• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why isn't anybody claiming damages from the bloody SMRT?

Singaporeans have been taught since school to be obedient to authority. It is bad and wrong to question teachers, authority. This is further reinforced at NS. You complain, make sure upstairs doesn't hear it, otherwise, you kena charge. This subservience permeates Singapore society. Any rabble rousers are quickly identified and nibbed in the bud. So the land has become a land of obedient, law-abiding good citizens. Just observe the pedestrian crossing when it displays a red man and there are no cars both ways - nobody crosses right? What a law-abiding society it is, so easy to rule. Your press calls it good leadership. Never mind, as long as the char-kwey teow tastes good, life is good.

How can life be good when the folks can't afford char kway teow anymore?

The working class and the elderly is feeling the rising costs of living - although it is not the government's doing totally, but too bad for them, they bare the brunt of it. My feel is the PAP has lost the bulk of the electorate BUT many people are not convinced that the opposition is a viable replacement for the current institution, which is by now a behemoth machine. These fears are not real as "natural" forces, or other organisations are in place to work the system, and the region is still peaceful and quite stable. Many times I hear people doubting the ability of opposition parties' capability - but I say, they're all people, same as the PAP. The voters need not fear casting their votes to the opposition, but whether this will effect changes to improve their lives, that depends on many other factors, many of which are not in one's control. At the end of the day, it makes no difference to who they vote for, many things will remain unchanged.

The realities of life will force sinkees to embrace the opposition with their votes. The freebies given by the government will not be sufficient to erase the marked decline in their standard of living. If the Opposition can deliver the message to sinkees, then they don't deserve to govern.

Agoraphobic

Yes. It is hope that the hardhips of reality will turn the voter to look for the underdog. The "state"-run media sings praises and supports the regime with little or no light shone on the opposition. It is very apparent the "freebies" and gift packages going around now. Well, that's part of politics.

The realities of life will force sinkees to embrace the opposition with their votes. The freebies given by the government will not be sufficient to erase the marked decline in their standard of living. If the Opposition can deliver the message to sinkees, then they don't deserve to govern.

Yes. It is hope that the hardhips of reality will turn the voter to look for the underdog. The "state"-run media sings praises and supports the regime with little or no light shone on the opposition. It is very apparent the "freebies" and gift packages going around now. Well, that's part of politics.

We live in a communist country politically and a pseudo market economy. We are no different from China.

Somewhat disagree. Singapore is a democratic country, but through elections, her citizens have voted for a totalitarian regime.

that's how the pap controls the minds of the sillyzens. they implanted the seed of FEAR, ANXIETY AND APPREHENSION and many other negative emotions with the main purpose to relaying the very important vital message that either the sillyzens vote them in over and over again or face the dire consequence of extinction and more sufferings.

just look at the mannerism of most sgpreans. most of them were so brainwashed, they cannot be bothered what's happening.....as long as it doesn't happen badly on themselves, they simply switch off and BO CHAP.

Agoraphobic

Well, Old Harry was a suave and very able politician, he covered all angles in his work and was completely thorough. Honestly, not one person in the local political scene even came close. He got the media, judiciary, military, and private businesses all behind him. Peoples (many) in Peesai revere him the status of a god. Well, it has come to this level because of this one man's doing. Too bad his successors will not be able to measure up or live up to his legacy, they are living too comfortably in his wake of the ripples he's left. I think things are slowly changing though.

that's how the pap controls the minds of the sillyzens. they implanted the seed of FEAR, ANXIETY AND APPREHENSION and many other negative emotions with the main purpose to relaying the very important vital message that either the sillyzens vote them in over and over again or face the dire consequence of extinction and more sufferings.

just look at the mannerism of most sgpreans. most of them were so brainwashed, they cannot be bothered what's happening.....as long as it doesn't happen badly on themselves, they simply switch off and BO CHAP.

bic_cherry

someone should. in fact all those very stressfully affected by their frequent breakdowns should.
the gahmen if really treating the citizens fairly should implement this law and set the rate of compensation instead of fining SMRT which simply is a left pocket transferring to the right pocket $
when we default, they fine us ...for eating, for drinking and maybe for farting and etc. but when the guns point back at them, how cum there isn't compensation from them? this doesn't sound fair, right?
the law should be blind and therefore has to be EQUAL. if SMRT abuses that to fine us, why can't that apply to them to fine them to COMPENSATE US? yes, compensate us and not another wayang of "paying the fines" to the gahmen cos the gahmen is SMRT. how can they implicate a law to summon themselves? it's the same damn avaricious pockets.
don't you agree?
U can try, though ai won't be surprised if LTA minister came out to say that MRT operations and operability are 2 separate issues.
fare-hike.jpg

