• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What's good at Ion Orchard's Food Opera

metalslug

http://www.soshiok.com/articles/13860/

What's good at Food Opera

Thu Aug 20 2009
Chen Jingwen
SoShiok.com

foodoperask.jpg

Win $20 Food Opera vouchers!

Answer the question below and send your entry with your full name, handphone number to [email protected] by 6pm, August 26, 2009. Write "Food Opera Contest" in the subject field.

Question: Food Opera at Basement 4 of Ion Orchard offers food by famous hawker stalls. True or False? Read the review below to get the right answer.
foodoperatnp.jpg

Singapore, August 21, 2009 - Trust leading food atrium operator, Food Republic, to unveil a new concept that people yak about while stuffing their faces.
It's not just the swanky and sexy art-gallery-like interiors with gorgeous chandeliers and gold- and silver-framed mirrors that have wowed visitors at Food Opera at Ion Orchard.

They also sing praises about the mouthwatering finds among the two-dozen stalls when they stop being intrigued by having animal art installations as their makan companions. Food for thought huh?
Dr George Quek, Chairman of BreadTalk Group, said: “While still dedicated to providing the best of local hawker fare under one roof, FOOD OPERA provides the backdrop for diners to enjoy the elegant ambience that mirrors a contemporary art museum. Going with the theme of modern animal art and sculptures, these art pieces add value to the overall dining experience and create an inviting space that is in line with the arts-inspired ION Orchard.”
This 700-seater food atrium, located at Basement 4 of ION Orchard, takes up almost 20,000 sq ft and features 22 stalls and four mini-restaurants. Ninety-five per cent of the tenants at Food Opera are new to Food Republic food atriums.

TENANTS OF FOOD OPERA @ ION ORCHARD
Luk-Yu-Teahouse-and-Restaurant-stall.jpg

Stall No.1 (Mini Restaurant): Luk Yu Restaurant and Teahouse
Luk Yu Restaurant and Tea House, a famous traditional teahouse in Hong Kong, has a contemporary outlet here serving its famous pick of fine teas and old-school and modern dim sum. Those on low-sodium diet will embrace the chicken-pork bao and soothing fish porridge with fresh fish. I love the privacy of this 'hidden' eatery at entrance - it seems far from the madding crowd at lunch.

Signature dishes:
Deep fried Gui Fei Chicken Wings
Seafood and Cheese Tart
Cabbage and Seafood Dumpling, $4 for 3 pieces)
Tea Flavoured Mushroom Dumpling, $4 for 3 pieces

Stall No 2: 3rd Generation Laksa and Prawn Noodle
Signature dishes: Laksa and Prawn Noodle.

Fishballskin.jpg

Stall No.3: Li Xin Chao Zhou Fish Ball Noodles
Using only yellowtail fish for his fishballs, founder Lim Lee Seng believes in delivering them freshly made every day. The delicious, soft and springy fishballs are served with a variety of noodles which are tossed in special chilli sauce and fresh crispy lard pieces. One of the best Mee Pok in town ($5).
For a full review of this stall, read -> HERE
Stall No.4: Mei Zhen Hakka Delights
With recipes dating back to her forefathers in China, Stella Toh Siew Leng has been constantly perfecting the recipes to suit the taste buds of the new age generation, while keeping the traditional flavours. Signature dishes include the tasty Abacus yam seeds ($4.80 for small), Yam balls, Glutinous rice, dumplings, Yam cake and a home-style recipe – Yam porridge.

Stall No 5: SGKueh
Loyal fans will recognise SGKueh from his kueh-kueh stall at Amoy Street Food Centre. At Food Opera, its offers three times the variety. A must-try is the ondeh ondeh as well as Durian ondeh ondeh which is filled with powerful Mao Shan Wang durian. For a savoury chilli-hot snack, choose Rempah Udang – glutinous rice with dried prawn paste wrapped in banana leaf. Some of the kuehs taste too floury - the batter should be better mixed and cooked well.

Stall No.6: Good Luck BBQ Chicken Wing
Low Sio Yang, founder of Good Luck BBQ Chicken Wing, was formerly a modest carpentry craftsman. Signature dishes: BBQ Chicken Wings, Satay, Popiah, Kueh Pie Tee.

metalslug

cont...

