'FT' Allows Fellow 'FT' to Pump for Free, But Charges SGs for Service

Posted on 28 Apr 2012
Locals charged $1 to pump tyre at bicycle store, but foreigners do it for free

bicycle_store_at_elias_mall_charges_locasl_1-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Stuart was told by a foreign member of the staff at a bicycle store at Elias Mall that he had to pay $1 to pump one tyre. But the STOMPer noticed that other foreigners were allowed to pump bicyle tires for free.

Said the STOMPer:

"I was at Elias Mall on April 28 at 2.30pm, when I noticed that this foreign worker at the bicycle shop only allowed foreign people to pump for free, but charged locals $1 per tyre!

"When I wanted to pump my bicycle's tyres, he told me that I had to pay $1 for each tyre.

"So when I asked if he could pump my bicycle's tyres if I gave $2, he told me 'the you do my work for me'.

"So I decided to walk away.

"A foreign lady and two foreign workers on rented bikes pumped for free while some locals was asked to pay.

"Such attitude should be stopped, it is giving the shop a bad reputation."

Click on thumbnails for larger image

Keywords: bicycle , charging
<!--<script src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US" type="text/javascript"></script>-->
LOL
5%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Cute
1%

Shiok
1%

Fail
9%

OMG
1%

Bochup
1%

Ewww!
0%

So Sad
1%

Enraged
81%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->

BOYCOTT this damn shop! other bike shop even pump for you for free!!
to pay $1.00 for each tyre this is the first time I heard!!

This is a step to closer "integration"? Than again, PAP will rubbish it off as "isolated" incident. Why do I get this nagging feeling that Singapore can actually survive without PAP and we can do it better ourselves.

Have it ever occur to anyone, the FTs might be friends of the boss or regulars?

Why are you so quick in making excuses for the foreigners:confused:

I've never been charged to pump my tires & no, I don't know the boss:rolleyes:

When i read the tittle i thought ft allow their ft to pump (fuck) for free :D

Why are you so quick in making excuses for the foreigners:confused:

I've never been charged to pump my tires & no, I don't know the boss:rolleyes:

Coz pple are quick to call for a boycott. I think it's getting way past the point of ridiculous. Everything bad happening right now, confirm FT. Even the underage prostitution case, I've seen a number of comments on various sites asking why FTs like her were allowed to enter SG when it's been exposed that she was a local.

Sinkie just like to complaint. If dont like it buy pump/go petrol station. The bike shop is the owner of the pump not belong to anyone for free to use. Bike owner pay rent, electricity and pump. Why should be free.
If like that, will this Sinkie willing and happy if all people go to his house ask for plain water for drink will it be happy to do so. If not please dont complaint.

Coz pple are quick to call for a boycott. I think it's getting way past the point of ridiculous. Everything bad happening right now, confirm FT. Even the underage prostitution case, I've seen a number of comments on various sites asking why FTs like her were allowed to enter SG when it's been exposed that she was a local.

The foreigners AREthe interlopers & not the locals. If they are unwilling to adjust to Spore they can go elsewhere. You seem to ignore the fact that NS, CPF, all the rules & regulation,..... that make up Spore was created by the PAP to serve their own ends. So why blame Sporeans for being the products of PAP social engineering ;)

How is this case ignoring the rules??? The rules are set by the owner. In this case, its the Stomper who is unwilling to follow the rules. The owner can decide who and what to charge. Like I said earlier

It's always easy to blame others for your own ineptitude. As far as I was taught at school, there were no class for whining and complaining. I was taught to work hard and constantly improve myself. Not to be xenophobic non racist. Apparently I came from a very different education system

this land is getting sick n hard to live. Before, use of pump air are free.
Now, bicycle shops are ass-hole attitude, $$ faced.
Yesterday, I brought 2 balls to pump with my own valve. It does not fit, and the
shop owner asked me to buy a pin-valve; all they want is $$.
I refused n walk away. Another time, a shop from my infancy days also
want $$ to pump balls. How to integrate among ourselves??? Let alone integrate with foreigners???
May I ask Oil Coys to provide common valves for cars, motorbikes n bicycles??

How is this case ignoring the rules??? The rules are set by the owner. In this case, its the Stomper who is unwilling to follow the rules. The owner can decide who and what to charge. Like I said earlier

It's always easy to blame others for your own ineptitude. As far as I was taught at school, there were no class for whining and complaining. I was taught to work hard and constantly improve myself. Not to be xenophobic non racist. Apparently I came from a very different education system

You are assuming the person owns the store while I do not. As has been reported other foreigner(s) were allowed free air while the person who complained was not.

As whether or not you are a racist/xenophobe I cannot comment. However from your past posts you seem to be a pro-PAP & their message is one of a more pro-foreign attitude than pro-local. That's why today we have 3+ million foreigners in Spore.

The fact remains that ill feeling was created because a Sporean felt that she/he was treated unfairly. This problem is heightened by the PAP's favoritism of foreigners. If foreigner go around with a yah yah attitude don't blame Sporeans for their anger.

Bro, you really need to get out more.

Using the pump free is common practice around the world. Its the same if you pump at a roadside shop in Ubud, Bali or at Performance Bicycles store in Colorado. There are businesses where you can have a cup of water from the water cooler for free. Its common and business sense. It creates goodwill and attracts more business. The good pump that can push 140 PSI is about 50 bucks.

Honestly first time hearing a bike shop charging for this.

Sinkie just like to complaint. If dont like it buy pump/go petrol station. The bike shop is the owner of the pump not belong to anyone for free to use. Bike owner pay rent, electricity and pump. Why should be free.
If like that, will this Sinkie willing and happy if all people go to his house ask for plain water for drink will it be happy to do so. If not please dont complaint.

Using the pump free is common practice around the world. Its the same if you pump at a roadside shop in Ubud, Bali or at Performance Bicycles store in Colorado. There are businesses where you can have a cup of water from the water cooler for free. Its common and business sense. It creates goodwill and attracts more business. The good pump that can push 140 PSI is about 50 bucks.

bro, singapore rental expensive ...sometimes bobian .

FT owner do not know how to do biz. Why not let every cyclist, regardless if customer or not, pump for free and create the goodwill. Surely got some cyclist will buy something from his/her shop.

Worst is now get all the bad publicity.

I dont blame the shop. He has the right to offer free or charge person who use the pump. Because pump belong to him.
Let said a coffeshop. Will the owner give free plain water for customer?
If you have friend drive lorry u will know that many shop charging to pump tyre air. Lorry dont have choice because most petrol station pump cannot pump more than 60 psi. Some max only 50 psi.