• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Where to find this kind of woman officer in the SAF?

from mothership.sg:

Female SAF medical officer the first to complete gruelling Guards Conversion Course​

1623833161335.png

One Singaporean woman to celebrate, International Women's Day or not, is Captain Ng Chen Hui, the first female medical officer in the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) to complete the highly intensive Guards Conversion Course (GCC).

ng chen hui saf
Image courtesy of MINDEF / Pioneer.

Ng, whose Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT) score is 98 out of 100 points, was featured on March 6 by Pioneer, the online magazine of the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF).

SAF scholarship recipient​

According to her LinkedIn profile, Ng studied at NUS High School of Mathematics and Science.

The now-25-year-old then received the SAF Medicine Scholarship, and completed her medical studies at the National University of Singapore before returning to SAF to be army battalion medical officer with the Army Deployment Force (ADF), reported Pioneer.

ADF is a combat unit consisting of all-regulars that conducts niche operations in counter-terrorism, overseas peace support, and more.

Two weeks into starting her new position, though, Ng asked to undergo the Guards Conversion Course (GCC), despite it not being a requirement for her position.

The reason she gave to Pioneer for wanting to go through GCC was that it was a way for her to connect with the team of medics she led:

"Coming in, as a young 24-year-old girl, I felt that I need to go through some kind of common experience with them so that I can connect with them at a different level."

Positive attitude toward gruelling GCC​

Ng was the only female trainee during her GCC, and had the same training regimen as the rest of the group for the course of the five weeks.

However, she said, she never expected to be treated differently from the men: "I pulled my own weight, and the guys respected me for that."

Despite the extremely difficult tasks, which included heli-rappelling, a 1km coastal swim and 10km combat march, Ng maintained a positive spirit through it all.

For example, she told Pioneer that a very difficult crawl felt like she "was crawling in teh peng", that the 1km coastal swim was like a fun swim in the ocean, and that she took her time heli-rappelling in order to "enjoy the scenery".

Screenshot-2020-03-06-at-6.09.35-PM.png
Image courtesy of MINDEF / Pioneer.

Leadership​

Ng leads a team of about 10 combat medics, and she takes that responsibility very seriously, particularly because they are an operational unit training for the prospect of a real conflict:

"I train my BCS boys personally. I take it as my responsibility because their proficiency will affect casualties that we would face in real operations".

ng chen hui saf
Ng (left) treating a simulated casualty. Image courtesy of MINDEF / Pioneer.

She is also responsible for her team's well-being, offering them a listening ear regarding their concerns when they need one.

She also spoke about how she is thankful for the opportunity to "take charge of someone else's life", calling it the "privilege of command".

ng chen hui saf
Ng (left) with her team of medics. Image courtesy of MINDEF / Pioneer.

Message for other women​

According to Pioneer, Ng pointed out that other women before her have also completed the GCC.

One such woman was the first female non-Guards officer to complete GCC, Captain Julianah Jamal in 2014.

Ng's message to other women thinking of joining the military is to consider their motivation:

"Physical fitness can always be trained. For those who want to sign on, you just need to be clear about what your goal is.
Are you here to serve? If you are, then a lot of these concerns are secondary.
You must have faith in yourself and believe that you can do it."

from asiaone.com:

Army women who survived Tekong share how they handled their period in the jungle​

Think you have it bad when Aunt Flo decides to pay a visit?

Before complaining about typical menstrual maladies like cramps, backaches or breakouts, you might want to spare a thought for women who probably have it way worse.

We're talking about the brave ladies who have dedicated themselves to the service of protecting our nation, and part of their training involves roughing it out in the damp jungles of Pulau Tekong.

Already undergoing a programme designed to test their physical and mental limits, those who are suay (unlucky) enough to have their period strike at the same time have no choice but to suck it up and push on.

Picture trudging through muddy grounds, "feeding" mosquitoes and carrying a 10kg field pack in the humid heat of the tropics — all while trying to ignore that squishy sensation in your nether regions.

