• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP's Path away From Opposition Unity

wwabbit

Would you still consider them opposition unity gestures, Mr Goh?

Let me just help by summarizing what Mr Goh Meng Seng would answer to this:

*cover ears* LALALA CANNOT HEAR YOU, WORKERS PARTY IS EVIL AND ANTI OPPOSITION UNITY, I DON'T CARE WHAT YOU SAY ABOUT OTHER PARTIES

AXAlife

Yes, agree. If RP and SDA performs badly, WP will be the new leading opposition force. Their next objective is to wipe out SDP, NSP and DPP....

WP may be a fake oppo. Be warned. If this true, then you have fallen into the same trap again.

metalmickey

singapore using fptp electoral system, so what the point harping on opposition unity when most of the so called opposition parties struggle to pass the 35% mark.

Actually NSP is not struggling to get past the 35% mark. They averaged 39% in the seats they contested in 2011. WP averaged 38% in 2006 and 46% in 2011. That means NSP in 2011 was ahead of WP in 2006. It's not right to write off NSP at all. Likewise SDP also has room to grow. WP is ahead of the race now but there's still a long way to go.

Make opposition unity simple. Avoid 3-way fights, that is. As for BE, the party that contested in the ward during the GE should have the first right to contest. The other parties should butt out. If the parties can't figure that out, then they deserve to be rot in the wilderness.

brocoli

Actually NSP is not struggling to get past the 35% mark. They averaged 39% in the seats they contested in 2011. WP averaged 38% in 2006 and 46% in 2011. That means NSP in 2011 was ahead of WP in 2006. It's not right to write off NSP at all. Likewise SDP also has room to grow. WP is ahead of the race now but there's still a long way to go.

its not what you do at election that determine it.. its what you do between elections... NSP is shit

metalmickey

the idea that WP do not want to win is absurd... it does seem that PAP was too over confident by sending in a newbie, no effort to mudsling, big guns not out in full force, halima give a half hearted endosement saying she do not know him long enough

No effort to mudsling is actually a good thing for the PAP. They've probably found out by now that mudslinging does not help them at all. For good or for bad, most of the stories in this election are actually on the opposition side.

u ever live in an opposition ward before? Hougang WP stronghold? dont make me laugh. LTK was not as popular as percived before 2006. LTK got 52% in 91, 58% in 97 and 55% in 01. not exactly landslide lor, WP sell hammer at ave 7 in those days is not like nowsaday, out of 10 person 4-5 avoid them like plague. it took LTK 15-16 years of working the ground before WP break the 60% mark. The teochew effect is a myth as proven by the 50+% support LTK got in his first 3 HG elections. if LTK only know to give fanciful speech but cannot make the estate liveable, he would had kick out by the hougangites like the SDP MPs. even now, WP presence is constantly present in the public as they continue walkabouts every now and then.

NSP 39% so what? what had they done since GE2011? only do walkabout a couple times then disappear liao. pls lor, who will vote for this type of fly by night political party? dont be hoodwink by gms bragging about MP result, it only the unpopular of tpl, the idiotic remarks by woody and lastly the no reason to be popular NS to cause the unexpected result of MP. i bet my last dollar that NSP will kenna trash even with NS in the team in the next GE with TPL on the other side if NSP still refuse to get their bum of thier seats. The moderate voters dun care about the fancy slogans, they only care whether the candidates can serve them or not. if NSP only want to count on voters that dun like pap as support then it will continue to have no seats in the next GE. Had NSP dont show their presense in tampines while wp do then who have the rights to contest in tampines? personally, i rather wp concentrate in the northeast corridor and save me from the yoke of pap rule under tch.

i watched WP rallies since 88 (because lorry which was the stage was park next block) when i only primary school with my old man. those days scale was so unlike today. even with JBJ on stage, it maybe a couple thousand and men only.

metalmickey

NSP 39% so what? what had they done since GE2011? only do walkabout a couple times then disappear liao. pls lor, who will vote for this type of fly by night political party? dont be hoodwink by gms bragging about MP result, it only the unpopular of tpl, the idiotic remarks by woody and lastly the no reason to be popular NS to cause the unexpected result of MP.

i watched WP rallies since 88 (because lorry which was the stage was park next block) when i only primary school with my old man. those days scale was so unlike today. even with JBJ on stage, it maybe a couple thousand and men only.

