• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What will happen in 15 years time when GIC & Temasek went bust?

rusty

Both the masterminds are dead by then. Who can we punish? Their grand children?

It's a very clever long term investment indeed.

Our Grandchildren will stand in front of our pictures & say " Tuck Yew, Tuck Yew" ha ha ha, for we had allowed this to happen.

15 years? You are too kind.

I give it 5 years, or at most no longer than 10 years.

In fact, you are seeing some signs now, with Temasek's desperate issuing of bonds at a time when interest rates are poised to go up.

Issue bonds = borrowing money. Bond value is inversely proportional to interest rate.

All it takes is one spectacularly bad overseas investment. Just one.

And as Temasek has shown over the years, it is capable of making some very bad ones.

rusty

15 years? You are too kind.

I give it 5 years, or at most no longer than 10 years.

In fact, you are seeing some signs now, with Temasek's desperate issuing of bonds at a time when interest rates are poised to go up.

Issue bonds = borrowing money. Bond value is inversely proportional to interest rate.

All it takes is one spectacularly bad overseas investment. Just one.

And as Temasek has shown over the years, it is capable of making some very bad ones.

The sooner the better so that the masterminds, hopefully still alive, can be procecuted mercilessly and throw them naked into the biggest ant nest with their balls coated with honey.

LumparChee

If GIC and Temasek ever go bust, this is a possible scenario:

Singapore Govt Securities will be priced at 7-8% coupon. Fixed deposit rates will be higher.
The govt will have less bullet to defend the SGD versus foreign currencies. Even though this will likely be balanced by the higher interest rates, the exchange rates against SGD will be more volatile as hedge funds know that SGD is 'bully-able'. Singapore's credit standing will drop.

Regional headquarters will shift from Singapore to Shanghai or Shenzhen as their cost of doing business is lower in terms of labour costs and business overheads. Besides, in 15 years time, almost every citizen of China will be effectively bilingual in both English and Chinese. Singapore will not have an edge anymore.

Property market will likely collapse as the govt will auction more land to rebuild the reserves. With higher interest rates, the property market will be less attractive as an asset class. Singaporeans will be impoverished as most people rely on properties as a store of wealth.

The dissipation of the wealth effect will cause consumer spending to decrease. Retail business will be crap. Big franchises like NTUC will suck the life out of any remaining small set-ups. NTUC and the likes will attempt to venture into any business that benefit size, e.g. commercial schools, tuition centres, eldercare, real estate, food and beverage, hostel, hospitality, motor-car repair, money-lending, pawn-shop business, medical and dental clinics etc .....

Due to widespread unemployment, massage parlour businesses will flourish. So will prostitution. By then, the middle class in China would have increase dramatically. China mei-meis working in KTVs will be a rarity. Local unemployed girls will take their place. Many Singaporean girls will even venture overseas to sell their services. They will poignantly reminisce their older counter-parts' hiding behind the Women's Charter. Many local girls will regret their earlier high expectations as Singaporean males will have wised-up and will not fall into the marriage trap so easily.

Tax will likely increase. So will all forms of taxes. ERP too. Given the kiasu nature of the govt officials, the process of rebuilding the govt revenue will likely suck liquidity out of the private sector. Taxes on alcohol, cigarettes, etc will increase dramatically.

By then, due to frustration, increase of courage or simply desperation, the voting public will begin to see things clearly and vote wisely.

Also, by then, my alcohol addiction will have gone into the irreversible stage. I will likely die of liver problems. Just like Nicholas Cage in 'Leaving Las Vegas'

So all these will be none of my bloody business.

greedy and cunning

[ By then, due to frustration, increase of courage or simply desperation, the voting public will begin to see things clearly and vote wisely. ]

you got to be kidding. clinton666 has repeatedly telling us the true. nobody seems to be listening. :*: sinkies = retards. period.

1. honest, once broken record is up the lorry thing.
2. there will be mutiny among the herd of the same sheep.
3. who on god's green earth would prefer a pinky as its leader?
4. plus a butch husband at the helm of its financial arm.

greedy and cunning

what talking you ?

what punishment you want ??

if , and a BIG IF , gic or termasick busted , it is just normal business failure.
you mean running a business sure make money one meh ?
no wonder clinton666 said we are all retards. :biggrin: :biggrin:

weetabix

If GIC and Temasek ever go bust, this is a possible scenario:

Singapore Govt Securities will be priced at 7-8% coupon. Fixed deposit rates will be higher.
The govt will have less bullet to defend the SGD versus foreign currencies. Even though this will likely be balanced by the higher interest rates, the exchange rates against SGD will be more volatile as hedge funds know that SGD is 'bully-able'. Singapore's credit standing will drop.

Regional headquarters will shift from Singapore to Shanghai or Shenzhen as their cost of doing business is lower in terms of labour costs and business overheads. Besides, in 15 years time, almost every citizen of China will be effectively bilingual in both English and Chinese. Singapore will not have an edge anymore.

Property market will likely collapse as the govt will auction more land to rebuild the reserves. With higher interest rates, the property market will be less attractive as an asset class. Singaporeans will be impoverished as most people rely on properties as a store of wealth.

The dissipation of the wealth effect will cause consumer spending to decrease. Retail business will be crap. Big franchises like NTUC will suck the life out of any remaining small set-ups. NTUC and the likes will attempt to venture into any business that benefit size, e.g. commercial schools, tuition centres, eldercare, real estate, food and beverage, hostel, hospitality, motor-car repair, money-lending, pawn-shop business, medical and dental clinics etc .....

Due to widespread unemployment, massage parlour businesses will flourish. So will prostitution. By then, the middle class in China would have increase dramatically. China mei-meis working in KTVs will be a rarity. Local unemployed girls will take their place. Many Singaporean girls will even venture overseas to sell their services. They will poignantly reminisce their older counter-parts' hiding behind the Women's Charter. Many local girls will regret their earlier high expectations as Singaporean males will have wised-up and will not fall into the marriage trap so easily.

Tax will likely increase. So will all forms of taxes. ERP too. Given the kiasu nature of the govt officials, the process of rebuilding the govt revenue will likely suck liquidity out of the private sector. Taxes on alcohol, cigarettes, etc will increase dramatically.

By then, due to frustration, increase of courage or simply desperation, the voting public will begin to see things clearly and vote wisely.

Also, by then, my alcohol addiction will have gone into the irreversible stage. I will likely die of liver problems. Just like Nicholas Cage in 'Leaving Las Vegas'

So all these will be none of my bloody business.

This is a chilling account of what is to come.... I shudder to think this is actually possible.

[ By then, due to frustration, increase of courage or simply desperation, the voting public will begin to see things clearly and vote wisely.

More likely there will be alot of desperate & angry people out there by then. Angry mobs will not patiently wait for an election.