• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Understanding why Singaporeans accept importing cheap foreign workers policy...

'

He is easing the tension of this thread lah. :biggrin:

its ok bro..this is his forum im just a guest . sometimes hes sensitive towards anyone mention about his bike , but when he is in good mood he allowed me to play with him :wink: . no worries bro , im not angry at him at all .

I have no problems with whatever shit you mention in the appropriate place. You can start a thread dedicated to bicycles for all I care. All I'm asking is to keep rubbish out of interesting discussions on specific topics.

There are enough places to TCSS without polluting numerous threads with the same nonsense.

hotbot

don't be angry lah ,boss! we all like you very much.:o

i find that these ministers at their level because of their status as handpicked by ah gong and cos' they are scholars, they roll-out policies without concern for the people on the ground. they do things based on hearsay from their cronies and have no practical experience at all. that's the sole problem for all that matters to sinkies!

I have no problems with whatever shit you mention in the appropriate place. You can start a thread dedicated to bicycles for all I care. All I'm asking is to keep rubbish out of interesting discussions on specific topics.

There are enough places to TCSS without polluting numerous threads with the same nonsense.

roger that boss ...this is your forum and i will follow your rules . even if you tell us not to post any type of biscyle photo in this forum , we still will follow your house rules . anyway , its not a big issue to me . cheers .

you should have asked that company pickup got seat or not, out of the blue you go and pull in bicycle from nowhere boss sure whack la

whahahaha...good one . i learn my mistake liao . next time whatever transport he took i will just ask him got seat anot , even if hes taking plane :wink:

Conqueror

Interesting ?

All I'm asking is to keep rubbish out of interesting discussions on specific topics.

Huh ? This kind of thread or topic is considered as interesting ? I thought you always post something not serious like "PAP has done a great job" just to piss everyone off.

What do you normally talk about ? Economics, cycling and PAP ?

Re: Interesting ?

Huh ? This kind of thread or topic is considered as interesting ? I thought you always post something not serious like "PAP has done a great job" just to piss everyone off.

When I say that the PAP has done a great job, I'm dead serious. :rolleyes:

akunei

"Think about it". Yes, i am thinking about it. It being your Mother Phua Chee Bye.:wink:

20-30years ago, these jobs you mentioned are being handled by Locals and these Local are not badly paid. Consider their income can cover the essential needs of daily life. They can afford for housing and kids education.
How many FTs are there in SG 20yrs ago? One of my classmate's father is a rubbish collector, collecting the rubbish from my old house chute. He's one of my best bud, we play soccer together, we whacked the lao lan kia together, we hide in a corner smoke together, we prank on streetwalkers together and we got punished in school together. They were never discriminated by me be it their job or as a person. His Father was the sole breadwinner. Mother housewife, a granny and a younger brother.

Looking forward 20yrs later, these jobs no longer command an salary that can support even a simple standard of living in SG. Why? What Fook Seng said wasn't wrong. Quote "What we need out of here are those who are taking over local jobs, people who can buy houses, apartments, flats, cars and providing competition in demands for supplies." The middle income FT, i would say, these group of FTs are suppressing the Local middle income earners wages, and also because of these group of people, prices of housings shot up. Inflation hits SG badly as compared to other countries. This group of FTs, are indirectly affecting the lower income earners' income because the middle income earner's income are affected. It's no longer proportional.

Likewise for the maids, 20-30years ago. How many people have maids at home compared to now? What was the "Family Culture" of SG in the past? Father work, mother housewife, take care of kids and parents. Can it be achieved now? If not, why? Both parents have to work to support housing, support kids education, support their parent's medical fee. Why again?

If there's no FTs, we need no cheap foreigner workers. Think about it. Think of the chain of reactions, not your Mother's Phua Chee Bye. That is for me to think about! :biggrin:

The way u behaved in this forum is just like a bully scolding those who have different view from you. If u want to do so, then what's the point of you scolding them then follow by an explaination?

If u think u are right, just reason it out like Fook Seng and everyone will appreciate that.

ckmpd

A few days ago, there was a thread where everyone was asking for minimum wages to be implemented in Singapore. I asked whether this should apply to maids as well. As you can guess, the answer was an emphatic NO!

They want to be paid top dollar but they certainly aren't willing to extend the same high wages philosophy to those they hire.

These sinkies are a bunch of f**$$#@ hypocrites. :rolleyes:

Either you are totally ignorant abt the situation in SG or you deliberate try to mislead.

You posted that LHL served his NS but when your lie was exposed, have no guts to admit that you were wrong or you lied.

Now you said that Singaporeans are not willing to pay market rate. Where do u get this from?

Do you know how much we pay for maids per month? See below:

Salary - $500
Levy - $265
Food - $300
Accommodation - $500
Total - $1565

When I say that the PAP has done a great job, I'm dead serious. :rolleyes:

Sure they have done a good job AND they have also screwed up badly, seriously.
50+ years is a long time & you have to specify which period you are referring to. Many are complaining about the more recent period when the elites have benefitted more than the "lesser mortals"

So what yard stick are you using: GNP. GINI, the number of millionaires, imported millionaires, number of self made millionaire, no of civil servant millionaires,.....
For me the best indication of how good or bad it is here, is the number of citizens who are voting with their feet. This is because I do know many who have left & I share their concerns:(

ckmpd

For me the best indication of how good or bad it is here, is the number of citizens who are voting with their feet. This is because I do know many who have left & I share their concerns:(

Good point...many Singaporeans who can, are leaving. Crime rate has gone up. many have become poorer..more TB cases, more diseases, more social problems, singaporeans are working harder ...more stressed, cost os living has gone up..etc

Total - $1565

If maids are paid $1565, I'm sure there should be no problems finding Singaporeans to do the job. Contact Freedalas and ask him whether any of his loser down and out friends would like to get off their arses and work for that salary instead of begging for welfare.

ckmpd

If maids are paid $1565, I'm sure there should be no problems finding Singaporeans to do the job. Contact Freedalas and ask him whether any of his loser down and out friends would like to get off their arses and work for that salary instead of begging for welfare.

