I was having a BBQ party. His immediate reaction was telling me his is coming down to the party straight away. In a bit of a shock, I told him nicely, that the party was only intended for my small group of close buddies whom mostly don’t even know him, and I don’t think they are comfortable with it. The cell group leader flew into a rage, and after saying some unpleasant remarks he hanged the call immediately. He never calls or spoke to me ever again, even when I saw him in church, and he will just treat me as invisible.
(I seriously don’t see why he needed to try to force his way into my private party and be furious about it when I didn’t invite him or allow him to join in. Firstly, it was only intended for my close friends, and secondly I am not close to him or know him very well.
Does CHC have rules that everyone must invite the cell group leader or anyone from church if he/she holds a party?
Incident 3.
This happened on my last service I attended at CHC, and a week after the 2nd incident
After the service, the cell group was gathering at a location near the old theater where the services was held. By this time I was aware that everyone was keeping their distance away from me. It was too obvious as all sit in a group at a table but let me sit by myself at another table. A sweet young female CHC member of the group, came over to my table after seeing that I was alone, and asked me a curious question.

Extremist

Re: Darren's experience with CHC in 1998

Darren Au Yeung She asked “why are they told to keep their distance away from me, and if rumours about me spread by the cell group leaders were true?”
I in return asked what rumors she was talking about.
What I heard from her, make me enraged, these so call Cell group leaders being spreading untrue and outright lies about me, stating I was a bad influence, teaching them bad things, etc and many acts that I have never commit. Best of all, they have all never met or get to know me, they outcast me just because of I never invite one of them to a party and believe all the false accusation he states?
I just tell the girl, that it was untrue, and thank her for being nice and sincere to everyone.
While I was thanking her, a cell group leader came over stating that he was her brother and he need her to attend a group meeting. (The impression he gave was of a look of unhappiness that she was talking to me.)
I politely acknowledge the need of her to attend the meeting and watch him lead her away, only to realize that it was just an act.
The moment he went back to the group he was holding a meeting with, he left her to sit alone in a corner while he went back to his meeting with his church fellow, and the young girl looked as if she was scolded severely for speaking with me.
Not wanting to cause any further problems for my friends I Left the place and CHC since.
In my defense, I kept to myself during my time in CHC, except for the few incidents mentioned here. I did nothing to influence any members of the church. Nor did I try to leave behind any marks.
I traveled overseas for studies and never contact anyone from CHC. When I got back 6~7 years later, I ask around my friends on what has become of the members of the cell group members. To my surprise quite afew were knee deep in the so called bad influence and sins that the “CELL GROUP LEADERS” were accusing me of influencing.
Trust me, the youngsters nowadays are well capable of shocking acts, without anyone teaching.
Now, after knowing what I experience “PLEASE” someone from CHC explained why I was treated this way.
For Pastor Kong Hee’s recently incident, Mr Christopher Pang demands an apology from COC.
Then in my case, shouldn’t the whole Cell Group Leaders involve in my incidents apologies to me as well? Would You Mr. Christopher Pang who love your church so much, apologies to me for their acts?

Pls read post 520.

My friend told me, it is an audit procedure and requirement to check for related party transaction. Audit evidence must be present to substantiate auditor's work. Auditors must ask, and management to give representation statement. If not done, then why..........

Why I ask is because imo, issues must be addressed and dealt throughly as a matter of principle to ensure future professionalism in all fields.

I understand your point and did reply to post 520 originally.

It's not clear whether the auditors knew whether those were RPT or not. Also not clear whether CHC or KH disclosed, although it's likely that they didn't and that is now one of the issues being addressed.

The management are expected to disclose the RPT, as well as provide a comprehensive and complete org chart. The auditors will then usually verify and substantiate this information provided. If the management don't provide such information, the main way of getting evidence of RPT would be to cross check all organizations having dealings with the audited organization, including checking the company secretaral records for evidence of ownership/shareholding/control.

The auditors may not do this last step unless they have reason to believe that there is RPT among them, because there could be hundreds or thousands of organizations having transactions with the organization being audited. They will usually rely on information/representation by the management and substantiate what is provided.

‘Proud’ CHC blogger wrote: What’s wrong with my Church using its own funds?

[h=2]‘Proud’ CHC blogger wrote: What’s wrong with my Church using its own funds?[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 28, 2012

A female blogger by the name of Daphne who proclaimed herself as a ‘proud’ member of City Harvest Church (CHC) for the past 15 years has defended her beleaguered pastor Kong Hee on her blog and lashed out at his detractors.

The 47 year old founder of CHC was slapped with three charges of misusing the church’s funds to further the music career of his wife Ho Yeow Sun which could see him spend the rest of his life in prison.

Despite the gravity of the offences, many CHC members continue to support Kong Hee including Daphne who was surprised at the ‘fuss’ over CHC using its ‘own funds.’

In a blog post today, Daphne wrote she didn’t understand the criticisms hurled at Kong Hee by Singaporeans as CHC never solicited funds from the public:

“First of all, what I don’t understand is the vitriol and venom that’s coming from all the people who’ve never given a single cent to the church. Unlike other charities, the church has never once solicited funds from the public and all the money has come in from church members who believe in a cause and gave out of their own free will.”

She asserted the funds were contributed by church members to serve their own purpose:

“I mean, I don’t come into your family and lambaste you for how you’re spending your money. If you decide to build your kids a bowling alley in your basement, that’s your right. Or if you decide to splurge on a Breitling for your dad, or a Prada bag for your second grandaunt’s cousin’s daughter, that’s entirely up to you.”

