• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why should you be worried by the 5 comments by SNEF

WikiTemasek

http://wikitemasek.org/why-should-you-be-worried-by-the-5-comments-by-snef/

Why should you be worried by the 5 comments by SNEF

After a consultation with 1000 employers, the Singapore National Employer Federation(SNEF) arrived to 5 anti-employee comments in the on-going review of the Employment Act by the Ministry of Manpower.

1) Proposal to change the existing over-time regime
SNEF propose that time-off in-liue of over-time hours could be given instead of hourly payment, so employers could “better manage costs, fluctuating business cycles and limited manpower”

2) OT pay for white collar workers be crafted in “employer-friendly terms”
Reiterating that employment costs will increase when white collar workers get OT pay, SNEF wants the Employment Act to be written in a pro-employer manner such that employers could implement them in a “flexible” way. SNEF did not explain in details.

3) Increase employment probation period to 1 to 2 years
SNEF proposed that there be a minimum service period for reinstatement appeals. Currently all confirmed employees are able to lodge an unfair dismissal appeal for reinstatement. Typically, the probation period is 6 months, subjected to every company’s discretion. But if SNEF gets their way, the probation period for employees will be 1 to 2 years.

4) Protection of low wage and contract workers should not raise compliance costs “too drastically and quickly”
SNEF did not explain in which instance did the compliance costs increased “drastically and quickly” since protection of low wage and contract workers in Singapore is almost non-existent.

5) Give employers greater rights and flexibility in managing HR benefits
SNEF wants the government to give the employers more rights and flexibility in managing employees’ benefits.

The 5 comments were particularly timed in light of the recent proposal by the NTUC to make employers pay OT hours clocked by white collar workers. The current labor policies legislate that only blue-collar workers are able to claim for OT pay, while the rest become exploited by employers to work unpaid OT hours. Along with the SNEF, the Association of Small and Medium Enterprises(ASME) has also expressed dissatisfaction over the NTUC proposal. It is understood that the two employer-interest groups strongly objected to the proposal as profits of the employers will be significantly affected if white collar workers are paid for their OT work, where 9 in 10 workers work past their official working hours according to the recent employment survey by Jobstreet [Source].

The recent increase in regulations to the Employment Act by the Ministry of Manpower legislated a number of policies that will give employers lesser freedom especially in HR benefits. Most employers were unaccustomed to the changes because of the lack of regulations they enjoyed in the past decades, resulting in exploitation of workers and triggering a series of low employment confidence like falling productivity, rising staff turn-over rate, declining employee loyalty, absence of work-life balance and depressed salaries. Such errant employment trends is common in Singapore because there is no independent workers unions to represent Singapore’s workers. The NTUC is managed by Ministers and MPs of the ruling PAP government, who often portray themselves as “pro-business”. Median salaries for the bottom 20% have been stagnant over the past decade [Source] while the employers chart record profits over the same period. The recent calls to increase salaries have been met with much objections of the employers with some threatening inflation of goods and services and pushing the blame to the workers for demanding higher salaries.

Low income workers in Singapore often have little or nothing left after paying off the living expenses in Singapore. Many like Mrs Tan [Source], do not visit a doctor even when they fell sick because their employers do not pay if they don’t work. Aside from exploiting low income workers, employers in Singapore also have a tendency to complain to the government or threaten inflation whenever they are not making enough profits. Unlike businesses in other countries, none of the Singapore’s SMEs manage to innovate, raise productivity, expand overseas and grow into the multi-national company status.

cuckoldoolittle

Why no one dare to mention bt rent is killing Sg businesses, instead of taking it out of the employees and going for cheap labor, they shd start a protest in the street to reduce rental. reduce office, factory, taxi, retail shops, hdb rental etc...

There's nothing wrong with being pro employer. After all, without employers, there would be no jobs.

