• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Quality of Hor fun sucks in Singapore nowadays!

... Ipoh is full of limestone mountains and caves and the rivers there are more alkaline and hence when the alkaline water from the Sar River ...
ipoh got no river called sar le ... juz like 4 bean sprouts, iz ze well water dat provides ze nutrients ...

HOR FUN quality has dropped...Its just like PAP. Over the years, crap people like Lim Boon Heng, Mah Bow Tan, Teo Chee Hean, Khaw And a whole host of rubbish people like Tin Pei Ling have screwed the quality ....

You sure can link the hor fun quality drop to pap who caused rentals to increase among other costs

Which reminds me of one at Geylang near Lor 20 along the main road. Few place there with air-cond. Portion is tiny but taste is slurping good. Watched my German friend finished the whole plate. Dunno where they moved to.

As usual, only idiots and young adults queue up at Changi Village hor fun stall.

The original hor fun came from Ipoh.

everytime i see 2 or 2.50 stalls i feel i am evil capitalist ripping off their daily earnings.

Nowadays, no matter which cher char store i go too, the quality sucks despite paying $4 to $5 bucks for it. Prawns are frozen prawns - taste horigible! No more slice fish? Instead u get chowchor fishcake slices, and the pork is frozen pork. Also a few strands of lousy vege!

My god, what has happened to all the good Horfun i use to have?

Our gahmen closed down all the road side stall for being unhygiene, gave all the businesses to Food court
mafia, b'cos mafia can pay high exhorbitant rental, then these mafia employ foreign trash to do the cooking
that's why you pay $4 to $5.00 to get the shit!!

Our local food standard has gone the LONGANG long time ago, you pay high price and get shitty food!! that's Sickapoor
if you have got time just pay a visit to your neighbour JB and feel the world of different

Who is to blame for such bad standards? Our gahmen poor foresight!! Food court is the worst in term of quantity and quality of
the food being served! The STPB try to emulate those early days by creating hawker roadside food at Orchard carpark but the bloody
rental ($10K/month) almost killed all the Hawkers who participated, hawkers got no choice but to pass it to the consumers. One
plate of prawn noodle $8.00 what the hack!! remember Orchard Rd carpark, now its a hugh building!! Capark also GONE!

Price increase but quality & quantity decrease!

Guess this is new Singapore...quite sad !

I think sar hor fun is different from hor fun.....
sar hor fun is basically similar to kwayteow, appearance is thinner.

feifei1-400x533.jpg

i think I found it!

1. fat kid, i would like to recommend the following stall that still provides excellent sai hor fun with the "wok hei" thing.
2. blk 203 toa payoh north coffee, directly opposite sph.
3. it operates at nite taking the entire coffeeshop.
4. btw, pls wait to be seated or else kena "cursed"!
5. this is some true-blue canto sai hor fun in sheepishland.
6. honest, relatively it is still cheap!
7. go and try it out.

When i was young, Hor fun ingredients was fresh. Fresh prawns, nice fish slices, and fresh pork. I pay only $2 or $2.50. The kway teow also has wok hei.

Nowadays, no matter which chechar store i go too, the quality sucks despite paying $4 to $5 bucks for it. Prawns are frozen prawns - taste horigible! No more slice fish? Instead u get chowchor fishcake slices, and the pork is frozen pork. Also a few strands of lousy vege!

Who is to blame for such bad standards ?

Price increase but quality decrease!

Guess this is new Singapore...quite sad ...

This is the REAL modern hawker food! cheap to fill the belly.

When my relatives visit me in Australia, they raid my vege patch for all the fresh fruit, veggies I grow, and buy the wild caught flash frozen jumbo prawns direct from the Geraldton fishermen I know and cart the whole lot back to Singapore. My young niece will eat veggies in Australia but not in Singapore, because they are "sweet" here. Also, Singapore prawns got no prawn taste.

I think sar hor fun is different from hor fun.....
sar hor fun is basically similar to kwayteow, appearance is thinner.
dose cooked in soup (eg used 4 chicken shreds hor fun) r thinner n haf betta texture ... n dose fried 1's (eg. used 4 charred kway teow) r thicker ...

肥仔 was operating at Joo chiat road until about a year ago. Not sure where it shifted to now.

I think you guys are referring to this outlet. I consider this one of the best but I had not been there for awhile. This is the review that I can find. Enjoy!

fei4-300x296.PNG

Fei Lao Seafood may sound new to you but it is a household name at Bedok area for hor fun with a ferocious ‘breath of the wok’ or what is famously known as the wok hei in cantonese. Somehow it’s here where the spirit of the fire can be unlocked to impart that nice smoky sublime flavour from the wok to the hor fun which lingers over the opeh leaf.

