• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What exactly did Old Fart do when he was working for the Imperial Japanese Army?

LKY saved many Singaporeans by preventing a countless number of atrocities that would have occurred had he not been there.

During the Sook Ching operation, at the height of anti-Japanese resistance, the Kempeitai recruited many local (and Malaysian) Chinese as informants to identify Chinese hostile to Jap rule (commies, Overseas Chinese Anti-Jap Volunteer Army, China-born Chinese, China Relief Fund donors, etc). They were usually given ostensibly administrative positions with innocuous sounding titles like translators, clerks and the such.

Just ask yourself: Old fart did not (and still does not) know a single word of Japanese – how could he ever function as a translator??

If ever there was a treasonous traitor to his country and race that merited death by 120 starving hounds, old fart would be the supreme candidate.

If u subscribe to the theory he is a traitor (which I do), than what he wrote in his autobiography was a pack of lies. One also has to remember that many of the traitors who worked for the Japs were immune to arrest and torture by the japs, and therefore abused their powers. They would take payments for arranging releases of arrested family members and what not. Some like Nathan were able to open illegal gambling joints as members of the auxiliary police force. It would not surprise me if Con You made extra money on the side taking bribes and what not from singaporeans to find out what happened to their loved ones.

The official explanation was Nathan worked as a translator with the Japanese 'civilian police'. I find that something is amiss with this line.

Firstly during the Japanese occupation, the entire Malaya and sinkieland was under military rule under the Malaya Military Administration (Malay Gunsei Kambu or 南方军政 ). It unlikely that there exist a civilian administration to run parallel with the military administration. Thus civilian police doesn't exist then.

Secondly it sounds weird to add the word 'civilian' in civilian police. By default isn't police department under civilian administration? What the need to add the word 'civilian' here? It seem like a deliberate attempt by the authority to sterilize Nathan's role as Japanese collaborator.

It likely he worked as a translator with the Japanese Military police or the Kempeitai .

http://books.google.com.sg/books?id...occupation of singapore military rule&f=false

I believe that the original police force was kept largely intact by the japs. The police force was mostly malays at that time, and the Japs trusted them more than the chinese because they felt the malays were more tolerant. But i don't think this is the case for nathan. i recall seeing him in the uniform of a japanese army personnel. Many Indians and other singaporeans were rounded up and enlisted in the japanese army and auxiliary forces to supplement the japanese occupation army. they manned checkpoints and other thing with japanese rifles.

steffychun

I believe that the original police force was kept largely intact by the japs. The police force was mostly malays at that time, and the Japs trusted them more than the chinese because they felt the malays were more tolerant. But i don't think this is the case for nathan. i recall seeing him in the uniform of a japanese army personnel. Many Indians and other singaporeans were rounded up and enlisted in the japanese army and auxiliary forces to supplement the japanese occupation army. they manned checkpoints and other thing with japanese rifles.

Nathan was not anti-Jap so they hired him

upz this thread leh. hehehehe. running doggies can become president and pm and founding fathers wor. hahahhahaha. stinking land sibeh sia suay.

Tuayapeh

It's not surprising that old fart declared himself to be a Japanese a translator/intepreter but in fact he's a Jap collaborator/informer/traitor.The truth had been covered up by the PAP-controlled media and whitewashed for far too long but they cannot hide from the truth.More details of the truth will come out only when the PAP regime is kicked out of power.Just imagine,the world will be shocked to know that our ex-Singapore President and Prime Minister are both ex-Jap translators working for the Kempeitai and they saved their own skins by informing against our singapore compatriots,translate simi lanjiao ???:smile:

This looting story will make a lot of sense because the old man is probably one disgruntled fucker whose family was a has been rich family who had a drunken wife beating gambling useless wastrel of a father who had swuandered away the family's fortunes....thAts why for a person who is somewhat in the inner circle but not really in the inner circle of singapore rich businessmen, he could effectively target all the rest of the ah seahs and all their wealthand riches by fingering them for executions to the japanese looting them....think about it, ....if you were in his positionwhat would you do? This was a good chance for him to take revenge on all those rich fuckers who laughed at his useless family .... But its is remarkable what oppoortunities the jap iccupation provided for the old man.....

