• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Who Is Learning From Whom And Who Is Better? - SINGAPORE - MALAYSIA..Discuss

Kohliantye

Malaysia is introducing a sort of tax similar to GST.

First they copied the RZ, then the coupon parking and now the latest - GST.

Due to some reasons, Malaysians discarded the beautiful Sarong-Kebaya that brought fame to Maria Menados.

SIA quickly took it and it became an international icon.

Malaysia sell us their cheap water and buy it back from us. Same with PUB Electricity that is supplied to JB.

Just like I have rice and give it to you to wash, cook and then sell it back to me.

Seems that Malaysia has no ideas of its own and just follow BLINDLY.

Their international cries against certain issues also placed them on the wrong foot.

There is something mysterious blocking them from the creation of ideas of their own.

It is a huge and lovely country BUT in wrong hands.

Singapore is a tiny island-state but also had created problems for her people.

Were the British far better administrators in Malaya and Colony of Singapore?

Please discuss.

You expect more from a bunch of Malay Muslims? :rolleyes:

If you want an example of the inferiority of the darker skinned communities and the superiority of the Ang Mohs, all you have to do is compare the Nordic states with Africa.

Kohliantye

You expect more from a bunch of Malay Muslims? :rolleyes:

If you want an example of the inferiority of the darker skinned communities and the superiority of the Ang Mohs, all you have to do is compare the Nordic states with Africa.

Sir, this is an open discussion.

Anyway thanks for your contribution.

enterprise2

Malaysia is how many times the size of Spore and x times the pop and natural resources. They have deep pocket resources so they can afford to lose some things to us!!

Asterix

Singapore is a tiny island-state but also had created problems for her people.

Please discuss.

No matter how good the Brits were as administrators
They were administering foreign places as colonisers
In other words when push comes to shove
Greater good of the motherland prevails
Motherland means “Great Britain” period
To their credit they can see the wood for the trees

Democracy is the best among various ugly options
Only if the citizenry is educated and not just trained
So the problem with both Malaysia and Singapore
Lies in the citizenry as much as in bad politicians
People of other places have woken up
Are Sinkies still asleep or what?

Malaysia is introducing a sort of tax similar to GST ... Seems that Malaysia has no ideas of its own and just follow BLINDLY ... There is something mysterious blocking them from the creation of ideas of their own ...
alamak! ...

sinkielan oso oni copy tings from other ppl wat ... if sinkielan copy msia, sinkielan happy mah? ... msia copy sinkielan, sinkielan lidat can boast n b happy mah ...

alamak! ...

sinkielan oso oni copy tings from other ppl wat ... if sinkielan copy msia, sinkielan happy mah? ... msia copy sinkielan, sinkielan lidat can boast n b happy mah ...

The Singapore GST system was copied wholesale from NZ which is an Ang Moh country. Ang Mohs are the best.

Boss if that's the case maybe we should also copy the Ang Moh's welfare system..:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

The welfare system started off as an excellent concept. However, the liberal left wing loonies have ruined it for all eternity.

Asterix

The welfare system started off as an excellent concept. However, the liberal left wing loonies have ruined it for all eternity.

Therefore, we should not copy any system, be it GST or whatever, lock stock and barrel, from another country.

These grossly overpaid Ministars need to do some real work such as ... ... ...

Agoraphobic

To begin with, Singapore had a headstart (in terms of urbanisation). When the Brits left, Singapore was already built-up, had a larger Chinese population (percentage), Malaya was still largely ulu (except for KL, which was built by Chinese, and Penang and Malacca, which were built by Western powers, and settled by immigrant Chinese. So the Malays had catching up to do, which in similar ways, Malaya had catching up to do. Since that time, Singapore's progress was easy - look at developed countries, and copy. Malaya was about one to two decades behind, but nevertheless, they stil got going. At this point, Singapore is quite developed, and with no one to follow, has gotten quite lost. Malaya (and all other South East Asian countries) have mostly got their political mess sorted out, and are on the beginning of the new era in their development and civilizations; right now, the sentiment in Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, Philippines, and even Myanmar is fresh and virulent. Singapore looks stuck. That is my view.

Please discuss.

Therefore, we should not copy any system, be it GST or whatever, lock stock and barrel, from another country.

These grossly overpaid Ministars need to do some real work such as ... ... ...

There is nothing wrong with copying a system. Steve Jobs was famous for helping himself to the technology developed by other companies.

However, he had the skill and the foresight to make use of the technology to develop remarkable products.

The PAP is the same. They used the systems developed by other countries and used them to build a country that is wildly successful and is the envy of the Western world. The GDP per capita of Singapore is now more than double that of NZ.

Asterix

There is nothing wrong with copying a system. Steve Jobs was famous for helping himself to the technology developed by other companies.

However, he had the skill and the foresight to make use of the technology to develop remarkable products.

