• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will WP finally speak on foreigners in today's rally?

I have no doubt in my mind that WP is gonna win this BE.

Only the percentage of votes won by WP will tell a story.Whether Yaw's gallivanting upset any Hougang SMC residents.And WP racism towards Sanjeev is not gonna make much of a dent in this BE...but a real headache for WP in the future.And PAP talking about their 50 years past in their rally is nothing much to crow about.

Against this backdrop,WP attracts thousands and thousands of willing listeners to it's rally.Most likely from all over Singapore.Why won't WP say something substantial about foreigners upsetting our social fabric?Not a day pass without foreigners being an issue in Singapore.So much so even foreigners in foreign lands are talking about it.

And here WP is handed a golden opportunity to address their agenda directly to the people...in a rally.But not a single word about foreigners.

WHY ? WHY ? WHY?

You'll have to look at it from the point of view of of the WP. What could they possibly achieve by talking about the foreign talent issues in this BE? Most people already have their own opinions about the foreign talent issue and if they are already going to vote based on that, then their votes are already locked and nothing WP can say will change that. There are lots of people out there apathetic or undecided about the foreign talent issue and they will be making their voting decision on other issues - these are the people the WP are reaching out to in the BE.

I understand you are upset about foreign talent issue, but WP isn't obliged to harp on it in the wrong rally.

You want to lay bricks and pout cement for LTK house?

There are Sinkies working as unglamourous deliveryman and security guards. If the pay for construction workers were increased, I'm sure you would find Sinkies taking up such jobs too. Degree holders may view these jobs with derision but not every Sinkie is a degree holder. The truth is that most of the resident non-student population in Sinkieland 15 years old and above have neither a diploma nor a university degree. :rolleyes:

last week , went to 1 pet shops with many outlets in SG . I wanted to send my furkids for grooming , so i asked for groomers details , OMG , pinoys again !!!!!!!!! they are just everywhere ....
sorry , i wont dare to send my furkids there , i will just have to search for locals groomers liao ...

You'll have to look at it from the point of view of of the WP. What could they possibly achieve by talking about the foreign talent issues in this BE?

You really took a chuckle out of me pal.:p

Or should I ask what could WP possibly achieve talking about anything in the BE rally or n the parliament ,for that matter?Since they are just a tiny minority voice.

Look,I did not made this BE a national issue.WP did.In fact PAP wanted this BE as a local issue.

Since WP made this BE a national agenda than it befalls on them to to talk about national issues.And sure enough they did--in the last rally.In fact Pritam and his company took pain to address national issues such as the MRT fiasco.In fact Gerard Giam did ask pointedly ,don't tell me if the MRT breakdown in Raffles people in Hougang can go to work happily?

That is what I precisely am asking the WP leadership.Don't tell me that PAP flooding Singapore with foreigners doesn't affect the residents of Hougang SMC?

Besides,every political party should have a stand ,either for or against it,a major PAP FT policy...that touches on every one of our lives whether we like or not..SDP made no pussyfooting about foreigners flooding this island of ours.It is clear and precise.In fact SDP offers alternative solutions to foreign cheap labor.

Where is WP's?

There are Sinkies working as unglamourous deliveryman and security guards. If the pay for construction workers were increased, I'm sure you would find Sinkies taking up such jobs too. Degree holders may view these jobs with derision but not every Sinkie is a degree holder. The truth is that most of the resident non-student population in Sinkieland 15 years old and above have neither a diploma nor a university degree. :rolleyes:

How much more then locals willing to work in construction you say?
If you are willing to pay more for your house, then the developers can pay more for singkies to work construction.

The above statement of yours is oxymoronic at best.Why?

Just look at the rise of residential properties prices over the past 20 years against the rise in real wages at the same time.

The salary paid to an entry level engineer 20 years ago is almost the same today.Not to mention the inflation.

Whereas the cost of residential homes in the same period of 20 yeras had almost gone up between 5 to 10 time.

Where is the purchasing power parity?In fact,a survey puts our purchasing power below that of Malaysians.

Thats why i mention earlier,

Ignore this shitty dick head Kinana boy comments.

He loves talking bullshit.

The above statement of yours is oxymoronic at best.Why?

Just look at the rise of residential properties prices over the past 20 years against the rise in real wages at the same time.

The salary paid to an entry level engineer 20 years ago is almost the same today.Not to mention the inflation.

Whereas the cost of residential homes in the same period of 20 yeras had almost gone up between 5 to 10 time.

Where is the purchasing power parity?In fact,a survey puts our purchasing power below that of Malaysians.