Take dvanatage of the paradigm shift provided by the japs, finger out all the male heirs and patriachs of the rich chinese singapore and malayan fmilies and get rid of them,and in the meantime, under the guise of the japanese, have a great time lootin and accumulating your wealth. And of course sensing the change in the fortunes of the Japs towards the end of the war, quietly run over to the brits and then become a turncoiat double agent, that will put you in good stead with them when they are the returning masters and whilst doing that, also hedge your position by pretending to be a communist....

Come on....in the end there is no ideal served by this supervillian.....like the old man admited, all theze political ideals and aspirations are all high falulating bullshit....the ultimate aim for this fucker is to loot, to have an iron grip on power and to ensure that nobody discovers his evil deedds,,,,it is a real pity chia thye poh has sealed all the deadly secrets for so long,...i would have relished the thought of the expose on the old man's drkestsecrets such that he had to imprison a man who was never tried for 32 years...for you unschooled fuckers, thats way longer than nelson mandela......

Stinkapore will have to reckon with payback like the fucking japs for this debt of crulety owed to karma..... Soon enough it will come knocking and it is usually when you are least prepared......

how about former u.n. secretary general kurt waldheim? officer in nazi military intelligence during ww2. he was attached to some of the most brutal nazi units in eastern europe.

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/14/world/europe/14iht-waldheim.3.6141106.html?_r=0

Please lah, don't come here with this crap. I followed the Waldhiem controversy intensely myself. Waldhiem served as a squad commander in the the German infantry at the eastern front. After he was wounded, he claimed that he was repatriated back to Austria to recover and after that he went to uni for the rest of the war, and graduated from the University of Vienna with a Law degree. This part was not true. He did not attend university, and after he recovered from his wounds he was attached to the intelligence units of German Army Group E, and in that capacity was subordinated to liaison officer for several Italian divisions within Army Group E. Atrocities were very much committed by SS units in the eastern front, not by Wehrmacht units. The main point was that when he was appointed UN Secretary General, he hid the latter part of his WW2 service record from everyone. Therefore, there was no knowledge of this part of his war record until he ran for President of Austria. At this time, his true service was revealed by an investigative journal and he was investigated. Non other than Simon Wisenthal (the famous nazi hunter) cleared his name by saying there was no evidence to implicate him in any atrocities.

But going back to your point, had Waldheim not hidden his true military service record, would he have been selected as UN Sec Gen? Not likely, too many countries would have opposed it. Compare this to Con You and Nathan who proudly mention their treachery in WW2, working for the Jap invaders. As I have said, you can look anywhere in the world, and you will find very few instances of traitors making it to PM and President.

it is a real pity chia thye poh has sealed all the deadly secrets for so long,...i would have relished the thought of the expose on the old man's drkestsecrets such that he had to imprison a man who was never tried for 32 years...for you unschooled fuckers, thats way longer than nelson mandela......

Stinkapore will have to reckon with payback like the fucking japs for this debt of crulety owed to karma..... Soon enough it will come knocking and it is usually when you are least prepared......

The big pity here is that all the former ousted PAP stalwarts like Devan NAir, Goh Ken Swee, etc. did not spill their guts about all the skeletons in Con You's closet. And they must know lots of them, for sure.

xingguy

This looting story will make a lot of sense because the old man is probably one disgruntled fucker whose family was a has been rich family who had a drunken wife beating gambling useless wastrel of a father who had swuandered away the family's fortunes....thAts why for a person who is somewhat in the inner circle but not really in the inner circle of singapore rich businessmen, he could effectively target all the rest of the ah seahs and all their wealthand riches by fingering them for executions to the japanese looting them....think about it, ....if you were in his positionwhat would you do? This was a good chance for him to take revenge on all those rich fuckers who laughed at his useless family .... But its is remarkable what oppoortunities the jap iccupation provided for the old man.....