We reached out to an all-female group of Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Volunteer Corps members who went through a two-week training course in 2019, on how some of them survived their menses in the wilderness with no proper toilet, running water and rubbish bins. Most of them asked to remain anonymous for this interview.

CARRIED SOILED SANITARY BAGS FOR 3 DAYS

What do you do when you're stuck in a jungle without a toilet? Build one, of course.

During the three days spent outfield, the recruits we spoke to were taught to build an outhouse from scratch and given only 10 minutes to do it with planks of wood and shovels provided.

If it is not completed within the allocated timing, more work would have to be done in between short breaks given, "so if the toilet haven't finished making then that's it lor [sic]," said Seetoh Suying, 30.

In addition to the risks of exposing your bare bottom if the "toilet" collapses, recruits have to take care not to step on the mess left by previous users while attempting to clean themselves up with wet wipes.

However, trash (like used wipes and soiled pads) cannot be disposed of or buried in the jungle because they cannot decompose and "it's damn gross if someone digs them up by accident", so they'll have to be carried around until recruits are let off the island.

This means that those on their periods can spend days carrying bloodied pads, wipes and tissues in resealable plastic bags (blacked out with tape) kept within their field packs.

3 MINUTES TO CHANGE PANTIES

Passing through the rites of puberty to become a woman, many girls experiencing their periods will no doubt have worried about embarrassing stains and smells that come from having "the time of the month".

When placed in difficult environments and forced to adapt quickly under pressure, it's no wonder that embarrassment and body image issues no longer become a priority.

From the get-go, everyone is forced to make friends in their section, and this comes in especially handy when you might have to strip naked (to change out of your uniform) in front of someone you just met.

paradesafvc_singaporearmy.jpg
The SAF Volunteer Corps (SAFVC) Volunteers at their graduation parade.
PHOTO: Facebook/ The Singapore Army
The ladies revealed that they are usually only given three minutes to change their panties and pads in the tonner (army vehicle), and everyone is usually too tired to even care about being stark naked in front of others.

Sometimes (especially if it rains for days), recruits have to do PT (physical training) in the worst conditions — and they only get the green light to change their pads once at night.

"Won't the pad be soaked with muddy water?" we asked, already picturing what it's like to suffer through a UTI (urinary tract infection) in the jungle.

"Do you think they care?" said Seetoh lightheartedly.

"As much as you'll kena tekan (be put through the wringer), the officers are not inhumane and won't torture you because of something you can't help," she clarified.

"The ladies who sign on as regulars, they're really garang (fearless); their mindset is different [from civilians]," she continued.

"IN TIMES OF WAR AND I NEED TO FIGHT, THEN HOW?"

As someone whose industry is dominated by men, one female army regular told us she literally has bigger battles to fight than her monthly periods. We've given her anonymity as she's not authorised to speak to us.

When asked how she copes with the common symptoms of menstruation like PMS (premenstrual syndrome), bloatedness and cramps, here's what she had to say.

"In times of war, if I need to fight then how? Sit down and feel bad about life or continue to fight? I depend on Panadol to survive on a monthly basis.

"Sometimes [the pain] can be quite bad till I'll squat on the floor and feel like vomiting all the time, but life goes on. I still need to be strong to conduct my lessons and look out for my men and trainees," she said.

When the pain gets too much, she'll inform her superiors ("in case they think I'm having a heart attack or something") but conceded that this only fuels her want to be stronger since "it shouldn't be an excuse to skip training".

Ever considered a military career but are worried about biological challenges like your period happening during training? Here's a piece of advice from the army regular.

"If they are afraid (of things like their period), then don't come in [to the army]. The reason to sign on should be far greater than that and won't deter them from signing on.

"Period cramps aren't something that anyone can control. [If] you keep trying to push on but can't, you'll still be respected," she said.