Chendolskin.jpg

Stall No.7: Ice Shop
This is Food Republic's hot and cold desserts stall. Signature treats: Ice-Kacang, Bubur Cha-Cha, Chendol (served in a tall glass Melaka style), Ice-jelly, Cheng Tng and Gula Melaka Avocado. Our recommendation: The Chendol ($2.80) is awesome with perfect home-cooked red beans, rich Gula Melaka syrup and freshly squeezed coconut cream. It's one of the best in town! But I wished the shaved ice was finer. Time to adjust or change the shaving blade.
BakKutehskin.jpg

Stall No.8 (Mini Restaurant): Balestier Bak Kut Teh
Teochew-style Bak Kut Teh (pork rib soup) from a famous eatery in Balestier Road. Should please those who don't like overly herbal soup. To me, it's a bit light and the accompanying dishes like braised tofu taste almost flat. Signature dishes touted by the stall: Pork Rib soup, Steamed Baby Squid, Steamed Pork with Salted Fish and Braised Sesame Chicken.

Yong-Heng-Fried-Hokkien-Mee.jpg

Stall No.9: Yong Heng Fried Hokkien Mee
One of the better Hokkien Prawn Mee stalls on the island, Yong Heng has more than ten outlets. They are definitely ambitious, churning out Fried Kway Teow with Scallop ($8), Fried Oyster and Fried Carrot Cake too.
Taiwa.jpg

Stall No.10: Lau Dai Hua Minced Pork Noodles
Lau Dai Hua was first set up at Hill Street Food Centre from 1932 to 1986 and was later relocated to Marina Square (remember the long, long queues?) Legend has it that during the Japanese Occupation in World War II, Tang Joon Teo, founder of Lau Dai Hua, was unfortunately selected for execution by firing squad due to his stocky physique; but was later spared from death owing to the exceptional minced pork noodles that he had whipped up for the Japanese soldiers. Be sure to savour this life-saving delicacy. Prices start from $5.

Highly recommended: Though the cooking is as 'refined' as the minced pork noodles at the North Bridge Road (Crawford estate) outlet, the 'Wow' factor still reigns high. Very satisfying what with the chilli-hot, vinegary sauce giving the noodles a robust punch. You can ask the PRC cook for more crispy lard pieces and he'll happily oblige.

Stall No.11: What You Do Prata
Apart from pratas and murtabaks, their Dum Briyani ($7) is an aromatic and flavourful blend of spiced basmati rice and meats. A must-try.

Stall No.12: Tian Tian Hainanese Curry Rice
This famousHainanese Curry rice stall from Bukit Merah offers authentic Pork Chops ($7), a colonial innovation from the fusion of English and Chinese cuisines. The unique blend of spices and ingredients for the chicken curry, concocted by Booi San Hoon and his forefathers, gives it its yummy taste. You can eat a whole pot of rice with lashings of the curry and other sauces, like the sweetish one from the braised char siew. The soggy Chap Chye of cabbage and black fungus and Assam Curry Fish Head are authentic too.

Stall No.13: Fatty Weng Fish Soup
Fatty Weng Fish Soup has a long heritage dating back to their forefathers in China. In 1940, Tay Ah Mao, one of the forefathers, decided to set up a makeshift stall to sell Fish Soup in order to make ends meet. Over the years, Tay eventually mastered the art of slicing the “Batang” fish into even and thin slices. This skill was later passed down to the younger generation and one of his descendants, Tay Liang Swee, now helms the family business. To cater to new millennium palate, Tay has also included several renditions of the traditional fish soup, such as the Fried fish soup and Fried Dory Fish with Sambal, Sliced Fish Porridge too.
Fatty-Weng-Oyster-Omelette-stall.jpg

Stall No.14: Fatty Weng Oyster Omelette
Tay Liang Swee has been serving up this dish for years after taking over fom his great grandfather. The first stall at Tai Seng on Old Airport Road and was relocated to Bukit Batok. The perky-hot chilli sauce is a family secret recipe and is a must with the Fried Oyster Omelette ($5), Fried Carrot Cake and Fried Oysters.

Stall No.15: Scotts Beef Noodles
There's no need to introduce this famous stall.Scotts Beef Noodles has been around for more than 60 years, since Kiang Kin Nam’s father started selling the Hainanese beef noodles from a tiny stall on Bain Street in the 1940s. Kiang subsequently moved the operation to a coffee shop across Odeon Cinema (currently the National Library), and then to the now-defunct Scotts Shopping Centre Food Court. Now the noodles are back across the road at Food Opera.
Guan-Chee-Hong-Kong-Roast-stall.jpg

Stall No.16: Guan Chee Roasted Meat
Before founding Guan Chee Hong Kong Roast Duck, Mr Terence Chi started off as an apprentice - at the age of 21 - learning to roast poultry for a living. With more then 22 years of experience and two stalls to his name, Terence now sells 12 Charcoal Roasted Suckling Pigs. The other must-try is the Honey grilled chicken wings. Also try his nourishing herbal soups and smoked duck ($6).

