• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will Singapore Hawkers lower food prices?

eeoror88

That was my response to that PAP dog Division1 who still thinks that all hawkers in Singapore are Singaporeans.

To be fair, I have to say that I hire PRC meimeis at my foodcourts to be servers and general workers.

However, they are the better workers as compared to Singaporean workers who are generally lazy, without initiative, and slow !! This is a fact !!

The way my Singapore workers do their tasks is as if I owe them a living like that !! I am not joking !!

The worst incident was this Singaporean worker I hired owe ahlong money and they created such a ruckus at my foodcourt !! Total madness.... until I personally come down to fucking diffuse the whole situation !!:mad::mad:

snrcitizen

I would not go so far as to paint all Singaporean workers with the same brush, but given that you are conducting a business, no one can put the blame on you for hiring the best workers for the job whether they be Singaporeans, or otherwise. :smile:

Jabba

if the nasi kandar is really 20 cents...singaporeans will be Q-ing along the north south highway all the way to KL...lol...talk abt nasi kandar..i ever tried this popular store in Penang...very nice...

ahbengsong

Our leaders are the best beyond reproach. I am afraid you continue to misunderstand the perceptiveness and abilities of out leaders as well as their loyalty to serve our country.

so i see... and your 'leaders' have to pay themselves the highest salaries for a govt just to see 'their loyalty to serve our country'... loyalty is money and that is how you are taught in obedient school ???

samurai1110

Don't blame our hawkers. They are just doing what everyone does. Do the buses, taxis & Mrt cut their price now that oil price has come down more than half? Do the banks reduce interest on credit cards, housing loans, business loans now that they are flooded with deposits that they give 'peanut' interest to their depositors for?
Foreign talents - when we are told to use them and how wonderful they are and can be why can't hawkers also make use of them?

omega

However, they are the better workers as compared to Singaporean workers who are generally lazy, without initiative, and slow !! This is a fact !!

There is a lot at stake for the PRC meimeis who is starting out in a new country. Just like our great grandfathers when they come here, they were also hardworking.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I have live through the 60s till now. And I have NEVER encounter any hawker reduce their price for a single cent.

This thread is irrelevant!

if the nasi kandar is really 20 cents...singaporeans will be Q-ing along the north south highway all the way to KL...lol...talk abt nasi kandar..i ever tried this popular store in Penang...very nice...

They are queuing at causeway & 2nd link :p

PAP trying to slow them down but as long as they insist on high profits more will go :rolleyes:

They are queuing at causeway & 2nd link :p

PAP trying to slow them down but as long as they insist on high profits more will go :rolleyes:

mayb, den, there wil try sumting like a 3/4 packet nasi kandar rule ... wen u leave sg, u must carry along 3/4 packet nasi kandar wif u ... ala 3/4 tank rule ... :wink: :rolleyes: :biggrin:

There is a lot at stake for the PRC meimeis who is starting out in a new country. Just like our great grandfathers when they come here, they were also hardworking.

There are alot of people out there with problems, including Singaporeans. Singapore gov't is supposed to represent OUR interests.

There is a conflict of interest, Spore Inc is choosing $$$ over the citizens welfare. If the PAP wants to do business & make $$$ they should get out of gov't. :rolleyes:

silverfox@

There is no way a hawker will reduce his price.
Personally I have never heard of or seen of.
But the only thing consumer can do is to avoid that stall if you think that stall is overcharging. As time goes, they will be out of business. New entries to the business will always want to give attractive pricing to consumers. Then we can see better pricing. If still pricey and not worth, the only thing can do is to avoid.:wink:

silverfox@

It depends on the profitability of the stall and the length of lease !!:eek:

Even if you reduce your tenant's rental,

your tenant will not go around telling others his rental has reduced and reduce his pricing for his food. It will only stop him for a while in increasing prices.:o

mockingbird

Even if you reduce your tenant's rental,

your tenant will not go around telling others his rental has reduced and reduce his pricing for his food. It will only stop him for a while in increasing prices.:o

I thought the hawker food prices are fixed by the foodcourt landlord.

silverfox@

I thought the hawker food prices are fixed by the foodcourt landlord.

A lot of aspects.
Depends on which foodcourt you go to.
There are general price range to follow.
One cannot slash his rice at $2 when everybody is selling their mains at $3.50 up. Promotion for a couple of days maybe, but not for long.

The foodcourt does not allow you to do that at the expense of the other tenants. However if the stall wants to increase sell high to leverage its own cost, then up to them to see whether they can drive themselves out of business.

If you read earlier, it was also with regards to a price increase due to rental increase. If rental reduce, even then the price of food would not be reduced.

