• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WKS very free these days...

G

General Veers

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="789"><tbody><tr> <td colspan="3" height="26"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="5"> </td> <td colspan="2" valign="top" width="784"> Govt monitoring Singaporeans' reactions to church attacks in Malaysia
By Hoe Yeen Nie, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 17 January 2010 1742 hrs
<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="20">
</td> <td align="right" width="240">
phpzvNvS8.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="60" valign="top">
</td> <td class="update" height="80" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="47">1 of 1</td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" onclick="Prev();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" onclick="Play()" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " onclick="Next();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Wong Kan Seng
</td> </tr> <tr> <td>
</td> <td class="update">
</td> </tr> <tr> <td>
</td> <td>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>

SINGAPORE: The government is monitoring ground reactions here after recent attacks on places of worship in Malaysia.

Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng said ground reactions in Singapore have largely been calm.

In recent weeks there were attacks on churches in Malaysia after the High Court allowed a Catholic newspaper to use the word 'Allah' to denote God.

"I think Singaporeans must have a care not to bring problems like this to themselves," said DPM Wong at a community event in Singapore on Sunday.

"We live in an inter-connected world, we cannot be divorced from what happens in other countries. But at the same time we must be rational, and examine: when we bring such problems to our shores, what are we trying to do? Are we trying to express sympathy only, or will doing so result in more problems for our own community?"

Race and religion have always been seen as a potential minefield in Singapore.

And it's a perennial concern of authorities that if such issues are not handled quickly and carefully, they could erupt into something more serious.

With more immigrants coming to Singapore, efforts are being made to help new citizens and permanent residents understand the nation's ethnic realities.

For example, the National Integration Council will launch the Singapore Citizenship Journey in March this year.

The online programme will give information on Singapore's cultures, values and key institutions.

Mr Wong said: "Those who come here to make a living, to make this their home, ought to understand the local context and not allow what happens in their own home to affect what happens in Singapore."

Ethnic realities also mean that race-based policies will remain.

On the recent move to allow a person's mixed heritage to be recorded in official papers, Mr Wong said it is to give such individuals a choice. Whether that choice is exercised or not, it is up to them.

- CNA/ir

</td></tr></tbody></table>

commoner

see the cuckoo face with the cuckoo specs,,,,,, KNN,,,, people see that face how to take him seriously and somemore a short ass no less,,,,,,,,,,

VIBGYOR

"I think Singaporeans must have a care not to bring problems like this to themselves," said DPM Wong at a community event in Singapore on Sunday.

of course lah, you have control over the media, who knows what the locals are reading and thinking? :biggrin:

seriously if you don't discuss it, the problem is still there.....it will explode one day if everything is revealed...i think people need to be truthful in this matters and not to react with violence when people say something you don't like..

Char_Azn

WKS trying to redeem himself. After the major screwups with the Police force(Mas Selamat) and ICA("running road" of Took Leng How and Richard Yeong), now he is concentrating on the 1 thing that no one can screw up. Maintaining the religious harmony in SG. SG Muslims mostly moderate ones, SG Chinese mostly can't be bothered and SG Indians stick to their own community when it comes to religion. If he manage to screw this up then really champion liao

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
WKS trying to redeem himself. After the major screwups with the Police force(Mas Selamat) and ICA("running road" of Took Leng How and Richard Yeong), now he is concentrating on the 1 thing that no one can screw up. Maintaining the religious harmony in SG. SG Muslims mostly moderate ones, SG Chinese mostly can't be bothered and SG Indians stick to their own community when it comes to religion. If he manage to screw this up then really champion liao

By your above reasoning. He could not have ask anything more simple then ensure religious harmony among Singaporean.:biggrin::biggrin:

massorgy68

This year could be GE... But will the ppl of Bishan-Toa Payoh remember / forget what happened in 2008??? Most likely they are gonna sweep things under the carpet...

Char_Azn

By your above reasoning. He could not have ask anything more simple then ensure religious harmony among Singaporean.:biggrin::biggrin:

The hard work of creating racial harmony have been a long time ago. There is no work needed. U look around, Mats, Indians and Chinese work eat and play together. Sit beside a mat colleague during lunch with a plate of Kway Chap and they wont even flinch. Is there any need to do anything about racial harmony, U tell me :oIo::oIo::oIo:

He did a great job with the Macdonalds figurines

Right now WKS in charge of racial harmony, what U expect!!! :oIo::oIo::oIo: