• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to improve Spoken English- accent and pronounciation

SirRichard

Hi,

Previously i always have the impression that S'porean speaks good english. This opinion changed after i started doing lots of overseas job posting and having spent more times with international community. Apparently, many Ang mo can recognize our accent and they would usually guess it's either Singapore or malaysia. Even ah tiong say our english not as standard as ang mo countries, i even have people commenting that Singapore pronunciation is broken into many pieces and sounds like India ways of speaking.

My question is, are there any courses etc to improve one's spoken english - in terms of diction, phonics etc.. I'm starting to get concious of this as i'm moving up the career ladder and having to give speeches and occasional bit pieces interviews.

Any bros got suggestions?

... Previously i always have the impression that S'porean speaks good english. This opinion changed after i started doing lots of overseas job posting and having spent more times with international community ...

My question is, are there any courses etc to improve one's spoken english - in terms of diction, phonics etc. ...

dat 154th has brainwashed sinkies in2 tinking sinkieland is world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1! ... wat a shame! ...

mayb try british council? ...

1. cut your tongue via surgery
2. pronounce the Ls and Rs properly
3. Be concise and as direct in your speeches, it is hard to impress people when your words are too big and they understand only 1 word in 10 out of yours. :D

At least the Ang moh can understand Singaporean better.

[video=youtube;oDFogjXdIVc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDFogjXdIVc[/video]

... <iframe width="160" height="120" src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/oDFogjXdIVc?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
datz ze way spg's speak engrish ...

The Thais commented that Singaporeans' English "mai por"; the Taiwanese made fun of Singaporeans' English via a TV ad.

Hi,

Previously i always have the impression that S'porean speaks good english. This opinion changed after i started doing lots of overseas job posting and having spent more times with international community. Apparently, many Ang mo can recognize our accent and they would usually guess it's either Singapore or malaysia. Even ah tiong say our english not as standard as ang mo countries, i even have people commenting that Singapore pronunciation is broken into many pieces and sounds like India ways of speaking.

My question is, are there any courses etc to improve one's spoken english - in terms of diction, phonics etc.. I'm starting to get concious of this as i'm moving up the career ladder and having to give speeches and occasional bit pieces interviews.

The best way to improve yourself is to listen to good speakers and also native speakers.

Hi,

I have to ask, are you a Singaporean born in Singapore or did you come to Singapore with your parents? If you were born here of Singaporean parents, WHY are you ashame of the way you sound??? You had overseas posting NOT because of the way you sound but what was in your head and how you elucidated the thought. Do you really think a Scots or Russian, or African or for that matter an American care about the way they sound!!! You are moving up the career ladder, more important is your knowledge, work ethics and "network". You may think after going for elocution lessons that you sound like an English Lord, but you can be sure those that have known you before your sudden transformation will be talking behind your back and your "new" found "friends" will have a good laugh at your expense when you are not around or might just be boorish enough to tell to your face. What are you going to do then...... I suggest you concentrated on your career and enjoy the good fortune you have had so far....
If you relay must sound "English", watch BBC also depends if you want to sound "East end" or gentrified..... Go through a couple of different shows make copies of it, listen to it very carefully and pronounce how the actors do it. You will eventually sound like it, BUT, you WILL REVERT back to "Singlish accent" when you are nervous, excited frustrated or better still when trying very hard to impress...Same goes if you want to sound "American".... Etc. Good luck to you.....

Hi,

Previously i always have the impression that S'porean speaks good english. This opinion changed after i started doing lots of overseas job posting

You need to work on your grammar too.

Whatever you do, do not listen to this person speak:

Lim Swee Say

The best way to improve yourself is to listen to good speakers and also native speakers.

Yes "The Noose" on channel 5. The American sounding character played by Michelle, doesn't know from one word to the next on which accent came before, starts of being American, moves on to be Australin then falls into being English..... Very confoosing.... The Filipino accent not bad...... "Jackass Wee" character is good or rather the person behind it..... He is good with his accents, too bad about how he looks:D . I would think he is also a Voice -actor..... Have not heard him speak "normally" though....

Whatever you do, do not listen to this person speak:

Lim Swee Say

Don't say like that LAHHHHH, he is not ashame of how he sounds, politics aside, at least he doesn't try to put on an accent and fails at it. Even Phua Chu Kang oso donce sound that good..... Donce praay, praay....

Hi,

Good spoken Singapore English does not have an accent at all, as compared to US, UK, Aussie English. We speak Queen's English without "marbles" in our mouth. To me, an example of a typical good Singapore English speaker is LKY. My friends from the US and UK like the way I speak, just pure good English stripped of all accents which sometimes make comprehension difficult. Focus on good pronunciation and sentence construct.

Don't say like that LAHHHHH, he is not ashame of how he sounds, politics aside, at least he doesn't try to put on an accent and fails at it. Even Phua Chu Kang oso donce sound that good..... Donce praay, praay....

He isnt ashamed of himself but I am and I'm not even talking about his accent. He speaks like a PSLE dropout. Yeah, our betterer minister.

His diction is worse than that of a pinoy maid.