• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

good. minumum wage should be 1000....

SINGAPORE: The labour movement's plan to implement a progressive wage system for low-wage workers is aimed at encouraging tripartite partners and Singaporeans to look at low-wage jobs in a different light.

Labour chief Lim Swee Say told the media at a grassroots event that he wants to make today's low-wage jobs into tomorrow's jobs of the future.

He is confident this can be achieved in today's environment, compared with five years ago.

The NTUC will set wage targets for low-wage workers under its progressive wage approach.

Workers who are currently getting less than S$1,000 a month would strive to earn at least S$1,000. For those already earning S$1,000, NTUC wants to lift their wages to S$1,200.

NTUC Secretary-General Lim Swee Say explained that raising the wages of these low-wage workers is just the beginning.

"Not only do we want to help them to up their wages, we also have to do our very best to ensure their wages will go up faster rate than the medium wage.

"Secondly, we should not always look at the low-wages jobs as always a low-wage job, because the other developed countries have done in a very different way and the workers take pride in what they do, the public shows them respect and they earn a very decent salary," Mr Lim added.

The labour movement will kick off public education on the progressive wage structure with the cleaning sector, followed by the security, hospitality and food and beverage sectors.

On the private sector's response to the National Wages Council's recommendation to give a pay rise of S$50 or more for low-wage workers, Mr Lim said it is still too early to judge.

He said the message of helping low-wage workers with a more sustainable pace of wage increase is something that's not fully understood yet by the private sector.

- CNA/ck

$1,000 a month can survive or not? better than 500 or 600 right? the cost of living gone berserk! we are getting into a very tough time liao.

By this year end all min wage should be $1000 for 44hr/week excluding benefit and OT. Or for part time min $5/hour.
By 2015 min wage should be $1300.
Should set a target. Not just talk only but no time frame.
We not asking to set $1500 for now by year end. At least set a target not talk cock by Minister/NTUC....................

a campaign to overhaul the character of these low wage workers ,cleaners and odd job labourers. be proud of your jobs lah! don't always show a toolan and angry face. you see those cleaners and toilet jagas, got ever a smile or not? all angry long faces and long chins touching the ground.bang here and bang there. you eat also cannot in peace. you see their faces, you lagi cannot eat...they all not happy at all!!! $1000 will make them happier?

NTUC makes more sense for tying any increment to upgrading. Good.

$1000 is too low. At least $3000 per month!

good.but a bit ridiculous lah. diploma holders only get about 2K. uncles and aunties working as cleaners and dish washers about 1K can liao lah unless they anyhow gamble here and there. 1.2K minimum just ok lah.

Election still far away, blow trumpet so early for what?

What is "make today's low-wage jobs into tomorrow's jobs of the future?" I am sure if they had done so earlier, the problem wouldn't be here today.

Walao, Lim should be fired from his job. He says he is going to start a progressive wage for the cleaners first instead of the entire sector. And starting from the NTUC cleaners, the entire plan was to increase the cleaner pay by 2015. Wtf...he needs 3 years to just increase NTUC cleaners wages? By the time he increases the other cleaner wages, it already 2020. By the time he increases the wages of other sectors, it will be the year 2050. In the private sector, he would have been fired from sheer incompetence already.

That guy too power, shiver.

The most funny thing is when the gov says they wanna to increase all their wages earlier year, he didnt recommend the gov to withhold the increase to 2015 and the entire sector of civil servants all have pay increase.

The Union leader has warned the employers, if you are not competitive in paying salary, workers have the right to job hop for higher pay. This is something Mr Lam cannot accept? He is still living in well, no wonder his SME is struggling for the smallest change in govt policies.

1000 can buy hdb Liao. Hurrah.

Tell minister please pledge their salary $10k can buy 10 HDB.

By year end min wage should be $1000 basic wage not included benefit,OT and allowance.
By 2015 end Basic wage should be $1300.
Tell this to PAP gov make it into law min wage like many other country even Thai and Malaysia already have min wage law. SG is worst than 3rd world country.