Another lady who has been through training suggested taking medication to delay one's period because "menses during Tekong days is very leh chey (troublesome)".

nayr69sg

Staff member
https://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/ah-girls-women-level-grads-sign-army

Ah girls' to women: A-level grads sign on with army

'Ah girls' to women: A-level grads sign on with army
SAF recruits Jade Phua (left) and Sharmaine Koh. TNP PHOTO: GAVIN FOO
This article is more than 12 months old

Childhood friends offered scholarships with SAF​

Jan Lee
Feb 28, 2018 06:00 am
The day before they picked up their A-level results, Miss Sharmaine Koh and Miss Jade Phua were on a 16km route march.
They are undergoing Basic Military Training (BMT) as Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) recruits.
The friends, who were in the same class from Primary 4 to Secondary 4 and in the humanities programme in the same junior college, each decided on joining the military without the other knowing about it.
"We just met one another at the reception of one of the recruitment talks," said Miss Koh.
Miss Phua added: "When we saw each other, it was like, 'You're signing on?'"

The Hwa Chong Institution alumni, who both obtained seven distinctions for their A Level results released last Friday, have been offered provisional scholarships with the SAF.

SINGAPORE

Those who engage in racist acts will be disciplined: MOE

Jun 18, 2021

Related Stories​

Students negotiate a tough road towards milestone exams

Keep definition of meritocracy broad in Singapore: Education Minister

Parents using PA School Holiday Series to engage children

Miss Koh, who volunteers at grassroots organisations and Homework Cafe regularly, had always nurtured a passion for the community.
"I think entering public service is a direct way to give back to the community," she said.
Miss Koh, whose extended family is filled with men, grew up hearing their stories of National Service (NS).
As a young girl, she asked her mother if girls could go to NS and was met with a resounding no. But she yearned for the adventures she heard of and as she got older, thought about going to the Volunteer Corps or to BMT for fun.
Her thoughts turned more serious when she saw a documentary on females in the military in Singapore.
She recalled: "I started to see that this was a real thing and began to research a bit more. Then I thought, if I'm already thinking of going to the volunteer corps or BMT, why not go all the way?"
Originally interested in technology, Miss Phua entertained thoughts of working in the tech industry.
An internship at a start-up changed her mind after she spent 12 hours a day sitting in her chair coding.
She said: "I could feel myself rotting away. My muscles ached from sitting so much. I decided then I didn't want a desk-bound job."
A military experience camp she attended in junior college got her seriously interested in signing on with the military.
Miss Koh encouraged her to also apply for the SAF scholarship.
Miss Phua, who does not have an athletic background, said her parents worried about her fitness.
Miss Koh, who is the eldest of three children and has a brother much younger than her, said: "My mother didn't think she would have to go through the whole send-my-children-off-to-Tekong ritual so early in her life."
Mrs Mandy Koh, a housewife, has since come around. "We feel proud of her for choosing to serve the country," said Mrs Koh.

When TNP sat down with them last Friday, the pair recounted stories of shellscrape digging and mealtime training.
Miss Phua lost her voice while singing songs during the route march. "We were literally crying as we were walking and when it got really hard at the end, all of us were linking hands," she said.
"The sense of fulfilment when we finished it and the camaraderie is really something I had not experienced before."

Balls2U

https://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/ah-girls-women-level-grads-sign-army

Ah girls' to women: A-level grads sign on with army​

'Ah girls' to women: A-level grads sign on with army
SAF recruits Jade Phua (left) and Sharmaine Koh. TNP PHOTO: GAVIN FOO
This article is more than 12 months old

Childhood friends offered scholarships with SAF​

Jan Lee
Feb 28, 2018 06:00 am
The day before they picked up their A-level results, Miss Sharmaine Koh and Miss Jade Phua were on a 16km route march.
They are undergoing Basic Military Training (BMT) as Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) recruits.
The friends, who were in the same class from Primary 4 to Secondary 4 and in the humanities programme in the same junior college, each decided on joining the military without the other knowing about it.
"We just met one another at the reception of one of the recruitment talks," said Miss Koh.
Miss Phua added: "When we saw each other, it was like, 'You're signing on?'"

The Hwa Chong Institution alumni, who both obtained seven distinctions for their A Level results released last Friday, have been offered provisional scholarships with the SAF.