Padang-Padang-stall.jpg

Stall No.17: Padang Padang
Padang Padang is owned by Mrs Wahyuningsilh and the Indonesian recipes are inspired by her grandmother - a 3rd generation Peranakan in Indonesia. Signature dishes: Nasi Kuning Ayam Merah, Rendang Sapi (Beef Rendang), Ayam Goreng Bumbu (Padang Fried Chicken with Spices), Ikan Asam Pedras (Spicy & Sour Fish), Gado-Gado Padang (Padang Mixed Vegetables) and Cabe Merah /Hijau Padang (Special Red/Green Padang Chilli).

Stall No.18: Fu Lin Tau Fu Yuen
Mr Jimmy Teo and his wife were so enamoured by this dish that when a Yong Tau Foo seller wanted to give up his business, Teo decided to buy it over. That was in 1994. Now Fu Lin Tau Fu Yuen can be found at East Coast Road and Amoy Street with the third outlet at Food Opera. Fresh fish paste is used to stuff the tofu, beanskin and vegetable pieices. They are deep fried to a crispy and served with a minced chicken and mushroom sauce. The brown bean sauce enhances the the taste flavour. Also try the Prawn Ngoh Hiang. Sorry, no soup is served here.
HorFunskiin.jpg

Stall No.19 (Mini Restaurant): Ah Wok Restaurant
Ah Wok grew up at his father’s zi char stall and learnt the art of wielding the wok from a tender age. You must try his Hor Fun ($9) fried with seafood and doused with some red wine. Everything's wrapped up in an aromatic 'Opeh' palm leave and when you open the package, the smells are divine. One of the best Hor Fun we've tasted! And surprise! The red wine actually enhances the flavour of slightly charred Hot Fun noodles and the seafood gravy. Superb!

Other signature dishes: Assam Fish Head, Ah Wok Chilli Crab (some foodies said it's shiok!), Wok-Fried Mee Sua and Sizzling Sauteed Prawn Balls.
Ah-Wok-stall.jpg

Stall No.20: Sergeant Hainanese Chicken Rice
Kiang Joon Toh, one of the original Mandarin Hotel Chatterbox chefs who helped popularise chicken rice all over Singapore still serves up fragrant chicken rice and succulent chicken. Also check out his Hainanese Pork Chop, Lemon Chicken Rice and Chicken Curry Noodle.

Stall No.21: Xin Sheng Ngoh Hiang Prawn Crackers
With 40 years of experience, the founder started off as a vendor on wheels in the 1960s. When his son Anthony took over, the range of items expanded from a handful of tasty morsels to 20 types of Ngoh Hiang items. Their spicy chilli sauce is a fiery dip. Signature dishes Meat and Prawn Ngoh Hiang rolls ($1.20), Chestnut Egg Cakes ($1.10) and Fried Bee Hoon.

Stall No.22: Xi De Li Fried Fritters
In 1966, Mr Koh Cheng Sai, known as Ah Sai then, was struggling to survive the harsh conditions of the pre-Independence days. Together with his mother, Ah Sai hawked their freshly fried fritters – You Tiao and Hum Chin Paeng – to make ends meet. Adrian Koh, who currently manages the family business, reinvents with new items regularly. The addictive You Tiao ($1) is very popular. Also try Fried Glutinous Rice Buns, Butterfly Fritters, Peanut Sesame Balls and Spicy You Tiao Crackers!

Stall No.23 (Mini Restaurant): Tea Loft
This is English Tea Room inspired by the turn of the century to the 1930s. With a blend of classical and contemporary English and Southeast Asian cuisine, the menu at Tea Loft is familiar and heart-warming. It also serves local breakfast items as well as an English breakfast platter daily.
Signature dishes: Colonial Teacakes, Thick Toast with Butter and Yam Kaya, Lavender Tea (by the pot) and Baguette with Butter and Kaya

Stall No.24 & 25: Hot & Cold Drinks
Signature drinks: Homemade Lemon Lime: Milo Dinosaur and Traditional coffee

Stall No.26: Juice Bar
Apart from cut fruits, you can also opt for freshly blended juices like Strawberry and Mango Smoothies and specially concocted health boosters. A health nut like me like the Carrot and Beetroot combo.
Food Opera
2 Orchard Turn, ION Orchard, Basement 4
Opening hours: 8am to 10pm Monday - Thursday; 8am to 11pm Friday, Saturday, Eve of Public Holidays; 10am to 10pm Sunday
Nearest MRT: Orchard

kingrant

http://www.soshiok.com/articles/13860/

What's good at Food Opera

Thu Aug 20 2009
Chen Jingwen
SoShiok.com

foodoperask.jpg

Win $20 Food Opera vouchers!