Though the Commercial Affairs Department (CAD) has found evidence that Kong Hee had ‘diverted’ at least S$50 million dollars of CHC funds to help his wife’s career, Daphne continues to trust him completely:

“I have absolute trust in the fact that none of the money was embezzled for personal gain. I believe in the Crossover Project and there was certainly no intent to deceive, as had been alleged. Pastor Kong and all the other 4 individuals on trial have not breached the trust of the church members. I make no apologies for giving every dollar that we gave and we will continue to do so knowing that the funds will not be misused.”

With so many ‘loyal’ members like Daphne around, Pastor Kong can rest assured that his ‘good work’ in CHC will survive his expected ‘holiday’ in ‘Changi Chalet’.

Read Daphne’s post here

[h=1]“The only thing worse than being blind is having sight but no vision.”[/h]
as5.gif
Helen Keller quotes (American Author and Educator who was blind and deaf. 1880-1968)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Re: ‘Proud’ CHC blogger wrote: What’s wrong with my Church using its own funds?

This is because they are avoiding tax using Chairty status.

Goh Meng Seng

Prometheus888

money laundry partner in crime ? :wink:

I thought non Singaporeans are not allowed to buy properties in sinkapore...oh i forgot ....(i must have been sleeping for many years)...now *anything* on this damm island is for sale....

I wish singapore still belonged to singaporeans.....

2. How can you say that only some individuals are being investigated and the church has done no wrong? THESE INDIVIDUALS ARE THE CHURCH. THEY STARTED IT. Its not the same as saying that a Catholic priest is under investigation for child molest. The Roman Catholic Church is not under investigation.

Nice post Roy, agree with points 3 and 4.
On your point 2 above, I don't think it's the same.
Take the example of a profit making company (which is actually what they are too, hahaha)
The founders who may also be the key management may be being investigated for corruption or misappropriation.
It doesn't mean that the company itself, other management or founders who are not involved, the employees or what the company is doing day-to-day is under investigation.

Of course in this case, there is some sensitivity involved, which led to TCH's blah blah blah (be glad he didn't ask u what u thought), but it wouldn't be right to say that there is a problem with the whole church, all the management and staff and the churchgoers and their activities.

Having said that, 2 points to add:
1. They are not pinning any legal fault on the churchgoers who have in some way perpetuated the con by getting more and more people to join. That's probably right, many of us find that silly and to some extent disgusting, but the most u can charge them with is probably for being ignorant or stupid.

2. There are probably some more who deserve to and will be charged, perhaps akan datang.

Posted in Letters | 14 Comments »
[h=2]Head Pastor Lawrence Khong urges fellow pastors to pray for Kong Hee and to speak ‘well’ of CHC[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 28, 2012
Influential Head Pastor of Faith Community Baptist Church (FCBC) and Chairman of ‘Love Singapore’ Pastor Lawrence Khong (pic left) has called on fellow pastors to rally behind disgraced founder of City Harvest Church (CHC) Kong Hee and to pray for him.
Kong Hee was charged in court yesterday together with four others for misappropriating up to S$50 million dollars of the church’s funds and diverting them to further the music career of his singer wife Ho Yeow San.
Despite being condemned roundly by many Singaporeans including Christians, a senior figure from the Christian community Lawrence Khong had spoken up publicly in defence of Kong Hee.
In a note posted on his Facebook, Pastor Khong urged fellow pastors to unite behind Kong Hee:
We read with sadness the charges brought against Pastor Kong Hee and four senior leaders of City Harvest Church.
“We must stand ever more united in love and stronger in prayer for Pastor Kong Hee and the church. This is a time of testing for the Body of Christ. Truth is, we are all on trial before a righteous God. We must ask ourselves: Do we truly love the Body? Let there be a powerful prayerbuzz—on earth as it is in heaven! Let’s tell our members to talk more with God and less with others, especially on social media.”
He reminded them that Kong Hee is ‘innocent until proven guilty’ and implored them not to ‘prejudge or make baseless assumptions.’
“We must seek every opportunity to speak well of City Harvest Church. Its impact on the youth of Singapore is phenomenal. Its community service is outstanding. Its social arm meets a wide range of needs,” he added.

[h=2]Kong Hee’s family ‘upgraded’ from 5 room HDB flat to Sentosa Cove Penthouse[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 28, 2012
In less than 20 years, founder of City Harvest Church Kong Hee managed to ‘upgrade’ his homes a few times from a modest 5-room HDB flat to Sentosa Cove penthouse where he is staying now.
Kong Hee was in public spotlight lately after he was charged with four others for misusing the funds of the church to further the career of his wife Ho Yeow Sun.
Kong and his family started with a five-room HDB flat in Tampines, which they bought for $127,000 before selling it for $420,000.
They then bought a Horizon Towers unit in River Valley with a private lift, two living rooms, four bedrooms and a compact kitchen.
In 2010, they sold this apartment and moved into The Suites at Central on Devonshire. It was reportedly sold to them for $2.6 million.
Now, they live in a luxury Sentosa Cove penthouse which cost $9.3 million dollars.
Ms Ho also rented a $28,000-a-month Hollywood Hills estate during her stint as a singer in the United States where she lived with her son, an assistant, a nanny and some relatives.

dredd

Daphne would jump off a cliff if her God Con Hee does so much as wave his hand. Daphne really needs psychiatric help quick.