Know the difference between what a Singaporean pays for a maid and what a maid is paid.

Once you know that difference, you will know why the pap is so hated by Singaporeans

ckmpd

A few days ago, there was a thread where everyone was asking for minimum wages to be implemented in Singapore. I asked whether this should apply to maids as well. As you can guess, the answer was an emphatic NO!

They want to be paid top dollar but they certainly aren't willing to extend the same high wages philosophy to those they hire.

These sinkies are a bunch of f**$$#@ hypocrites. :rolleyes:

If you do not dispute my post#91, be a man and apologise to Singaporeans for what you said..unless you wish to be called as a slimmy snake

Know the difference between what a Singaporean pays for a maid and what a maid is paid.

Once you know that difference, you will know why the pap is so hated by Singaporeans

Let me rephrase my statement to make it clearer so you won't try and twist things round again.

A foreign maid COSTS her employer $1565 per month after ALL overheads are factored in.

So instead of hiring a foreign maid, Singaporeans should offer a salary close to that figure to a Singaporean to do the job. You don't have to feed, clothe and house a Singaporean as they can go home at the end of the day and buy their own food and govt levy is replaced with CPF contribution which is 40% lower than a levy.

This creates a win-win situation as unemployment amongst locals will fall and the social cost of foreign maids can be eliminated.

ckmpd

Let me rephrase my statement to make it clearer so you won't try and twist things round again.

A foreign maid COSTS her employer $1565 per month after ALL overheads are factored in.

So instead of hiring a foreign maid, Singaporeans should offer a salary close to that figure to a Singaporean to do the job. You don't have to feed, clothd and house a Singaporean as they can go home at the end of the day and buy their own food and govt levy is replaced with CPF contribution which is 40% lower than a levy.

This creates a win-win situation as unemployment amongst locals will fall and the social cost of foreign maids can be eliminated.

Dont try to twist and turn. I took issue with your point below:

"A few days ago, there was a thread where everyone was asking for minimum wages to be implemented in Singapore. I asked whether this should apply to maids as well. As you can guess, the answer was an emphatic NO!

These sinkies are a bunch of f**$$#@ hypocrites"

I have shown that Singaporeans paid a lot to employ maids and you are wrong to scold Singaporeans...

Whether singaporeans want to work as maid is a separate issue and irrelevant to our discussion here.

I have shown that Singaporeans paid a lot to employ maids and you are wrong to scold Singaporeans...

Whether singaporeans want to work as maid is a separate issue and irrelevant to our discussion here.

I set up this forum to scold Singaporeans and now you tell me to stop??? I might as well shut this place down.

Singaporeans are a bunch of cheapskates. It's simply a fact. Hiring slave labour from abroad is but one manifestation of this disgusting trait. I'll be giving plenty of new examples over the next few weeks in the lead up to the by election.

Sperminator

http://www.starz.com/originals/spartacus/Pages/title.aspx?src=starz_mktg&med=referral&cmp=SPS2

I suggest all "ELITE" Singaporeans who believe that they are 1st Class People on earth watch SPARTACUS, Chapter 1, 2, 3... and you will see a Slave becoming a Gladiator, and later revolt, and form up a slave army and fight against their masters.

If everyone just commit only 1 to 2 hours a day to do their housework, cook for themselves, do their own marketing, do their own taking care of their own flesh and blood children / child, there is absolutely no need for a foreign maid.

Study the history facts of the Romans, Spartacus is a very good story for reference and reflect. We can argue that we pay the Maids good pay etc... however, if you ask yourself, is this fair wage to yourself...

If you don't agree with the wage paid to the Maids, why don't schedule the housework to be distributed to your family, and if you already have a maid, you can fire them, and save the amount of pay supposing be for the Maid, and to be invested to your own Investment Portfolio or to be budgeted to increase your lifestyle and standard of living?

A family don't really need a maid to do things that you can do within hours... Singapore in the 60s, everyone do their own housework however, they can employ lower class citizens to do their dirty work.

In my own point of view, Singaporeans are living a 1st world nation life now, and they shouldn't think that they are like the masters (although very shiok and song to hear someone call you Sir, or Madam), if every family in Singapore don't employ maids, and reinvest the Supposed Pay to their own personal investments portfolio, isn't that a good way to solve many social problems in Singapore?

Singaporeans should consider taking more personal responsibility to their own lives, rather than complaining... because up till today, I have not seen any concrete results achieved only by complaining.

ckmpd

I set up this forum to scold Singaporeans and now you tell me to stop??? I might as well shut this place down.

Singaporeans are a bunch of cheapskates. It's simply a fact. Hiring slave labour from abroad is but one manifestation of this disgusting trait. I'll be giving plenty of new examples over the next few weeks in the lead up to the by election.

it's a simple fact that you are disgusting...

You are wrong abt Singaporeans. They are paying good money for maids....you shd be asking why the maids are not getting what the singaporeans pay them for