• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WHY Eric Tan Heng Chong should be NMP for the 12th parliament

brocoli

Eric-Tan-Heng-Chong.jpg

1) He is non-partisan
2) WP will effectively have 9 MPs in Parlianment since he actually formulate many of the hare-brain polices that WP are championing now.
3) PAP might just approve him because of the effectiveness of the divide and conquer strategy that they used so sucessfully with Jiak Sai
4) He has legitimacy since he is the leader of the best losing GRC
5) He ish related to Glenda Han Su May

Annoyed

If the policies are indeed, in your words, hare-brained; I fail to comprehend why there needs to be one more person pushing them.

2) WP will effectively have 9 MPs in Parlianment since he actually formulate many of the hare-brain polices that WP are championing now.

Fook Seng

Windsor said:
Can Tan Cheng Bock be in the list?

Also TKL and TJS so that they all can have a say - the voice of the people and the most independent of the independents. This will pave the way for them in the next election whichever comes first - GE, PE or by-election. In addition, it will allow TKL to recover his deposit.

psy83

M Ravi to push for Human Rights. Ah neh got balls to speak out.. We dont need another person who watches his word.. We need someone aggressive.

psy83

who the fark ish dat ??? do we need another argumentative ah neh ???

:oIo: PAP IB lap dog. You obviously want that dude cos you know he would sit still and be of no use to parliament or for the Opposition. Smart Pap Troll.

silentisgolden

how about this 2 guy?

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hl6Ywi0yDRk?version=3&feature=player_detailpage"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hl6Ywi0yDRk?version=3&feature=player_detailpage" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

how about this 2 guy?

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hl6Ywi0yDRk?version=3&feature=player_detailpage"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Hl6Ywi0yDRk?version=3&feature=player_detailpage" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

If TT mati while in office, this couple can be our president and first lady. Doesn't matter who is who - president or 1st lady. Maybe they can take turn.

Windsor

Also TKL and TJS so that they all can have a say - the voice of the people and the most independent of the independents. This will pave the way for them in the next election whichever comes first - GE, PE or by-election. In addition, it will allow TKL to recover his deposit.

On second thought, TCB is probably not a good choice because he is EP material and it will lower his dignity. As for the other 2, I doubt they will be very articulate and of the calibre that will shake the parliament. There are many good ladies who need exposure and perhaps we should take a look at them as a possible candidate.

There are many good ladies who need exposure and perhaps we should take a look at them as a possible candidate.

Wasn't there a rotation for the infamous christian fundie Thio Li Ann several years ago? NMP scheme lacks legitimacy because nominees represent narrow secular interests not backed by popular mandate. I observed that it allows these narrow interests to bypass standard democratic process (through parliamentary representation) from Parties which could represent them, and the PAP which is unwilling to represent them openly, if they were ever interested to in the first place. Don't crack your heads over this, because NMP appointments are made with an agenda in mind, a vent of some sorts or 'divine favour' for these fringe groups depending on your perspective, which will only be done to the benefit of incumbent vote bank.

With all due respects to Eric Tan, bringing him in is stirring shit with WP, and brocoli knows it. It would be a sight to watch though, NMP opposing minority opposition party.

They have approached people that are not keen to be politicians and are also looking for sectoral representation such as in industries, social groups etc. It is not meant for politicians or failed politicians.

brocoli

They have approached people that are not keen to be politicians and are also looking for sectoral representation such as in industries, social groups etc. It is not meant for politicians or failed politicians.

prease lah, the preisendent was not mean for politicians alsho

With all due respects to Eric Tan, bringing him in is stirring shit with WP, and brocoli knows it. It would be a sight to watch though, NMP opposing minority opposition party.

dats ish huat PAP will think ok ??? dat Eric Tan will stir shit with WP... and they might approve him based on that ... we already saw how low they can get by approving Tan Jiak Sai and lett his ego do the damage for them..