Anyhow, Sinkapoor is almost a PTE Ltd. Company owned and run be Lee family as they say, U don't know meh, just like U go sungei road and buy a product: street vendor says no warranty, U bring home spoil is suck thumb case cos that is contract between two of you, U go back he will say do not recognize you. MRT is the same, think their terms and conditions will state compensation is like a free bus bridging service or else refund of train fare paid (if U can be bothered to do it on their website): just like NS, Sinkaporeans always indoctrinated to suck thumb.

To me, take train is luxury cos it requires fossil fuel and all humans need to exercise, so I think ride bicycle is better way of transport for masses and PAP should facilitate that.
Singapore must not be like China, now city is in mess, once it was possible to cycle, but now air pollution in Beijing is so bad, cycling has become a luxury that even the rich can ill afford (at the expense of their health).

Sinkapore is a low lying island-city state, if Sinkapore behaves like the rest of the world in racing to burn more fossil fuels and waste money on needless healthcare cost brought on by over eating and sedentary life, then Sinkaporeans better get a Johore or Indonesia PR status, cos when sea levels rise and this small island sinks, those without such options will have nowhere to go...

And tourist arrival will dwindle, as MRT breakdown, stinky haze, high taxi fares and miserable, plastered faced citizens on MRT trains, scare them away from Sinkapoor, the sinking island-state.

Well, Old Harry was a suave and very able politician, he covered all angles in his work and was completely thorough. Honestly, not one person in the local political scene even came close. He got the media, judiciary, military, and private businesses all behind him. Peoples (many) in Peesai revere him the status of a god. Well, it has come to this level because of this one man's doing. Too bad his successors will not be able to measure up or live up to his legacy, they are living too comfortably in his wake of the ripples he's left. I think things are slowly changing though.

harry might be a tight arse (and hence his name KY) BUT we know that he's doing it all for the ppl then. the present load of clowns are doing more for themselves and their pockets and hence the demand for ransom of $million. when they put $$ before their hearts, everything that they do or profess to be for the ppl, it becomes dubious.

anyway, most of the policies are not to the advantageous of the ppl but rather to the advantages of those clowns. when they can still cum up with things like: INCREASED GST IS TO HELP MORE..... we can confirm we have a bunch of very expensive clowns....and not just clowns but EVIL CLOWNS :(

U can try, though ai won't be surprised if LTA minister came out to say that MRT operations and operability are 2 separate issues.
fare-hike.jpg

Anyhow, Sinkapoor is almost a PTE Ltd. Company owned and run be Lee family as they say, U don't know meh, just like U go sungei road and buy a product: street vendor says no warranty, U bring home spoil is suck thumb case cos that is contract between two of you, U go back he will say do not recognize you. MRT is the same, think their terms and conditions will state compensation is like a free bus bridging service or else refund of train fare paid (if U can be bothered to do it on their website): just like NS, Sinkaporeans always indoctrinated to suck thumb.

To me, take train is luxury cos it requires fossil fuel and all humans need to exercise, so I think ride bicycle is better way of transport for masses and PAP should facilitate that.
Singapore must not be like China, now city is in mess, once it was possible to cycle, but now air pollution in Beijing is so bad, cycling has become a luxury that even the rich can ill afford (at the expense of their health).

Sinkapore is a low lying island state, if Sinkapore behaves like the rest of the world in racing to burn more fossil fuels and waste money on needless healthcare cost brought on by over eating and sedentary life, then Sinkaporeans better get a Johore or Indonesia PR status, cos when sea levels rise and this small island sinks, those without such options will have nowhere to go...

And tourist arrival will dwindle, as MRT breakdown, stinky haze, high taxi fares and miserable looking citizens on MRT trains, scare them away from Sinkapoor.

WOW! txs for the sharing. i owe u points :wink: but for now i ve exhausted my powers. IOU lst :biggrin: