• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sim Wong Hoo rises up like a phoenix

ThePlen

if he can get the schools to endorse it, he might be able to stay a float.

have you seen how the people in china carry their ipads? they dont even buy screen protectors and accessories to protect their ipad. they use it raw. they make it look like ipad is so affordable

hotbot

he is my senior from ngee ann polytechnic. i never met him in person though.:o

but i admire him a lot from the silicon valley days, heard of his story that he went knocking doors on the firms there to sell his sound blaster. his story and mine are similar, i went knocking doors on hdb flats and still end up a taxi driver...:o:(

if you look at the story then, it was americans who helped him and never was the case that you see glc like singtel or starhub helping him in his career. speak volume about the narrow and selfish mentality of those in these so called glcs.

creative has to apply marketing psychology to his products, the brandname is there already. apple is successful cos' of its psychology that it inflicted on pple not its technology. technology is already abundantly available.
now you go around, you see apple everywhere na deveryone talking about it.
just like another true story years ago, my friend was in honolulu, pple asked him where he is from, he said s'pore and noone knows but when he mention lky's name, everybody start to acknowledge and nod in agreement.

erm, you guys are classmates or he's your school? paiseh, my england not powderful.

his OS (if it works) will indeed give it a fighting chance.

his target audience (China) is also correct but i'm afraid he might be too late.

Nokia, Sony Ericsson, Motorola were at one time controlling the mobilephone markets of the world.

When the world demanded more, O2, HTC, Samsung and Apple came along. When Nokia,SE, Motorola were still shrinking their phones, Apple came with the iPhone.

People expected it to flop but look at the size of smart phones now?

They gave people smartphones, the big 3 (Nokia, SE, Motorola) were slow to change. This market is too dynamic, playing catch up will not do any company good.

Jlokta

just like another true story years ago, my friend was in honolulu, pple asked him where he is from, he said s'pore and noone knows but when he mention lky's name, everybody start to acknowledge and nod in agreement.

thanks bro.

it's nice being a cab driver, at least you're making a honest living.

as for your friend's story in honolulu, either your friend is one of the 60.1%, or those bumbs don't get out much. i travel quite abit in the states and most ang mo i met knows exactly where sinkapoor is (its part of china). :biggrin:

but seriously, if i were to tell those people about LKY, i'll probably get spit on. they dont really take very well to people from communist country. :biggrin:

Jlokta

but i admire him a lot from the silicon valley days, heard of his story that he went knocking doors on the firms there to sell his sound blaster. if you look at the story then, it was americans who helped him.

paiseh, skipped this part.

i did hear about his San Jose days.
to be fair, the sinkapooreans community there did look after him but yes its true that the angmo helped him.

the local only sucked him when he made a name for himself.

if he can get the schools to endorse it, he might be able to stay a float.

have you seen how the people in china carry their ipads? they dont even buy screen protectors and accessories to protect their ipad. they use it raw. they make it look like ipad is so affordable

They probably want to make sure that people notice their branded iPads that they are using. One of the reasons why Apple products are successful with some people is that it is perceived as a status product.

Many Android tablets are collecting dust in inventories. His will be no exception.

Only Amazon's Kindle will triumph, because of the low price and rich ecosystem of apps and content.

Jlokta

They probably want to make sure that people notice their branded iPads that they are using. One of the reasons why Apple products are successful with some people is that it is perceived as a status product.

thats true also.

but then again in 祖国, they can very much 山寨 anything.

won't be surprised that those are 山寨 iPad.

Raiders

Many Android tablets are collecting dust in inventories. His will be no exception.

Only Amazon's Kindle will triumph, because of the low price and rich ecosystem of apps and content.

I agree. Apps plays a very important role in any tablets success. My 2-3 years old nieces and nephews could say Apple Ipad better than they could say my name. Most of the time, they could recognise angry birds better than they could recognise me :o

hotbot

it's more like after reaching a stage in a product life cycle, it calls for design rather than technology, just like our hdb phases mah, first we have hdb flats, then we have built-to-order ones mah...

Jlokta

it's more like after reaching a stage in a product life cycle, it calls for design rather than technology, just like our hdb phases mah, first we have hdb flats, then we have built-to-order ones mah...

wrong bro.

first we had HDB flats, now we have overpriced piegeon hole.

Jlokta

apple computers also very expensive what...:biggrin:

but authorised resellers offer repayment scheme.

only difference is, for apple stuff, you do finish paying for it.

this is not true for the overpriced pigeon hole. :biggrin:

That would be the expected natural progression. However in the case of Spore & housing, with millions of new foreigners, citizens now face rationing. Even if you could get a unit, it is smaller & more expensive.

breaknews

Cannot compete in Chinese market lah. Will be slaughtered by quick thinkingChinese and Taiwanese businessmen. Already got tonnes of Chinese ebooks around, he is late in the game.

He should just save his billions and travel around the world, and donate money to the poor.

Nothing last forever, especially in Mayan times.