I did not say don't copy others period
Due attention need to be paid
To the words LOCK STOCK AND BARREL
Since you own this forum
I shall not use the T word

If as you said welfare system is good idea
Gone awry for being hijacked by left wingers
Then we should copy the good parts
Discard the bad and add bells and whistles
To adapt to our own unique circumstances

And as the system is being implemented
Unforeseen and unforeseeable emerge
To monitor, supervise, adjust, et cetera
Then nobody will accuse Ministars
Of being silly lazy good for nothing TWITS

morale of the average urban malaysian is at an all time low after losing the last election. The urban middle class are subsequently punished by the introduction of gst, which will not even touch the rural guys significantly as most food items will be exempted.
The fate of the country now lies with the politicians of sabah and sarawak. They can, if they want, form their own coalition away from either BN or the anwar led opposition. That means the winner from now on, will always be a minority government if this happens.

On the other hand, sinkies are on the roll presently. All the big deals and news coming non stop. 2nd biggest gambling hub, energy trading hub, shipping hub, education hub.........

scbccb

Bang, how come you never go Istana protest about the gambling hub and singapore pools? :eek:

On the other hand, sinkies are on the roll presently. All the big deals and news coming non stop. 2nd biggest gambling hub, energy trading hub, shipping hub, education hub.........

scbccb

Boss Sam, you are one of the rare ones who have successfully checked out and LEFT. Can you tell me why 好馬不吃回頭草?

The PAP is the same. They used the systems developed by other countries and used them to build a country that is wildly successful and is the envy of the Western world. The GDP per capita of Singapore is now more than double that of NZ.

bryanlim1972

If as you said welfare system is good idea
Gone awry for being hijacked by left wingers
Then we should copy the good parts
Discard the bad and add bells and whistles
To adapt to our own unique circumstances

we should just hang 'em if they are caught cheating the 3rd time. harvest their organs, auction it off, money goes to family.
open heart, iron fist.

bryanlim1972

a distant memory from an old friend; edited.

1) Stupidity -- It's too bad that stupidity isn't painful. Ignorance is one thing, but our society thrives increasingly on stupidity. It depends on people going along with whatever they are told. The media promotes a cultivated stupidity as a posture that is not only acceptable but laudable. (?) must learn to see through the tricks and cannot afford to be stupid.

2) Pretentiousness -- Empty posturing can be most irritating and isn't applying the cardinal rules. On equal footing with stupidity for what keeps the money in circulation these days. Everyone's made to feel like a big shot, whether they can come up with the goods or not.

3) Solipsism -- Solipsism can be very dangerous. Projecting your reactions, responses, and sensibilities onto someone else who is probably far less attuned that you are. It is the mistake of expecting people to give you the same consideration, courtesy, and respect that you naturally give them. They won't. Instead strive to apply the dictum of "Do unto others as they do
onto you." It's work for most of us and requires constant vigilance lest you slip into a comfortable illusion of everyone being like you. As has been said, certain utopias would be ideal in a nation of philosophers, but unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately, from a Machiavellian viewpoint) we are from that point.

4) Self-Deciet -- Another cardinal sin. We must not pay homage to any of the sacred cows presented to us, including the roles we are expected to play ourselves. The only time self-deceit should be entered is when it is fun, and with awareness. But then, it's not self-deciet!

5) Herd Conformity -- . It's all right to conform to a person's wishes, if it ultimately benefits you. But only fools follow along with the herd, letting an impersonal entity dictate to you. The key is to choose a master wisely instead of being enslaved by the whims of many.

6) Lack of Perspective -- You must never lose sight of who and what you are, and what a threat you can be, by your very existence. We are making history right now, everyday. Always keep the wider historical and social picture in mind. See the patterns and fit the things together as you want the pieces to fall into place. So not be swayed herd constraints--know that you are working on another level entirely from the rest of the world.

7) Forgetfulness of Past Orthodoxies -- Be aware that this one of the keys to brainwashing people into accepting something as "new" and "different", when in reality it's something that was once widely accepted but is now presented in a new package. We are expected to rave about the genius of the "creator" and forget the original. This makes for a disposable society.

8) Counterproductive Pride -- The first word is important. Pride is great up to the point you begin to throw out the baby with the bath water. if it works for you, great. When it stops working for you, when you've painted yourself into a corner and the only way out is to say, "I'm sorry, I made a mistake, I wish we could compromise somehow," then do it

9) Lack of Aesthetics -- It's not what's supposed to be pleasing--it's what is. Aesthetics is a highly personal thing, reflective of one's own nature, but there are universally pleasing and harmonious configurations that should not be denied.

bryanlim1972

Please discuss.

the british became better administrators after the communist insurgency depending on who you ask. the natives probably werent too pleased with having to accept a whole bunch of new chinese citizens.

the malays do whats best for the malays. the british does what's best for the british. now najib is doing what's best for najib.