• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Your favourite haunt

Nightlife = Used to be Zouk, the pubs around Changi Village, the Geylang Lorongs,

Getaway = Short boat fishing trip around S'pore waters.. Shore fishing with my Mat kakis at Pulau Ubin, Changi Beach Club and the remote beaches near to the Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal.. All fishing activities usually held in the night..

Supper = 24 hr kopitiam besides Jalan Besar stadium, good Mama coffeeshops around the island, Al Ameen at Bukit Timah to oggle at the multi racial chicks chilling out there..

To enjoy the Teh Tarik in peace, away from the maddening crowd, would go to Mr Prata coffeeshop near to the Botanic Gardens.. Just love to sip the Teh Tarik and enjoy the fresh air of the surrounding greenery around place..

Yes, the balding Jepunese looking guy is running it.

Joker's memory very good. About 3-4 years ago, I makaned at the HC. My kawan told me noodles and fishball seepay ho. When it was my turn to place the order, balding chap remarked that I looked familiar. Then asked me if I used to hang around River Valley. Told him not River Valley but Tanglin. Rightaway, he told me I was his customer many years ago when he was selling at Orchard Rd carpark. Place my memory on recall and realised who he was. He was a handsome man in the late 60s and early 70s but now, a balding chap.

hahaha....i wonder how many of the following places still around????
Nightlife - Xanadu, Europa Changi Village, Dato Rajah, Mechinta (JB)
Getaway - Coney Island
Supper - Under whitley flyover, Lau Pasat/Transit markrt, Bras Braseh Park HC/Beer Garden

As a schoolboy I remember my dad driving all us to Whitley flyover for supper.. Ordered Nasi Goreng from this Mama stall, bloody tasteless..

Been to Europa Changi Village during NS days.. The present site is now Mr Teh Tarik Mama coffeeshop...

yinyang

Remembered it was caLLed Cook Road or Cook Street right ?..
Think GD and guys referred to Koek road, now Cuppage Plaza stretch. Ooops, just crossed his reply. Magnolia bar was part of Cold Storage, opposite car park hawker stalls.

I still makan the beef noodle from Koek Rd. Known as Hong Kee. From Koek Rd, moved to Cuppage Centre. Now at Telok Ayer. Customer of theirs for the past 45 yrs!

Logisex

Nightlife: Guidu KTV at Kallang (now at Selegie), Somerset Jazz Bar, Apollo KTV (top floor of ex-Apollo hotel), Orchard KTV
Getaway : My friend's Hi Fi shop at Adelphi, plastic model shop at Far East Plaza, fav whore houses in GL
Supper : joints that are still open after cheonging - Geylang, Old National Library, Taiwan porridge at Kallang Park.......

yinyang

Ridley's at the old ANA Hotel opposite the now Tanglin Mall.
Rumours at Forum Galleria.
Brannigans at Hyatt Hotel.
Oasis for teochew porridge and Newton food ctr for Oyster omellette.
Ridleys was the place to be on tgifs then, at ANA (ex Sheraton then). Rumours was smack on the Orchard Rd strip, and my memory was funny loo signs (one with hankie or panty?:confused::p)

Brannigans now Brix. And Oasis more of taiwan (than teochew) porridge, similar to Gold Leaf then.

Part of furniture at Devils Bar every tgif. Also learnt to imbibe red wine at La Chateau (basement of Specialist Centre) ...before moving on next door to disco/bar next door:p

kingrant

Haha..dont forget, the pighead uses only the official PAP dictionary.

Haunt means to frequent. If haunt means past, then present day ghosts got no work except sleep at 8.

haunt = past? to be sure i checked the dictionary........the meaning of haunt...nothing to suggest that notion.

kingrant

I wld say there are not that many old beloved places one can frequent nowadays, as they have mostly been wiped out by the PAP to lease the land for get-rich-quick developers who under Khaw's sanction, fleece the minions without a blink.

Mine:

Siglap - the food row along Joo Chiat/ Katong mall (now I12).
Katong - the coffeeshop next to the chapel.

Nightlife: Guidu KTV at Kallang (now at Selegie), Somerset Jazz Bar, Apollo KTV (top floor of ex-Apollo hotel), Orchard KTV
Getaway : My friend's Hi Fi shop at Adelphi, plastic model shop at Far East Plaza, fav whore houses in GL
Supper : joints that are still open after cheonging - Geylang, Old National Library, Taiwan porridge at Kallang Park.......

Guidu is Dynasty....now Dynasty Classic....at one time while still at Kallang....business slow (due to surrounding areas deserted)....they had to rent out hall space to oldies dancing classical dance.......damn weird hugging and rubba hostess in the ktv rooms and oldie couples dancing the waltz outside.

Apollo nightclub on the 19 floor........back then the annex building where Tiananmen and Las Vegas were not even there (it was Isetan).

Somerset was at ex westin hotel (now swissotel)....Claressa Monteiro used to sing there......sister joint saxophone at cuppage.......owner was my friend angmo Fabrice....he was the one who taught me to appreciate jazz. he got another saxophone joint in BKK too.

Taiwan porridge oasis moved to toa payoh garden..........still on the water........and food still taste the same.

Must be retro one is it? And preferably the places no longer around?

Nightlife - Xanadu, Europa Changi Village, Dato Rajah, Mechinta (JB)
Getaway - Coney Island
Supper - Under whitley flyover, Lau Pasat/Transit markrt, Bras Braseh Park HC/Beer Garden

If its hawker centre, when I really young I love the Tong Chai Hospital outdoor food so many things to eat

Then when older I love the National Library place

Behind Capitol cinema also another spot......Bugis street as well (hawkers moved into the 4th beh lor HC)........Glutton's corner at now PSA tanjong pagar.