• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sim Wong Hoo rises up like a phoenix

sim-wong-hoo.jpg

Head honcho of Creative Technology is back with a bang.

Having disappeared from the face of the media world for more than seven years, Sim Wong Hoo popped up at a press conference in Singapore last September, signalling what was then thought to be his imminent return.

And on Feb. 15, Creative’s share price bounced upwards of 71 percent, to close at $4.15, its highest since December 2010.

The big occasion? Sim announced the birth of the HanZpad Alliance in Beijing.

What on Earth is that you ask?

Well, subsequently after his Beijing appearance – since March, in fact – Sim has been chairing the HanZpad Alliance, a get-together of 20 Chinese and Taiwanese companies that manufactures, markets and distributes the spanking new HanZpad computer tablet.

At 57 years old, Singapore’s youngest billionaire is working something out with this two dozen partners and has set his sights on the Chinese market.

hanZpad.jpg

Sim has made it known that Creative will have extensive control over HanZpad’s hardware specifications, chips and content framework.

On the other hand, Google’s Android software will power the device.

Moreover, Creative is setting itself apart from all competitors so far by producing Chinese-language content developed for its tablet, which includes textbooks for mathematics, science and other subjects.

And he is going to run wild with it in China.

As a sign of how far Creative is reinventing itself, here’s the figures: The company spent $1 billion on research and development over the past 10 years to make ZMS, which are new chips to power the HanZpad, alongside making other hardware technology.

Sim even admits that “maybe” Creative has even gone into the red with this project.

But it will be all worthwhile.

The purpose of the alliance is to drive the prices of electronic components production as low as possible, and translate it into affordability for users.

This takes Sim’s mind off these areas of components production to focus exclusively on making the best ZMS chips.

Creative’s share price has since settled at about $3.74 on April 5, a good sign, given that share price was at the all-time low of $2.50 last year.

The all-time high was in March 28, 2000, where it hovered at the ungodly peak of $64. (That was also the period where the U.S. tech bubble was at its most bulbous. And then everything went tits up after that…)

The HanZpad’s scheduled debut is late next month.

Thousands are expected to be manufactured, although no hard figures are provided.

Alliance members, as well as schools in China that are part of a Creative-led pilot project on e-learning with tablets, will receive the HanZpad before everyone else.

Together with the tablet, Creative has also developed a technology to translate physical books to soft copy format, at one-tenth the cost of what publishers will incur if they did it themselves.

The HanZpad will also be equipped with Chinese handwriting recognition software – a niche that will find its application for sure in China – that can accurately read different styles of handwriting.

However, Sim is quick to emphasise that he is not out to compete with Apple, which already has 70 percent of the Chinese market.

His aims are more noble.

He wants to make education available to all Chinese students and the HanZpad will come in handy.

This partly stems from his obsession with the Chinese language ever since he was a kid.

If the HanZpad does take off, it will seal this Singaporean businessman’s reputation as the brainchild of the wildest scalable business idea ever conceived in this country.

Sim is best known for building the Creative Music System in 1987, barely six years after he graduated from Ngee Ann Polytechnic in 1981.

His Sound Blaster device was launched in 1989 and sold 40 million units a year. By 2000, it had sold 100 million units of them.

At 45, Sim became the youngest billionaire on this sunny island.

It is still a wonder why he never qualified as one of Cleo’s top 50 eligible bachelors.

This is a 60-second reduction of the original article published in The Sunday Times on April 8, 2012.

Raiders

He can continue to dream. The china market has so many local make tablets and yet PRC's number one choice of tablet is still what? iPad :biggrin:

He is already 57. Give him some reason to work in China so that he can steal eat lah.

Many of my friends are going to China for work nowadays...but while there all had a great time fucking.

He can continue to dream. The china market has so many local make tablets and yet PRC's number one choice of tablet is still what? iPad :biggrin:

Jlokta

iPad, like most of Apple's product, has a cult following.

this fella's tablet will probably end up at some high end jamban controlling the water temperature from the bidet. :biggrin:

hotbot

i'd say he got 50% chance! why nokia shifted to china is because many users there are still using their nokia brand cellphones. yes, it's true the hype is apple but not many can afford and they are not as tech savvy as users in s'pore. the strategy to kill off apple is thru collaboration and wait for time, he may not succeed instantly but i am sure probably around 5 to 10 years time, the hanzpad will bear fruit! he just have to keep on updating his hanzpad meantime.

Jlokta

i'd say he got 50% chance! why nokia shifted to china is because many users there are still using their nokia brand cellphones. yes, it's true the hype is apple but not many can afford and they are not as tech savvy as users in s'pore. the strategy to kill off apple is thru collaboration and wait for time, he may not succeed instantly but i am sure probably around 5 to 10 years time, the hanzpad will bear fruit! he just have to keep on updating his hanzpad meantime.

he must have enough fats (moola) to dong for 5-10years.

but seriously, i don;t think he'll have a chance to compete one-on-one with apple.