Take dvanatage of the paradigm shift provided by the japs, finger out all the male heirs and patriachs of the rich chinese singapore and malayan fmilies and get rid of them,and in the meantime, under the guise of the japanese, have a great time lootin and accumulating your wealth. And of course sensing the change in the fortunes of the Japs towards the end of the war, quietly run over to the brits and then become a turncoiat double agent, that will put you in good stead with them when they are the returning masters and whilst doing that, also hedge your position by pretending to be a communist....

Come on....in the end there is no ideal served by this supervillian.....like the old man admited, all theze political ideals and aspirations are all high falulating bullshit....the ultimate aim for this fucker is to loot, to have an iron grip on power and to ensure that nobody discovers his evil deedds,,,,it is a real pity chia thye poh has sealed all the deadly secrets for so long,...i would have relished the thought of the expose on the old man's drkestsecrets such that he had to imprison a man who was never tried for 32 years...for you unschooled fuckers, thats way longer than nelson mandela......

In Old fart's "The Singapore Story" he admitted that he was a broker on the black market during the Japanese occupation (Pg 27 & 28).

LKYBrokerBlackMarketPg27a_zpse475d90a.jpg

LKYBrokerBlackMarketPg28a_zps46dd4560.jpg

LKY's only achievement in life was to marry the 千金 of Singapore's two major banking dynasty bloodlines: the Kwa and the Wee families.

If you observe the family tree it was as though he had married into or been 'grafted into' that main family.

Even Tan Chin Tuan, uncle of Tony Tan, was the OCBC scion himself.

weetheamseng1.jpg

Tuayapeh

In Old fart's "The Singapore Story" he admitted that he was a broker on the black market during the Japanese occupation (Pg 27 & 28).

LKYBrokerBlackMarketPg27a_zpse475d90a.jpg

LKYBrokerBlackMarketPg28a_zps46dd4560.jpg

this part of the fucking story is only part of the the complete truth....why nobody asked wtf did he get the initial captial to start his so called black market trading business? where the fuck did he get all the wares to sell and trade.... use your pui to trade people will accept....

if you had nothing to trade with people they will just give you the middle finger or the taste of their machete.....

obviously he must have looted it from someone before he can start his business right?

use your fucking brains sinkies and open your fucking eyes.....

Merl Haggard

If he can omit the part that influenced his political life from 1960 to 1973 when he together with his bodyguards would drive up in his Jaguar Mk 4 to Kong Meng San to seek Grandmaster Seck Hong Choon for guidance, surely no one should expect him to disclose other issues that were worse.

In 1973 40 years ago he had become persona non grata with the Grandmaster and that was when he earned the phrase 'boh-hor-see'.

After the Grandmaster dropped him, he had to turn to Suharto's dukun (clairvoyant) for guidance.

Sideswipe

this part of the fucking story is only part of the the complete truth....why nobody asked wtf did he get the initial captial to start his so called black market trading business? where the fuck did he get all the wares to sell and trade.... use your pui to trade people will accept....

if you had nothing to trade with people they will just give you the middle finger or the taste of their machete.....

obviously he must have looted it from someone before he can start his business right?

use your fucking brains sinkies and open your fucking eyes.....

the Japanese collaborators used to operate the black market then and they profited greatly from it, especially the commodities items. LKY clearly knew a lot of things but he obviously can't tell it all.

xingguy

the Japanese collaborators used to operate the black market then and they profited greatly from it, especially the commodities items. LKY clearly knew a lot of things but he obviously can't tell it all.

Agreed.
In his book, he said: "It was easy to make money if one had the right connections."