Answer the question below and send your entry with your full name, handphone number to [email protected] by 6pm, August 26, 2009. Write "Food Opera Contest" in the subject field.

Question: Food Opera at Basement 4 of Ion Orchard offers food by famous hawker stalls. True or False? Read the review below to get the right answer.
foodoperatnp.jpg

Singapore, August 21, 2009 - Trust leading food atrium operator, Food Republic, to unveil a new concept that people yak about while stuffing their faces.
It's not just the swanky and sexy art-gallery-like interiors with gorgeous chandeliers and gold- and silver-framed mirrors that have wowed visitors at Food Opera at Ion Orchard.

They also sing praises about the mouthwatering finds among the two-dozen stalls when they stop being intrigued by having animal art installations as their makan companions. Food for thought huh?
Dr George Quek, Chairman of BreadTalk Group, said: “While still dedicated to providing the best of local hawker fare under one roof, FOOD OPERA provides the backdrop for diners to enjoy the elegant ambience that mirrors a contemporary art museum. Going with the theme of modern animal art and sculptures, these art pieces add value to the overall dining experience and create an inviting space that is in line with the arts-inspired ION Orchard.”
This 700-seater food atrium, located at Basement 4 of ION Orchard, takes up almost 20,000 sq ft and features 22 stalls and four mini-restaurants. Ninety-five per cent of the tenants at Food Opera are new to Food Republic food atriums.

TENANTS OF FOOD OPERA @ ION ORCHARD
Luk-Yu-Teahouse-and-Restaurant-stall.jpg

Stall No.1 (Mini Restaurant): Luk Yu Restaurant and Teahouse
Luk Yu Restaurant and Tea House, a famous traditional teahouse in Hong Kong, has a contemporary outlet here serving its famous pick of fine teas and old-school and modern dim sum. Those on low-sodium diet will embrace the chicken-pork bao and soothing fish porridge with fresh fish. I love the privacy of this 'hidden' eatery at entrance - it seems far from the madding crowd at lunch.

Signature dishes:
Deep fried Gui Fei Chicken Wings
Seafood and Cheese Tart
Cabbage and Seafood Dumpling, $4 for 3 pieces)
Tea Flavoured Mushroom Dumpling, $4 for 3 pieces

Stall No 2: 3rd Generation Laksa and Prawn Noodle
Signature dishes: Laksa and Prawn Noodle.

Fishballskin.jpg

Stall No.3: Li Xin Chao Zhou Fish Ball Noodles
Using only yellowtail fish for his fishballs, founder Lim Lee Seng believes in delivering them freshly made every day. The delicious, soft and springy fishballs are served with a variety of noodles which are tossed in special chilli sauce and fresh crispy lard pieces. One of the best Mee Pok in town ($5).
For a full review of this stall, read -> HERE
Stall No.4: Mei Zhen Hakka Delights
With recipes dating back to her forefathers in China, Stella Toh Siew Leng has been constantly perfecting the recipes to suit the taste buds of the new age generation, while keeping the traditional flavours. Signature dishes include the tasty Abacus yam seeds ($4.80 for small), Yam balls, Glutinous rice, dumplings, Yam cake and a home-style recipe – Yam porridge.

Stall No 5: SGKueh
Loyal fans will recognise SGKueh from his kueh-kueh stall at Amoy Street Food Centre. At Food Opera, its offers three times the variety. A must-try is the ondeh ondeh as well as Durian ondeh ondeh which is filled with powerful Mao Shan Wang durian. For a savoury chilli-hot snack, choose Rempah Udang – glutinous rice with dried prawn paste wrapped in banana leaf. Some of the kuehs taste too floury - the batter should be better mixed and cooked well.

Stall No.6: Good Luck BBQ Chicken Wing
Low Sio Yang, founder of Good Luck BBQ Chicken Wing, was formerly a modest carpentry craftsman. Signature dishes: BBQ Chicken Wings, Satay, Popiah, Kueh Pie Tee.

You mean same old food but Orchard Rd prices!!??

ahleebabasingaporethief

Good job bro, BUT.....

I have banned my grandchildren from eating there.

Why don't you LIST OUT ALL THEIR PRICES?:eek:

Their prices reflects the HIGH RENT THAT THEY PAY TO THE LANDLORD PIRATES.

Thanks Metal for the timely reminder that parents ought to tell their children about "good value for money".