Not true. Wages have risen over the years even for teh foreign workers. You must be living in your own world bro.

So how much do you think they shld pay singkies to do constructon work?

Bingo. I was correct.

Common sense that us that in Singapore especially, the wages risen over the years DOESN'T catches up the Inflation.

Are you living in the Ivory Tower like those Men In White ? And you assume the increase of the wages enough for the foreign workers.

LOL

Cheers !

Not true. Wages have risen over the years even for teh foreign workers.

You are right.The wages of being a PM in Singapore rise from 5k a month to 3 millions a year.So,even if the rest of workers wages remain frozen for eternity the average wage in Singapore should increase.The wonders of the law of average.

Oh,yeah...paying Sinkies to do construction work?I think many will do the work free if only HDB reveals it's cost of construction.Because since HDB claims it subsidizes and losing money year after years.And we all know that the HDB's cost of the land is nil since it was robbed before and that most quantity surveyors puts the cost of constructing a 4 room between 50k to 70k the most.But HDB today sells any 4rm for nothing less than 300k to 400k.Hence with the so called HDB subsidy of a 4rm ;it than should cost us nothing.

Now,it takes an average of 2 years to build a HDB block;maybe even less....24 months of labor of sorts.Many Sinkies will work at the site with their whole battalion of family at the prospect of a free HDB flat.

It certainly beats the debt slavery of 30 to 40 years .

Kinana said:
Not true. Wages have risen over the years even for teh foreign workers. You must be living in your own world bro.

So how much do you think they shld pay singkies to do constructon work?

The only wages that have risen on the real term is the average wage (where the large wage increases in the top wnd dominate), not the median wages and not low end. If not, how can you explain that 30 years ago you can buy a free-hold condo unit on a 10-year funded by CPF based on a single income, while today you need both husband and wife's CPFs to service a 30-year for a 4rm HDB flat?

the reaosn is they paid sinkies peanuts while they pay themselves millions.
And sinkies cannot find jobs while FTs got good jobs.
These 2 factors are enough for WP to win.
No need for them to say becos these are hard true facts that sinkies already know.

So how much shld singkies be paid to do construction work?

There is no way WP can afford to alienate the 'new citizens'. They now form an important block vote, whether people like it or not.

Whichever party alienates them is going to lose their votes.

They are now a 'minority race' in their own right.

Among these 'minority race' they also consist of the minority rich and majority poor.
Just like sinkies where majority are poor and minority including the MIW rich.
As the society income disparity widens, there will be more voices for democracy and alternative garmen.
10 to 20 years down the road, these 'minority race' slowly merges to become sinkies.
What makes you think how many % will side with the ruling party?
Thus the real battle lies between the rich and poor, rather than local versus foreign.
If pappies continues with the relentless influx of cheap foreign workers, the income disparity will just widen and worsen.
And we will say good luck to the pappies. They just shorten their life span to rule spore.

insignia said:
There is no way WP can afford to alienate the 'new citizens'.

WP need not alienate new citizens when commenting on the Immigration Policy. All they need is to criticize continual influx of foreigners that will cause further congestion to our infrastructure. No need to talk about FT already in.

Among these 'minority race' they also consist of the minority rich and majority poor.
Just like sinkies where majority are poor and minority including the MIW rich.
As the society income disparity widens, there will be more voices for democracy and alternative garmen.
10 to 20 years down the road, these 'minority race' slowly merges to become sinkies.
What makes you think how many % will side with the ruling party?
Thus the real battle lies between the rich and poor, rather than local versus foreign.
If pappies continues with the relentless influx of cheap foreign workers, the income disparity will just widen and worsen.
And we will say good luck to the pappies. They just shorten their life span to rule spore.

It is not true that only the rich support the PAP, while the poor support the WP.

Most of the PAP supporters are the heartlanders who belong to the older generation. Most are poor, yet they are loyal PAP voters.

It is not true that only the rich support the PAP, while the poor support the WP.

Most of the PAP supporters are the heartlanders who belong to the older generation. Most are poor, yet they are loyal PAP voters.

Turkeys voting for Christmas then :D

Its because the PAP control the older generation using a controlled media only feed them wil filtered information and news (SPH and SBC)!!!!
We call this method brainwashing....
And in the past with the old guards of PAP still around, they indeed do alot of good things for singaporeans, naturally there are alot of PAP old supporters!!!
But now the second generation of PAP enjoy the fruit but didnt continue the good of the old guards....that caused alot of PAP support switch sides as you can see in this GE 2011!!!!