Hougang - on the basis of opposition winning there 6 times - have to say it is an opposition stronghold. They will never win 80% like last time LKY contesting Tanjong Pagar. But that's as good as it gets. Teochew effect is there, even though like you said LTK does have to run his ward well. Being stubborn, being rebellious - I see all that, I'm one too so I know. Potong Pasir is not as Teochew as Hougang but there's also quite a presence there.

NSP - who wants to vote for them - I think we both know what the answer is - 39%. 2016 will be important for them. If they do well and improve, they'll survive. Otherwise, let them die, I have no complaints. Point is that everybody deserves a chance and it's not yet time for them to die. Nicole Seah wasn't in Tampines, was she? Jeanette Chong didn't do that badly in Mountbatten, did she? Polling well against for former prime minister who was not supposed to be that unpopular is not supposed to be that easy, right? Biggest factor is how unpopular the incumbent PAP minister is. In Tampines PAP almost kenna whack because of Mah Bow Tan. Bishan - Toa Payoh, Wong Kan Seng would have been out if Chiam See Tong were fit and healthy.

I don't know about you, but in 1991 there was a rally for Eunos by the WP, I remember that the crowds back then were already really huge. they only took photos of crowds in 2006, but since way back then everybody was turning up for opposition rallies.

wwabbit

NSP has to do a lot of work to improve on the GE2011 results. They scored well in Tampines and Marine Parade GRC due to circumstances which are unlikely to be repeated in GE2016. In Tampines the worst minister was put up against the strongest politician to have ever graced this forum. Next GE that minister will be gone or his misdeeds would have been forgotten, while superman Goh Meng Seng is no longer around to lead in Tampines. In Marine Parade, the Tin Pei Ling / Nicole Seah effect will be gone in GE2016, and they need something more than just hard work to win an extra 6.7%.

NSP - who wants to vote for them - I think we both know what the answer is - 39%. 2016 will be important for them. If they do well and improve, they'll survive. Otherwise, let them die, I have no complaints. Point is that everybody deserves a chance and it's not yet time for them to die. Nicole Seah wasn't in Tampines, was she? Jeanette Chong didn't do that badly in Mountbatten, did she? Polling well against for former prime minister who was not supposed to be that unpopular is not supposed to be that easy, right? Biggest factor is how unpopular the incumbent PAP minister is. In Tampines PAP almost kenna whack because of Mah Bow Tan. Bishan - Toa Payoh, Wong Kan Seng would have been out if Chiam See Tong were fit and healthy.

I don't know about you, but in 1991 there was a rally for Eunos by the WP, I remember that the crowds back then were already really huge. they only took photos of crowds in 2006, but since way back then everybody was turning up for opposition rallies.

ge91 i only secondary student, i never go eunos as i already can hear what jbj and wp said at hougang at the next block.:biggrin: i dunno how huge but even in 2001, WP rally at hougang stadium also not 3/4 full. i still can find my parents in the stadium when i reach the stadium after 7pm. (my parents no hp). my family not teochew and our next door neighbours are hokkien, if the teochews vote kaki lang, then LTK vote count shd be higher as we of other dialect groups also support him but it only barely 50% for the first 3 terms. so did the teochew voted for pap instead?:eek:

did u notice i only see NSP no up? i seriously dun care what result was achieve by NSP in 2011, i only interest what NSP is doing after 2011, what it doing now and what they will do by next election. if they continue to rest on their ass, expecting 2011 result to replicate in next GE, they must be smoking weeds lor. Even SDP has been active on the ground since 2011, yes, the PE by election had hurt their reputation but as long sdp keep plugging away at grassroot, provide free legal clinic, medical and social help for the next 3 years, they wil be a force that cannot be ignore. if nsp want the fruit of victory to fall on its lap, they can wait long long.

btw, u think pap will roll over and die for nsp? hahaha....

damnmit, i cannot stop without taking a dig at got more shit. MP result was a freak result, the place to win was tampines and got more shit blew it. it there for the taking but now, the chance is gone. go tampines to look see look see, heng swee kiat and horse mk2 very popular with old uncles and aunties. the moderate voters have turn back to pap. i kept my peace when many scold gms before ge2011 but instead of admitting mistake, the idiot start calling everyone wp insect.

