ASUS Laptop - Worth Buying ?.......Where Good Place To Buy At Good Price ?

i'm looking for a laptop for very simple purposes so no need for fancy stuff and was recommended ASUS and the price is not expensive.......

how is the reputation of ASUS laptops ??

i'm more concerned with reliability and durability.............

and where is a good place to buy ?

the dreaded Sim Lim Square again ? or Funan Centre or AudioHouse ???

or wait for I.T. Show and fight the crowd ?

THANKS A LOT 1ST HOR...............

Asus is a very good brand. But you need to choose the right models. They have a series of ultra books that are quite good. But slightly expensive.

Alienware-M17x-with-Intel-QX9300-nVidia-GTX-280M-SLI-17-Inch-Laptop-01.jpg

Asia not bad la, u might want to wait for next IT show?

Overheating.

Yes, Asus has overheating problem and very noisy becos the fan works overdrive.
My has 24 mths warranty and it went kaput in the 25th mths. The power supply failed twice during warranty.

If for simple use, get Acer Notebook will be my choice. Price is reasonable and reliable and as for repair and service is also quite convenient.

Just my opinion :)

Overheating.

Yes overheating, my ASUS laptop, overheated just pass the warranty date by three days, it cost me $$$ to replace the motherboard, I did a google and found out this was an universal problem. DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFORE YOU BUY, but the laptop is running fine, but it gets hot very quickly.

waaah............thank you all ah.........

so Acer is value for money ?

important must be reliable with minimal problems and long-lasting...............better still if service centre is not in those far away industrial areas........

Check out sager, comparable to alienware, but looks professional. You don't need service center if the lappy don't breakdown.:)

important must be reliable with minimal problems and long-lasting...............better still if service centre is not in those far away industrial areas........

I live in Taiwan. Both Acer and Asus are Taiwanese brands.

Asus is more popular than Acer in Taiwan.

Please get a Mac :D:D

with regards to overheating issue, this is a problem for all laptop that are small - eg those 13.3 inch, it got nothing to do with brand. this is the exact reason why i do not recommend people getting too small a laptop, and dun use such kind of small laptop to play game la, although the graphic card etc can support. it will surely kill it in less than 2 years.

till now, as far as i know, no brand is able to solve the heat issue for those kind of small size laptop. those are meant for office work, with portability in mind.

I am looking for a new laptop for gaming, watching movie and internet purpose.

Looking at the Toshiba and MSI and Alienware laptops ....

Any recommendation ?

If for simple use, get Acer Notebook will be my choice. Price is reasonable and reliable and as for repair and service is also quite convenient.

Just my opinion :)

i just got an acer aspire. there is a problem with the backup/restore. after the restore the bootup will run chkdsk before restarting.

I thought Acer is the one with overheating problem and Asus has this 'Ice Cool Technology' that is suppose to lower the temperature? I nearly bought an Asus the other day.

My sis has an Asus and it runs cooler than my HP. HP runs hot on the bottom left hand corner. People say HP no good but Mine is still working fine after nearly 2 years. Yet my niece's HP crashed and the modem card also spoilt after just 6 months.

My last lappy was a Dell and my wife is using one now. Runs super hot but never give us any problem. I accidentally left my company's Dell lappy on standby mode in my bag and it got so hot that i could not even touch it. Yet it did not melt down and is still working fine. I used to have a Toshiba and it also runs hot but the fan broke down after one year.

So sometimes heng sua one. If you only use it at home, just get those under $1200 one good enough liao. For gaming, stick to desktop.