• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP Sylvia Lim said PAP is moving in the right direction, NMP Chia YY disagree

zeroo

10987766_806748492714494_355786180693919816_n.png

"“When we talk about personal choice, choice always comes with responsibility. Benefits come with obligations, and when we exercise our personal choice, there is a price to be paid. And Madam, I submit that price should not be paid by someone else,” ~ NMP Chia Yong Yong.

While Budget 2015 has been praised be some Members of Parliament (MPs) and observers as being left-leaning, Nominated MP Chia Yong Yong today (March 3) cautioned against an expenditure that leans too heavily to the left, leading to members in the House thumping their armrests in approval.

[1]: http://m.todayonline.com/singapore/...g-yong-cautions-against-leaning-too-much-left

xpo2015

She is a rhymer. Socialist capitalism system is the best! It takes the best of both worlds.

xingguy

Source: The Real Singapore

DEAR TRS, NMP NOMINEE IS THE SISTER OF AN ACTIVE PAP MEMBER
Post date: 16 May 2014 - 8:24am

64502_10201696462352715_1001495104_n.jpg

Dear TRS, I came across an article about the ongoing NMP nominations (http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/two-more-emerge-contenders-nmp-post). One of them was Ms Chia Yong Yong, president of the Society for the Physically Disabled.

I was quite impressed that there were people who were willing to represent the disabled in parliament. The name "Chia Yong Yong" sounded familiar. I felt sympathy when I realized that she herself was disabled. It was impressive how she and her family managed to overcome the challenges they faced. (http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/lifestyle/story/lawyer-chia-yo...)

It's true. We need someone to represent the less fortunate in society and groups like the disabled deserve a representative. It would be best to have someone who is also in the same situation to represent them.

However, when I checked further, I realized that she was the sister of Eunice Chia-Lim, a PAP activist in East Coast GRC. Both of them have photos on facebook with many PAP MPs and ministers.

This link confirms the relationship between the two: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10201194760530483&set=a.14785546...

The next two links shows the two of them together at an event with a PAP minister and Mdm Ho Ching:
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10201696462352715&set=bc.Abq1kcN...

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10201695289643398&set=a.14785546...

The next two links confirm the PAP membership of Eunice Chia:

(https://www.facebook.com/lim.eunice/media_set?set=a.4838045108393.194735...)

(https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10203651495787329&set=a.14785546...)

She was appointed South East District Representative in 2012.

I’m not sure if Ms Chia Yong Yong is a PAP member like her sister, but she has been active in PAP initiated events such as Our Singapore Conversation (reference is the 3rd link in this article) and she received a PBM in 2013.

At that point, I started wondering if anyone with any sort of affiliation to the ruling party can be a non-partisan NMP. I remembered the former NMP Calvin Cheng who used to be a YPAP member before he was nominated as a NMP.

In parliament, he praised the PAP many times and even attacked the opposition WP. In a debate about the NMP scheme, in response to the opposition criticizing the NMP scheme, he instead argued that NCMPs were unnecessary because he believed alternative views did not mean opposing views. (Link: http://likedatosocanmeh.wordpress.com/2013/11/28/run-of-the-mill-ex-nmp-...)

So, my question is this? Are NMPs with links to PAP, be they direct or indirect links, willing to take the PAP to task for their failings?

If Ms Chia gets nominated, I hope she will argue against the typical PAP line on issues like the high cost of living, CPF withdrawal age and scholarships for less privileged Singaporeans' tertiary education.

She could also talk about the MRT problems these days. I don't see how the overpopulation created by the PAP policies does not affect the disabled. With the large number of foreigners taking the train alongside locals, will there be space for a wheelchair in the MRT?

Will she speak up on the issue of empowering the disabled to find jobs? Will she speak up on the issue of affordableprosthetics for amputees? So that they can find jobs and get their livelihood back. Will she speak for amputees who ended up hawking tissue papers at MRT stations?

While we may feel gratitude to the PAP of the past, the PAP of today is not the same. And this is the view shared by a significant number of Singaporeans.