SINGAPORE

Those who engage in racist acts will be disciplined: MOE

Jun 18, 2021

Related Stories​

Students negotiate a tough road towards milestone exams

Keep definition of meritocracy broad in Singapore: Education Minister

Parents using PA School Holiday Series to engage children

Miss Koh, who volunteers at grassroots organisations and Homework Cafe regularly, had always nurtured a passion for the community.
"I think entering public service is a direct way to give back to the community," she said.
Miss Koh, whose extended family is filled with men, grew up hearing their stories of National Service (NS).
As a young girl, she asked her mother if girls could go to NS and was met with a resounding no. But she yearned for the adventures she heard of and as she got older, thought about going to the Volunteer Corps or to BMT for fun.
Her thoughts turned more serious when she saw a documentary on females in the military in Singapore.
She recalled: "I started to see that this was a real thing and began to research a bit more. Then I thought, if I'm already thinking of going to the volunteer corps or BMT, why not go all the way?"
Originally interested in technology, Miss Phua entertained thoughts of working in the tech industry.
An internship at a start-up changed her mind after she spent 12 hours a day sitting in her chair coding.
She said: "I could feel myself rotting away. My muscles ached from sitting so much. I decided then I didn't want a desk-bound job."
A military experience camp she attended in junior college got her seriously interested in signing on with the military.
Miss Koh encouraged her to also apply for the SAF scholarship.
Miss Phua, who does not have an athletic background, said her parents worried about her fitness.
Miss Koh, who is the eldest of three children and has a brother much younger than her, said: "My mother didn't think she would have to go through the whole send-my-children-off-to-Tekong ritual so early in her life."
Mrs Mandy Koh, a housewife, has since come around. "We feel proud of her for choosing to serve the country," said Mrs Koh.

When TNP sat down with them last Friday, the pair recounted stories of shellscrape digging and mealtime training.
Miss Phua lost her voice while singing songs during the route march. "We were literally crying as we were walking and when it got really hard at the end, all of us were linking hands," she said.
"The sense of fulfilment when we finished it and the camaraderie is really something I had not experienced before."

From Hwa Chong JC? Will they turn out like our Mdm Badge later on?

Military Officers In The Singapore Women's Hall Of Fame

1624079944902.png

BORN

INDUCTED

CATEGORY
Adventurers & Explorers

Esther Tan Cheng Yin​

First female naval diver and endurance sports specialist
She is just 1.55 metres and of slight build, not exactly what you envision when you think of navy divers. But that is what Esther Tan does for a living. She is Singapore’s first female navy diver, and holds the rank of Major in the elite Naval Diving Unit. She specialises in search-and-rescue operations and explosive ordnance disposal.

Esther enrolled in the navy in 1995 and in 2000 she applied to join the naval diving unit. She passed the physical and medical tests and sailed through the interview, and she has not looked back since.
She wasn’t always fit and failed the fitness tests when she was in secondary school. But basic military training got that sorted out. As a naval diver, she needs to be able to move around with some 39 kg of equipment, and you need strength for that.
When Esther was at the Nanyang Technological University on a navy scholarship to get an electrical and electronic engineering degree, she developed a taste for adventure-racing. She has now taken part in dozens of international marathons, triathlons, Ironman and other adventure races all over the world.
Perhaps the most gruelling was the Australia XPD Adventure Race 2006 in Tasmania, when she only got 29 hours of sleep in the 10 days she took to complete the 700km course. In 2007 she was the only woman in the Asian team in the 2007 Adventure Racing World Championship, which is also known as the Olympics of adventure races.
In 2011, after two years of planning, training and preparation, Esther set out to climb Mount Everest. She chose to approach the summit by the trickier and much more dangerous north ridge. To acclimatise, she and her team mates trekked four times from base camp to the 7,000 metre level. Then finally it was time for their push for the peak. But just 100 metres short of the summit, strong winds and increasingly bad weather forced them to make the difficult decision to turn back.
Esther, in an account published in the South China Morning Post, wrote that for someone as competitive as she is, turning her back on the Everest peak was very hard. But she knew that ‘although I had this one chance to summit, I had only one lifetime to live”. She realised also, she said, that “the joy of the journey and the gift of being with great people” was far more important and rewarding than getting to the top of the world.
In 2006 Esther was named Her World’s Young Woman Achiever. She now works in the navy’s intelligence unit, but she makes sure she keeps fit by running every other day and hitting the gym at the weekends. She wants to make sure that she can, as a naval diver, continue to carry 39kg of gear.
In March 2014, shortly after being inducted into the Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame, Esther’s adventure with the navy took her on a four-month deployment on a navy frigate to combat piracy in the Gulf of Aden.