I just can't see anyone selling kidney to buy a creative POC.
but then again i could be wrong.

http://micgadget.com/24827/five-chinese-charged-as-chinese-teen-sells-kidney-for-apple-products/

Raiders

He is already 57. Give him some reason to work in China so that he can steal eat lah.

Many of my friends are going to China for work nowadays...but while there all had a great time fucking.

It's true brother. I was at SLS earlier and was surprised to see the number of PRC chicks working there. The mall had just opened and there was not much people and I had a good survey from lvl 4 to 1. On level 1, there was a centralised open space area selling all those hand phone assessories and there was one PRC chick working there. The old man(I assume was one of the boss) kept molesting her by touching her hands, waist, hair. Knn, I had to control myself not to look.

Raiders

Honestly, as a fellow Singaporean, I wish him well. Brother, every 10 PRC chicks I knew, (if you take away apple) at least 6 uses Samsung phones, not Nokia.

Jlokta

It's true brother. I was at SLS earlier and was surprised to see the number of PRC chicks working there. The mall had just opened and there was not much people and I had a good survey from lvl 4 to 1. On level 1, there was a centralised open space area selling all those hand phone assessories and there was one PRC chick working there. The old man(I assume was one of the boss) kept molesting her by touching her hands, waist, hair. Knn, I had to control myself not to look.

7 early 8 early recee already?? :biggrin:

mollusk

I was there yesterday and i think i remember the old man at the counter..keke

hotbot

his winning strategy is that his is a hanzpad, i believe his OS is based on chinese language. that is his winning point. now he has to attract developers to create variety of applications in chinese too. chinese pple like foreign products especially things from the west. there is an international law in US and europe prohibiting the impart of technology to china. reason being they know chinese are great copycats! haha...

apple will not last its hype after steve jobs is gone, look at the history of nokia, it was one of the most widely used cellphones in the world and ended up downsizing and relocating to china.

when i think of a new idea, i will email him directly for old time sake, he is my alta mater too.:rolleyes:

he must have enough fats (moola) to dong for 5-10years.

but seriously, i don;t think he'll have a chance to compete one-on-one with apple.

I just can't see anyone selling kidney to buy a creative POC.
but then again i could be wrong.

http://micgadget.com/24827/five-chinese-charged-as-chinese-teen-sells-kidney-for-apple-products/

hotbot

yes, i wish him well too! i hope that creative can revive their hay days. he is one unique s'porean that i admire with my heart after lky(argh...ptui...!)

the prc chicks i know use apple iphones...:wink: if you really look at the ground, most users are still using nokia cellphones, majority!

Honestly, as a fellow Singaporean, I wish him well. Brother, every 10 PRC chicks I knew, (if you take away apple) at least 6 uses Samsung phones, not Nokia.

Raiders

I was there yesterday and i think i remember the old man at the counter..keke

Got 2 old men. There is one older one and he loves to stick to the PRC. I bet the whole building of shops must have some nice FRs since there are so many PRC chicks there.

Raiders

yes, i wish him well too! i hope that creative can revive their hay days. he is one unique s'porean that i admire with my heart after lky(argh...ptui...!)

the prc chicks i know use apple iphones...:wink: if you really look at the ground, most users are still using cellphones, majority!

What I meant was, apple was first choice. Not enough money, 2nd choice is Samsung smartphones. Then comes Nokia.

mollusk

his winning strategy is that his is a hanzpad, i believe his OS is based on chinese language. that is his winning point. now he has to attract developers to create variety of applications in chinese too. chinese pple like foreign products especially things from the west. there is an international law in US and europe prohibiting the impart of technology to china. reason being they know chinese are great copycats! haha...

apple will not last its hype after steve jobs is gone, look at the history of nokia, it was one of the most widely used cellphones in the world and ended up downsizing and relocating to china.

when i think of a new idea, i will email him directly for old time sake, he is my alta mater too.:rolleyes:

I must say it will be hard for him.Huawei already counter sued his now defunct QMaX..

I noticed some of the PRC there very chio.

Sure got people try to hit on them but so far never hear any story.

Jlokta

erm, you guys are classmates or he's your school? paiseh, my england not powderful.

his OS (if it works) will indeed give it a fighting chance.

his target audience (China) is also correct but i'm afraid he might be too late.

Nokia, Sony Ericsson, Motorola were at one time controlling the mobilephone markets of the world.

When the world demanded more, O2, HTC, Samsung and Apple came along. When Nokia,SE, Motorola were still shrinking their phones, Apple came with the iPhone.

People expected it to flop but look at the size of smart phones now?

They gave people smartphones, the big 3 (Nokia, SE, Motorola) were slow to change. This market is too dynamic, playing catch up will not do any company good.

hotbot

the only reason why huawei is the preferred partner by singtel and was mentioned in the national day rally, our fabulous GLC, is that they have invested money and hire their ex-staffs...see all these kanina fucking pappy dogs.

I must say it will be hard for him.Huawei already counter sued his now defunct QMaX..