Without employees, there would be no employers,,if employees are not important, than why Employers KPKB that they cant get workers and their operations are being affected? It takes 2 hands to clap,,and this SNEF recommendation is bullshit.,,but PAP will get its way,,,

There's nothing wrong with being pro employer. After all, without employers, there would be no jobs.

Without employees, there would be no employers,,if employees are not important, than why Employers KPKB that they cant get workers and their operations are being affected? It takes 2 hands to clap,,and this SNEF recommendation is bullshit.,,but PAP will get its way,,,

Yes but employees are a dime a dozen. Any fool can be an employee. It takes a bit more to run a viable enterprise.

ionzu

Yes but employees are a dime a dozen. Any fool can be an employee. It takes a bit more to run a viable enterprise.

then level the playing field and bring back the real unions and give back workers the right to strike. but your government doesn't dare do so as they know workers have much more power than businesses.

Why on earth would you want a bunch of idiots to be more powerful than the smart people. It is this sort of lunacy that brings down a country. It's collective blackmail.

Britain used to be an industrial powerhouse. The unions destroyed the country.

moolightaffairs

sam, u left sg for a long time liao and still talk like a brainless sme taokeh! still got the sinkie mentality!!!

u know why so many people want to join google??? because they dont think like u, what a dime a dozen! if this is your attitude, u will not get good people to work for u. like sg, u treat you own people lousy. who want to join u as a citizen??? if u think sg is such a good place, come back and setup your company here. walk the talk.

u know why so many people want to join google??? because they dont think like u,

People want to join google because they feel they can't start their own web based enterprise so they make a decision to work for Larry instead.

Anyone who works for google is easily replaceable.

moolightaffairs

People want to join google because they feel they can't start their own web based enterprise so they make a decision to work for Larry instead.

Anyone who works for google is easily replaceable.

i smell jealousy in this statement.

anyone who works for google is easily replaceable and google is so big??? lol!

u really got the sme thinking. sme also not bad lah, some sme can have millions turnover per year. hope u r one of them.

Loofydralb

I strongly disagree.

To run a business in Singapore you just need to be just slightly smarter than your stupid employees and just more guile than the public.

And we all know that 60% sinkies are dumb. So its easy to be a successful business owner in Singapore and be a spectacular failure elsewhere.

Thats the reason for them to stayi in business

i smell jealousy in this statement.

anyone who works for google is easily replaceable and google is so big??? lol!

No jealousy whatsoever. I've worked in company with 10,000 employees. Staff came and left and it didn't make a scrap of difference in the long run. It was a reality check.

moolightaffairs

No jealousy whatsoever. I've worked in company with 10,000 employees. Staff came and left and it didn't make a scrap of difference in the long run. It was a reality check.

reality check is u r one of the a dime a dozen employee and of cos u didn't make a scrap of difference when u left.

That was my point exactly. As an employee, you may think that you're some sort of star performer but in reality, you're just a digit. All my contributions didn't even make a ripple. Whoever took over was just as insignificant and made no difference either.

moolightaffairs

That was my point exactly. As an employee, you may think that you're some sort of star performer but in reality, you're just a digit. All my contributions didn't even make a ripple. Whoever took over was just as insignificant and made no difference either.

there u r. although u r not a star performer, but if employer without employee how can his business take off? of cos, some are so call star performer like u mentioned. but if u don't treat them well, do u think star performer will stay? or in the first place, will a star performer join u if u dont treat your employee well?

Kinana

Why no one dare to mention bt rent is killing Sg businesses, instead of taking it out of the employees and going for cheap labor, they shd start a protest in the street to reduce rental. reduce office, factory, taxi, retail shops, hdb rental etc...

Rentals are based on market forces. If demand is low or supply is too high, the rentals will automatically fall.

Bigfuck

Rentals are based on market forces. If demand is low or supply is too high, the rentals will automatically fall.

Your contribution is based on your on farting forces. A matter of supply in your own fart buildup. Take medicine for the gas lah

1. sammy, you should set up sweat shops in the land of the ganges.
2. you should settle in there pretty comfortable there!