1624087726390.png

BORN

INDUCTED

CATEGORY
Uniformed Professions

GAN SIOW HUANG​

First female Brigadier-General in the SAF
When Gan Siow Huang became, in July 2015, the first woman Brigadier-General in the Singapore Armed Forces, it was not a surprise to those who knew her. She had already chalked up a string of firsts in the SAF.
In 1993, Siow Huang was one of four women to receive the SAF Merit Scholarship to pursue a military career. That was the first time the SAF offered the scholarship to attract women to join the SAF.
Coming from a humble background – her father was a taxi driver and her mother a housewife – Siow Huang welcomed the opportunity to study abroad and get into a career that offered both adventure and meaning. After going through Basic Military Training and Officer Cadet School, she studied at the London School of Economics and Political Science and graduated with First Class Honours in Economics.
On her return, she worked her way up through the ranks in the SAF. She started as an Air Traffic Controller and took on supervisory roles. She topped the New Zealand Defence Force Senior Command and Staff Course in 2003 before becoming the first female commander of Air Surveillance and Control Group, responsible for round-the-clock surveillance of airspace around Singapore for air defence and airspace management.
In 2010, Siow Huang was the first female military officer to be sent to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Boston where she got a Master of Business Administration. In 2016, she took command of Air Power Generation Command, the largest formation in the Republic of Singapore Air Force.
She is now in charge of running all the military airbases in Singapore and ensuring that RSAF aircraft are ready for their daily missions. She once described her typical day: “I spend most of my time looking after readiness of our airbases, training of personnel, and ensuring sustainability of airbase systems and infrastructure. I allocate resources, assign tasks to my units, and work with other operational commands to meet the RSAF’s mission requirements. On top of this, I also coach my team members and provide mentorship to young officers in the SAF.” Under her leadership, Air Power Generation Command won the top MINDEF award for organisational excellence and innovation in 2018.
When Siow Huang took the leap to join the SAF in 1993, female commanders were rare. Women were mostly in logistics and support functions then. But as Siow Huang and her contemporaries proved their mettle within the military, they began to take on wider responsibilities and paved the way for more career paths for women. Today, the SAF sees a growing number of women in combat roles and there are many more women in senior leadership positions.
When she was a child, Siow Huang was shy and reserved. It was her participation in uniformed groups – Brownies in primary school and Girl Guides in secondary school – that built her confidence and readiness to take on challenges and try new things. She has been volunteering with Girl Guides Singapore since 2012, serving as Deputy Chief Commissioner. She also volunteers as a mentor with the Young Women’s Leadership Connection, which aims to nurture young women as leaders in Singapore.

1624091386969.png

BORN

INDUCTED

CATEGORY
Uniformed Professions

Karen Tan Puay Kiow​

First woman colonel in the Singapore Armed Forces
Reaching the rank of colonel in the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) is a significant achievement in itself, but being the country’s first female colonel is even more of a triumph. Karen Tan Puay Kiow achieved that in 2005, 23 years after she joined the SAF. That was the year when she became Commander of the Central Manpower Base (CMPB), the first woman to do the job since the CMPB was established in 1966.

