• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wow. Great news. The collapse of Sickipoora's economy. Coolie gene Sinkies happy now ?

Why export crap to the rest of the world? Be what you are destined to be: a money laundering hub of the world. :wink:

All factories in Sinkieland ought to be shut down, with the exception of some basic processed food and various goods for domestic consumption. :cool:

Boliao

1. Retrenchment around me are Singaporeans making $8000-$15000 a month. Not really foreigners.

2. Some played dirty, restructured the company, made all employees sign new employment contracts with new holding company (losing their retrenchment benefits). This method don't work if they recontract with subsidiary.

There is no such thing as retrenchment benefits in Singapore. You are at the mercy of the employers as MOM only recommends retrenchment compensation at 2 weeks for every year served. We just retrenched 30% of our workforce based in Singapore with minimum benefits. I knew of some small companies that did not even pay any benefits.

Willamshakespear

Pardon my 'salty language' used in the post here....

The geopolitical situation in the World is bad & Singapore, only a mere red dot, is often powerless to change events, as much as we try to. There is too much greed & power lust in our present World that those beasts as leaders don't give a shit to Humanity except for their own glorification as gods on Earth....

My insignificant nobody me heart goes out to those whom are being retrenched NOT because of their personal hard work or diligence, but ultimately - biz enterprises are not charity orgs. They too, need to survive & thus either downsize or close down...

Thus, DO NOT feel alone & useless, because the reality is that YOU ARE NOT. You are just as capable as the next guy sitting beside you in a cafe, hawker centre, bus, mrt, etc. You only need OPPORTUNITIES.

And OPPORTUNITIES are often ignored, due to one's own lack of foresight or one whom would rather wallow in depressive self pity.

There ARE & WILL ALWAYS be honest jobs in Singapore. It is only a matter of swallowing one's own high pride, take on a job that may be lower pay BUT WILL be sustainable for one's or family survival for the time being. It is a geopolitical downturn in our World right now, so you are NOT ALONE in suffering. Good times do not last, SO TOO bad times. It is now a time for SURVIVAL, without cheating others, but to honestly put food on the table for loved ones.

It is a tougher time for those with families, more so those whom may lack support from elderly parents, wife or even kids when the buck stops flowing. Take time to patiently talk it out with them, to gain support. If at worse that they do not understand, then it is better to let them go & find better pastures that they think are greener on the other side, then to struggle alone, as in tough times, support is sorely needed.

You are not a movie star on the silver screen, but the LEAD actor in your passage of life. You alone determine the outcome in you life. You have a choice, to stand up & find better honest opportunities for yourself & loved ones, OR to lay down & give up during a downturn.

We, Singaporeans, TOGETHER, are gonna UPTURN the FUCKIN downturn, hell yeah! just as our founding & forefathers whom faced far, far worse & dangerous times in the past, & PROVED that WE can survive, with hardwork & intelligence. So don't give up. It is not the end of the World.

Good luck & have a CLEAR mind....

k1976

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.sc...give-next-pm-lawrence-wong-plenty-smile-about

Please leemember, we are in good hands

Singapore’s US$400 billion economy, soaring currency give next PM Lawrence Wong plenty to smile about​

• Wong, the city state’s incoming PM, will inherit a currency that has risen 40 per cent against its major trading partners over the past two decades
  • Under his predecessor Lee Hsien Loong, the economy has doubled in size and total assets under management have climbed to US$3.6 trillion

k1976

https://cnalifestyle.channelnewsasia.com/trending/lawrence-wong-singapore-guitar-pedal-brands-388861

Prime Minister-to-be Lawrence Wong on his guitar hobby, highlights Singapore brands in new video​

As part of International Guitar Month, Mr Wong took to his social media pages to talk about how he started playing the guitar and how "excited" he gets when he sees homegrown companies in the space.
 Prime Minister-to-be Lawrence Wong on his guitar hobby, highlights Singapore brands in new video

By now, most of us are aware that Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong really knows his guitars. Videos of him demonstrating his skills have previously gone viral, be it his cover of Taylor Swift's Love Story or his rendition of the classic Hokkien hit I Ask Heaven.

As part of International Guitar Month in April, Mr Wong recently took to his social media pages to answer questions about his passion for playing the guitar.

k1976

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/bus...eholders-special-meetings-rule-change-4284856

Like that Boss John and Boss Glockman can suka suka call Speical meeting at Hotel for buffet lunch cum dinner ler

Business

Singapore Exchange proposes rule change to help shareholders in calling special meetings​

Singapore Exchange proposes rule change to help shareholders in calling special meetings

A man wearing a protective face mask walks past the Singapore Exchange (SGX) in Singapore on Apr 7, 2020. (File photo: REUTERS/Edgar Su)
23 Apr 2024 09:57AM
BookmarkShare

The Singapore Exchange Regulation (SGX RegCo) is proposing a rule change to help shareholders in calling special general meetings, as the city-state attempts to enhance corporate governance practices, the bourse's regulatory arm said on Tuesday (Apr 23).