Hougang - on the basis of opposition winning there 6 times - have to say it is an opposition stronghold. They will never win 80% like last time LKY contesting Tanjong Pagar. But that's as good as it gets. Teochew effect is there, even though like you said LTK does have to run his ward well. Being stubborn, being rebellious - I see all that, I'm one too so I know. Potong Pasir is not as Teochew as Hougang but there's also quite a presence there.

now maybe stronghold but it no stronghold pre ge2006.

metalmickey

ge91 i only secondary student, i never go eunos as i already can hear what jbj and wp said at hougang at the next block.:biggrin: i dunno how huge but even in 2001, WP rally at hougang stadium also not 3/4 full. i still can find my parents in the stadium when i reach the stadium after 7pm. (my parents no hp). my family not teochew and our next door neighbours are hokkien, if the teochews vote kaki lang, then LTK vote count shd be higher as we of other dialect groups also support him but it only barely 50% for the first 3 terms. so did the teochew voted for pap instead?:eek:

No lah I'm sure that my experience is similar to yours. I think back around that time already there were more people attending WP rallies than PAP rallies.

Hougang is definitely a Teochew town. He was able to capitalise on that image. I'm sure that many Teochews voted for the PAP but he was able to get enough Teochews to vote for him in order to compensate. People are forgetting that George Yeo and Teo Chee Hean are also Teochews. But they can't capitalise on their Teochewness because they all sibeh angmoh.

Anyway NSP is no longer a Goh Meng Seng party but a Hazel Poa party and we'll see how it goes. That's the good thing about the "evolution" approach: SDA used to be the 3rd biggest party in Singapore but when NSP and SPP pulled out, it became just an empty shell and will probably die. When it's time for NSP to die, it will naturally die.

I'm sure that many Teochews voted for the PAP but he was able to get enough Teochews to vote for him in order to compensate. People are forgetting that George Yeo and Teo Chee Hean are also Teochews. But they can't capitalise on their Teochewness because they all sibeh angmoh.

GY was chosen to helm the bedok-punggol division precisely because , first a teochew then a catholic too. there are many teochew catholic in the area. he shot himself in the foot because of the casino as many of these conservative catholic voters view it as betrayal.

who in charge of nsp no concern of mine. if they think they can "chope" seats because of past records, they can go fly kite. if other APs do grassroot in MP while nsp didnt, then i will support the other APs to contest MP despite nsp got 43% of votes in 2011.

metalmickey

GY was chosen to helm the bedok-punggol division precisely because , first a teochew then a catholic too. there are many teochew catholic in the area. he shot himself in the foot because of the casino as many of these conservative catholic voters view it as betrayal.

Lagi best since Muslims are also anti-gambling and Aljunied also has a lot of mats.

longbow

Opposition unity is nonsense. Each party should have their own agenda. In this election, WP is clearly the strongest opposition party so why should it unite with other parties and dilute its own agenda. If you unite with SDP, you are hostage to the antics of Chee - who may go off on a rant out of your control.

Now in a GE, where are many open seats, there can be some form of agreement within the opposition to avoid, if possible, 3 cornered fights. And in GE, they can tone down their attacks on other opposition parties.

nonsense fr GMS. if he is good he would hv been elected long ago and no qualms about complaining his losses here over and over again.

what nonsense unity is GMS talking about? giving SDP a coat tail to ride on and you manage the town council?

all opposition parties must build up the capabilities to overcome the increasing demands and difficulties created by the ruling parties, such as managing town councils. if you merely needed a political platform, then you might as well hope for a position as a nominated MP with no voting rights and just a wayang post.

Faker

Mr Goh, 心服口服?

Or you still beholding heavy sour grape feeling that you are not taken as Zhuge Liang and that LTK not acted as Liu Bei to serve you 3 visits at your house?