Thai guy makes fun of singapore english!!

Lee Is An Idiot ?

Now you know how awful Singlish is.

Mmm ... there's a need to correct the deviation. If Singlish is NOT compatible with the standard English for international communication, then we have got a big problem here.

That's as to say that we have NOT been able to achieve the first world standard. And that can only mean that Lee has to be criticized and fined $10 million for his educational policy failure.
:D

Re: Lee Is An Idiot ?

Hehehe. After staying in LOS for so long, think most of my local staff also pick up a little Singlish. Nothing wrong with Singlish as long as the listener understood you. What's the point of speaking perfect England when no one understands? 2 of my staff are from England, they have to understand my Singlish else they can look for a new job. ;)

Pls la, Malaysian also speak like us, same same but different country.

I knew many sinkies would be offended. WHat?????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1&*(^&*(%*$%&$&$&

Thai ppl that cannot even speak english making fun of my singlish engrish????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!&^*(^(^*%&$&$&$&$&$

Japanese English ?

crazy_japanese_english_tshirt-p235642929153345707b78yy_400.jpg

My ingrern iz bery good.

Some young Japanese would say "Sho bery goo" ?

Funny!! Sometimes is fun to laugh at jokes about ourselves.

Honestly this guys have not been to Singapore. Not sure which mountain is he referring to in Singapore and then you need to take a jeep up!!

Let's face it, most seven old kids in Singapore speak better English than most Thai.

I do business with my Thai office everyday and I speak some Thai. Sometimes when I go to Thailand on business trips, I have to translate Thai English to my Singapore/Foreign colleagues!

Funny meh? I think Thai English more funny.

"You friend", LOL

I met a French guy in Bangkok years ago. We used to bump onto each other at Asoke pier. When he found out that I was from Singapore, he immediately started speaking Singlish to me. I farked him on the spot.

why ? you beri ashamed of your engrish ah ?
you should be beri proud what.
you should tell him sinkie are the best in everything , at least that's what the govberment said so.
we even try our best to be the bestest table tennis players in the world.

That guys is using broken Singlish.

Contextually, we would not say "too cold LAH!" as a precursory statement to a request, but rather "why so cold, HAR?"

"Too cold lah" would have been better used in situations indicated an unwillingness or to make a statement.

e.g.

"Why go up mountain, too cold LAH, take jeep oso I dowan"
"Go see show in cinema too cold LAH!"

Oh shit! As you know thai ppl speak very poor engrish. :rolleyes:

And of course sinkies speak superb engrish.

Hell that's what makes them superior to the china.

Wang Xin Ru

E78E8BE5BF83E5A682-3.jpg

why did you fark him? Singlish is something unique that seperates sinkies from everyone else but it sounds terrible and only sinkies can get it correct.

You mean like Wang Xin Ru "veru hotel" in 三个男人一张口 Men's Talk ah ? Value Hotel becomes veru hotel. :D So funny.

programme_photo1_120412165308.jpg

Re: Wang Xin Ru

E78E8BE5BF83E5A682-3.jpg

You mean like Wang Xin Ru "veru hotel" in 三个男人一张口 Men's Talk ah ? Value Hotel becomes veru hotel. :D So funny.

I don't get it what does her pronounciation on that show have to do with singlish? She isn't a sinkie i believe.

You Still Don't Get It ?

I don't get it what does her pronounciation on that show have to do with singlish? She isn't a sinkie i believe.

No matter which country you are from, you will never speak like an ang moh British, NOT even the Americans !

So, what's the ... our mother or national language becomes something like the gravitational pull of a huge object acting on another object flying right into its path - will not be a straight line. No matter how you see it, languages are always subjected to geographic distinction, cultural bonding, etc.

She spoke Northern language and Japanese also affect the way she will encode Vair Lew into Vair Roo. Most of us are Hokkien and we will never say Far Chai but Hwa Chai.

Hongkies are also doing the same thing to Engilish and Mandarin. You can't fault a Hongkie because that was a Hongkies' English or Mandarin ?

Obviously, there must be a standard. But, there's another question : which is the satandard ? De jure or de facto ?

Re: You Still Don't Get It ?

No matter which country you are from, you will never speak like an ang moh British, NOT even the Americans !

So, what's the ... our mother or national language becomes something like the gravitational pull of a huge object acting on another object flying right into its path - will not be a straight line. No matter how you see it, languages are always subjected to geographic distinction, cultural bonding, etc.

She spoke Northern language and Japanese also affect the way she will encode Vair Lew into Vair Roo. Most of us are Hokkien and we will never say Far Chai but Hwa Chai.

Hongkies are also doing the same thing to Engilish and Mandarin. You can't fault a Hongkie because that was a Hongkies' English or Mandarin ?

Obviously, there must be a standard. But, there's another question : which is the satandard ? De jure or de facto ?

You don't see it. The thing is sinkies have always prided themselves on how good their english is especially compared to the thais. Therefore some sinkies would find it offensive as in how could a country where the ppl stereotypically speak bad english could make fun of a country which has a higher standard of english. Of course in general sinkies speak pretty good english in comparison to the neighbouring countries but still it's not as good enough and there are many sinkies with pronounciation problems.

An old joke, but a classic

Room Service: Morny, rune sor-bees.
Hotel Guest: Oh sorry, I thought I dialed room service.
Room Service: Rye, rune sore-bees. Morny. Jewish to ordor sunteen?
Hotel Guest: I'd like some bacon and eggs.
Room Service: Ow July then?
Hotel Guest: What?
Room Service: Aches. Ow July then? Pry, boy, pooch..?
Hotel Guest: Oh, the eggs! How do I like them? Sorry, Scrambled please.
Room Service: Ow July thee Baycome? Crease?
Hotel Guest: Crisp will be fine.
Room Service: Okay. An Santos?
Hotel Guest: Ugh.....I don't know....I don't think so.
Room Service: No? Judo one toes?
Hotel Guest: Look, I really feel bad about this, but I just don't know what judo- one toes means, I'm sorry.
Room Service: Toes! Toes! Why Jew Don Juan toes? Ow bow eengligh mopping we bother?
Hotel Guest: English Muffin! I've got it! Toast! You were saying toast! Fine. An English Muffin will be fine.
Room Service: We Bother?
Hotel Guest: No, just put the bother on the side.
Room Service: Wad?
Hotel Guest: I'm sorry. I meant butter. Butter on the side.
Room Service: Copy?
Hotel Guest: I feel terrible about this, but ....
Room Service: Copy. Copy, tea, mill.
Hotel Guest: Coffee! Yes coffee please. And that's all.
Room Service: One minnie. Ass rune torino-fie, strangle aches, crease Baycome, tossy eengligh mopping we bother honey sight, and copy. Rye?
Hotel Guest: Whatever you say.
Room Service: Okay, Tenjewberrymud.
Hotel Guest: You're welcome.

[video=youtube;ra7xt9eLLIk]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ra7xt9eLLIk&feature=related[/video]