Karen joined the SAF in 1981. Always extremely dedicated to her job, over the years Karen steadily rose in rank. She was one of the first few women in the SAF to be promoted to major. In her early days in the SAF, being a colonel was never her goal, but Karen says she always did her best, and that’s what got her to the heights she reached.
As Singapore’s first female colonel, Karen was an inspiration to young women in the SAF, and to others considering joining. Young female officers studied Karen’s leadership and management style, and could plot their own career paths by examining hers. The SAF, Karen says, has progressed a lot in the last two to three decades and there is now a much greater role for women.
Until taking on the position of CMPB Commander, Karen had always dealt with in-service personnel. When she took charge of the first port of call for entrants to Singapore’s National Service (NS), she relished the opportunity to give new recruits a good introduction to the SAF. It gave her the opportunity to shape in some way their entire NS experience.
Karen also prided herself on bringing a personal touch to the CMPB, by promoting a positive work culture and the importance of bonding. She is on record as saying she wanted the CMPB to be regarded as a “great place to work in, like a big family”.
Karen retired from the SAF in 2007 and is now general manager at ST Electronics (e-Services) Pte Ltd. She is a working mother, balancing the demands of her challenging job with raising two young sons.

1624096615676.png

BORN

INDUCTED

CATEGORY
Uniformed Professions

Khoo Teh Lynn​

Singapore’s first female fighter pilot
Khoo Teh Lynn is Singapore’s first female jet fighter pilot. She began flying while still in Junior College and she joined the air force at 18 years old. Now a Staff Officer in the Singapore Armed Forces’ Air Intelligence Department, she flies the F-16 fighter jet, having been always fascinated by powerful planes.

Lynn’s love of flying began in 1998 when she joined the Youth Flying Club during her first year of studying at Raffles Junior College. One year later, she succeeded in getting her private pilot’s license. As soon as she left Junior College she signed up to join the Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF).
“I wanted to fly high-performance aircraft,” she told PIONEER, Mindef’s official publication. The F-16 is one of the most sophisticated and advanced fighter planes in the world. Its equipment includes sophisticated radar, advanced avionics, a precision navigation system and a wide range of ordnance. Said Lynn, “It’s satisfying to be able to handle such aircraft, employ its weapons effectively, and carry out successful missions.”
Her training included stints in Western Australia, where she achieved her basic wings at the Flying Training Institute, and in France, where she secured her fighter wings in 2003. She then joined the RSAF fighter fleet, starting off as a wingman. She was promoted to captain in 2007. That same year, she enrolled in the University of Southern California and in 2010 she graduated magna cum laude with a double major in international relations and history.
Flying a jet as powerful as the F-16 requires dedication and a certain level of physical strength and fitness. She attributes her success as a fighter pilot to having good reflexes, the ability to multi-task and cope with dynamic situations, as well as having an aptitude for making quick and accurate decisions.
As to whether she feels being a woman makes any difference to her being a fighter pilot, she told PIONEER: “I don’t feel any different. In this professional organisation, first and foremost in the fighter squadron, you are a fighter pilot. There is no gender prefix to it.”
In 2011 Lynn married an RSAF colleague, a transport pilot, and their first child is due in April 2014.

1624105270980.png

BORN

INDUCTED

CATEGORY
Uniformed Professions

Koh Chai Hong​

Trailblazer in the Singapore Armed Forces
Koh Chai Hong made Singapore military history in 1999 when, together with another woman Major, she was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. They were the first women to reach that level in Singapore’s military hierarchy.

