• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yakult flips roti prata

Accommodate differences of opinion in society, urges Dr Yaacob

Consultation and accommodation important in multicultural society such as Singapore, he says

mail
print
View all 0 comments

Published: June 22, 7:05 AM

SINGAPORE — In a multicultural society such as Singapore, there are bound to be differences of opinion, thus it is important to work in a spirit of quiet consultation and accommodation in dealing with such differences, said Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs Yaacob Ibrahim.

Dr Yaacob was speaking to reporters on the sidelines of an award ceremony organised by the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore (MUIS) yesterday (June 21).

His comments came after an online campaign was launched by a religious teacher urging fellow Muslims to wear white on June 28 as a sign of protest against homosexuality.

The online campaign was followed by an advisory from MUIS, which cautioned against adopting a "confrontational approach" towards those who are involved in LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) lifestyles.

Dr Yaacob, who is also the minister for communications and information, said: "So the approach that MUIS has taken, the advisory, is a right advisory because ultimately, what we want to do is avoid dividing society, dividing the community.

“Let us find the big-heartedness that we have, to accommodate differences that exist in any society.

"That is the approach that we should have taken and I think that is the approach that MUIS has adopted and that's the approach that I'd like to encourage all -- not just Muslims -- in Singapore to deal with differences." CHANNEL NEWSASIA

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/accommodate-differences-opinion-society-urges-dr-yaacob

Let us find the big-heartedness that we have, to accommodate differences that exist in any society

to hv big heart but with small minds like you and your peer is plain epic fail, only piano wires will save us from your kind.

You will notice, of late, the shit press, no longer refer him as Yakult, but Dr. Ibrahim or Dr. Yakult....after he, no longer look after the "tong sampah"!!! They are trying make people forget his one in a years ponding of Orchard road & make him, so special now!

kaipoh

A dog is a dog no matter how you changed.

You will notice, of late, the shit press, no longer refer him as Yakult, but Dr. Ibrahim or Dr. Yakult....after he, no longer look after the "tong sampah"!!! They are trying make people forget his one in a years ponding of Orchard road & make him, so special now!

All ministers speak with forked tongues.
Some more than others.
This Yakult more - because he does not know what he is talking about.
"Consultation" means seek your opinion on matters of no consequence.
Such as the composition of the 50th Anniversary Baby package.

borom

“Let us find the big-heartedness that we have, to accommodate differences that exist in any society".
I agree with Assoc Prof Dr Yaacob Ibrahim on the above.

Shall the PAP start by accommodating the following wishes of locals
1. Allow withdrawal of ALL CPF at 55-by those who wants it.
2. Abolish GRC's
3. Reduce the quota of foreigners in schools/universities from 20% to 5%
4. Reduce the number of foreigners to less than 20% of population
5. All male PR's below the age of 35 must serve NS and only those who serve can buy HDB flats

There's no flipping here.

What he's saying is that Sinkies must accommodate folks such as Anton Casey and Carlos R Pestano III.

When the pappies say something, always find out who is the intended audience first.

A dog is a dog no matter how you changed.

But they have upgraded this pa rye yah anjing, to a pedigree one now, once Yakut, now Dr. Yalult I or Dr. Ibrahim...wahhh!! next time, he appear in the news, just take note, the change!!