We do not want people to get into parliament to gush endless praise for the 'great' ministers and MPs. We want MPs to force change on the PAP and government to improve our lives. No less should be expected from NMPs either. I hope that if nominated, Ms Chia will truly represent alternative voices in parliament.

Just an ordinary Singaporean

TRS Contributor

NMPs have voting rights as can be seen in the voting of 6.9m population white paper.

Think whose side Chia Yong Yong would vote when crunch time comes?
What do you think?

tA2OqPh.png

i16CmtC.png

O8nwMj3.png

cQIVDO3.png

Tv8bKxN.png

uC9IbKp.png

Slyvia is right... FAP on the slippery slope and aided by heavan and gravity is gg down the right direction to hell. no argument about it.

That nominated biting should ask herself why you got no legs and sits in a wheelchair.....
Wtf is a mp nominated and not elected? Machiam China?

tat's like asking why is there a clown called minister loitering around the PM office and not doing work.

hsienloong

Oh.. Zeroo dun forget to go for your vet checkup.
The Vet complained about you not taking your medicine lately
and has been hallucinating about wishing to be a dog.
Zeroo, you are already a DOG though not a pedigree but a stray one.
You have always been my little puppy DOG zeroo dun forget that.

Now for some crypted message.

Suggest there is a shift towards the left... be careful
I Believe it should be right... right??
A shift left is also important but not that important.
Are you Left or Right please make your mind???
Really mind-boggling?
For a moment I thought it was one of my own discreetly trying to sound me out
like ... (Boss you are leaning towards leftist populist demand).
Kudos and credit to her, she got me on this one.
Now my dogs are really gonna starting barking out loud
Starting with this rhythmic one...
Lean to much to the left and will have not much left.
Oh..boy.. oh boy.. soon we'll have Kate milling at the spade on this one...
Why can't everybody just plug up their gap when it so apparent that I
wanted it to be left in to first place.
Talk about gekiangism and apple polishing, this one deserves a medal.

zeroo

Calvin Cheng:
The Workers Party once again shows their brilliance in proposing alternatives to PAP's policies.

CPF: Agree with everything PAP has done but instead of paying out at 64 years old, propose 60 years old.

Silver Bonus: Instead of paying every 3 months, propose paying the same amount but every month.

Basically take PAP's policy, propose a diluted form, voila - an alternative.

Genius I tell you. Pure Genius.

Hats off.

Having a NMP title and sitting on a wheelchair does not entitle someone to credibility or 'brownie points' in truth.

64502_10201696462352715_1001495104_n.jpg

DEAR TRS, NMP NOMINEE IS THE SISTER OF AN ACTIVE PAP MEMBER
16 May 2014

http://therealsingapore.com/content/dear-trs-nmp-nominee-sister-active-pap-member

I’m not sure if Ms Chia Yong Yong is a PAP member like her sister, but she has been active in PAP initiated events such as Our Singapore Conversation

Now the fox has truly revealed its tail.

P.S: Calvin Cheng should shut the fuck up already.

these people wax poetica when it comes to helping the poor and needy,but when it comes to paying themselves and budget for their white elephants,the sky's the limit.

and notice she has the same hypocrisy as christian and religious worshippers.

she is grateful and "thankful" that we have a budget that is generous and left leaning,but cannot be too generous and left leaning you know......otherwise she will be too grateful and thankful.thank you jesus and kong hee!!!

SgGoneWrong

If not lean towards left, chia got chance to be nmp meh? When one has become way too arrogant, she can also forget her legs cannot use.

If the PAP shifts too much to the left, they will lose my support.

One of the damaging of all policies is one where people are rewarded for being useless. It destroys the very foundation of society and makes a mockery of the values of hard work, enterprise and thrift.

If the PAP shifts too much to the left, they will lose my support.

Don't worry, they won't need your support as they are toast.

One of the damaging of all policies is one where people are rewarded for being useless. It destroys the very foundation of society and makes a mockery of the values of hard work, enterprise and thrift.
Like the sinkapore cabinet. That's why we need them to go.