Gahmen says too many 'seow' people walking around in SG

SINGAPORE is looking abroad for ways to improve its citizens' mental health.

More than 10 per cent of people in Singapore will suffer from mental illness at some point in their lives, according to research released last November by the Institute of Mental Health.

It plans to commission a study of three to five countries or cities that have shown 'remarkable progress' in this area. The aim is to look at how they do it and learn from their best practices.

Mental illness trends here generally follow global ones, but Singapore has the highest rate for obsessive-compulsive disorder, which hits 3 per cent of people here. The figure for the United States is 2.3 per cent, while in Europe, it is 1.1 per cent.

The new study has two broad targets: to look at ways to help Singaporeans cope with stress and 'flourish', and to look at how to prevent mental disorders such as dementia among the elderly.

The Singapore Association for Mental Health said people in the Republic are likely to face increasing stress from work and family-related issues, with the volatile global economy one possible factor.

[email protected]

That is why I try to avoid weird people on mrt... In case they suddenly go crazy & spoil my day.

whose fault is it that we are under tremendous stress, constant nagging to work faster, cheaper and betterer?

whose fault that we are breathing in toxic, haze-filled air, water recycled from waste?

I'm surprised the estimate is only 10%. On my last visit to sillypoor, I had the impression that at least 60% of the population were looney.

thats slightly less than the 80% here :o

many more siao people will be around. some normal people become ke-siao under stress. not only kee-siao but deadly violent. we are actually living on edge, many of us here. damned stress when taking public transport....you see all sorts of weird people...all sorts and all colours...all types....very rojak type and you damn not even look eye to eye or make any whisper or contact at all..

you accidentally touch any lady, you kena molestation charge. so you become damned scared.you keep to yourself no matter what happen to your fellow men. one lady kena whacked, you also dare not help. one uncle kena whacked, you also dare not help.you feel imprisoned. you feel trapped.

all you can do is to scream in your own bathroom! and when you cannot take the heat, you just become superman! finish.damned jialat living here now. look around all the listless and mindless uncles and aunties sitting around in shopping malls - no money to buy, no money to eat ...just sit, stare blankly like siao ...and waiting to die...

how not to be siao! the most siao people i think are found at the peoples' park area and chinatown area.....all potentially siao type...so many uncles there!

very sad la...but i guess not just in sinkiepoor....the whole world is like this.

, how not to be siao! the most siao people i think are found at the peoples' park area and chinatown area.....all potentially siao type...so many uncles there!

sg has an unusually high percentage of reported schizo cases among the local population compared to the world average. it was 10 reported cases out of 1000 in 2007 compared to the global average of 7 out of 1000. if unreported cases were counted, the ratio could have been 14 out of 1000. after floodgates were opened to foreigners after 2007, the ratio trended down to slightly over the global average. 10% which is huge may mean schizo cases in sg are getting laid and reproducing. :p

very sad la...but i guess not just in sinkiepoor....the whole world is like this.

agree.all ke siao ones. anytime explode.other countries got guns. lucky here no guns.if got guns here, everyday surely fire works.thanks our good gahment for not allowing guns. got guns worse .everyday sure got people shot and died. bless singapore's gahment.

I'm surprised the estimate is only 10%. On my last visit to sillypoor, I had the impression that at least 60% of the population were looney.

the other 40% - the mentally sound ones - are at home surfing sammyboy. :D

sg has an unusually high percentage of reported schizo cases among the local population compared to the world average. it was 10 reported cases out of 1000 in 2007 compared to the global average of 7 out of 1000. if unreported cases were counted, the ratio could have been 14 out of 1000. after floodgates were opened to foreigners after 2007, the ratio trended down to slightly over the global average. 10% which is huge may mean schizo cases in sg are getting laid and reproducing. :p

interesting statistics.i think we trap ourselves and shut ourselves out .dare not say anything.dare not do anything.dare not think otherwise.so all conflicts inside our mind.no avenues to express ourselves or be ourselves.so become schizoid?

schizoid also normal lah.also want sex and love. so reproducing can what. many top guns and top dogs are also schizoid and mentally not sound. they are "normal" and they can function normally and some of them are very smart people. why cannot reproduce? their siblings may or may not be schizoid. some superkids also schizoid.

this world going siao leow lah. sex...sex....and more sex....greed...and more greed...macham all descending to hell soon...

Cause (stats from Wikipedia):

Ten most densely populated countries

[TABLE="class: grid, width: 600, align: left"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD]Rank[/TD]
[TD]Country/Region[/TD]
[TD]Population[/TD]
[TD]Area (km[SUP]2[/SUP])[/TD]
[TD]Density (Pop. per km[SUP]2[/SUP])[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]1[/TD]
[TD]
22px-Flag_of_Singapore.svg.png
Singapore[/TD]
[TD]5,183,700[/TD]
[TD]710[/TD]
[TD]7301[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

They same percentage who voted the same for decades, certified "Looney":D