The wok hei is only one of the areas where Fei Lao stands head and shoulders above the rest. The other is the gravy which had that translucent look where the skillfully seared hor fun submerged in. Premium seafood like big sea prawns and sea cucumbers are this opeh leaf hor fun’s trademark while other miscellaneous ingredients like pork, liver, squid, fish, big mushrooms and choi sum ensure that it is a $10 well spent.

Not to wax too much sentimental here, but a Fei Lao’s pack is highly regarded for it’s richness in the robust wok hei flavour and when the time comes for the chef to sear the hor fun, you can witness the most amazing smoky kitchen of your life. Well well, I’m half-suspecting that the hor funs are being barbecued instead of being fried!

I’ve eaten from Fei Lao since a long long time ago when they were still at Changi Lorong 108 and if truth be told, never once had I experienced a bad aftertaste after eating it so it is possible that very little MSG are used to enhance the flavour. The distinctive fragrance and taste is so unique that no where else in Singapore can you part $10 to get something as good. After eating from 7 stalls, I have no doubt that here is a clear winner.

If death is the only thing that’s certain in life, then this is one food you must eat before you die.

Price: $10

Conclusion: This were sold at $10 in those days when a tin of oil was $15. Today a tin of oil can cost anything between $30 to $40 and it is still selling at $10. Undoubtedly still the best opeh leaf hor fun for me in the $10 bracket. It is one thing to see the picture( plus drooling) but another to eat it. You must make time for it, to witness for yourself how it can energize your umami harmoniously.

Likes: Robust wok hei flavour. Delicious gravy. Good ingredients.

Dislikes: On a bad day, you might get one that has a wok hei overdrive. Can be good or bad thing, depending on your taste bud.

Fei Lao Seafood
Blk 86 Bedok North
St.4 #01-165
Singapore 460086
Business Hours : 11.00am – 2.00pm and 5.00pm – 10.00pm
Tel: 6346 4116
Off:Tuesday

1. honest, sheep's hor fun is just no match to hk.
2. it cannot even come close to the kl standard.
3. no eye see!

agree lah brudder...but in singapore how to get hk standard lah...

kl hor fun is good but also a bit out of way mah...

Just find that our fav food like horfun is degenerating in Singapore. High prices, low quality...it saddens me...

ChewCheng said:
I think you guys are referring to this outlet. I consider this one of the best but I had not been there for awhile. This is the review that I can find. Enjoy!

I think this is the one. will check it out. Many thanks.

with ah tiong cooks nowadays, the quality of hor fun drop but with atb nowadays quality of whore fun improves.

img00374201101081448.jpg

img00375201101081451.jpg

I been patronizing this one since Tiong Bahru days. Now at chinatown market. No regret.

I think I ate there before. It serve nice claypot fishhead right?

1. fat kid, i would like to recommend the following stall that still provides excellent sai hor fun with the "wok hei" thing.
2. blk 203 toa payoh north coffee, directly opposite sph.
3. it operates at nite taking the entire coffeeshop.
4. btw, pls wait to be seated or else kena "cursed"!
5. this is some true-blue canto sai hor fun in sheepishland.
6. honest, relatively it is still cheap!
7. go and try it out.

I went to the outlet on Saturday. I think it is the one I was looking for. The prawns were huge and as thick as my middle finger. The ingredients were fresh and wok hei was strong.

also tried the fried sotong which is also good. Hor fun is at $5 if eaten there and $10 if youre taking away.

Fei Lao Seafood
Blk 86 Bedok North
St.4 #01-165
Singapore 460086
Business Hours : 11.00am – 2.00pm and 5.00pm – 10.00pm
Tel: 6346 4116
Off:Tuesday

When i was young, Hor fun ingredients was fresh. Fresh prawns, nice fish slices, and fresh pork. I pay only $2 or $2.50. The kway teow also has wok hei.

Nowadays, no matter which chechar store i go too, the quality sucks despite paying $4 to $5 bucks for it. Prawns are frozen prawns - taste horigible! No more slice fish? Instead u get chowchor fishcake slices, and the pork is frozen pork. Also a few strands of lousy vege!

Who is to blame for such bad standards ?

Price increase but quality decrease!

Guess this is new Singapore...quite sad ...

Ditto for E-fu noodle........ days gone by it was delicious when stir fried with super hot n high flame. Now like shit in pee.