Prices May Have Tumbled as Economy Sank: U.S. Economy Preview

By Bob Willis
Nov. 16 (Bloomberg) -- The cost of living in the U.S. probably fell in October by the most in almost sixty years, while manufacturing and homebuilding sank deeper into a recession, economists said before reports this week.
Consumer prices probably dropped 0.8 percent last month, the most since 1949, according to the median estimate in a Bloomberg News survey. Builders broke ground on the fewest houses in at least a half century and factory output weakened further, other reports may show.
Commodity costs plunged in October when the economy, which descended last quarter, went into freefall as credit and financial markets collapsed. Slumping sales are forcing retailers to lower prices, giving the Federal Reserve scope to keep cutting interest rates to limit the damage.
``Tumbling energy and commodity prices have altered the inflation landscape,'' said Ryan Sweet, a senior economist at Moody's Economy.com in West Chester, Pennsylvania. ``More rate cuts are needed as the economy is sinking deeper into recession.''
The Labor Department's consumer-price report is due Nov. 19. Fuel, clothing and auto costs probably dropped last month as sales at U.S. retailers fell 2.8 percent, the most since records began in 1992, economists said.
The slump in crude oil is feeding through to prices at the pump. The average cost of a gallon of regular gasoline plunged 17 percent last month to $3.08, according to AAA.
Commodity Deflation
``We are seeing the fallout of global recession on inflation,'' said Nigel Gault, chief U.S. economist at IHS Global Insight in Lexington, Massachusetts. ``In commodity prices, it's leading to deflation.''
Core prices, which exclude food and energy, rose 0.2 percent last month after a 0.1 percent gain the prior month, according to the survey median.
A report from the Labor Department on Nov. 18 may foreshadow the drop in retail costs. Wholesale prices fell 1.8 percent last month, the most since records began in 1947, according to economists surveyed.
As sales fall, manufacturers are cutting output and firing workers. Ford Motor Co. plans temporary shutdowns at nine North American plants this quarter after an 18 percent drop in U.S. sales this year, Angie Kozleski, a spokeswoman for the Dearborn, Michigan-based automaker, said last week.
Auto cutbacks probably pushed down manufacturing output last month, economists said a report from the Fed tomorrow may show. Overall industrial production, which includes factories, mines and utilities, rose 0.2 percent in October, led by a resumption of work at Gulf Coast refineries after Hurricane Ike shut down oil rigs the prior month, economists forecast.
Hurricane Rebound
A report from the New York Fed the same day may show manufacturing in the state contracted this month at the fastest pace since at least 2001. A similar report from the Philadelphia Fed on Nov. 20 may show regional activity shrank for an 11th time in 12 months.
The economic slump will intensify this quarter and persist into the first three months of 2009, making it the longest downturn since 1974-75, according to economists surveyed this month.
The housing recession at the heart of the economic downturn shows no signs of letting up. New-home starts in October dropped to a 780,000 annual pace, the lowest level since records began in 1959, the Commerce Department is forecast to report Nov. 19.
Outlook Dims
A gauge of the economy's course will point to continued weakness, economists project a private report on Nov. 20 will show. The New York-based Conference Board's index of leading economic indicators probably fell 0.6 percent after increasing 0.3 percent in September.
Central bankers are battling to cushion the economy from the worst financial crisis in seven decades.
``Policy makers will remain in close contact, monitor developments closely and stand ready to take additional steps should conditions warrant,'' Fed Chairman Ben S. Bernanke said Nov. 14 at a panel discussion in Frankfurt hosted by the European Central Bank.
Heads of state of the Group of 20, which represents almost 90 percent of world output, met in Washington Saturday to lay the framework for coordinated actions to stem the global recession.
To contact the report responsible for this story: Bob Willis in Washington at [email protected]
Last Updated: November 16, 2008 00:01 EST

>>>OVER the last two weeks, Malaysia's Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Shahrir Samad has been busy visiting nasi kandar restaurants and hypermarkets. <<<

While the Papayas and their running dogs are on jiat hong trips to exotic destinations en masse and fully funded by the Peasants despite being the BEST PAID in the world. Only Sporns can tahan such blatantlee leegalized corruption!

david

Blame it on the kopi tiam owner/food courts. The rents are so high that hawkers have to either serve small portions or sell at a high price. I heard some stalls are rented out at $6000 a month, some maybe more at the kopi tiam.

For HDB Hawker Centres, the rents are cheaper. I believe some rents out at less than $500 a month. For these stalls that serve small portion or charge high prices, they are the culprits and are profitering since their rents are cheaper compared to those in kopi tiam or private food courts.

** the $6000 and $500 are just estimates

nexus

the prices continue to go up! ingredients get less and less. the standard of food worse and worse! even hawkers employ foreigners to dish out local favourites and they taste like shit! singapore is out of control with far too many foreigners running this place.

i went down to the famous sengsong supermarket to buy a durian for my mum.cheap and good for $4 per kilo D24. the man serving is from china! he looks so threatening with the knife in his hand. first durian no good.he got angry.got worms and he said no worms. he insisted that i take. i said no. he got angry. then he picked another one and asked me repeatedly how many durians i wanted. i said let me decide after i've seen the durian.he got very angry and kept playing with his knife.he opened the next durian and i quickly took it and paid and left...just in case this man run amok and start chopping me up to pieces.

we got this type of foreigners now...so be very careful.

Wow... did not know that Durian Sellers are now consider as FT...
Have spore come to such a state that we even have to employ FT to sell durian...??

oh... my Singapore can be rename to Cinapore