It was not the first of Chai Hong’s firsts – in 1979 she was the first woman to qualify as a pilot in the Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF). Three other women subsequently joined her as the first generation of women RSAF pilots. She was the only one, however, to complete the advanced pilot training phase on jet aircraft. Then in 1997 she was the first woman to be admitted to the Singapore Armed Forces’ Command and Staff Course, the highest level of formal military training. The following year, she became the first woman Commanding Officer of Standards Squadron in Flying Training School.
Born in 1959, Chai Hong studied at Opera Estate Girls’ School and Tanjong Katong Girls School and did her ‘A’ levels at Raffles Institution (RI). Chai Hong’s passion for flying was kindled when she attended a career talk while at RI. She joined the Junior Flying Club and received her private pilot license within seven months.
In 1978 the RSAF decided to open its doors to women and Chai Hong jumped at the opportunity to pursue her passion. She won her pilot wings in 1979 after a year and a half of intense training, which included gruelling physical training. This was not a problem for her as she had been an athlete at school and won colours in the women’s hockey team. She was also a national water skier and won a medal at the 1987 Southeast Asia Games.
During her pilot training programme, she beat the boys to win all three flying trophies – best in basic phase, best in advanced phase, and best in aerobatics. In 1981, she became a flying instructor and rose to be the first female Flight Commander and then Squadron Commander of Standards Squadron, training operational pilots to become flying instructors.
“I never expected to make a professional career out of flying,” she says. “Flying started out as a hobby, then became a passion and I just wanted to continue flying. I was fortunate and grateful that the air force, and especially Dr Goh Keng Swee, then Minister of Defence, gave me the opportunity to do so. Although I had to overcome initial parental objections when I enrolled to fly with JFC, my parents were later very encouraging and supportive when I signed up for a flying career with the air force.”
Chai Hong served as Wing Commander of the Aviation Wing in Air Force School before retiring as a Lieutenant-Colonel in July 2005. She remained in service until January 2008 as a contract flying instructor based at Tamworth, Australia. She is now employed by Lockheed Martin as a simulator instructor to train RSAF Basic Wings Phase pilot trainees at Perth, Australia.

1624108982805.png

BORN

INDUCTED

CATEGORY
Uniformed Professions

Lim Sok Bee​

First woman to command an artillery battalion
After practising law for two years, Lim Sok Bee decided law was not the profession for her. Looking around for a career that would be more rewarding, she learnt that the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) was looking for women officers. She jumped at the opportunity to enter a field that would challenge her in different ways.

Enlisting in 1991, outdoor-loving Sok Bee initially had to contend with some obstacles within the male-dominated organisation. She felt she had to put in extra effort and perform better than her male counterparts. But, as she explained in an interview in 2007, “you occasionally meet people who have to see what you’re made of first before they respect you. They have to test you, give you a hard time before they say ‘Ok, you’re one of us’. So I don’t think it’s very different from anywhere else. Once you prove yourself, people respect you for who you are and what you do rather than for your gender.”
Sok Bee has more than proven herself. Over the years, she has held a string of important appointments. She was the first female commanding officer of an artillery battalion, leading hundreds of soldiers in the critical task of providing fire support for other SAF units. As a Wing Commander at the Officer Cadet School, Sok Bee’s role changed to that of training cohorts of future leaders of the SAF. She had risen to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel by the time she retired.
While gender is increasingly a non-issue in the military, Sok Bee thinks there may always be the tendency for some men to assume that the woman officer is less capable. It is a perception problem that will take time to erase. Once they get used to it, the men realise that it is not so bad to be taking orders from a woman.
In fact, there are some advantages in being a woman soldier, Sok Bee feels. Men tend to think along the same lines, so when she provides her female perspective it can add a different perspective.
For example, when she was commanding officer of the artillery battalion, she proposed that the scheduled Family Day be turned into an Open House event, with a demonstration of how the battalion operated. This would, she felt, help the visiting relatives and friends understand just what the soldiers went through. Her staff and her immediate boss, all men, were skeptical but she persisted and it turned out to be a meaningful and empowering event for the battalion and their families and friends.

Another lady who has been through training suggested taking medication to delay one's period because "menses during Tekong days is very leh chey (troublesome)".
Alamak over three decades our ncc teacher already taught us to do this before we went outward bound. These women army staff are so behind times how to fight war?

Didnt know there was hall of fame

There is indeed. :thumbsup:

Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame (SWHF)​

The Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame (SWHF) is a celebration of the outstanding women who have made, or are making, an impact on our nation. They are the boundary breakers and record holders, the risk-takers and change makers, the role models and standard setters.

In 2005, the SCWO launched The Wall of Fame to honour Singapore’s pioneering women activists, and by 2010, there were 9 inductees.

The SWHF, after two years of extensive research, was launched on 14 March 2014, with an inaugural list of 108 inductees, to recognize the achievements and contributions of Singapore’s most outstanding women in all fields of endeavour. More are inducted each year at a gala dinner in March to mark International Womens’ Day.

[ SWHF Website ]