Boliao

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.sc...give-next-pm-lawrence-wong-plenty-smile-about

Please leemember, we are in good hands

Singapore’s US$400 billion economy, soaring currency give next PM Lawrence Wong plenty to smile about​

• Wong, the city state’s incoming PM, will inherit a currency that has risen 40 per cent against its major trading partners over the past two decades
  • Under his predecessor Lee Hsien Loong, the economy has doubled in size and total assets under management have climbed to US$3.6 trillion

So why are things more expensive now with the currency rising 40% in value? Shouldn't imports be cheaper?

k1976

Sea Billionaire’s Wife to Buy Singapore Mansion for $31 Million​

• Li owns an adjacent plot near the Singapore Botanic Gardens
  • Luxury property sales in the financial hub have slowed

The Botanic Gardens and Gallop Road area of Singapore.

Source: Google Maps
By Nurin Sofia and Low De Wei
April 22, 2024 at 2:25 PM GMT+8

The wife of tech billionaire Forrest Li is set to acquire a mansion in one of Singapore’s most coveted residential areas, even as the luxury property market remains in a lull.

Ma Liqian filed an option in April to buy a so-called good class bungalow on Gallop Road for S$42.5 million ($31 million), according to documents seen by Bloomberg News. The house sits on a 1,552 square-meter (16,706 square-foot) plot of land.

k1976

https://kr-asia.com/alibaba-cloud-ignites-ai-innovation-in-singapore-with-recent-hackathon

Alibaba Cloud ignites AI innovation in Singapore with recent hackathon​

Written byKrASIA Writers Published on 27 Mar 2024 2 mins read

The event witnessed 21 diverse teams developing AI applications, vying for prizes exceeding SGD 50,000 in value.

On March 7 and 8, 2024, Alibaba Cloud organized an artificial intelligence hackathon in Singapore, hosted at its office in Lazada One. The event attracted 117 developers from diverse backgrounds, forming a total of 21 competing teams, including representatives from enterprises, university students, and independent developers.
The participants collectively delivered 17 AI applications leveraging various solutions offered by Alibaba Cloud, such as Platform for AI, AnalyticDB for PostgreSQL, ECS, and notably, the company’s natural language processing (NLP) application, Tongyi Qianwen. These tools, designed to tackle real-world challenges, provided participants with an avenue to showcase their creativity and technical capabilities.
Alibaba-Cloud-Hackathon-2-1024x683.jpg
The hackathon participants hailed from a diverse range of backgrounds. Photo courtesy of Alibaba Cloud.
The hackathon offered a total prize pool exceeding SGD 50,000 in value, comprising both cash rewards and cloud computing resources. The awardees were selected by a judging panel comprising subject experts based in Singapore. They include:
  • Neil Han, president of TGO Singapore, and founder and CEO of Reddio.
  • Zhang Bingxue, visiting associate professor at the National University of Singapore.
  • Jayden Wei, founding partner and chairman of OGBC Innovation Hub.
  • Wang Yong, assistant professor at the Singapore Management University.
  • Yang Kan, head of solutions at Alibaba Cloud (South APAC)

k1976

U see, sg is really a global tech talent center but many many jealous of our success de woh

k1976

JACK MA’S WIFE BUYS SHOPHOUSES IN SINGAPORE’S TANJONG PAGAR AT UP TO $37M​

2024/02/23 BY BEATRICE LAFORGA LEAVE A COMMENT

70 Duxton Road

Clifton Partners bought the trio of shophouses for a reported S$22 million (Image source: Clifton Partners)
Despite stamp duties and investigations, wealthy mainland investors are still banking on Singapore properties, with the wife of the country’s best known tech tycoon having purchased a row of shophouses in the Tanjong Pagar area last month for a reported S$45 million to S$50 million ($33.5 million to $37.2 million).
Zhang Ying, who married Alibaba co-founder Jack Ma in 1988 after the pair graduated from university together in Hangzhou, is the sole director of entities which purchased 70, 71 and 72 Duxton Road, a set of conserved shophouses near the city’s central business district, according to caveats filed with the Singapore Land Authority in January.

Zhang purchased the properties, which together span 10,174 square feet (945 square metres) of gross floor area, from Zain Fancy, a former Morgan Stanley executive who now operates local property investment firm Clifton Partners, according to the public records. Those caveats confirm an earlier report by the Business Times, with the news account also providing the estimated price tag.

While Ma, who set up Alibaba in 1999 before building it into China’s largest e-commerce player, is said to be based in Japan, Zhang Ying, who also goes by the English name Cathy, is now a Singapore citizen, and in 2019 was reported to have purchased a good class bungalow in the city-state’s Victoria Park area for $40 million. That fully detached home was later demolished to make way for a more modern luxury house.