What's good..they are good at raising the food prices....we should save money ( remember, Lim Chin Heng says), and stop eating out!!

My eldest son shortgun at 16 with twins while he was studying in England. So I and my wife have to do the honorable thing of paying his g/f family off and bringing up the twins here in Singapore.

Not so old lah. The twins now in primary 6 lah
His g/f family should be paying you off. :smile:

cooleo

The food there super expensive! I might as well pay $1 cover charge or water and eat at Ding Tai Feng!

Another stupid spin to kon Sinkaporeans to eat there!
:rolleyes:

i_am_belle

pls boycott all these temasek-owned retail malls lah ...

$5 for a bowl of fishball mee - ur paying for the novelty of eating off a marble-top table & a nostalgic 'chicken motif' bowl ...

and $9 for seafood horfun for the fun of eating from a palm leaf ... :eek:

btw how much is the 'meesiam mai hum' ? or from this year's rally - the 'pei dan choke' ... ? :p

ahleebabasingaporethief

pls boycott all these temasek-owned retail malls lah ...

$5 for a bowl of fishball mee - ur paying for the novelty of eating off a marble-top table & a nostalgic 'chicken motif' bowl ...

and $9 for seafood horfun for the fun of eating from a palm leaf ... :eek:

btw how much is the 'meesiam mai hum' ? or from this year's rally - the 'pei dan choke' ... ? :p

Most Singaporeans already self-BOYCOTT. $9 per plate of seafood horfun and $5 for fishball noodles is at least 100% and 60% higher than normal places.

Singaporean SALARIES got rise 60-100% or not?

about singapore food.
the PAP have constantly force the store to upgrade
the advantage is we have cleaner (relative to other) place to eat
but disadvantage is we push old people who know how to cook out and new people who know nuts about cooking.
standard gone down. but the place is getting better all the time
just compare taiwan and hongkong.

coolguy

Most Singaporeans already self-BOYCOTT. $9 per plate of seafood horfun and $5 for fishball noodles is at least 100% and 60% higher than normal places.

Singaporean SALARIES got rise 60-100% or not?

LeeHsienLoong_2007May04.jpg

Well, you see it is because the seafood horfun got HUM.
And the fishball noodle, the fishball inside also got HUM.
Next time when you want to eat there, you must say Horfum mai HUM or
Fishball noodle mai HUM, then the price will be normal.:smile:

ahleebabasingaporethief

LeeHsienLoong_2007May04.jpg

Well, you see it is because the seafood horfun got HUM.
And the fishball noodle, the fishball inside also got HUM.
Next time when you want to eat there, you must say Horfum mai HUM or
Fishball noodle mai HUM, then the price will be normal.:smile:

mai HUM = mai PAP? Ok I get your drift. I will vote wisely.

cooleo

If I'm not wrong, both are under the Breadtalk group :wink:

Doesn't matter. When u wanna eat outside, sure have to let others profit one! But when u profit in this kind of manner... charging premium price for hawker fare, i will flash u my finger. :oIo:

My eldest son shortgun at 16 with twins while he was studying in England. So I and my wife have to do the honorable thing of paying his g/f family off and bringing up the twins here in Singapore.

Not so old lah. The twins now in primary 6 lah

what an interesting story
may i know if they are half white or same race as you?
you can pay them off? i think they are better off in england, medical care there are free

mercbenz

Siao, no place to go, have to go ION splurge and contribute to their pocket?

Hard times and they come up with more expensive places?

IONic, isn't it?

hockbeng

Good job bro, BUT.....

I have banned my grandchildren from eating there.

Why don't you LIST OUT ALL THEIR PRICES?:eek:

Their prices reflects the HIGH RENT THAT THEY PAY TO THE LANDLORD PIRATES.

Thanks Metal for the timely reminder that parents ought to tell their children about "good value for money".

I've banned my whole family from eating at Mall's owned by REITS and those large ppty companies.
We are paying for the rents, not food!

Furthermore, those eating places are owned by businesses and not Chefs who take pride in their cooking. Now all run by PRC who do not give a rat's ass about hygiene or quality; just add MSG to enhance the taste.

I patronize those places that are run by the chef themselves; and they take pride in their cooking. Also, they are all Sporean and have been cooking the same thing for the past 30-50 years.

Few ex:
1. Yet Con Hainanese rest at pervius street: opened in 1943!!!
2. Ghim Moh Hawker Centre
3. Tiong Bahru Hawker Centre
4 Hawker centre at old airport road
5. Veit Express at china square

and many more........

Why the hell does any sporean want to EAT at ION??????????