• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What is the "Singapore's Dream"?

Naughty

President Xi Jinping pledged on Sunday to make arduous efforts to achieve the "Chinese dream."

"In face of the mighty trend of the times and earnest expectations of the people for a better life, we cannot have the slightest complacency,
or get the slightest slack at work," Xi said at the closing meeting of the National People's Congress, China's legislature.

"We must make persistent efforts, press ahead with indomitable will, continue to push forward the great cause of socialism with Chinese
characteristics, and strive to achieve the Chinese dream of great rejuvenation of the Chinese nation," Xi said.

To realize the "Chinese dream," China must take the Chinese way, he said.

What is "Our Dream"?

... "... strive to achieve the Chinese dream of great rejuvenation of the Chinese nation," ...
so, ze chinese dream is a rejuvenation of ze gr8 chinese nation ...

sinkielan has oredi warpded from a fishy village in2 metropolitan c-t ... so, no nid 2 rejuvenate wat ...

summor, sinkielan is oredi world crass! world bestest! world lumpar 1! ... watz mor 2 achief? ... dream wat? ... wat dream? ...

Naughty

Should Singapore have a Vision2030, A Singapore's Dream?

Do you think it is viable, important and helpful for Singaporeans to get together and articulate our
vision of what Singapore should be in 2030?

Solicit ideas from our schools, civil societies, government, organization and Singaporeans.

Make it an evergreen beacon to motivate, challenge and excite us toward 2030.

Singapore dream is to study hard get SAF scholarship, study somemore become paper general then parachute into cabinet.....toe the line be yes man and retire as some GLC bigwig.

It's called a dream... because you'll have to be asleep to believe it.

You won't even know if you'll die tomorrow, or what's going to happen to this planet. What's the point of projecting so far ahead into the future?

Naughty

Singapore dream is to study hard get SAF scholarship, study somemore become paper general then parachute into cabinet.....toe the line be yes man and retire as some GLC bigwig.

I think that is a good vision ... for some!

But I would not want my child to just study for a career! Life is full of potential and excitement, why limit yourself?

For me, space travel is the next frontier!

Yes, I would want my child to imagine the boundless possibilities ... ha ha!

Thanks you.

Funny I just had a chat with younger sinkies before the new year. I told them the Singapore Dream used to be simple not so long ago - chasing the 5 Cs - have 2 children who are in SAP schools, and annual holidays in Europe, Japan or US.

They looked at me like I was from another country.

One told me he would be happy to afford a flat as big as his parents'. Another told me he would emigrate as soon as the he accumulates the experience and skill. No more NS, and become a real FT in a 1st world country like NZ or Oz. Overall, both of them agreed the new Sinkapore Dream for their cohort is to vote the Pap out in the next election.

Tsk tsk tsk ... these young ungrateful sinkies nowadays.....

Overall, both of them agreed the new Sinkapore Dream for their cohort is to vote the Pap out in the next election.

that is the 40% version of the singapore dream .... Sadly 60% is still in slumber but not dreaming

Naughty

Funny I just had a chat with younger sinkies before the new year. I told them the Singapore Dream used to be simple not so long ago - chasing the 5 Cs - have 2 children who are in SAP schools, and annual holidays in Europe, Japan or US.

They looked at me like I was from another country.

One told me he would be happy to afford a flat as big as his parents'. Another told me he would emigrate as soon as the he accumulates the experience and skill. No more NS, and become a real FT in a 1st world country like NZ or Oz. Overall, both of them agreed the new Sinkapore Dream for their cohort is to vote the Pap out in the next election.

(sic) My friend, those are not VISION!

They are specific objectives (goals) with practical considerations. These are men without a dream (sigh)!

Don't they dream of striking Toto, The Big Sweep, etc ... Don't they look forward to a big break?

You know what ... I came from one!

Thanks you.

(sic) My friend, those are not VISION!

They are specific objectives (goals) with practical considerations. These are men without a dream (sigh)!

Don't they dream of striking Toto, The Big Sweep, etc ... Don't they look forward to a big break?

You know what ... I came from one!

Thanks you.

Dreams are aspirations. You can call them visions, hopes, missions, objectives whatever.

Face it. The younger gen Y sinkies have given up hope of affording a condo or car. And unlike the gen X-ers, they are more politically aware at a younger age thanks to the internet.

Good luck to all.

Naughty

Dreams are aspirations. You can call them visions, hopes, missions, objectives whatever.

Face it. The younger gen Y sinkies have given up hope of affording a condo or car. And unlike the gen X-ers, they are more politically aware at a younger age thanks to the internet.

Good luck to all.

My friend, that is exactly what I am saying. Our GenY are giving up hope, because everything is increasingly out of reach.
The 5C's, even getting a Singapore girl is increasingly out of reach for them because of competition from "ang mo", Ha Ha!

So, how can we blame them? The key is to give them a vision, a path to achievable goals, most important HOPES!

An articulated VISION, showing the journey, the challenges, the efforts and the ultimate reward provides a road map for our
young to plan and navigate their life journey In Singapore With Singaporeans!

We should do a better job giving GenY confidence, motivation and skill to meet the challenges of the 21st century head on.

Like I said... good luck to all.

Gen Y-ers are more intelligent and worldly. International borders and "national identity" are irrelevant to them. Plus they are aware of the limitations of a small country. The gahmen had removed the barriers and let outsiders flood in. So they will also rush out when the opportunities are available.

Yes, there is a emotional attachment to this place - a sense of betrayal rather than love. Have you ever wondered how Gen Y-ers spend our national day? By going on holidays. While foreigners will fill those seats at NDP.

I think Pap should carry on wooing foreigners to convert to singaporeans rather than retaining our Gen Y. Must hurry cos still got 3 years before the next general erection. If successful the Pap might get more new citizen votes and stay in power for another term to draw their easy million dollar salary.

Naughty

Like I said... good luck to all.

Gen Y-ers are more intelligent and worldly. International borders and "national identity" are irrelevant to them. Plus they are aware of the limitations of a small country. The gahmen had removed the barriers and let outsiders flood in. So they will also rush out when the opportunities are available.

Yes, there is a emotional attachment to this place - a sense of betrayal rather than love. Have you ever wondered how Gen Y-ers spend our national day? By going on holidays. While foreigners will fill those seats at NDP.

I think Pap should carry on wooing foreigners to convert to singaporeans rather than retaining our Gen Y. Must hurry cos still got 3 years before the next general erection. If successful the Pap might get more new citizen votes and stay in power for another term to draw their easy million dollar salary.

Sad, but true (sic)! How can we reverse the trend?

Is it too little, too late?