Ego nonwithstanding, the difference with Tan Jiak Sai ish dat Eric has been a WP stalwart for much of the last decade ....

with all due respect to the WP leadership, most of them are either lecturers, businessmen, Lawyers and social workers.. only Eric Tan and later Show Mao have any economic training finance working experience

many of the hare-brain socialists policy rike nationalising the transport and flat pegging to median income... no doubt come from him, since he continue to defend this policy on publichouse and TOC after resignation..
Even Gerald Giam acknowledge him as a mentor and say Eric taught him much about econ and finance

as Goh Meng Seng say there is no permanent enemy in politics

I hav no doubt that once Eric is in Parliament, he will work have with WP on a common agenda because of resource constraint and their long history back

most importantly if Eric ish NMP, he will have to be nonpartisan and cant join in any anti WP coalition that Tan Jiak Sai ish formulating.... he will not become another Goh Meng Seng, bitter that party he help build has now left him behind...

up moi points if chiu rike ....

wikiphile

prease lah, the preisendent was not mean for politicians alsho

dats ish huat PAP will think ok ??? dat Eric Tan will stir shit with WP... and they might approve him based on that ... we already saw how low they can get by approving Tan Jiak Sai and lett his ego do the damage for them..

That is what the PAP will think. Eric Tan stirring up shit with the WP and he will be in their good grace. We have already saw how low they can go when they approved Tan Jin Lian during the PE

Ego nonwithstanding, the difference with Tan Jiak Sai ish dat Eric has been a WP stalwart for much of the last decade ....

Ego Notwithstanding (i have no idea what that expression means, totally lost in context), the difference between Tan Jin Lian and Eric is that Eric has been a stalwart member of WP for the last decade or so

with all due respect to the WP leadership, most of them are either lecturers, businessmen, Lawyers and social workers.. only Eric Tan and later Show Mao have any economic training finance working experience

With all due respect to the WP leaders, most of them are either lecturers, businessmen, lawyers and social workers. Only Eric Tan and Chen Show Mao have experience in the finance industry

many of the hare-brain socialists policy rike nationalising the transport and flat pegging to median income... no doubt come from him, since he continue to defend this policy on publichouse and TOC after resignation..
Even Gerald Giam acknowledge him as a mentor and say Eric taught him much about econ and finance

Many hare-brain socialists kept harping on nationalising public transport and pegging median incomes to flat ownership. It is without a doubt those came from him and he has been defending his thoughts on public housing on TOC after his resignation from the WP. Even Gerald Giam acknowldeged Eric Tan as his mentor on economics and finance

as Goh Meng Seng say there is no permanent enemy in politics

As what Goh Meng Seng have mentioned - there are no permanent enemies in politics

I hav no doubt that once Eric is in Parliament, he will work have with WP on a common agenda because of resource constraint and their long history back

I have no doubt that once Eric is in Parliament, he will work together with the WP on a common agenda due to a constraint on resources and their history

most importantly if Eric ish NMP, he will have to be nonpartisan and cant join in any anti WP coalition that Tan Jiak Sai ish formulating.... he will not become another Goh Meng Seng, bitter that party he help build has now left him behind...

Most importantly, if Eric is a NMP, he will have to be non-partisan and cannot be involved in any anti-WP coalition that Tan Jin Lian is planning. He will not be another Goh Meng Seng, who is embittered at the party that he has left behind

[/I]up moi points if chiu rike ....

Please up my points if you like the above

You might want to brush up your grammar/syntax/vocabularly before i do, see the corrections in bold. Coming from someone who blasted Faisal for his lack of academic achievements, this is rich. I would suggest another forum for you to spread your atrocious English and half baked singlish - Eat Drink Man Woman at Hard Ware Zone

Your Malaysian English is obvious to those who are familiar with it, you are a jiu hu kia? I suspect you are :smile:

Somehow your response gave me the impression that there is one NMP scheme for non-politicians, and another NMP scheme for "best-losers" of the General Elections. I think they are mutually exclusive. Of course I don't know for sure, but if that's true this implies Eric Tan, TCB, TJS are all not meant to be eligible.